Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
209 reviews
Great getaway.

We had a great 6 day stay at the Allegro Cozumel. We got in very late due to a plane connection... See full review

  • Joel S.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Everything we expected!

We stayed here for 8 days. This is the best beach Resort in Cozumel! The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • tan texans
  • Jul 22, 2014
Beach living in glamorous bungalows on Cozumel
The luxurious all-inclusive Allegro Cozumel resort is on one of Cozumel’s most beautiful beaches and is minutes from one of the world’s largest coral reefs, making it a diver’s dream. The three pools have designated roles -- one for kids, one for group activities and the third for adults. Families will love the kid’s waterpark and supervised activities, which include scuba lessons and windsurfing.
Highlights
  • Located on San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef; Pro Dive Mexico Center on site
  • Scuba classes and full schedule of sports and activities
  • Kids waterpark with slides, splash fountain and supervised activities for little ones
  • Four restaurants and five bars on site
  • Lighted tennis courts for night play
Rooms
Guests of the Allegro Cozumel stay in recently renovated, two-story Polynesian style bungalows with thatched roofs, yellow sun-colored walls, and a balcony or terrace complete with hammock. Dark wood furniture provides sophisticated accents. Grander suites and accessible rooms also are available. Room amenities include climate control and ceiling fans, cable TV, telephone, bathtub and shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safety deposit box. Cribs and extra beds are available on request.
Recreation
Scheduled activities allow families to play tennis, beach volley ball, sail or snorkel together. Or they may freestyle their fun at the kid’s waterpark or as live pieces on the on-site giant chess board. Snorkeling and fishing trips to Palancar Reef and along the coast are led by Pro Dive Mexico Center; scuba lessons also are available. A theater hosts shows nightly.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8 mi/12km)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Beach (adjacent)
  • Palancar Reef (2 mi/4km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Superior rooms feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Superior Premium rooms are facing the pools and feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3823 -87.021
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
CZM - Cozumel
Area description
On magnificent San Francisco Beach, an excellent beachfront location on the southwest part of the island, just 5 minutes from Palancar Reef.

Dining

Topaz
Restaurant offers buffet-style for breakfast and dinner. continental breakfast 6 am - 7 am. Breakfast buffet 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Disco Bar
Bar and DJ music. Open from 8.30 pm - 1.30 am (Only adults after 10 pm)
El Crystal Bar
Casual meeting place.
Snack Bar
Lunch buffet. Bar and late night fare.
La troje
Restaurant offer the best of Mexican cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.
Aqua Bar
Swim up pool bar.
El Oriental
Restaurant offer the best of Oriental cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bear fan
Wisconsin, USA
Apr 17, 2012

spring break 2012

The beach was very nice, clean, no rocks.There were alot of young children under 10. the nightly entertainment could use alot of improvement and there was always a line for drinks and the buffets another bartender and quicker seating for the buffet would solve these issues. Snorkleing in front of the resort not very exciting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joel S.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Great getaway.

We had a great 6 day stay at the Allegro Cozumel. We got in very late due to a plane connection problem. They got us supper and a room at 9 pm We had one small problem: it was the last room and had a few problems (next to construction, dripping pipe, plugged toilet not fixed quickly) but they moved us to a problem-free room the next day. The food, staff, facility, and location were all wonderful. We also enjoyed the two night dining with reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chichen Itza is interesting, but a 3 hour drive + ferry trip from Cozumel. If you want to see this 7 Wonders of the World attraction, get on the mainland side--the Mayan Riviera or Cancun.

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amm.244
Business
Omaha
Jan 15, 2015

good

good value for the money. food was typical all inclusive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
heidy c.
Business
Skokie
Jan 12, 2015

BEWARE!! very deceiving hotel

the hotel is reprehensible, the pictures are not at all what it looks like. it looks like a nice resort for the price and it is NOT!! The rooms are so small that if you turn the wrong way you slam into a wall they have a moldy, musty smell to it. The steps going up to my room were unkempt and wobbly and there was one with a big hole in it that I kept tripping over. The bathroom was small and there was some mold/rust in the tub as well as under the towel rack. There were no amenities in the room, just a 20 inch tube TV that was snowy and no in-room fridge. The only dining options are the buffet which is unusual as all the resorts I have been to have at least 1 "nicer" dining option where there is a dress code and reservations are required. The safe (if you can call it that) is a wall mounted metal cabinet the front desk gives you a drop in lock for the safe that you use as the key. The bed was as hard as a rock and the curtains were falling apart. The "resort" itself does not feel safe as it is not gated and there was no check point for guests or visitors. The only saving grace was the manager on duty who after some bit of arguing with her reluctantly moved us to their sister hotel the occidental grand which is leaps and bounds a better quality hotel. This hotel should not be considered a resort by any means

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the downtown area is nice for shopping but the area is more for relaxing. There is not much of a night life except for senor frogs which is really touristy for me.

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fay b.
Business
white bear lake
Dec 30, 2014

cozumel

Very wonderful staff, Only complaint is the sewer smell. They call it gray water they are using to water the grounds. I call it poo water they were using. Nice pool, nice beach to swim in. Great place in town for fat tuesday they put on a great parade and it is family friendly I would go again for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go in to town for fat tuesday thew parade was great fun.

