Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Hotel Cozumel and Resort

3 stars
Costera Sur KM 1.7, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
270 reviews
Do I want you to read this?

The people make this place! An ounce of politeness from you, gets you excellent service from... See full review

  • FYID INC.
  • Jan 21, 2015
hotel Cozumel resort 10 the stay

Perfect , just perfect. Great staff, rooms, food. What more could you ask for. I spend about two... See full review

  • wetjed
  • Nov 9, 2014
Cozumel's largest swimming pool and private pier at luxurious resort
The heart of the colorful Hotel Cozumel and Resort is the swimming pool, which is the largest in Cozumel. However, the private pier from which guests dive right into the ocean is a highlight, too. All diving needs and wants are fully met on site via a PADI full-service center, Dive Paradise, which has been operating in Cozumel continuously since 1984. Families dive together or kids can hang back at the hotel's designated program.
Highlights
  • Dive Paradise includes a private pier and full-service PADI center
  • Largest swimming pool in Cozumel
  • Three on-site restaurants and lounge
  • Kid's program with supervised activities

 

Rooms
The 181 rooms in this coral-covered seaside majesty were remodeled in 2009; 10 of which are fully accessible. Accessible bathrooms feature a wheel-in shower with an adjustable orthopedic bench, shower, toilet security bars and accessible washbasin. The Hotel Cozumel and Resort also is equipped with ramps. Suites host up to four guests and have marble finished bathrooms with bathtubs, a dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. Garden or pool view rooms boast private balconies.

 

Dining
The only guidelines for meals at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort are that guests wear shoes and dry clothes. Los Girasoles has an airy open seating area facing the ocean. Los Pericos Grill is poolside, serving snacks and beverages between 11 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Recreation
Divers visiting the hotel may use the on-site rinse tanks, hangers for draining diving gear, fresh water showers and the 150 lockers to keep all diving gear safe. The large swimming pool is used by the ChanKaanab underwater park's Dolphinarium as a hurricane shelter for its dolphins during tropical hurricane season.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2.9 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Cozumel Photo Tour (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Isla de Pasion (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Alex Scuba (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel, including poolside
  • Business center has two PC workstations
  • Meeting rooms available
Policies and fees
Fee to connect to Internet via hotel computers. Guide dogs and pets up to 15 pounds are welcome. Room service available from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. for an additional fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Cozumel and Resort Rooms

Garden View or Pool View with Private Balcony, 322 Sq.Ft
Newly remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the largest swimming pool in Cozumel. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Ocean View with Private Balcony, 355 Sq.Ft
Beautifully remodeled air conditioned rooms overlooking the dazzling crystal clear Caribbean Sea. All are decorated in a contemporary style and bright Mexican fabrics. These rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, and touch tone telephone, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries. Non-smoking and adjoining rooms are available.
Handdicaped Room
Wheel in shower, adjustable orthopedic bench, security bars in the shower and toilet, washbasin wheel chair accessible, low beds, easy access to balcony. The hotel is equipped with ramps for ease of access to any building. Guide dogs are welcome. All rooms are equipped with amenities to make your stay more comfortable and intimate, including two double beds, Wi-Fi free access, direct-dial, touch tone telephones, television with world channels, coffee/tea maker, bottled water, radio/alarm-clock, safety deposit box, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cozumel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.4991 -86.96
Area served
Cozumel, Quinta Roo. Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport
Area description
Surrounded by pristine white beaches and the beautiful turquoise-blue water of the Mexican Caribbean, Reefs cape COZUMEL provides the ideal combination of fun and relaxation. A unique doorway to a mystical relationship with Cozumel's ancient Mayan past and modern-day adventure and hospitality.

Dining

LOS PERICOS RESTAURANT
It serves snacks and beverages in a relaxing atmosphere by the largest pool of Cozumel. Hours service: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm.
LOS ARCOS RESTAURANT
It is the main restaurant located by the front desk, serving the perfect morning start buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast from 6:30 am – 10:30 am Dinner from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm
LOBBY BAR
Offers a wide variety or domestic liquors and beer. A perfect place to watch a favorite sport or to play some of our table games. Open from 2:00 pm – 2:00 am
LOS GIRASOLES RESTAURANT
Enjoy an extraordinary ocean view during the lunch; this restaurant is open from 12:00 pm -4:00 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Convention Center with capacity for 500 people, TV, VCR, projector and podium.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DiverDown
Business
Neptune Beach, Florida
Dec 27, 2011

Mediocre Facility

Staff was nice and attentive, and the pool area is pleasant and well maintained. The food was rather bland, redundant, and the variety was slim. The room was clean, and the sea view was good but across the street. The wire-less Internet connectivity in the room was nonexistent. The gear wash-down tanks and lockers were great. Over-all it was a low average facility. There are many better economical, clean, and accomodating hotels on the Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scubadiver 75
Business
Leoti, Ks
Dec 25, 2011

Didn't know what to expect

I had read some reviews that were bad,talking about poor food, unfriendly staff, hard beds (they were firm but not what I would call hard), no hot water and on and on. We didn't have any problems what so ever and would reccomend this hotel with 2 thumbs up. There was enough different kinds of food that if you went away hungry it was your own fault. Would NOT reccomend the Grayline shuttle service. They will charge you more money when you want to leave the airport and then they are not around when it comes time to leave or pay for your taxi. They are a poorly run business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

It's about a mile and half to the shopping. Take a taxi then you can shop longer.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C. K.
Business
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Some good--Some bad

