Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
205 reviews
Everything we expected!

We stayed here for 8 days. This is the best beach Resort in Cozumel! The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • tan texans
  • Jul 22, 2014
Allegro a great place for couples

This was our second trip to Cozumel and Allegro. I could not be more pleased with the place or the... See full review

  • Hubizzle
  • May 19, 2014
Beach living in glamorous bungalows on Cozumel
The luxurious all-inclusive Allegro Cozumel resort is on one of Cozumel’s most beautiful beaches and is minutes from one of the world’s largest coral reefs, making it a diver’s dream. The three pools have designated roles -- one for kids, one for group activities and the third for adults. Families will love the kid’s waterpark and supervised activities, which include scuba lessons and windsurfing.
Highlights
  • Located on San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef; Pro Dive Mexico Center on site
  • Scuba classes and full schedule of sports and activities
  • Kids waterpark with slides, splash fountain and supervised activities for little ones
  • Four restaurants and five bars on site
  • Lighted tennis courts for night play
Rooms
Guests of the Allegro Cozumel stay in recently renovated, two-story Polynesian style bungalows with thatched roofs, yellow sun-colored walls, and a balcony or terrace complete with hammock. Dark wood furniture provides sophisticated accents. Grander suites and accessible rooms also are available. Room amenities include climate control and ceiling fans, cable TV, telephone, bathtub and shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safety deposit box. Cribs and extra beds are available on request.
Recreation
Scheduled activities allow families to play tennis, beach volley ball, sail or snorkel together. Or they may freestyle their fun at the kid’s waterpark or as live pieces on the on-site giant chess board. Snorkeling and fishing trips to Palancar Reef and along the coast are led by Pro Dive Mexico Center; scuba lessons also are available. A theater hosts shows nightly.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8 mi/12km)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Beach (adjacent)
  • Palancar Reef (2 mi/4km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Superior rooms feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Superior Premium rooms are facing the pools and feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3823 -87.021
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
CZM - Cozumel
Area description
On magnificent San Francisco Beach, an excellent beachfront location on the southwest part of the island, just 5 minutes from Palancar Reef.

Dining

Topaz
Restaurant offers buffet-style for breakfast and dinner. continental breakfast 6 am - 7 am. Breakfast buffet 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Disco Bar
Bar and DJ music. Open from 8.30 pm - 1.30 am (Only adults after 10 pm)
El Crystal Bar
Casual meeting place.
Snack Bar
Lunch buffet. Bar and late night fare.
La troje
Restaurant offer the best of Mexican cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.
Aqua Bar
Swim up pool bar.
El Oriental
Restaurant offer the best of Oriental cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelgirl72
Business
Minnesota
Mar 15, 2011

Good place for a group

We stayed at this hotel from February 27 through March 6, 2011, with a group of 14 adults. We have done a lot of traveling around Mexico and have never had a problem. Check-in was very quick and easy, everyone was very helpful. We were able to book the specialty restaurants, Mexican and Asian, but in the end did not make it to the Asian restaurant. If you want to get in, be sure to find out what time you can make reservations as it is very hard to get in, especially with a big group. We ate at the buffet quite a bit, but it all tasted pretty bland unless you added jalepenos to your entree! I'm not picky but I have had better at many buffets-however, the snack bar was great! All over Mexico people complain about the hard beds and we've never had a problem - until this time. The mattress was about 4 inches thick laid on a raised cement slab. Very uncomfortable. The room was cleaned every day and very well. The grounds were immaculate and people were working on them all the time. The pools were actually quite filthy. It was okay to swim in, but a friend did the scuba training and couldn't believe how bad it was under water. The beach is big and beautiful. Even with our big group we didn't have trouble finding enough beach chairs for everyone. The bartenders were extremely slow, but friendly. Almost always a waiting line. We did some diving with an independent company, but did speak with people at the dive shop at the Allegro. They were very friendly, but they charge for EVERYTHING extra you may need - even the dive light and blinkers if you do a night dive. That seemed a little over the top to me. Free enriched air tanks (nitrox) if you use that. No problem getting taxi's right outside the front door. We even rented a van with driver for all 14 of us to take our friends to some of our favorite stops - Tequila factory, Mescalito's, Coconuts, Playa Bonito, El Gato Negro, Viva Mexico, Tiki Tok. It was only $35 US each and our driver picked us up at 11 a.m. and brought us home about 8:30 p.m. Even provided a cooker of beer and water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Mar 14, 2011

