Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
261 reviews
Summer vacation

Such a great place! Awesome location, great staff, clean, and very fun. See full review

  • Siffland
  • Jul 17, 2014
Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go... See full review

  • mike1966
  • Feb 17, 2014
Cozumel's largest swimming pool and private pier at luxurious resort
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Policies and fees
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 261
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STUNTZER
Business
OKC
Apr 20, 2014

AVERAGE

THIS HOTEL IS GOOD FOR A SIMPLE EXPEREINCE. THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY, PLEASE TIP. THE ROOMS ARE SIMPLE, THE BEDS ARE ROCK HARD. ASK FOR PADDING IMMEDIATELY. EVERYTHING WORKED. THE FOOD IS PLENTIFUL BUT EASY. NOT GOURMET BUFFET. GET AN OMELETTE IN THE AM. THE DRINKS ARE PLENTIFUL. THE DIVE SHOP IS ACROSS THE STREET. THERE IS A SHORT TUNNNEL TO GET TO THE BEACH IF YOU CHOOSE. THE POOL IS NICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO ESPECIAS ITALIAN RESTAURANT. GREAT EXPERIENCE THERE. UPSTAIRS TERRACE AND DELICIOUS FOOD.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ledgend
Business
Hancock, MI, USA
Apr 16, 2014

Great Vacation

Staff very nice and helpful. Morning buffet was very good. I have stayed there 6 times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat and Lizzy
Business
Cape Cod
Apr 5, 2014

Visit March 2014

Great visit. We were happy with this choice. Staff was very attentive and always friendly and happy to help. Our stay was all inclusive and we were happy we chose this option. Food was not over the top fancy but well prepared and served hot with varied menus and themes nightly. Drinks flowed as often as you wanted. Location is an easy 10 min walk to town or a $5 cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop down the side streets instead of on the main street of San Miguel. The cruise passengers don't venture there and the shop owners are able to offer better deals and better service than the big stores on the waterfront street.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Archbishop
Business
Texas
Mar 1, 2014

Didn't Quite Win Me Over

I went for the "all inclusive" package here. I stayed for five nights. I wasn't very impressed. Starting with the food: Here we were sitting within a few feet of the ocean and almost all they served was chicken and pork at every meal. One lunchtime they grilled some kabobs that had little tiny popcorn shrimp on them. that was it...in five days...that was it! C'mon guys. Where's the seafood? And did I mention cauliflower, in some form, at just about every meal? Must be in season. The drinks: I'd say were decent...not the best I've had. The beds were hard as a rock. no matter which way you tossed anything touching the bed would start to hurt shortly. So, not much rest. The AC in the room was great. Cooled down really quickly. Showers have good water pressure...not those dribbly water saver kind. The in room lock box is a key type. They give you the key on a string at check in. But don't lose it! That key will cost you $150 bucks to replace if you do! The pool is nice. Though many of the lounge chairs in the pool area are in disrepair. The part that controls the amount of recline is broken on maybe half of them. So you risk falling backwards into the flat position at the most inopportune times whenever the back of the chair gives way. Although, that actually proved entertaining to watch when it happened to other people. Not so much fun when it happens to you....and you have a Pina Colada in your hand taking a drink. Nope, not fun. This place is mainly for Divers though. There's a dock across the street at what they call the beach club. The boats come in and pick up the divers there. Pretty convenient. That property is also connected to the main hotel lobby via a walk thru tunnel under the street. I don't know why they call it a beach club though. Their beach is nothing more than a few square feet of sandy patios with some more of those tricky lounging chairs. You can go down the rocky steps into the water but there is no actual beach touching the water. Just a sea wall. The best thing this hotel has going for it are the staff. Very, very nice people! And very patient. They would have to be to put up with the dumb stuff that they have to take from some of the American tourists (I'm embarrassed to say). I can honestly say that the stay here would have been a lot more pleasant if we had been short a few tourists from my own country. It was that bad. Even the activities directors (who are awesome young folks) had their work cut out for them. How do you pull off activities for folks that are so morbidly obese, rude and usually drunk and get these folks to participate and have fun. But they tried their best. But what they maybe couldn't do for some in a group setting they managed to do on an individual basis. I can say that I made friends with some of the staff and we will definitely keep in touch via Facebook. Don't use the bank machine for money in the lobby!!! (Just walk down the street to the HSBC bank.) I wanted to take out $100 and at first it told me that I would be charged $5.95 to do so. So I went ahead and hit yes. Then when the money came out it charged me another $6.95. And then, of course your bank in the US charges you $5 buck service fee. So 17% just to get some cash. The Mexican mafia is in the wrong business. You can make more money with cash machines than selling drugs! So.....bottom line...If you're a diver and want the convenience for diving and can endure a hard bed and mediocre food. this is the place for you. If you're wanting more of a lay out at the beach scene then try another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little shop keepers in town can be some what aggressive in trying to get your patronage. But please be courteous and kind. They're just trying to make a living and feed their kids. If they won't come down to a price that you can be happy with then just politely leave. Tell the shop keeper next door what the lowest price was that the other guy/girl offered and they'll be happy to sell to you cheaper since they know that you will walk away if they don't. Really...they all sell the same stuff. Try to enjoy the haggling! And honestly, is one dollar worth getting upset over. Just another one of those nasty Americanisms that I witnessed. Don't let that be you!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love One
Business
MA
Oct 14, 2013

