Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
194 reviews
Fantastic

This is absolutely the finest hotel in the downtown Cozumel area. The rooms are clean,... See full review

  • Skigator
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great Hotel

This hotel is wonderful in so many ways. The rooms are clean, the A/C will freeze you out, the view... See full review

  • Skigator
  • Aug 12, 2014
An elegant spot in downtown Cozumel minutes from everything
The sunny atrium in the lobby and terrace overlooking the clear Caribbean Ocean may encourage lingering, but with a location as good as this, guests would benefit from stepping out and exploring downtown Cozumel. The Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel is just blocks from the market in the center of town, which puts shopping, a movie theater and multiple dining options within walking distance. The central location is just two miles from the airport. A breakfast buffet is ample and complimentary for guests. A swimming pool is on site.
Highlights
  • Prime downtown Cozumel location, two minutes from the airport
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Swimming pool
  • Diving trips may be arranged
  • Wedding and romance packages available
Rooms
There are 70 city view rooms and 20 ocean view rooms, both dubbed “deluxe” by the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. Ocean view rooms allow guests to privately enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views. Each room style is 409 square feet and offers the guest’s choice of one king or two double beds. Cool tile floors are underfoot and the headboards, desks, and chairs were hand-carved by Mayan hands. Local calls are complimentary. Cable TV, iron and ironing board, and safety deposit boxes are in every room. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower, marbled vanities, hair dryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Features
A swimming pool and sun terrace are on site. Diving trips are arranged at the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel. A versatile meeting room accommodates up to 100 people for a business meeting or event. Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machines are on site. Coffee and food service for breakfast or lunch, drinks or banquet-style serving is available for catering of meetings or events.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cozumel (outside the hotel doors)
  • Diving and fishing outings
Business
  • A versatile meeting room can accommodate up to 100 people for a business meeting or event
  • Fax, computer with Internet connection, e-mail reception, printers and copy machine
  • Coffee and food service, drinks or banquet-style serving catering available
Policies and fees
Rates quoted in currencies other than the Casa Mexicana Cozumel hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rates may change throughout stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Casa Mexicana Cozumel Rooms

Deluxe City View Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed(409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities.
Deluxe Ocean Front Room
Guest room includes one king bed or two double bed (409 Ft.Sq.). Headboards, desks, chairs as well as the rest of the furniture in all rooms are masterpieces that were designed, made and carved by Mayan hands. Spacious and luxurious rooms with private balcony are provided with central air conditioning where you can control the temperature at your preference, direct dial telephone, where local calls are complimentary, cable TV, Plasma TV iron and ironing board, safety deposit box and for those who love present-day technology there is also a data port available in each room 24 hours a day so you can be closer to anyone you wish to in spite of distance. Just bring your laptop and make it happen!! All bathrooms include bathtub, shower, marbled vanities, hairdryer, plush towels and all necessary amenities. From our ocean view rooms you can enjoy unforgettable sunsets and breathtaking views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Mexicana Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.508 -86.9537
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport (CZM)(15 min. aprox) and Cancun International Airport (CUN)(1.45 Hrs.)
Area description
Located near shopping with fine jewelery and perfumes.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacity for up to 100 people, our Meeting room provides you with everything for your business meeting or event: fax, computer with internet connection, email reception, copies, coffee and food service, drinks or banquets.

Dining

Pool-Bar
Open from 9 AM - 11 PM, open-air bar between Swimming Pool and Internet Area.
La Terraza
Buffet breakfast restaurant, open from 7 AM - 11 AM. Open-air restaurant, at the second floor terrace. With capacity up to 60 pax. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and the best our excellent service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 194
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DiverBob37
Cary, NC
Feb 12, 2014

My Favorite Hotel in Cozumel

I always enjoy my stay at Casa Mexicana Cozumel, it's easily the best hotel in San Miguel. Breakfast is my favorite amenity where I gat to stoked up for a day of SCUBA diving. Then there's that relaxing shower when I get back in to a clean comfortable room. The wifi has gone down hill, but it's still there so I can post a photo or two for the folks back home. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chi has some great Asian food. The hot and sour soup is wonderful!

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theresa o Teresa es mismo
Columbus, OH
Feb 1, 2014

Perfect for what I was looking for

The hotel was clean and was friendly. The hotel included a breakfast buffet including fresh omelets/eggs made to order. The room was clean but had a very slight musty smell. The hotel location is perfect for walking to local shops, restaurants, and town square but will require transportation to area beaches. Overall, I had a good experience with the hotel and the location was exactly what I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to some of the local residents to get suggestions on good places to eat outside of the tourist area. You will find great food, low prices, and get to experience more of the local culture.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DiverBob37
Cary, NC
Feb 5, 2013

Casa Mexicana Cozumel, Jan. 2013

My first impression was discouraging - getting bags up the escalator is daunting. There's no bell captain. Reception is friendly and efficient and bags are taken up to the room. My room was clean and comfortable and fairly well appointed. My view was about the worst the hotel has to offer, but I wasn't there for the view. I found I needed to put out the "clean my room" card to get it done on my schedule. However, the cleaning staff does a very good job. There is no in- room wifi; disappointing and the wifi in the common areas works alright but is cumbersome to stay logged into. Still, the hotel is about the best down town San Miguel has to offer and I always enjoy my stay, especially breakfast! Casa Mexicana remains my hotel of choice on Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diver Deep
Virginia
Jan 31, 2013

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

It is a great place to stay. Comfy beds, great breakfast and the staff is wonderfull. I have stayed there many times and will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walking to downtown if you like to get a taste of the local culture.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cocoe
florida
Sep 30, 2012

very nice hotal

Was very pleased with everything,Workers at the hotel very helpful and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

every one comes out late

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Diving
Denver, CO
Aug 2, 2012

Great Value for the Price

Easy walking distance to just about anything you want to do in the heart of Cozumel. Room was clean, comfortable. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices including healthy options. Would definitely recommend this hotel and I will certainly stay here again the next time I visit Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donga
michigan
Jul 16, 2012

divevtrip

Staff was great. I needed an early breakfast beforemy diving trip every morning, and they accomodated me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shodansam
Denver, CO
Nov 29, 2011

Great value and location

I've been to Cozumel many times, and walked past this hotel a hundred times wondering what it was like. So, I booked it on my last trip, and was very pleased. The room was large, clean, well furnished, and well maintained by the maid. The staff seemed happy to please me at every turn. The breakfast is a full buffet with cooked-to-order omelets, on-demand fresh-made pancakes and waffles, and a wide assortment of other Mexican items, fruits, juices, yogurts, and more. It's located across the street from the ocean, three blocks from the central plaza to the north, and three blocks from the Mega mart to the south. I shall return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mega mart three blocks to the south has everything you need from groceries and drinks to sundries and things you forgot at low prices.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salem, NH, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great Place

Good place to stay while diving Cozumel. I keep going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Reston, VA
Jul 5, 2011

Beautiful, convenient

Hotel is near the center of town, walking distance to restaurants, stores and ferry. Taxi stand right out in front. Hotel has wonderful view of ocean, nice breakfast. Staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent dive center, Aqua Safari, both store and boat launch just a few feet away.

Back to menu Return to top