Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
234 reviews
Spotless hotel

This hotel is very clean and spotless throughout. I've stayed at many places in Guadalajara and... See full review

  • Ruthie Rod31
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Stay

I had a great stay and will return. This hotel was very clean and close to everything. See full review

  • Liza from Houston
  • Aug 17, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio CabaƱas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, NC
Mar 27, 2008

Prime location

The Hotel Morales was very comfortable and clean. The rooms were well appointed. The staff was friendly and courteous. This historic building is beautiful and located just minutes (walking) from other historical buildings, i.e., museums, cathedrals, government buildings. There are very good restaurants and shopping nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Feb 18, 2008

Beautiful

The Hotel Morales is a very historical building with lots of charm. We really enjoyed our stay. The furnishings are just beautiful and we loved the high ceilings. Very nice accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant - La Chata and a great taco place directly across the street from hotel.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2007

Great service and hospitality.

The employees were very nice and actually remembered our previous visit. Excellent hotel, nice rooftop views and quiet areas to relax. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, great assistance in providing us with maps and directions. Showers are spacious and very clean. Excellent Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historical sites just a few blocks away. Beautiful horse carriages right in front of hotel!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 6, 2008

Great Location

The Hotel Morales was more than we bargained for. Awesome staff, great location, close to everything-shops, museums, etc. Their breakfast buffet is the best! The rooms were nice, very clean, huge showers. Very pretty hotel overall. We liked it so much, we went back to that hotel at the end of our trip. Definitely would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

1. Take a 5 minute cab drive to Obregon (women's assessory heaven). 2. Take a carriage ride (across the street), for $20 you can take an hour-long tour through historic Guadalajara.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Las Vegas
Oct 17, 2008

Great Place in Historic Center

The Hotel was beautiful,the staff was very attentive, We had a great housekeeper that was very attentive and professional. The hotel has free WIFI which was a great plus for me since I was able to to keep in touch with what I needed in the US. The only minus I could give this hotel and its only minor, was the fact that they don't have ice buckets or ice on the floors, room service was very helpful in bringing ice, but still is something that could be fixed easily. Banks are nearby and are very safe with guards all of the time. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, I'm sure to come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street on the corner you will find the best Tacos in town go towards downtown and you will find La Chata great for breakfast and lunch, all of these places are very clean and very inexpensive!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Whittier
Jun 29, 2008

Nice

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3-nights, we didn't do a lot of sight see because we were with family members, that live in mexico, most of the time. The rooms were very clean and modern, the hotel itself is old but was renovated about 3 years ago. Beautiful inside don't get disapointed when you see it from the outside driving to the hotel. Great location, walking distance to sightseeing. Great tacos across the street! Well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tritonavy
San Diego, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great Hotel in Great Location

Great colonial hotel in great location. Noise echoes thru the hotel, but A/C in each room drowns out the noise. Staff superb and helpful. Good dining, but food locations in central GDL are lacking. Must travel to get a decent meal! Hotel will begin an expantion starting in November 2009 as they have acquired the colonial hotel next door. Will have 100 rooms, pool, meeting rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great tortilla soup!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
'Nilla
Puerto Vallarta
May 15, 2014

Love this hotel

What an incredible hotel for the price! Second stay and it was just as nice as the first. Clean, comfortable, well appointed, friendly staff, and central location. I will be staying again my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
May 30, 2009

Would stay again

GREAT locacation. Staff were very friendly and helpful. While I speak Spanish, there was always an English speaking staff member available. Easy walk or inexpensive cab ride to where ever I needed to go. Room was modern, clean, comfortable, quiet. GREAT value for the price. Would stay again, and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
viole
Italy
Aug 23, 2011

Great hotel in the historic center

this hotel is in a fantastic locatio of the historic center of Guadalajara, wether you travel for business or family it suits perfectly. Beautiful courtyard , great service, and the service at the restaurant was great. It is great to visit the city on walking distance and feel the atmosphere of the most Mexican city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La chata-La gorda typical dinning inexpensive

Back to menu Return to top