Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
View map of Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fred from AR
Business
Little Rock, AR, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Not the best, but nice

The beds are hard, and the food is not very good. But the hotel is clean, the staff is great, the rates are great, the dive shop is top notch, and convienience for diving and shopping is excellent.. If you are looking for great food, don't do the all inclusive, you can go into town for meals. Taken as a whole, I will be going back, in fact I will be booking a 2 week trip this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want good food, don't do the all inclusive. You can go into town for a better meal for almost as good a price. But if you don't mind mediocre food, the all inclusive is easy and cheap.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scuba Sue
Business
Iowa, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Scuba diving vacation

Okay, we've stayed at several resorts on Cozumel. Hotel Cozumel does have a splendid location, walking distance to downtown, walking distance to international pier. ( 1 mile & 1.5 miles). However, the hotel itself could use some updating. Our room's bathroom needed work, the handle to toilet stuck, the tub was stained/pitted and sink drain plug wasn't in working order. The room with two double beds is small, not much room to move about. Many of the chairs around the pool and on beach were broken. The wait staff was good, very accommodating. The food variety was limited, but better than another resort we stayed last year. Be aware that lots of locals come and use the hotel on the weekends for birthday parties....pool gets congested and very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel Cozumel does have bicycles they check out at no cost from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Not latest models, but easy to ride and better than walking!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ff001
Business
Oklahoma, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Yearly Vacation Spot

We have been visiting cozumel for the last 10 years and have stayed in this hotel for the last 10 years. We have seen the ups and downs of the hotel. The hotel is on the down side this year. They no longer have coffee pots in the rooms and our bed this year was terrible. Pillows were terrible as well. Service was excellent as always though. We do the all-inclusive package and most years the food is ok. This year the food was a little bit worse than usual. Seems like they just are not putting any money into the upkeep. Excellent location though. Close to town and the grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R MacDonald
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great place to stay!

The resort is located 10 min walk from the downtown area which was nice. Diving Paradise is located on the premises for all your scuba diving needs including beach diving. The boat will pick you up at the pier at the resort. The lockers for your dive gear was great and very safe (located next to the pier). Everyone washed their gear and had it hanging out all day to dry. Never a thought it being unsafe of being stolen. The resort is very clean and very quiet....it's NOT Cancun. The beds are very hard and uncomfortable and the AC worked like a champ. Wifi did work without issue except at night. It was harder to login....i assume too many people on the network. Once logged in, the internet was fast to my surprise and FREE. No problem getting Wifi service in the room, lobby, pool, beach.... As for the food. Breakfast is good, lunch was better and dinner so so. My wife and I went out for dinner each night. NOTE about lunch... The pool grill chef will make you "anything"; fish tacos, steak sandwich, cheeseburgers, fish sandwich etc. They don't have this listed but the cook will make it for you. Including a plate of guacamole and chips Bonus!!! I give this place an 8+ and would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

These places are off the beaten path and was priced perfect. Kinta and LaCroy. Your taxi driver can get you to either place for $5 each way. Both restaurants are 5 stars and not priced high.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnesota Diver
Business
Minnesota
Feb 1, 2012

An Okay Hotel

The food service in the main restuarant was great. The food service at the poolside bar was bad. The food service in the beach restarant was the worst I have ever seen, until I went to the bar in the beach restaurant....holy cow these people were so unhappy it was crazy. Now I gave the hotel average rating because of the main restaurant, but mainly the poolside bar. They had the best staff I have ever had in Mexico. Friendly, wanted to help, did not make fun of my bad Spanish...but tried to help and teach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you use Dive Paradise for your diving request Emilio - best DM we have ever had.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single gal traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Traveling single on the cheap & likes the beach.

