Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carr. Costera Sur a Chancanab Km 7.5 Hotel Zone, Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Savannah, GA
Feb 14, 2011

Great Hotel for the $$

hotel overall was a definite 4 star. Staff was friendly and helpful at every level. Hotel is clean.There was alot of confusion about the $100 hotel credit offered by [...]with this booking. The staff is not well aquainted with the deal and basically its useless. Heard several guests discussing it, same opinion. DIVERS ..consider using a different dive operator than the on-site.They are much more expensive than most of the others and DO NOT offer and multi-day packages or discounts.Space on boats is limited and many divers were turned away. Its a short cab ride to some of the other dive ops and well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Del Mar Aquatics, across from Casa Del mar Hotel

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Feb 13, 2011

Great time at the Fiesta Americana!

We had a great time at the Fiesta Americana in Cozumel. We found the service to be excellent! It seemed like everyone was working hard to please you at all times. We loved the coffee bar they have now. It was great to get a latte in the morning! The food was good and the location was great! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try the shore diving right in front of the hotel! You can rent a tank for $6.00 and have a great time!

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Feb 9, 2011

Fiestamericana and diving

The resort was very nice and the buffet had a great selection. One night was beach night but did not allow for dining off the sand and table set up was for 15-20. Not great for a single traveller as all the groups were together and partying loudly. And the fleas in the sand at night made me decide to skip dinner entirely that night. Also, if you had the do not disturb sign out, housekeeping would still call on the phone asking to clean up the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diving with the Dive House is highly recommended.

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmmi
Business
Rock Island
Jan 27, 2011

Cozumel Week

We went to Cozumel primarily to get away from January winter weather in Illinois. We found the hotel was nice but a little worn. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small. The best thing about the Fiesta Americana was the staff. They were some of the friendliest people we've met in Mexico. The food was great!!! There is a restaurant upstairs which had some problems with the wait staff not being very skilled. We noticed every one rushing around but it appeared they got very little done for all the speed. Activities at the hotel are listed on a board but it seems nearly no one does them. Most folks are there to dive,snorkel or just sit by the water. The snorkeling by the Fiesta was the best I've ever done. I saw so many differnt kinds of fish, it was very cool. The hotel's entry to the water has a large set of steps but you then step out onto the coral which is very rough, uneven and sharp in places. I saw person after person struggle over the coral and many fell. They really need to put up a handrail and maybe a concrete path into the water. We rented a car one day and a scooter another. Being able to get around was fun, there are lot of places to explore. Town is very touristy and didn't do much for me. Would I go back, Maybe because the positives out weighed the shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're planning on entering the water on foot you really need some water shoes when going over the corals.

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jan 23, 2011

very nice and friendly

nice, except we did not know that we would be charged $55 each per day for all inclusive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa.
Jan 23, 2011

Vacation in paradise, Cozumel, MX.

The Fiesta Americana always pleases. We have visited Cozumel each year since 1995 and have always stayed at FA. They have recently gone all-inclusive and the food is always the best. The Cevicheria that was added on the beach has the best ceviche and offers one of the best locations on the property for a lunch, cervesa, and sun break! The staff does their best to please and is always at the ready to go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While the food is excellent at the hotel you may want to take a trip into to town or to the other side of the island. Guido's downtown has the best Italian on the island and you'll find the best margaritas at Coconuts on the other side of the island.

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Jan 10, 2011

Beautiful with a great value!

Great staff, friendly service, beautiful view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
costa_scuba
Business
Artesia, California
Jan 6, 2011

Go Elsewhere!!!

