Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
253 reviews
Great place to stay

my 5th stay here lets start with the staff , most of the staff has been there for 10 years as i go... See full review

  • mike1966
  • Feb 17, 2014
Trip # 13

As described, this was my 13th trip to Coz staying @ the HCR, and it was as good as always. The... See full review

  • Seawolf 5
  • Nov 24, 2013
Cozumel's largest swimming pool and private pier at luxurious resort
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Policies and fees
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
SandyScuba
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Great hotel for scuba diving

Nice clean hotel with friendly staff. The all-inclusive package worked well for our family since our college age children are always hungry. The times available for the restaurants were convenient for any of the dive trips: breakfast & dinner 6:30 to 10:30am/pm and lunch 12:00 to 4:00. Clean dive lockers were provided free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown area is only a short ten minute walk. It was fun to walk some days and take the hotel bikes (no charge) on other days.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
for2une
Utah
Aug 1, 2011

Great value especially for divers

My second time at this hotel in less than 6 months - visiting Cozumel for diving. I recognize and enjoy luxury and 4-5 star accomodation, if the price is right but I am value oriented enough that a place like Hotel Cozumel rates the highest with me - I feel I get as much for my money as possible at Hotel Cozumel. For my dive trips Hotel Cozumel is a GREAT VALUE at some of the prices you can book it for. Hotel Cozumel does cater to and gets stays from a lot of divers. Another good value indicator is that it also attracts a lot of Mexican nationals. The resort is very clean, comfortable and the staff is professional and friendly. The meal plan is all buffet with a snack bar grill at the main pool open most of the day, berakfast and dinner in the main restaurant and lunch is served ocean side at a nice open air lounge and patio. In addition to the buffet, there is also always an omelet chef for breakfast and a cook on duty with the specialty meat for lunch and dinner. Some of the soups they have really tickle my taste bud and I usually am not even interested in soups. I have had 4 great soups days the last 2 visits and always check that pot. If you want strong drinks just ask for double - the bar tenders will serve you up pretty much anything you want. On the maybe not side of things, some of this relates to Cozumel as a destination. Cozumel is mostly a rocky island and there are no long stretches of beach for long walks in the hotel areas(like at Cancun ans Playa Del Carmen) - a few places have some short beaches serving a few hotels clsutered together. Most Cozumel hotels do at least have a nice ocean front area. Hotel Cozumel has a very nice ocean front area with easy access for swimming and snorkeling(which is pretty good right there - along the ocean front coral wall there are a lot of fish). There are always plenty of loungers and choice lounging spots available - no need to reserve loungers. I am surprised their ocean front area doesn't attract more tourists to just hang out, enjoy the ocean, passing water traffic, cruise ships and divers coming and going in peace and quiet. Most Cozumel resorts don't have a "beach scene" - it's more laid back and relaxing - there is activity and games at Hotel Cozumel in their large land side pool, but not on the ocean side. Playa Del Carmen or Cancun is better for the entire beach scene thing and endless stretches of walk-able beach. My wife doesn't dive and likes to hang out at the beach and pool or shop or walk around sight seeing while I am diving. I prefer Park Royal Cozumel the times she has gone with me because I feel the beach front, pools, and shopping at the very close by cruise ship or shops give her the most to do plus a more gourmet prepared style food. I think she would be fine with Hotel Cozumel if we needed to spend less, but for spending a lot of time at the resort I would pay a little more for a hotel with a little more to offer on the grounds and in the immediate(1-2 block) radius. Beware that Cozumel also has plenty of resorts like Riviera Maya, that you are almost "trapped" there unless you want to pay for a lot of taxis to get anywhere. On the other hand, Hotel Cozumel is at the edge of San Miguel, but it is a 2-3 block walk to get to the main shopping and entertainment - not bad. In summary I definitely recommend this resort for divers if you want great value and don't need luxury meals and service while not diving. I don't use their on-site Scuba operator - preferring another one that only runs small groups($65 for 2 tanks) - but if you don't want large boats you can pay, I think it was $10 more - $70 instead of $60 to get a 2 tank dive on a small group fast boat from Hotel Cozumel's dive shop. The resort seems to allow any dive operators to use their dock to pick you up and drop you off - that's very nice. This resort is so nice for a 3 star it almost deserves a 4 star rating. If you are just going to Cozumel to visit, hang out, sight see an...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
Andy Mo
Bend OR
Jul 30, 2011

