Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio CabaƱas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan Sinaloa
Apr 12, 2011

Beautiful Old Hotel.

With choice of a old hotel you have to give up some of the nice modern things. Like showers working well, doors closing well, floor nosiey and just being old. The hotel is old and have to relize that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are close to everything. Gold and Silver market a must see. Tons of shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thumperjohn
California
Apr 12, 2011

Can be hit and miss

This is my second time staying at Hotel Morales, can be very hit and miss on quality. I knew street side rooms were noisy from last visit, so asked for interior room at check in. Much quieter at night inside, but you do hear noise from lobby during daytime. It is an historic hotel, with some modern amenities. Internet is available with an ethernet cable in the room, or wifi that ONLY works in the lobby areas and not above the first floor. The Air Conditioning didn't work in my room, they let me borrow a fan and said someone would be up to fix the AC in the morning. Late the next afternoon they started work on the AC and then left, with AC still disassembled, for at least an hour. Staff can be friendly, some speak English. Others seem kind of offended when you ask if they speak English. I don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Apr 9, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

Located in down town. Waking distanse to all most everything. I had a problem with the room assigned to me. In the morning I took a shower. The bathroom flooded. Water over 1 inch deep in the bathroom. This must happen in this room because there is a curb about 2 inches high to keep the water in. I went to the front desk and reported the problem. The front desk seemed not to concern with the problem. I asked to be changed to another room. Again the front desk was reluctant to move me to another room. After being some what upset with the hotel. They tryed to move me to avery small one bed room. I had and had requested two beds. After being upset with the service. I was finlly moved to a two bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure you you go to the market San Juan Dios. Very large market. You will enjoy this market.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Apr 9, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

Located in down town. Waking distanse to all most everything. I had a problem with the room assigned to me. In the morning I took a shower. The bathroom flooded. Water over 1 inch deep in the bathroom. This must happen in this room because there is a curb about 2 inches high to keep the water in. I went to the front desk and reported the problem. The front desk seemed not to concern with the problem. I asked to be changed to another room. Again the front desk was reluctant to move me to another room. After being some what upset with the hotel. They tryed to move me to avery small one bed room. I had and had requested two beds. After being upset with the service. I was finlly moved to a two bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure you you go to the market San Juan Dios. Very large market. You will enjoy this market.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Mexico
Apr 3, 2011

Very Elegant Hotel.

I liked the Hotel very much. The hotel is located very close to everything in town. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. The pancakes are very good the best I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the Market San Juan Dios. One of the largest markets I have seen. Just about everything is there to buy.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 3, 2011

Charming hotel, attentive staff

This an attractive, charming hotel built in the 19th century and recently restored. The staff are helpful, the food is very good, and the location is in the heart of the historical district. My room was comfortable and well-kept. There were some problems with the wireless internet connection in my room and others. The thick walls block the signal. If you need internet (I was there on business and required it), ask for an ethernet cable at the dest, or bring one yourself. There was an ethernet jack in my room. They will provide you a cable for a refundable deposit of 100 pesos. I enjoyed my stay and looked forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Gorda" restaurant has great food and good prices. It's just one block down the street from the front door of the hotel.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 3, 2011

Charming hotel, attentive staff

This an attractive, charming hotel built in the 19th century and recently restored. The staff are helpful, the food is very good, and the location is in the heart of the historical district. My room was comfortable and well-kept. There were some problems with the wireless internet connection in my room and others. The thick walls block the signal. If you need internet (I was there on business and required it), ask for an ethernet cable at the dest, or bring one yourself. There was an ethernet jack in my room. They will provide you a cable for a refundable deposit of 100 pesos. I enjoyed my stay and looked forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Gorda" restaurant has great food and good prices. It's just one block down the street from the front door of the hotel.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Mexico
Apr 3, 2011

Very Elegant Hotel.

I liked the Hotel very much. The hotel is located very close to everything in town. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. The pancakes are very good the best I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the Market San Juan Dios. One of the largest markets I have seen. Just about everything is there to buy.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevin13
redwood city, ca
Mar 31, 2011

Not so great!!!

I have read really good reviews about the hotel in different websites but the truth is that is not something out of the ordinary. At least not worth the price. I do have to say that the location was very good since it is located in downtown Guadalajara. In general it is a nice hotel that with colonial features but not worth $1000 pesos a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

All tourist points are really close by since it is downtown GDL.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beegees4life
Turlock, Ca
Mar 23, 2011

The 'Okay' Experience We Had

It was all good except there were some thngs that were missing. Like curtosy and good costermer service that a four star hotel SHOULD have. There was no internet in the rooms as promised and we had to actually lend us a cable for a deposit down stairs. Another example;one time when we placed the card inside of the room(which you must for the power) the wind blew the door and we were stuck outside. We had to PURCHASE another piece of plastic for they asked for a 'deposit' of five USD. The staff was 'okay'. Not wonderful as you expect a four star hotel to be. Their was just something missing... The resturant down stairs... I wouldn't recomend you to eat there. It was plain awefull. I had lost my appetite as soon as I placed that piece of food in my mouth. I would have to say the ONLY good thing about this hotel is that its in a historical downtown area and is close to historical monuments. Overall; I rate this hotel 3 1/2 Stars. I am very dissapointed. I expected more from this FOUR star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping here was good. Many plazas near by. I'll tell you one thing; it was a good experience.

Back to menu Return to top