Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Casa Mexicana Cozumel

3 stars
View map of Rafael E. Melgar #457 Sur, 40 Ave. Norte # 801-B Colonia 10 DE Abril, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms MD
Business
Memphis, TN
Dec 5, 2011

Great Hotel

This was our second stay in Cozumel Mexico and our first time staying at Casa Mexicana. The room was very clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast bar was good. Had lots of selections to chose from. As others have written, there is only bacon every few days, but there are other selections to chose from. They have fresh juices. The size of the room was larger than most I have stayed at and the ocean view was great. The only downside I have is that they have an open type atrium foyer that seems to echo noise throughout the hotel, but once everyone settles in for the night it is very quiet. It is an excellent location for the food and highlights and dont need to get a taxi, as everything is within a short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block behind Casa Mexicana at Ave 5, Calle 7 sur there is a lovely lobster restaurant called the La Lobsteria. Omar is the owner and he treats you like family. The food is excellent. My husband and I went twice during our stay. It is reasonably priced and you get more than what you seem to pay for. We had shrimp fajitas, lobster tails, king crab legs, and fish in special paper...all was excellent and was cooked exceptionally well. Other restaurants in the area did not compare to the quality or quanity of the seafood Omar served. His chef is top notch. The restaurant is in a old style house that at first glance may turn your head the other direction, but its is definitely worth a try. There was no one there any of the times we visited or eat there. It is truly an experience you wont forget.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travlr2
Business
Illinois, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Great Hotel

We had an ocean view room but I think the street view would have been fine. The view was great--that fact there was a street below/between us and the ocean was not noticable. The location is very convenient--walk to anything you could want--very close to Carlos and Charlies. The large breakfast buffet was fantastic--everything a person could want, except perhaps oatmeal, and it went until 11AM. The hotel had a locked storage room they let us store our bikes in for the Ironman and they had an early breakfast buffet at 4 AM for the athletes--I was surprised and very pleased!! Our room was large and clean, bed comfortable, good pillows and everything in working order. We were very pleased with our stay there and will use them if we visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shodansam
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 29, 2011

Great value and location

I've been to Cozumel many times, and walked past this hotel a hundred times wondering what it was like. So, I booked it on my last trip, and was very pleased. The room was large, clean, well furnished, and well maintained by the maid. The staff seemed happy to please me at every turn. The breakfast is a full buffet with cooked-to-order omelets, on-demand fresh-made pancakes and waffles, and a wide assortment of other Mexican items, fruits, juices, yogurts, and more. It's located across the street from the ocean, three blocks from the central plaza to the north, and three blocks from the Mega mart to the south. I shall return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mega mart three blocks to the south has everything you need from groceries and drinks to sundries and things you forgot at low prices.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centerville, TX 75833, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Very, very clean. Great location

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever seen. Each day the staff is constantly cleaning everything, even the walls. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is one of the better ones I've experienced, especially for the price. The location is great if you want to experience the town or if you are diving since it is located near the center of the main drag and across the road from the diving docks. It is not the plushest hotel and does not have its own private beach, but it is an exceptional deal for those who want to be very comfortable, stay close to town, and go diving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Mexican food, find "La Hoza" resturant. It is in town, away from the main streets, but it is great food and not expensive.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dive Queen
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Love this Hotel

We have stayed at Casa Mexicana several times and we love it. It is located within walking distance to restaurants and to the piers we use to meet our dive boats. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very clean. You can't beat the breakfast served every morning! We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't beat Pepe's for a nice steak and the service is awesome!

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem, NH, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great Place

Good place to stay while diving Cozumel. I keep going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lasik
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 14, 2011

Great Hotel

Small hotel with professional & friendly staff. Facilities are perfect for stays on this island. No beachfront here, but few Cozumel hotels have a beach unless you pay much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We rented a car a few months ahead of time that costs about $11 per day. We can drive to any beach and any restaurant on the island. Taxis are $7 one way. Renting a car is much cheaper and more handy

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bryant
Business
Sherwood, AR
Sep 4, 2011

Love Casa Mexicana

This is our 3rd time to stay at this gem of a hotel. Location is perfect and the breakfast buffet is a perfect way to start the day. There is always someone cleaning something in the hotel and the entire staff is wonderful. We will be staying there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Guidos Italian Restaurant. Just a short walk down the main drag and past the square. The brick oven pizza and garlic bread w/side of marinara is wonderful.

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Great Summer Holidays

Casa Mexicana is very conveniently located, walking distance form the downtown area where all main restaurants are. it does not have a beach, but we did not care as we wanted to explore new beaches in the South of the island everyday. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, it has a wonderful buffet breakfast, staff is friendly, and it offers grate value for money. We would certainly go back there when we return to Cozumel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best restaurants in Cozumel: Kinta, Pepe's Grill, La Veranda

Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, Ky
Jul 15, 2011

Wonderful

Excellent value. Best breakfast in town. Clean clean, clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top