Cozumel Resort

I thought the hotel was clean, well run, great local for snorkeling and walking to town. The pool was nice and large enough not to notice other swimmers. The private beach was a great place to relax and snorkel. The food was good. We had the breakfast pass and ate in the restaurant daily. It was a little repetitive. We thought they pushed the all inclusive which limits your exposure to all the other great food available in town and on the beaches. Some how they need to get rid of the plastic bracelets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Its somewhat of a long walk to the town square across from the passenger ferry. But in the blocks around, behind and in the square their is excellent food, shopping and local live music. EXPLORE!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
DiverGal
WA
Jul 21, 2011

Super Option for Divers

Wonderful pool, great staff. Food has improved. The perfect spot for divers, with dock across the street, rinse tanks and racks right there. Can walk to town center. Not the fanciest spot on the island, but clean and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Columbus, GA
Jun 30, 2011

Hotel Cozumel Resort Stay

During this stay I went Scuba Diving and as always, it was an awesome trip!..This was my eight stay in COZ and it keeps getting better with every trip. Next time I will stay longer, made some good friends among the staff, had a very nice room, it was hard to come back. I would not change a things from my previous times staying there. Be on the lookout, because I'm coming back soon!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 22, 2011

Enjoyed the stay but don't book online

Enjoyed the hotel. Staff was professional & friendly. Rained our last 2 days but we got in a day of snorkeling & did the Zipline at Fly High. It's much cheaper to take your own cab to & from airport. From Hotel Cozumel it was $140 peso for up to 4 passengers to the airport. [...]This was our 3rd stay at Hotel Cozumel. We will be back [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
Colorado Steve-O
Morrison, CO
Jun 6, 2011

Decent, but not Awesome...

The hotel is decent, and the pool is great! We loved the all-inclusive as far as the hotel bars, but the food needs some attention. We were never impressed with a single meal - some of the food was actually quite bad. However, we found that if you could get them to make you up something fresh, it was usually quite good. We enjoyed chicken quesadilla's from the pool buffet quite a few times. The staff is normally friendly, and we found the drinks to be great - especially if you tip the bartenders. We got taken for a ride (literally) with the Jeep Rental company (Vixay) that is run out of the lobby. They tried to scam us several times - the first being a gas tank that read 7/8th of a tank when we left the hotel, and was on empty by the time we got downtown. We then managed to put in $40 (US) of gas, but were told that the gas station was the one that had ripped us off. We got a flat tire, and no jack or tools to change the tire were provided. After hours of arguing with the company, we finally got a deal that was somewhat satisfactory. I'd be very leery of using them. I was never able to get my credit card receipt back from them, even though we paid cash, so I'm keeping an eye on my card. Overall, we still had a very good time. The room was comfortable, the drinks were great, the pool was awesome, and the food was lousy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Scuba Club across the street for all of your diving, and ask for Geiser - he was awesome!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jun 3, 2011

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

The hotel was a good value for the cost. The pool was nice, not perfect, but large and clean enough. There were dance shows and organized activities constantly taking place. There was a wedding at the hotel's pier/beach, which I think was a nice setting for a modest ceremony. All around, worth what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All of the quiet beaches are on the other side of the island, where there are no hotels. So if you want a quiet, romantic beach day, you are best advised to rent a car for such a trip.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
chicago
Jun 2, 2011

friendly, clean, well located, great poo

great. clean rooms. great pool, nice guests but it is budget friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

walk to town and short taxi anywhere

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
arizona
May 30, 2011

Friendly, fun,good location, great dive

Friendly & fun staff! Easy walk to town. Great dive shop!-daughter got certified and my husband and I had some great shore dives! Fun shows in the evening. good for couples and families. We will be back! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top