Great resort for families

The Allegro is a great hotel for families. We traveled there with our 1 yo daughter and my 19yo step-daughter and her boyfriend and we all had a great time. The kids pool with the pirated themed water slides were a lot of fun. My 1yo loved going down the slides on my lap. The rooms were clean and comfotable. I liked that each room has a hammock on the patios. The food was ok. It is buffet style and does tend to get a bit boring, but we never went away hungry. We would, and have, recommended this resort to all our family and friends and we will go back :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meerke
Business
Texas
Feb 23, 2011

Not really good

The food was really terrible. You don´t get anything for Vegetarians. You have to wait everywhere for drinks and food. The rooms are not very clean and you can hear your neighbour breathing. It was so crowded everywhere: in the restaurant, at the beach. I don´t like it there at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scuba RN
Business
DFW area, TEXAS
Feb 21, 2011

Service??? What service?

We traveled with a group of eight. We had five divers in the group. Issue include lack of towels, on given one hand towel, one wash cloth and two towels for the room. There was very little food put out on buffet line, people had to stand and wait to for more food to be brought out, then what was brought out was not very good. One or our couples were "VIP's" requested to have the other three couples eat with them in the specialty restaraunt, told by guest services that is was "impossible" even though half of the seating was empty. We did ask for a table for eight for our one night in the other specialy restaraunt, told again, no possible way, but when we arrived they were sitting a party of "eight". I asked one of the group of eight how they got the reservation, I was told "don't put up with it" and that they had the same problem on a previos visit. Overall my wife said it was a nice looking place but needed so much work service wise. Staff did not really seem to care. Oh, beds are hard as a rock!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to have any amount of food or variety get up early and get to the dining area! You snooze you lose!

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FreeWheeler
Business
Burnsville, MN
Feb 8, 2011

Allegro Cozumel - our one night

We were very excited to arrive at the Allegro. Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly and the property well kept. The food was very bland and not much of a selection but that is what I have come to expect at the all inclusive hotels. Lines were long at the outdoor refreshment huts. It would be a good idea to bring your own mug/glass as the ones provided by the hotel are small and not cleaned very well. Rooms were OK clean, beds were rock hard but if that's what you like I guess OK. Here is where things changed for us. We decided to talk with the activities director located immediately after you left the lobby on our first night. He convinced us that we could get (3) scooters for 24 hours for almost free if we took a quick tour of the Occidental Grand located 1/4 mile south of the Allegro. We were promised a taxi pick-up at 9:00 AM, free breakfast and tour and in return would get the scooters. We asked if this was a timeshare presentation which we did not want and assured that it was not. Well, it WAS a timeshare presentation. We received a nice breakfast, a tour of the property and given the sales pitch all of which took about 90 minutes. We were not interested, but we did like the hotel property better than the Allegro. We took a taxi back to the Allegro with another couple who felt the same way and they were intent on switching hotels. To make a long story short, we went back to the Allegro and were able to switch to the Occidental Grand for an additional fee per person. We packed up our bags and left for our new destination by 4:00 that afternoon, 1 day after we had arrived at the Allegro. I have nothing bad to say about the Allegro, the price was right and everything was just fine. We just felt that spending additional money to upgrade was money well spent. I would stay at the Allegro again but if the price differential is not too large to be a factor you may choose the Occidental Grand instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the boat tour and go on a snorkel tour. We went on a 2+ hour, 3 reef drift tour. Very beautiful sights and very easy and relaxing.

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Feb 6, 2011

DO NOT SAY HERE!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! We arrived to head ache producing bass music throughout the whole resort. At night, they have live shows that you can here for miles. A couple of drunk kids were harrassing us in the lobby. We complained to the front desk but they did not do anything. They seemed really annoyed. The "yellow shirts" constantly harrassed us to sign up for time share deals. We finally caved in and then got into a verbal argument when they wanted us to pay $30,000 on the spot for a time share. The rooms are terrible. Our first night, we could hear our neighbors yelling at each other through the walls, cussing and swearing and then other things. One night as we were sitting on the patio wishing we had stayed home, the bug sprayer drove through the resort and literally sprayed us with bug killer via their massive spray truck. The front desk said it was not toxic. WE WILL NEVER GO there again and most likely will not go to Cozumel again because of this. You should know that the same company ownes the "Grand" hotel which is actually nice but they frequently over book and the move folks to the Allegro. If you want a relaxing vacation, DO NOT STAY AT THE ALLEGRO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MINNESOTA
Jan 31, 2011

