Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carr. Costera Sur a Chancanab Km 7.5 Hotel Zone, Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Jan 10, 2011

Beautiful with a great value!

Great staff, friendly service, beautiful view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
costa_scuba
Business
Artesia, California
Jan 6, 2011

Go Elsewhere!!!

The only thing the Fiesta Americana Cozumel Dive Resort has going for itself, is that it is in beautiful Cozumel. That's it. This was our third visit to Cozumel, first at the Fiesta Americana, and although we will be returning to Cozumel - we won't be coming back to the Fiesta Americana. Our first 2 visits (first at Coral Princess, second at Park Royal), were great. The staff, at both locations were excellent. They were warm, hospitable, and always going above and beyond to make we were enjoying ourselves. At the Fiesta Americana, we practically had to twist people's arms to get an "Hola" or "Buenos Dias" out of them. Good luck trying to get restaurant/bar staff to check on you more than once. We waited a total of 2.5 hours at the MiraMar Restaurant (upstairs) for a meal - 30min. for salad - another 30min. for soup - another 30 to 45min. for our actual dinner, which consisted of a scallop on top of boxed mashed potatoes. We didn't dare wait around to be shown a dessert menu. Everyone in the restaurant was going through the same exact thing, and no one ever got an explanation/apology. The other restaurants on-site got old, quick. We spent the last 3 days of our stay surviving on cereal boxes...at least there was variety in that. The grilling stations were a great idea, until we noticed that the meats were left out the whole time the meal station was set up (just because they're on ice, doesn't mean they're cold). The same pair of tongs was used to grab whatever was to be grilled (be it meat/veggies), as well as used to flip and plate the food. That's called cross contamination - and it's food poisoning waiting to happen. Our room was clean. We stayed in a "Tropical Casita". It's a novel idea, until you realize that you wake up, every day, with more bug bites on you than you can count. I walked into my bathroom one day to find a spider about 2.5inches big. I called the front desk, and waited for over 20 minutes for someone to come down - no one did, so I went and reminded the receptionist! As for entertainment (below is an excerpt taken right off the Fiesta Americana Cozumel Dive Resort website): Cozumel Resort Recreation The Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive is the place to be for fun with family and friends. Guests can build sand castles on the beach, paint T-shirts, play volleyball, water polo or basketball, or try out classes in mini-Olympic kite-making, boat-building, cooking, yoga, or Mayan language. Take a dip in our two swimming pool, watch unique Mexican, Caribbean and Mayan shows in the theater, or dive to see the diversity of our Caribbean reef. Adults can enjoy evening activities like tequila tasting, dancing to live music or learning Mayan astrology, while the kids have fun at the Fiesta Kids Club or the Teen's Club. NONE OF THE ABOVE IS FOUND AT FIESTA AMERICANA. Sure, they put together a pretty little activities board daily, but have fun trying to figure out where and when those are activities are because they are literally NON EXISTENT. The first show we ever saw at the Fiesta Americana was on the last night we were there. It was by chance that we caught it. There was never an announcement or flyer mentioning a beach bbq dinner and fire show. We ended up paying $40 (per person) for a day pass to the Park Royal to enjoy their activities (cooking, dance lessons, games, etc.) Although we'd like to recommend the Fiesta Americana to friends, it wouldn't be fair to do so at this time. Maybe in the future, if/when things change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Casa Mission at least once for dinner. It's incredible food and atmosphere!!!

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Great experience!

Great service experience, altough after 7 days of being there the food was repeatitive. BBQ outside was a good change in taste. Beds were not comfy though :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

About 10 minutes from downtown, not too far.

