Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 17.5, Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
229 reviews
Fantastic Getaway for Cousins

My cousins and I truly enjoyed our trip! The location was beautiful. The beach was so wonderful and... See full review

  • Cousins on Vacation
  • May 21, 2014
Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!.... See full review

  • mr.Dean
  • Jun 7, 2013
Marble-tiled elegance on Cozumel near Palancar Reef
Check in to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel on San Francisco Beach, just minutes from Palancar Reef, for the feeling of being on a private resort. The tiled courtyard serves as the heart of this hotel and allows garden lounging with friendly lizards or serves as an avenue to the stone-walled lobby bar. The all-inclusive option grants access to the six restaurants, three bars and disco on site, plus daily activities and a Kid’s Club for ages four to 12.
Highlights
  • Private access to San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef
  • Six restaurants, three bars and a disco on site
  • Daily activities and nightly entertainment, plus a Kid’s Club
  • Three swimming pools
  • Spa and fitness center
Rooms
Spanish colonial charm provides elegance to the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive rooms, from the dark wood furniture to the wrought-iron railings on the terraces. Sunny-yellow walls and printed bed spreads allow green and blue hues to come from the garden or pool views. Upgrading to a Royal Club suite provides access to a private pool, and rooms include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes.
Dining
The six on-site restaurants offer a range of options from grand buffet-style dining to romantic a la carte meals. There are three bars for easy libation access throughout the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel. Major steaks are on the menu at Sonora Grill. A Mediterranean menu is served at Los Olivos. For a hearty breakfast or dinner with lots of choices, graze the buffet at La Posada. Serious adult-only dancing and drinks are enjoyed at La Misión Bar & Disco.
Recreation
The three pools at the Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive hotel have different functions; one serves the Kid’s Club (ages four to 12), another activities and scuba classes, and the third is designated for relaxation only. A spa and fitness center serve to massage or firm up muscles. The two lighted tennis courts are available for play. Diving or snorkeling excursions to close-by Palancar Reef mean more time will be spent under water, not getting there.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mr. Sancho's (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Cozumel Water Sports (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Spa del Sol (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
Business
  • Multifunction conference room serves 30 to 150 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury Garden View with Private Balcony
The Royal Club guests will enjoy private reception and check-in, concierge services, turn down service, pillow menu, in-room dining, private restaurant and bar, private pool and whirlpool, and complimentary Internet services. These elegantly appointed room category includes the all-inclusive features of the resort, as well as concierge service, room service, hydro-massage styled bath, DVD player, coffee maker, and other exclusive amenities.
Grand Romance Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features the Deluxe room with a Bottle of Sparkling Wine, strawberries covered with chocolate, one hour massage per couple (30 min per person), breakfast in bed once during stay, romantic dinner, turn down service, 10% discount spa services and a surprise gift and special amenities for romantic occasion
Deluxe Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
This room includes one king or two double beds with a garden or pool view. Amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, private bathroom with tub, hairdryer, safety deposit box, fridge and balcony. Turn down service. Cribs are available upon request.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Garden View with Private Balcony
This room category features a Deluxe Room with Concierge service, Fruit basket, bottle of wine, turn down service, 10% discount spa services, superior amenities in room including a bath robe.
Royal Club
Finally a chance to upgrade to royalty! Enjoy a 5-Star boutique hotel within each Occidental Grand resort. The exclusive club-like atmosphere of the Royal Club offers concierge level service within the Occidental Grand Cozumel resort experience. Discerning guests seeking highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens with a pillow menu, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to the Royal Club restaurant exclusive to members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3764 -87.0209
Area served
Cozumel, Quintana Roo; Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel Airport
Area description
Cozumel features excellent diving and water sports, nightlife and restaurants, shopping, and golf nearby (20-30 minutes). The resort is perfectly located on San Francisco Beach, five minutes from Palancar Reef and other attractions.