The only thing the Fiesta Americana Cozumel Dive Resort has going for itself, is that it is in beautiful Cozumel. That's it. This was our third visit to Cozumel, first at the Fiesta Americana, and although we will be returning to Cozumel - we won't be coming back to the Fiesta Americana. Our first 2 visits (first at Coral Princess, second at Park Royal), were great. The staff, at both locations were excellent. They were warm, hospitable, and always going above and beyond to make we were enjoying ourselves. At the Fiesta Americana, we practically had to twist people's arms to get an "Hola" or "Buenos Dias" out of them. Good luck trying to get restaurant/bar staff to check on you more than once. We waited a total of 2.5 hours at the MiraMar Restaurant (upstairs) for a meal - 30min. for salad - another 30min. for soup - another 30 to 45min. for our actual dinner, which consisted of a scallop on top of boxed mashed potatoes. We didn't dare wait around to be shown a dessert menu. Everyone in the restaurant was going through the same exact thing, and no one ever got an explanation/apology. The other restaurants on-site got old, quick. We spent the last 3 days of our stay surviving on cereal boxes...at least there was variety in that. The grilling stations were a great idea, until we noticed that the meats were left out the whole time the meal station was set up (just because they're on ice, doesn't mean they're cold). The same pair of tongs was used to grab whatever was to be grilled (be it meat/veggies), as well as used to flip and plate the food. That's called cross contamination - and it's food poisoning waiting to happen. Our room was clean. We stayed in a "Tropical Casita". It's a novel idea, until you realize that you wake up, every day, with more bug bites on you than you can count. I walked into my bathroom one day to find a spider about 2.5inches big. I called the front desk, and waited for over 20 minutes for someone to come down - no one did, so I went and reminded the receptionist! As for entertainment (below is an excerpt taken right off the Fiesta Americana Cozumel Dive Resort website): Cozumel Resort Recreation The Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive is the place to be for fun with family and friends. Guests can build sand castles on the beach, paint T-shirts, play volleyball, water polo or basketball, or try out classes in mini-Olympic kite-making, boat-building, cooking, yoga, or Mayan language. Take a dip in our two swimming pool, watch unique Mexican, Caribbean and Mayan shows in the theater, or dive to see the diversity of our Caribbean reef. Adults can enjoy evening activities like tequila tasting, dancing to live music or learning Mayan astrology, while the kids have fun at the Fiesta Kids Club or the Teen's Club. NONE OF THE ABOVE IS FOUND AT FIESTA AMERICANA. Sure, they put together a pretty little activities board daily, but have fun trying to figure out where and when those are activities are because they are literally NON EXISTENT. The first show we ever saw at the Fiesta Americana was on the last night we were there. It was by chance that we caught it. There was never an announcement or flyer mentioning a beach bbq dinner and fire show. We ended up paying $40 (per person) for a day pass to the Park Royal to enjoy their activities (cooking, dance lessons, games, etc.) Although we'd like to recommend the Fiesta Americana to friends, it wouldn't be fair to do so at this time. Maybe in the future, if/when things change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Casa Mission at least once for dinner. It's incredible food and atmosphere!!!

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Great experience!

Great service experience, altough after 7 days of being there the food was repeatitive. BBQ outside was a good change in taste. Beds were not comfy though :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

About 10 minutes from downtown, not too far.

Review of Fiesta Americana Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sredheada
Business
Garnett, Kansas
Jan 3, 2011

We had a wonderful time

We had a lovely relaxing time. This was our first experience with all inclusive. We usually do cruises. We did the all inclusive for only $50 per person per day which included all meals, drinks, room etc. We had a lovely ocean view room. We loved just sitting out on the balcony watching the boats go by. We also enjoyed watching the cruise ships come and go. At night we could see the lights from the mainland and playa del Carmen. The food was great to poor depending on the day. There were two buffets restaurants the served pretty much the same things for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Never eaten so much Rice and re-fried beans in my life. There was one sit down restaurant that was Italian. for dinner only. It had severe service problems. We waited for 1 and ½ hours for the first course. Didn't offer to get us drinks. Everyone else around us were getting served. We finally left. Then they had the gall to ask why we were leaving and if we were coming back. We went and ate at the buffet instead. There was okay snorkeling in front of the hotel. It was difficult to get in and out because of the stairs and coral. There is a strong current there that goes south so be careful and aware. The beach had snorkeling, kayaks and pedal boats. However, they did not allow you to go out far. Just within the buoys. Again difficult to get into the kayaks. There are not enough beach chairs on the man made beach. If you want a beach chair you have to get there by 8am. There were a lot of chair hogs. They would put a book or towel on it in the morning and then go back to their room and sleep in or whatever. Not right. They have cruise excursions that come there too. So that added to the chair problem. There were beach boys that came and asked if you wanted a drink. That was really nice. There were security guards for the beach and to get into the hotel parking. There is a street between the hotel and the beach. It is busy at times with traffic from the cruise ships. It never bothered us however. They tried to make this hotel handicapped accessible with ramps however they are very steep and narrow. I doubt a wheelchair would be able to navigate them. The star rating of 3 or 3 ½ stars is accurate. There are much better resorts there however they are much more expensive. The hotel had a included free limited room service menu however we never used it so cant comment on it. Our room maid was wonderful and we got service every morning. We got turn down service at night only once. So perhaps they discontinued it or something. They give you one liter of bottled water every day. Which was enough for the two of us. They provided in room coffee but it was poor at best. The TV was mostly in Spanish of course however there were around 3 English channels that had Spanish sub titles. The hotel is around 5 miles from town. Taxis were always available. However we rented a car for $100 for the week. It was nice to have. Beware the taxi here drive like maniacs. Also there were a lot of scooters that thought they owned the road. Would zip in and out of traffic. So be careful. We drove around the island and to Playa Plancar for a snorkel tour. This was a nice beach. The snorkeling was poor however the beach area was nice with chickens and peacocks running around. Stay away from San Francisco and Paradise beach. Just a mass of people. So crowded with beach chairs, vendors, bars and tattoos and such you cant even walk on the beach. Please remember this is Mexico. If your shower turns cold shortly or it smells outside your room stay in the states. Many Mexicans were there on vacation. Some employees didn't know English very well however that is understandable as we were in Mexico so tried to speak the limited Spanish we knew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top