Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
219 reviews
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Spotless hotel

This hotel is very clean and spotless throughout. I've stayed at many places in Guadalajara and... See full review

  • Ruthie Rod31
  • Aug 17, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vallartense
los angeles, ca
Jan 5, 2011

Great Historical Hacienda

The Hacienda Hotel was just beyond beautiful. Small boutique like hotel with great displays of artwork, old furniture and the hacienda feel to the hotel made our stay just wonderful. The only thing missing was a swimming pool & jacuzzi. Although, they are expanding and I hear the new building will have a state of the art pool and gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Jan 3, 2011

Very bad service staff

Free internet was not available in the rooms and the reception in the lobby was very slow. Valet parking took at least 20 minutes because the elevator is slow and your car was returned a half a block away, not at the front entry where you gave it to the attendant. The front desk wanted a 100 peso deposit for a second key (plastic card)for the room and they never worked. The first two times going back to the front desk they said I was in the other room and subsequent trips it was because I put the key in my wallet and finally they said the second key never works. One elevator for such a large hotel is not adequate for all the guests and staff. While the room was pleasant, I would never stay there again. There are much better choices in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two typical and popular Mexican restaurants are nearby. La Chata and La Gorda. Hotel restaurant was fine for breakfast.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Guadalajara!!
Western Canada
Jan 3, 2011

Great stay!!

The hotel was wonderful! The staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel is spotless! You can't beat the location being so close to the cathedral, theatre, downtown market, and the many wonderfully maintained historical buildings. this was my second stay in this hotel and I will definately stay there again when I return in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

You definately want to check out the market. Also, explore the city like the locals do using public transport. You can go many places on the cheap and you get to see another side of the city that you will be pleasantly surprised by. If you really like shopping, don't miss Centro Magno and Andares. Both great places to shop! The flower market was also a great experience!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Netherlands
Dec 28, 2010

Very nice hotel

Very beautiful and nice place to stay. Especially because of it´s history and walking distance to the main squares and cathedrale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TITO AUGIE
CHICAGO IL.
Dec 8, 2010

it is one of the best if not the best

it was very good it was centric, you can go anywhere from there was very clean @ afordable I hope to go there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bretcisco
Las Vega, NV
Dec 1, 2010

Very nice

The doormen were very helpful with information and getting us taxis. Friendly staff all round. Nice rooms, very clean, great showers, super comfortable beds and nice air conditioning. Location is close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Tlaquepaque. Only five miles from Guadalajra Central, and a wonderful small city to stroll, shop, and dine. Terrific place to unwind.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buddd
Panama city, Panama
Nov 17, 2010

Marvelous Morales

My family and I enjoyed our hotel stay very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location of the hotel was perfect because it was near restaurants and shops and there was plenty of tourist activity to see and do. The only knock that we have is that there were never enough towels which made us constantly call room service and one day when we returned from breakfast the faulty toilet seat had been removed and not replaced which meant you guessed it--another call to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SmoothDog
Los Angeles, vicinty
Nov 1, 2010

Centrally located

The hotel has a good resturant, good food & good cocktails. There's a pool table to relax and enjoyed some drinks. On the rooftop there's some chairs to sit back and see the city while having some food or drinks. The only discrepancy is that we would have liked a kingsize bed, we had to settle for two queens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good place to eat a dish called Barbacoa just a few minutes away at the "Nueve Esquinas Birria". (9 corners Birria) also try "La Gorda" and "La Chata". Take a taxi to San Pedro Parian if you want to listen to mariachi.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Oct 28, 2010

SWEET HOTEL!! Good location and cost

The hotel location was GREAT! It was basically mid-point between many sites and attractions. The hotel staff was so very professional as well as pleasant. The rooms were very well furnished and large. I loved every thing about this hotel and would most definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT take the site seeing "BUS" tour that's offered to Tequilla or to Chapala. The so called bus was actually an oversized mini-van that was cramped and filled to capacity. We were expecting a full sized chartered BUS, but instead got an rough riding,cramped, mini-van like thing with tinted windows and not enough leg room for an average height american. Save the $30.00(cost of tour) and take a taxi to Lake Chapala, you'll be much happier,comfortable,and basically end up paying the same price

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Fantastic!

Absolutely beautiful, well maintained, professional staff and perfect location. We did, however, get a weird look when we asked for an extra set of bath towels on the afternoon of a really hot day. Not rude, but we may have been the only ones to ask for a fresh set. Not very green of us, I guess. Felt very safe and loved that there was a doorman 24/7 and security for the busy weekend of the festival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top