u get what you pay for

we stayed at the allegro for a wedding. There were 26 people that were in our group. It was nice and small resort so you always knew were to find your friends at. we travel a lot and stayed in very nice places and average places and i have never wrote a review but felt the need to now ,I would say this is was probably the worst, we read the reviews before we booked but still booked because we wanted to be with the wedding party! we had a blast because there was a lot of entertainment and interaction with friends and family. Yes the beds are extremely hard, the lighting in the rooms at night (if your trying to get ready) are very dim !! THERE ARE NO ALARM CLOCKS OR CLOCKS IN ANY OF THE ROOMS ... even in the royal suites no clock no alarm clocks... so you never knew what time it was bring a watch or cell phone !! breakfast is poor same thing everyday,there was bacon one day out of the 7 we were there usually the meat in the morning consisted of diced ham. bacon was barley cooked the one day they had it. usually waited a while to get just a glass of water with breakfast otherwise found myself pouring my own.... lunch down by pool (only place to get lunch) was extremely busy! and average food.... the bars during the day (swim up and tiki bar )bar on beach seemed to open at different times every day depending on staff or day !?? Usually the bar by beach had a line of 5-10 people due to the fact there was only 1 bartender on usually ! the bar does not open till 10 am so if u even want water and your down on the beach before that bring your own from your room ... some rooms had fridges some did not. Dinner reservations at the mexican dinner place was good and very good service friendly accommodating ect. on the other hand the oriental restraunt was extremly rude ! slow ! and food was ok! I think that the horrible rude staff made the food worst than it was! most of the bartenders are very friendly! the nightlife was ok .... nothing fancy ! the disco was either averagely busy or no one in there they play music! they have a zipline which was not working the whole time we were there! one of our friends rooms had a hole in the ceiling they were able to switch rooms. beach are busy but nice beach !! One day there were alot of jelly fish and the other days it was fine ... alot of us got stung on that day .. but they were small but felt like a bee sting! alot of the times the public bathroom on the site did not have any toilet paper so make sure you check befor u go !! The hot tub is not hot it should just be called another pool !! WE DID THE pirot lobster dinner cruise off site !! it was amazing food !!! big portions lobster steak chicken good show.OVERALL . would not stay there again but it was a blast because of our friends and good weather !! if ur looking for a romantic getaway don't do it !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wandering Boomer
Business
San Francisco
Jan 30, 2011

A potential gem if not for the rough

From the moment of check-in to the final good-bye I was continually impressed and appreciative of the staff.The purpose of our trip was scuba diving and this resort adjacent to Palancar Reef. Our dive operator was able to pick us up each morning at the resorts dock. The rooms were clean, with plenty of hot water but the mattress was painfully hard and uncomfortable. This was a common experience for our group. The food (breakfast,lunch & dinner; buffet style) was served above the lobby and near one of the 4 swimming pools with 2 specialty restaurants (Mexican and Asian)available for dinner but with reservations (make them upon arrival). Most of the meals were unfailingly disappointing throughout our stay, lacking seasoning and consistently over cooked. First time at this resort and could only recommend if you were willing to rough it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ate at Casa Denis. A great little restaurant near the square in downtown Cozumel. Easy find as most locals know it. I liked the fried chicken with mole sauce. (http://www.casadenis.com)

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 23, 2011

3rd time at allegro

Our vacation experience was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We did rent a car co we could travel around the island at our own pace. This was our 3rd time at Allegro. The breakfast was great but the rest of the meals were just ok even though we certainly didn't to hungry .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Married
Business
Chicago
Jan 16, 2011

Bad Food But Friendly Staff

My wife and I went there for our honeymoon over Christmas break. The hotel is very nice looking but we had a few problems. The first problem was we were there on a honeymoon and they gave us a room with 2 beds. The next day they switched us but that room had an adjoining room attached to it and you could hear EVERYTHING people were doing and saying. The beds are increadibly hard also. The next big problem we had was the food! When other reviewers say it is bad listen to them! My wife and I thought it couldn't be that bad... it was. The food was bland and if you didn't go as soon as it opened you were out of luck. One night we couldn't even fill up so the waiter wonderfully went back and cut us up some fresh fruit. When you pay for an all inclusive hotel you expect decent food and beverages none of which they had. One last negative thing the pools are not heated and there for no one goes in them. The kids instead play in the one luke warm hot tub so there is no relaxing in the hot tub. The good thing about the place is it is a bit remote and the beaches are amazing. We snorkeled right there and enjoyed it. Also we went Scuba diving with Dive With Martin and had the Best time! That was so worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to do a Resort Dive see the guys in the orange shirts and ask to dive with the company Dive with Martin. The dive master named [...] really did a great job making my wife comfortable with the dives and showed us all types of interesting things.

Back to menu Return to top