Dining

La Piazza
Featuring a variety of pizzas, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the resort. Open from 6:00 PM to 1:30 AM.
Los Olivos
Menu style Mediterranean cuisine, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Relax Bar
Night club. The Relax Bar offers a cool refreshment in the heat of the afternoon
La Mision
Bar and night club. La Mision is both a bar and nightclub with dancing and entertainment every night.
La Posada
Offer international thematic buffet for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast 6 am -7 am. Breakfast 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Lobby Bar
Casual meeting place. The Lobby Bar adds to the welcoming atmosphere guests feel the moment they set foot into the reception area and features traditional Mexican decor.
Sonora Grill
Menu style steakhouse, reservations and dress code required. Open from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM. * Please note: long pants for gentlemen are required for all restaurants.
Beach Club
Offers international thematic buffet lunch, with a spectacular ocean view. From 12 pm - 4.30 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
- Meeting rooms and banquet facilities - Wedding and event planner on-site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Auburn, CA
Nov 19, 2009

2nd visit

In November of 2008,we stayed for two weeks at the Occidental Grand and decided to do the same this year. We had another wonderful time. The beach, pools, bars, restaurants, rooms, and over-all setting is wonderful. The best feature, though, is the staff. Waiters, waitresses, and bartenders are terrific. They work so hard to serve, and do it with pleasure. They are the best. Bring bug spray, however. Mosquitoes will be a problem without it during the beautiful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You'll get a better deal if you use pesos, with the current American exchange rate.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gator and Alisha
Midwest City, OK
Jun 19, 2011

The perfect getaway for anyone!!!

We stayed at the resort for a week for our honeymoon and it could not have been any better! The staff was extremely friendly and personable. Everyone we met (including guests) were so laid back and we will definitely be returning next year! We loved the daily activities sheet (very helpful when planning your day) and [...]was amazing! We danced at the disco, played beach and pool volleyball, had a dart tournament (which I won) played horseshoes and name that tune (which I didn't do so well at but the tequila shots were nice:p We also went snorkeling and kayaking which was beautiful. The beach is well kept and the food was great! We are ready to move to Cozumel!!! Long story short there is plenty of activities to keep the entire family entertained and you definitely have to meet [...]while you are there...she made our stay very entertaining and enjoyable! Please tell [...]that she is the best!!! We did have one small problem with the batteries in our door lock not working which took about 30 minutes to fix but that happens everywhere. We love the Occidental Grand Cozumel!!! P.S. rent a car for a day or 2 and drive to the other side of the island...everything is beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring cash and don't settle for the first price when shopping...you can bargain in Mexico! Don't forget sunscreen and bug spray because it is $22 usd there for a can you can get for $5 in the states. Everything else is pretty reasonable. If you wanna have fun (with no kids) drive to the other side of the island and go to Coconuts! Good food and drinks and another surprise:p

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buffyd
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2011

Exceeded My Expectations

Stayed from Dec. 16 through Dec. 23. with my husband, and the Occidental Grand far exceeded our expectations. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly, courteous and always greeted us with an "Hola!" or "Buenas Dias!"...that includes the maintenance men who were busy making improvements to the walkways and the bridge. We were checked into the hotel promptly and efficiently, allowing us to make the most of every minute of our vacation. Our room was large, clean and very accomodating. The shower was amazing with fantastic water pressure! My husband is a big coffee drinker and the housekeeper gave us extra coffee and water each day to meet his desires, plus kept the refrigerator stocked with ample water and beverages. The beds were not as hard as we expected, but rather quite comfortable and the pillows were nice and fluffy. We slept like babies! The food was ample and we always found something that we liked at the buffets. In the morning, freshly-made omelettes were available, as well as an incredible amount of breakfast foods including waffles, hotcakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, and hash browns, to mention only a couple of items. Lunch was by the beach, and was also abundant with freshly grilled hamburgers and hot dogs, as well as the buffet fare. Dinner was different each night with different themes including Italian, Caribbean, Yucatan and Oriental. We tried one specialty restaurant, La Sonora Steakhouse and my husband loved his steak. I ordered chicken and it was very well-prepared. I didn't care for the taco salad, but was impressed overall. The beach was clean and there was plenty of seating. Snorkeled right off of the beach and got to see two barracudas, trumpetfish, lobster, stingrays, starfish and many other beautiful and colorful fish. Went snorkeling out to the reefs with Dive Palancar and had a fantastic time. We were so impressed with the Occidental Grand that we plan on returning in May and have suggested this resort to many of our friends. The only con to this whole trip would be the construction, but even that wasn't much of a 'con' per se, as it was for the greater good of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go for a sail on the Pirate Cruise! It was a blast and the food was delicious as well!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
micster
Colorado, USA
Feb 19, 2012