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
behemotka
Business
Midwest
Oct 14, 2014

Review for Occidental Grand

We were moved from Allegro to Grand due to fire. Oh where do I start... The 2 stars I am giving because the grounds and the setting of the hotel are beautiful. It is a jungle with many animals and birds. Rooms are clean and the maids work really hard to keep rooms immaculate. Tip them!!! They deserve it. The beach is really nice. This is where pros end. Cons: I couldn’t agree more with one of the former reviews by scubachic. This place sucks: - When we arrived AC in one of the rooms did not work. It took them 2 phone calls and 3 visits to the front desk to fix it. Frond desk staff was hit or miss. Some were extremely rude, impatient and with attitude, some quite nice. - Food at the a la carte restaurants is ok. Buffet food is terrible. Selection is extremely poor. It is he same chicken, fish and pork every day. Food is unseasoned, bland. They just change sauces in which they dump the protein. Coffee is terrible at the buffet, La Possada, and a bit better at the Beach Bar. - There are never enough coffee cups or silverware at the Beach Bar, you will oftentimes get your coffee in a Styrofoam cup and plastic forks and spoons will wait for you. - Staff in restaurants is inattentive and seems not to be well trained, - The only bottled water you will see is in your fridge, if you’re on the beach or by the pool before 10 am, you better take something to drink with you as the beach bar opens at 10. There is no water or anything to drink provided in that area in the morning, - Royal Club and time share people are treated better. I understand they paid more but it is almost too easy to see and given the fact that this is not the cheapest resort, quite disturbing. - Night time entertainment is almost nonexistent. There is not much to do at night after you eat dinner. - Time-share people will try to steal 25 mins of your precious vacation time right after you check in. They will lure you and claim you need to see their “welcoming presentation” and if refused they will insist you will be given a map of the resort etc. We politely declined and went straight to our rooms. - The resort was obviously only half full and they refused to move our rooms to the same floor. We always stay at Ibersostar chain. This time we wanted to try something different. What a mistake. Major disappointment. We will never come back. This resort seems to be very poorly managed. Staff is nice and polite but you can see they are not trained properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ljt2
Business
Grand Prairie tex
Aug 19, 2014

Horrible

The food was the worst I've had in the last seven trips to Cozumel. Such as no bacon or sauge for breakfast the same old tired menus everyday no cheese or other nice things lite bread for bread my feeling was they were cutting corners. The staff was surly and rude this is not only my opinion but the same for the 15 in our party we all agreed we will never return to the allegro. But that is a mute point because it burned down the last night we were there I lost a lot of my belongings because they would not let us return to look.so the last nite we slept on the beach with all the fleas. All in all it was the worst trip I have ever had in Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Do t go to the allegro

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visiting Ohioan
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 19, 2014

Fire!

Very early on August 18, fire broke out in the main building. What appeared to be a well-trained staff got all the guests out and safely down to the beach area where a careful census was taken. We stayed there until all danger had passed, but the facilities were clearly too badly damaged to serve. I was escorted back to my room near the fire site to retrieve my passport and wallet. I left behind a few things. We were all taken by taxi to the nearby Occidental Grand, where an overwhelmed reception desk worked hard at getting us new rooms, even those who were due to check out in just a few hours. My understanding was that the hotel was to close for some remodeling on Sept 1. I am sorry for all the wonderful employees who may now be out of work. My rating above is based on the prefire conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alicia New Bride
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 28, 2014

Honeymoon Stay

We stayed at the resort for 8 days for our honeymoon. The pools were nice, the beach was great and the water was clear and gorgeous! The drinks were endless and the staff was very friendly and helpful! They could improve their food. It's pretty basic with a lot of pasta for every meal! The beds were also very uncomfortable and the TV was a box TV from 1998. The rooms were kept clean and were air conditioned. You have to get a taxi anywhere and that can add up. We did a lot of excursions which we were able to set up with someone at the resort. Overall it was a great time and we really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solo Budget Traveler
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 27, 2014

Good Value

Good value for the money. Would probably not recommend if you are a solo traveler since there are a lot of kids in this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck an regina
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Jul 27, 2014

Great Getaway

Had a very good experience. This was our second visit--this time 3 weeks instead of 2. For us, service response and friendliness are most important. In addition, the facility is very well maintained and large enough to accommodate groups of all ages and still provide privacy. Of course, the beach is excellent; (water is clean, calm and blue). And one can snorkel right off the beach and get exercise, as well as, see something now and then. Naturally, the snorkeling and dive boats leave almost continually from the resort's own dock. The food is what you expect at an all inclusive. These people do wonders with fish and soup as well as their main meat and vegetable courses. and what they do with Calamari (squid) is terrific. They also have the best accommodation for children we have seen anywhere--they not only have their own very large private wading pool but it is set up like a takeoff on Disney world with water slides and fun equipment, as well as, a well managed children's center for crafts and games. Bottom line--felt we got true value for money and left with a feeling of satisfaction for a vacation well handled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you have some serious shopping there is a "Mega Store" as well as a Wal-Mart in town. Otherwise, the blankets, jewelry, carvings, masks and fancy shopping bags are just as available at the resort as in town, with a savings of $28 in round trip cab fare.

Back to menu Return to top