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sredheada
Business
Garnett, Kansas
Jan 3, 2011

We had a wonderful time

We had a lovely relaxing time. This was our first experience with all inclusive. We usually do cruises. We did the all inclusive for only $50 per person per day which included all meals, drinks, room etc. We had a lovely ocean view room. We loved just sitting out on the balcony watching the boats go by. We also enjoyed watching the cruise ships come and go. At night we could see the lights from the mainland and playa del Carmen. The food was great to poor depending on the day. There were two buffets restaurants the served pretty much the same things for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Never eaten so much Rice and re-fried beans in my life. There was one sit down restaurant that was Italian. for dinner only. It had severe service problems. We waited for 1 and ½ hours for the first course. Didn't offer to get us drinks. Everyone else around us were getting served. We finally left. Then they had the gall to ask why we were leaving and if we were coming back. We went and ate at the buffet instead. There was okay snorkeling in front of the hotel. It was difficult to get in and out because of the stairs and coral. There is a strong current there that goes south so be careful and aware. The beach had snorkeling, kayaks and pedal boats. However, they did not allow you to go out far. Just within the buoys. Again difficult to get into the kayaks. There are not enough beach chairs on the man made beach. If you want a beach chair you have to get there by 8am. There were a lot of chair hogs. They would put a book or towel on it in the morning and then go back to their room and sleep in or whatever. Not right. They have cruise excursions that come there too. So that added to the chair problem. There were beach boys that came and asked if you wanted a drink. That was really nice. There were security guards for the beach and to get into the hotel parking. There is a street between the hotel and the beach. It is busy at times with traffic from the cruise ships. It never bothered us however. They tried to make this hotel handicapped accessible with ramps however they are very steep and narrow. I doubt a wheelchair would be able to navigate them. The star rating of 3 or 3 ½ stars is accurate. There are much better resorts there however they are much more expensive. The hotel had a included free limited room service menu however we never used it so cant comment on it. Our room maid was wonderful and we got service every morning. We got turn down service at night only once. So perhaps they discontinued it or something. They give you one liter of bottled water every day. Which was enough for the two of us. They provided in room coffee but it was poor at best. The TV was mostly in Spanish of course however there were around 3 English channels that had Spanish sub titles. The hotel is around 5 miles from town. Taxis were always available. However we rented a car for $100 for the week. It was nice to have. Beware the taxi here drive like maniacs. Also there were a lot of scooters that thought they owned the road. Would zip in and out of traffic. So be careful. We drove around the island and to Playa Plancar for a snorkel tour. This was a nice beach. The snorkeling was poor however the beach area was nice with chickens and peacocks running around. Stay away from San Francisco and Paradise beach. Just a mass of people. So crowded with beach chairs, vendors, bars and tattoos and such you cant even walk on the beach. Please remember this is Mexico. If your shower turns cold shortly or it smells outside your room stay in the states. Many Mexicans were there on vacation. Some employees didn't know English very well however that is understandable as we were in Mexico so tried to speak the limited Spanish we knew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FA Return Patron
Business
North Dakota
Jan 1, 2011

Great hotel!

The Fiestamericana was a great place to go with our kids, ages 14 and 17. We've previously gone to Cozumel to scuba dive and have had previous experiences both at the FA and at the Wyndham. The FA is far preferable. Less of a partying atmosphere and my very tall and older-appearing, yet underaged son wasn't served alcohol. They actually checked their wrist bands.Check-in and check-out were very slow. VERY slow... Allow time before leaving to grab that last minute taxi to the airport for this process and don't be discouraged upon arrival. It was nice, however, that they gave us bottled water while we were waiting to check in. Food was plentiful and very fresh. Communication about special events didn't seem to flow well, however. We were there over New Years Eve and some sort of event occurred which required reservations yet we had no information about it. The Italian restaurant said to make reservations, yet it was not clear they followed those. The food there was really no better than any of the other restaurants. Really, the worst part of the whole dining experience was that food is served mostly buffet style. People would sneeze or cough into their hands, then grab the serving utensils that everyone uses. We figured the entire experience was a challenge to our immune systems. We had booked two rooms, one with a king bed and one with two double beds. We got both rooms with double beds because they were out of king rooms. We'd [...] got one room with a pretty minimal view. The other was better, but still not great. Rooms were fairly large, though, although the beds felt small after our queen bed at home. Getting our rooms cleaned seemed rather variable. Could happen before noon. One night it was nearly 6pm before they finished up but it appeared many people had left that day, so perhaps they had lots to clean. We have previously dived with the onsite shop but this time were fairly displeased. They were full for morning dives. We scheduled a night dive only to find that they'd oversold the boat so changed the dive to the next night. Then my son didn't check his gauges and the company, who had been trading out the tanks of air, forgot to trade his out. He got 65' down to find out he was out of air. Granted, both were at fault, but they didn't offer to refund the dive or even really apologize. The divemaster did a good job getting him up and encouraged us to continue our dive. The water for snorkeling is somewhat difficult to access due to rocky coral as one enters and some minimal waves that throw balance off. That said, it's well worth it to snorkel out front. Better yet is to swim down past the Money Bar (Money Pit? It's north of the FA.) and go beyond to a bouyed off area where there is spectacular coral with a multitude of fish right within a few feet of the water surface. We saw a barracuda, ray, multitudes of fish and even a bristleworm. Well worth the time. Make sure to go within the bouyed area and somewhat close to shore. FA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We went to town and went a bit away from where the cruise ships come into town to buy vanilla and a Mexican blanket, only to find out it was FAR cheaper to buy in the area right where all the tourists would go. Far cheaper!

