Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In town 2days
Business
Corona CA
Aug 10, 2011

Very nice..

Although this trip was very short, most employees at the hotel were very nice and accommodating, w/the exception of one courtesy desk employee, although he was accommodating he was not very pleasant. Kudos to the bell boys.. Yes I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the Historical sites are very local.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Christina
Business
Berkeley, CA
Aug 7, 2011

Absolutely Fabulous Hotel!

This is an absolutely fabulous hotel in one of Mexico's most beautiful and exciting cities! Located in the historical center, the location could not be better. You can walk to all the sights (and there are many), and great restaurants and shopping are everywhere. The hotel itself is a colonial beauty in excellent condition. The rooms are large and lovely and the beds and pillows are luxurious. Most of all, the staff was super friendly and helpful and committed to meeting our every need. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mercado Libertad is a short walk away and is an excellent place to eat breakfast (I would not recommend the hotel restaurant). If you like local color and excitement along with great food at rock bottom prices, you'll enjoy this experience. Mmmm... chilaquiles with eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice for less than a small latte at Starbucks!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach,CA
Aug 7, 2011

Beautiful Hotel but terible acoustics

Hotel is in a great location. Its beautiful and very confortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only downside we found was that even tho we were in the 3rd floor we could hear people talking and laughing in the lobby, the elevator humming as it went up & down,closing / opening of doors ect .... very glad that it all stopped at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cathedral, Teatro de Gollado, & Ospicio Cabanas are a few blocks away

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Christina
Business
Berkeley, CA
Aug 7, 2011

Absolutely Fabulous Hotel!

This is an absolutely fabulous hotel in one of Mexico's most beautiful and exciting cities! Located in the historical center, the location could not be better. You can walk to all the sights (and there are many), and great restaurants and shopping are everywhere. The hotel itself is a colonial beauty in excellent condition. The rooms are large and lovely and the beds and pillows are luxurious. Most of all, the staff was super friendly and helpful and committed to meeting our every need. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mercado Libertad is a short walk away and is an excellent place to eat breakfast (I would not recommend the hotel restaurant). If you like local color and excitement along with great food at rock bottom prices, you'll enjoy this experience. Mmmm... chilaquiles with eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice for less than a small latte at Starbucks!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjmic
Business
los angeles, ca
Jul 16, 2011

Great stay!!!

Great stay. comfortable, beautiful, helpful, central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Jul 11, 2011

Imperial Suite - Unsuitable for Royalty

1. some front desk personnel obnoxious - when we asked for bottled water, we were told to go and get it ourselves; 2. our "Imperial Suite" had leaking a/c - leaking commode - leaking refrigerator; and, whoever would expect our "Imperial Suite" to be covered with laminate flooring (hardly appropriate for the period of restoration); ceramic tile would have been the flooring of choice; large room (not suite) appeared sparsely filled with furnishings - much wasted floor space for amount of furnishings used; 3. for the $170.00 we paid per night for our 3-day stay was way over-priced and much more enjoyment could have been found in less expensive establishments; 4. the nicest employee was the housekeeper who was reponsible for our room (she deserves a raise in pay and/or promotion). Her smile said it all! 5. true, the decor in the common areas was very nice, however, one can't spend 24-hours roaming the halls and admiring the renovated surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Excellent Hotel and Location

The hotel was excellent, the location was in the central part of town. The rooms were clean and well keep. The hotel staff was excellent. I recommend. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mesaron
Business
Ajijic, Mexico
Jul 9, 2011

A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

We have travelled for over 40 years in Mexico. We love the country very much...so much, in fact, we live in Mexico now. However, this hotel totally misrepresents itself other than that it is a beautiful restoration. It is a beautiful restoration with the exception of the LAMINATE FLOORING in the "suite". To call the room and "Imperial Suite" is a laugh! It's a very large room with a jacuzzi bath..but a suite indiates that one will have a separate sitting area. The suite is poorly designed. As I sit here now, writing this review, the toilet is still leaking, as well as the air conditioner. They did, however, replace the leaking refrigerator which was leaking inside the armoir. I'm still waiting for the breakfast menu that I ordered when we first sat down for breakfast. We've visited Guadalajara many times. This trip we were visiting family, visiting the historical buildings and made a trip to Mercado Librtad. After breakfast, I approached the front desk and asked for 4 bottles of water. I was told (with attitude) that I should go the restaurant and get it myself...I think not. At over $170 USD per night, I think that one deserves better service and respect. The management should be ashamed of itself or, better yet - REPLACED!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Guadalajara! It's a wonderful city with many, many things to do and sites to see. Everything is very convenient to visit from this location. ONLY PROBLEM IS THE HOTEL!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 7, 2011

Hotel Morales in Guadalajara - Historic

We will highly recommend Hotel Morales to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Historic center of town. I would like to clone the cleanliness, friendliness, appearance, and overall hotel's staff disposition and quality in every other hotel. This is the equivalent of a great 4 star U.S hotel with a much beautiful history, decor and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CHAI - is sort of a coffee shop/Deli and restaurant all in one. The food is simple but very good, the prices are very reasonable and the staff is friendly. They serve good options for breakfast, nice selection of sandwiches and smoothies, fresh squeezed fruit juices, and martinis are only $2.90.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mejia
Business
morelia
Jun 16, 2011

the best hotel

it was the best hotel in mi life, it has every thing very clost, the staff is very nice,the service is berry good. this will be my next hotel in mi second visit to guadalajara

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top