The hotel staff and location are great. They need to improve their food selection. lunch consists of some salads, pasta and what is left over from the night before. the pool snack bar is a better choice for lunch. there idea of evening entertainment is playing bingo, or movie night, no shows, no music. The diving is really great, 200ft. visabilty, really wonderful dive boat crews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast is good, dine out in the evening

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJCJ
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 18, 2011

comfortable hotel in a great location

the staff were incredibly friendly, caring and professional. It was hard to say goodbye to many of them! All inclusive package was a great deal. Hotel is not really fancy but it is comfortable, clean and in a perfect location. Dive Paradise shop across the street - took my full certification course with them and it was a fantastic experience. Can't wait to go back to Cozumel and will stay at Hotel Cozumel and Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnorris1
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Good Hotel for divers

Nice hotel in a good location, its a 20 minute walk to town where all the restaurants are. Huge pool and gorgeous patio area. Great staff. Free WIFI. Dive shop on site. The food was good but we only bought the breakfast package and ate in town the rest of the time. Yes the hotel could use a little renovation but we thought it was a good value. The only negative is that we could hear everything going on the the halls and next door despite the obvious thick room walls. Not a big deal since everybody was diving and on the same sleep schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We got the transportation package, for $50. The transport company told us we only bought transport to zone 1 and needed another $14 to go to our hotel. Turns out the taxi cabs have a set rate of $10 US for up to 4 people one way. Don't waste money on the transport package. ---------- Time Share salesman are poised to pounce on you as soon as you exit customs at the airport. --------- Best place to buy Tequila is Chedraui kind of like WalMart about 4 blocks from the hotel. ------------- 99% of the Cuban cigars sold on the island are fakes.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonzodiver
Business
East Bay, Ca.
Dec 13, 2011

First Stay Hotel Cozumel

Great place for divers. Nice daily buffet and also fresh fajita/taco bar at pool. Cocktail selection was excellent. Dive Paradise across the way has special deals, etc. and nice staff with variety of boats. The staff all the around were friendly and professional. Some fun PG activities at night. Here are THREE things they can improve. Cut the price of Spa treatment in half. At $80hr for massage, no one was buying. Beware the rental scooters, mine had a busted signal light. They should also let diners bring food into the adjacent bar so single travelers can eat while watching sports, etc. on TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free mountain bikes from 9am to 5pm.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seawolf5
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Nov 25, 2011

COZ Mission #9

My ninth trip to COZ, my eighth staying at the HCR, and it is what it is, there's no better place to stay. Close to town, nice rooms, food services, hotel activities, the whole package is great, that's why I stay there all the time, oh, the diving is super, too! Trying to coach (heavily) my scuba shop whereas instead of those other guys "up the road" we'll stay at the HCR from now on. Already planning my next mission, diver away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 to 5 minutes walking to the CHEDRAUI and MEGA marts for your shopping needs, and they have everything! Another 5 minutes and you are in town, so you can save money on taxis and get some exercise at the same time!

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJAC
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Easy vacation - plenty to do and not to do....

Great for divers! Couldnt be more convenient. We enjoyed breakfast daily but didnt go for all inclusive...liked venturing into town for absolutely wonderful food/restaurants. Enjoyed staying by the pool after diving - bar service great! - kept away from big cruise ship days in town...too crazy. Would recommend this resort to friends and family alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prima's-top floor of El Cid resort...great food, good specials, good happy hour.

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan R.
Business
Troy, MI, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Great for scuba

This hotel has a great location at a great price. It is a short walk downtown and right across the street from the beach. Scuba and snorkeling couldn't be more convenient. The staff was friendly and the activity crew was great. The food was good and had good variety. The rooms were clean and the pool was great. Overall, a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SAT and SHD
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 6, 2011

At least we were in Cozumel.....

Stay dates: 10/30/2011 thru 11/05/2011 Overall the hotel just misses on almost everything. With a little effort on their part, it could be so much more. Upon arrival we had reservations for a pool view room and instead we got the parking lot view. Granted there was a slight ocean view but you were looking through the palm trees. The room appeared clean upon first look but the floors were dirty and the the drawers were musty smelling. The bed was as hard as concrete and the pillows were just as hard and resembled basketballs. I've never slept so bad in a hotel before. The next morning we asked about different pillows and were told that was all they had. Thank goodness for the store in town 'cause I went and bought my own! Another item of discontent was that for 4 of the 7 days we stayed, there was no hot water for showers. The resort is an all inclusive so the food and well drinks are included. The food was buffet style for each meal and was pretty good. The hotel was pretty empty when we first got there and at that time the drinks were good. But as the week went on they became more and more watered down. The pool is beautiful and clean. However it does need maintenance. Stains on the edges, missing some tiles, etc. The hot tub never worked the entire time. We arrived on Sunday and was told it would be running by Tuesday. Didn't happen! The staff was okay... some were very very helpful and others not so much. Several times we ordered drinks and no one ever came back with the drink. The location is in zone three and is fairly close to town. You can walk, should you choose to but its only a $6.00usd taxi ride to the passenger ferry area where the main square is and shopping. We are not divers but Dive Paradise is onsite and across the street. It's our understanding that this is a very well know establishment and a lot of divers stay at the hotel because of it. The hotel is not ocean front but does have an underground tunnel that goes below the street to the beach club side. The bar service is sporadic. Most of the time you have to go to the bar for service. We can't wait to go back to Cozumel but we won't be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top