In short...

Hotel Cozumel and Resort was great. The pool is massive and perfect for kids. The food provided with the 'all-inclusive' was fine, lots of options. Most of the options were meat or had meat on it, so if you’re a vegetarian you might struggle. The fruit selection was disappointing. Staff was always there to assist and the front desk was confident & quick. Rooms were clean and the AC was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel has drinking water in water coolers in many places near rooms for teeth brushing and will provide bottle water. Do not leave personal things in unlocked cars in town. My cell phone and kids car-seat went missing...

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimiBarr
Business
Louisville,Ky
Jan 8, 2013

Divers Paridise!

Great location for everyone. fantastic operation for divers! Nice place for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly D
Business
Menasha, WI
Dec 31, 2012

December 1012

This was our 8th stay in 5 years at this hotel. Hotel is always wonderful. The staff friendly and tries hard to make your stay a good experience. The food is good, but I recommend having primary entree cooked for you if you want it hot. The buffet is plentiful, but hot dishes are usually cool to luke warm at best. Biggest plus is the dive shop we use picks up at the hotel. The next big thing for us is it's an easy walk to downtown; 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from the main drag and plaza for an authentic meal at a reasonable price. Brush up on your Spanish, not everyone is fluent is English.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
naxi man
Business
San Antonio,Texas
Jun 30, 2012

Texicans Group Trip

This was our 5th year to do the texican trip. The weather was fine hotel wonderful. We enjoyed the nightly shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Do not miss the daily water vollyball games and the nightly shows.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phillid
Business
Menasha, WI
Jun 25, 2012

Hotel Cozumel & Resort

Just returned from our 7th stay at this hotel. The staff is always friendly and courteous. The buffet meals are similar to other buffet restaurants in Mexico. The food is plentiful, but early breakfast eaters will be greeted by barely warm pans of food. Breakfast starts at 6:30 am. We were always on the first dive boat off the dock so we didn't have time to diddle around. They were always accommodating to our early arrival at breakfast. If you spend over $100 a person more for All Inclusive I might consider other options for meals. There are a lot of wonderful inexpensive restaurants within walking distance. Get away from the main plaza a little and you will find them. Safety while walking the island has never been a concern for us. Tourism is their main economy, they can't afford bad publicity. No, we are not super athletes. We are simply average people in our 50's. Don't like to walk? Cab ride is $5 more or less to almost anywhere. Just ask the price before getting in while you have room to haggle. Yes, cab fare is negotiable within reason. Don't like the price, hail another cab. Also, be aware of the exchange rate. Cab drivers and bar tenders will offer price at 10 pesos or $1, while actual rate may be 12+ to 1. Sometimes using Peso's can be the better value. For Pesos you must go to a national bank, an exchange office, or your hotel. Exchange rates are posted. Stores must return change in the same currency used to make a purchase. If drinking is your gig, then by all means pay the AI fee and belly up to the bar. Don't worry, they will keep the drinks flowing as long as you remember to be respectful of staff and other patrons. No one likes an obnoxious drunk no matter where you live. Yes, you know who I'm talking about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order eggs the way you like them for breakfast if you want a hot meal.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EGMOM
Business
CT
Apr 24, 2012

average

We were taken off guard as I thought I had signed up for an All-Inclusive (all meals,drinks) upon arrival they said we only got breakfast and had to pay for everything else. This was a shock. Also, we needed some help getting from the airport and then back again and felt that we we being pushed and also forced into how much we paid. $28. to hotel and only $14. back, plus no assistance from the front desk. This initially put a bad taste in our mouth and we asked them if they had a number for the booking company since they had your paperwork, but they said, NO they did not have your contact information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel food is same thing each day presented in different ways. Trying area restaurants might help with variety

Back to menu Return to top