Couldn't have picked a better location for hotel lodging. Sure other hotels may have been nice -but they are so far away from everything or right in the downtown area,which is worse. Hotel is located within walking distance to downtown or car rentals and scuba diving locations. Seems they really cater to the divers at this hotel. Location is perfect for pick up and drop off adventures. Scuba Facility is located right on the premises-with lockers and places to hang gear and rent equipment. The pool area is nice if you want to stay around that area and drink and eat all day. I stayed in the beach area which was perfect. Lots of Sun and nice wind from the water, and mostly secluded since not many guests took advantage of its tranquility. Restaurant on the beach. Lunch is served daily buffet style. The rooms are clean and nothing fancy but fit my needs perfectly. Don't ask personnel at the Hotel for tips-they weren't too helpful. Ask Taxi drivers on the street or locals; they will give you the skinny on everything you want to know. I felt very safe walking around and doing activities by myself day or night. Ice machines on every floor. Some rooms face the pool area and some face the front of hotel which is really the street and then the ocean. You have to cross the street to get to the water or use the convenient underground walkway to get to beach or diving area location. Breakfast was served every morning with great variety fresh fruit/ hot foods (mexican style) or awesome homemade omelets. scrambled eggs-cold cereal,toast , yogurt etc.. on site folks to help you with any packages or traveling trips to purchase during your stay on the island. I listened to what was to offer but did my own traveling trips on the cheap. The only bad thing I have to say is during the lunch hour on the beach for 3 hours they had some obnoxious loud speaker system in restaurant area-instructing classes on salsa making.I had it memorized by the end of the week. Also in the pool area during the evenings between 8:30-10pm loudspeakers for the evening entertainment was rather loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely rent a scooter from location down the block from hotel "Rentadora"Gallo" Best $35.00 I ever spent for the day I drove to the other side of the island and could stop take pictures—drive more and take more pictures. Easy Access and Fun! Go on a Sunday when there is less traffic due to religious reasons. Take a ferry another day over to Playa Del Carmen for the day. $14.00 each way. Another tip is to not shop in town when the cruise ships are in—they do not tend to cut you a bargain on those days. Always ask first how much in american dollars before eating etc... The bill tends to be higher after you eat or take taxi etc... so get the price up front. Taxi from airport is about 10 dollars—dont go to the timeshare folks ..just look for ticket window only. Taxi back to airport was around 14.00 'THERE IS NO BUS SERVICE ON THE ISLAND—FYI "

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Neal
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great place with great service and great location

As usual this property has VERY friendly staff, from the front desk, Raoul/Hector, fantastic waiters, great bartenders and excellent housekeeping. They all seem to go out of their way to make sure that the guests are happy. Largest pool on the Island, very good buffet every meal. Convenient scuba and snorkel service right across the street. Always taxis right outside the front door. Nightly entertainment. Not sure what you would do to make it a 5 star place, spend a lot of money on things you can't taste our use, I suppose. Absolutely the best value on the Island, especially the AI package. Enjoy, Neal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For almost any shopping get at least 3 blocks off of the main drag, which is Melgar. Don't be bashful or hesitant, in many places off the main street, there is not much English spoken, but if you are patient they are too. enjoy your browsing. Go to the main Mercado (Market) for an interesting stroll.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pritten
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Love this little resort

This was our second trip to Cozumel and we stayed here both times. A vacation is what you make it and it you are expecting 4 or 5 star, this place is not for you. Love the location. Super close to town, 10-15 minute walk. We did not experience the discolored water that many have mentioned nor did we find the beds or pillows uncomfortable. As this is a divers hotel, which we are not, we never had to worry about fighting for a lounge chair on the beach or by the pool. The staff is just great!! The bartenders remembered us after just a couple of trips up for drinks and the wait staff at both buffets we always helpful and courteous. The food may get a little boring, but I always found something that I was satisfied with. I really enjoyed the fish tacos at the snack bar. The rooms are always nicely cleaned and they often leave you towel animals and/or flowers. We had an ocean view room and would go down stairs every morning to get a cup of coffee and then go out on our patio to watch the cruise ships come in. If I had any complaint it would be that the free wi-fi was not reliable, but you are vacation, who needs to be on the internet. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cozumel jim
Business
new york
Jan 10, 2012

good location for divers

average food.great pool .dock on beach for dive boats.Great drying stations for gear.lockers available for gear. 10 minute walk to town. town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colorado Diver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Nice Pool, Great Staff

This is the second time my family and I have stayed at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort. It is had to beat the price.. just do not expect any thrills. The breakfast is ok.. however the dinners are pretty bad.. The staff is wonderful and the convenience of the dive shop with lockers just across the road is great.. Careful of the weights in the "workout" room.. They fall over easily!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top