great escape

Was excellent . Great people,good food,good drinks,will go again. The beach area was great,have to get a chair early was the only thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Will want to rent some sort of transportation to see the other side of the island.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sacr
Dallas,TX area
Apr 30, 2012

Beautiful!!!

Hotel was great, grounds beautiful, staff friendly and extremely helpful. I will definitely recommend and plan to go to Cozumel and stay at the Occidental Grand again very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Middle aged Harry
Houston, TX
Jun 28, 2012

WONDERFUL STAY AND VALUE

Wonderful stay - great staff - great food and beverages - nice clean rooms - beautiful flora and fauna (best I've ever enjoyed at any resort in Cozumel). Super convenient scuba dive facility - dive and snorkel boat trips depart 4 times per day. Beach dives allowed! Free Hobie sail boats. Good daily / nightly entertainment. Best place we've ever stayed in Coz since we have been going there the last 15 years. We'll be back soon and often!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No reason to leave the resort!

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjrs5
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2012

Getting back to being the best

The hurricane took all of Cozumel down a notch, but the Occidental Grand has rebuilt consistently and is back on top of the list of places to stay on the island. The very best diving is a short trip away. The beach is great, the specialty restaurants are good, but have been better in the past. It has improved every year I've stayed since the hurricane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g. reid
prtsmouth,va
Nov 29, 2012

excellant for family and dive location

the people and all the staff at this hotel went above and beyond to help its guest.. my daughter got married on the beach and the staff really went all out to pull off the perfect wedding... it was beautiful... the dive masters were very helpful. and taught things that i didnt really know as a new diver...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a vehicle from hotel travel around the south end of the island up the caribean side of the island to a restraunt called coconuts its on a cliff overlooking the sea....

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mr.Dean
USA
Jun 7, 2013

Perfect getaway

A fantastic property for a wonderful Holiday. The rooms are very elegantly done and very clean!. The Hotel staff is very attentive to the guests needs. Giving you the best service while staying there. Whether you relax by the one of the pools or the beach you are assured a nice relaxing experience. There is no skimping on the quality of food or liquor for an all inclusive resort. You have a very wide selection of meals to choose. There are other restaurants on the property which caters to specific cuisines

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

venders come on to property on certain night time performances. You will not have to leave the property for suveniers.

Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis, TN
Feb 25, 2008

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Our stay at the Occidental Grand Cozumel was great. The property was located on a beautiful stretch of beach on the south west end of Cozumel. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The food was very good and we had a variety of choices with 5 restaruants available. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all ways. There were many choices of activities or you could just lay on the beach if desired. The island of Cozumel is very beautiful and we explored it with the rental of a jeep that was free with a time share presentation. The resort is within 10 minutes of the gourgous and interesting Punta Sur ecological park where we snorkeled on the beautiful reef, climbed a lighthouse for a great view of the island, and saw crocodiles in the lagoons. All water sports are available directly from the Occidental pier for diving, snorkeling, fishing, parasailing, and sightseeing. I would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I already mentioned Punta Sur but also the drive around the east coast of the island is pretty with good mexican restaruants on the beaches. The town of San Miguel is interesting with lots of shopping. There are ruins that are also worth visiting especially San Gerversio.

Back to menu Return to top