Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mesaron
Business
Ajijic, Mexico
Jul 9, 2011

A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

We have travelled for over 40 years in Mexico. We love the country very much...so much, in fact, we live in Mexico now. However, this hotel totally misrepresents itself other than that it is a beautiful restoration. It is a beautiful restoration with the exception of the LAMINATE FLOORING in the "suite". To call the room and "Imperial Suite" is a laugh! It's a very large room with a jacuzzi bath..but a suite indiates that one will have a separate sitting area. The suite is poorly designed. As I sit here now, writing this review, the toilet is still leaking, as well as the air conditioner. They did, however, replace the leaking refrigerator which was leaking inside the armoir. I'm still waiting for the breakfast menu that I ordered when we first sat down for breakfast. We've visited Guadalajara many times. This trip we were visiting family, visiting the historical buildings and made a trip to Mercado Librtad. After breakfast, I approached the front desk and asked for 4 bottles of water. I was told (with attitude) that I should go the restaurant and get it myself...I think not. At over $170 USD per night, I think that one deserves better service and respect. The management should be ashamed of itself or, better yet - REPLACED!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Guadalajara! It's a wonderful city with many, many things to do and sites to see. Everything is very convenient to visit from this location. ONLY PROBLEM IS THE HOTEL!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 7, 2011

Hotel Morales in Guadalajara - Historic

We will highly recommend Hotel Morales to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Historic center of town. I would like to clone the cleanliness, friendliness, appearance, and overall hotel's staff disposition and quality in every other hotel. This is the equivalent of a great 4 star U.S hotel with a much beautiful history, decor and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CHAI - is sort of a coffee shop/Deli and restaurant all in one. The food is simple but very good, the prices are very reasonable and the staff is friendly. They serve good options for breakfast, nice selection of sandwiches and smoothies, fresh squeezed fruit juices, and martinis are only $2.90.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mejia
Business
morelia
Jun 16, 2011

the best hotel

it was the best hotel in mi life, it has every thing very clost, the staff is very nice,the service is berry good. this will be my next hotel in mi second visit to guadalajara

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Jun 10, 2011

Bonito Hotel

This hotel is located in the center of the Historical Center. Shopping everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios a must see very large and has everything.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjmic
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 5, 2011

Absolutely Awesome

Great, Beautiful old-style traditional Mexican style. Great staff, open-minded, courteous, welcoming. Would def. be back to H.Morales.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
May 11, 2011

Old Hotel with new upgrades

Very old hotel but nice. Walking distance to most things you would want to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios is a large market with lots to buy.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pitufo
Business
Los angeles
May 8, 2011

again, very convenient

everything was perfect, service, attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near to everything

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
May 2, 2011

"The Most Beautiful Hotel"

I was amazed upon entering the hotel how beautiful and authentic to the history of the City this hotel portrayed. This was probably one of the best first impressions that I have had on a hotel and staff. Our room was equally as beautiful and comfortable after a long day of traveling just to get there. I could have just stayed in my room the entire time. The hotel is centrally based to where walking is easy (during the day) and taxi rides are inexpensive to get around. The streets are filled with locals going about their day and people watching in the square with live music is a must. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and will be passing along the "Must Stay" advice to any of my friends that plan on going on a trip to Guadalajara. Side Note: If you are going to the airport from this hotel definitely take the hotel shuttle van instead of a local taxi. For only 30 more peso's you get the comfort of air-conditioning and a super comfortable ride. The hotel and staff are a fantastic group of people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of walking to take you around the gorgeous city of Guadalajara and all its charm. You can easily get to all of the places the City has to offer from this location.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan Sinaloa
Apr 12, 2011

Beautiful Old Hotel.

With choice of a old hotel you have to give up some of the nice modern things. Like showers working well, doors closing well, floor nosiey and just being old. The hotel is old and have to relize that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are close to everything. Gold and Silver market a must see. Tons of shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thumperjohn
Business
California
Apr 12, 2011

Can be hit and miss

This is my second time staying at Hotel Morales, can be very hit and miss on quality. I knew street side rooms were noisy from last visit, so asked for interior room at check in. Much quieter at night inside, but you do hear noise from lobby during daytime. It is an historic hotel, with some modern amenities. Internet is available with an ethernet cable in the room, or wifi that ONLY works in the lobby areas and not above the first floor. The Air Conditioning didn't work in my room, they let me borrow a fan and said someone would be up to fix the AC in the morning. Late the next afternoon they started work on the AC and then left, with AC still disassembled, for at least an hour. Staff can be friendly, some speak English. Others seem kind of offended when you ask if they speak English. I don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top