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Diver
Business
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Dec 26, 2010

Dive and Relax

Sixth visit to FA as I returned to dive, relax and escape the cold weather. The warm friendly staff makes returning to FA like returning home. The staff can not do enough to please. The guests were mostly families and children...to be expected this time of year. It did get a little boring but I did come to just dive, tan and relax...mission accomplsihed. This time FA was all inclusive including room service, bottled water and finally coffee to go with the coffee maker in the room. Water sports were available right there which gave people something to do right there. You just cannot beat staying here for the price and the wonderful staff. A divers haven!!! And no problem going solo as I always felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dive with Martin (the name of the comany) is an outstanding dive company that is reasoable but most of all safe. They will pick you up at the pier at the hotel. Trustworthy, professional, attentive and easy.

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScubaDiver10
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 28, 2010

Great place to go for scuba divers

The hotel was great, people were friendly, the view was beautiful, and the overall experience was good. One negative aspect was that the hotel didnt inculde any other type of activities, not to say that the town didnt have restaurants, clubs, lounges.. Just after a day of scuba diving most people tend to stay in for the night. Great experience in general. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

scuba diving

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, Canada
Nov 25, 2010

Great diving resort

Tropical casitas very nice, but wifi doesn't reach them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Italian dinner very nice, but service is inconsistent

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Oregon
Aug 17, 2010

Great for relaxtion and snorkeling!

We went to Fiesta Americana to attend a wedding and had a great time. The staff is very attentive and the food was tasty. Don't limit yourself to the menu as they will make other dishes for you. Prices are reasonable. Make sure to try the mango margarita!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love snorkeling, it's a quick walk from the pool. Don't even bother going anywhere else! Tons of fish under the pier.

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family with late teens
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Great Family Destination!!!

We just returned on August 15th 2010 and had a Great Time!!! Fiesta Americana was a great hotel! The room was nice, we spent a couple extra dollars for the the ocean view and was well worth it. Floors 3-5 have the best views. The room was comfortable, great water pressure, however it was a little brown when it first comes out but clears up immediately. The a/c worked great, which was crucial as it is hot in Cozumel during this time of year. The pool was nice and has a great bar inside the pool. It does close a little early, around 5 or 6, but there is another bar 15 feet away that is open. The biggest surprise was the food. The food was very good and a good selection. The breakfast buffet was Great but it is pricey and is served from early until 11:30. It is included with the "All Inclusive" package and it can be purchased on any days and is good for 24 hours. This worked well for our family because some days we were not at the hotel. The lunch starts in the restaurant at 12 and is served until 5, dinner from 5-9:30 so you are never rushed to eat. The staff was the friendliest and most helpful I've seen, even for Cozumel which is a very friendly island. Maid service is exceptional. They come at least 2-3 times a day and leave free small bottles of purified water in the evenings. The beach area in front is set up nicely with lots of palapa huts, some beds and great snorkeling right in front at the pier. I could go on and on. I've been going to Cozumel for 25 years and this was one of the best trips I've had. We'll be back to this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't dive, rent a car. The hotel is far enough from downtown to get away from the noise but is not walking distance to external bars, shopping and attractions.

Back to menu Return to top