Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 12, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
613 reviews
Good times

Excellent location and staff... my wife loved the traditional appearance of the hotel (very... See full review

  • Texas Travelerss
  • Sep 9, 2014
Excellent

Beautiful property, excellent food, and friendly stafff members. Drinks could have been better, not... See full review

  • Agemini86
  • Sep 9, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (613)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laazykat
Houston, TX
Apr 14, 2010

Decent stay... but not for the price

I guess I'm comparing this place to other top notch hotels in the Riviera Maya. I have no other all inclusives in Mexico to compare it to. That being said, the pool was great, and the beach (although small) had calm and clean blue water to swim in (which is hard to find in Cancun). However, the walls are super thin, and the shower has no lights above it so it's kind of dark to shower or bathe. The food at the buffets for breakfast, lunch,and dinner were pretty good. I went with a friend and we both got food poisoining, but I can't blame that on the hotel... maybe on the selection of what we ate. The hotel allows for reservations to the dinner restaurants 2 days in advance... which is bad if you're just going for a few days (since you have to eat buffet for the first couple of nights). We tried the brazilian and the japanese restaurants. The first was ok, but the japanese one was pretty bad actually.... and SLOW. Would I go back again? No. I think I'll stick to the Riviera Maya resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Apr 13, 2010

Surpassed all expectations!

I've been to many all-inclusive resorts, and given the price we were paying, I was a little concerned this one wouldn't live up to what was shown on the Web site, but it surpassed all of our expectations. The hotel, inside and out, was gorgeous. The rooms were big and always clean. The pools were gorgeous, and the private beach was quiet and relaxing. The best part was the staff - everyone was incredibly friendly and never said "no" - they did everything to make our stay as wonderful and luxurious as it could be. I would go back here or try other RIU Palaces in a minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, New York
Apr 12, 2010

Had a great time

I enjoyed the hotel very much, its not a spring break hotel so no annoying kids running around drunk. The average age at the pool and beach was between 24-36.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimisita
Beverly Hills CA
Mar 29, 2010

An amazing adventure full of surprises

I really enjoyed the staff and friendliness..it was top notch and was able to enjoy myself even though my family left 2 days before I did. They invited you out and treated you like you were from there. The food was really amazing and well, drinks? they just kept on coming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Xcaret and Xelha.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom/daughter
Iowa
Mar 23, 2010

Beautifully decorated

We were just looking for relaxation and good food and drink. It met all of that and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Astoria, NY
Mar 18, 2010

Great place to stay

I was on a vacation with 4 20-something friends and loved the location, beautiful and clean rooms, the magnificent beach, gorgeous pools. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the buffet was very good. The a la carte restaurants were disappointing, however. My friends stayed at the Riu Cancun, which is less expensive than the Riu Palace. I would highly recommend paying a little extra to stay at the Riu Palace, because it is much nicer for not that much more money. Overall, it was a great experience and I will stay at other Riu hotels in the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
TN
Mar 17, 2010

Love the hotel

We loved the hotel. It was in a perfect location. We walked everywhere from to the outlet mall across the street to the flea market and bars. You could also take a cab or bus, but the weather was great and it took 10-15 minutes to walk anywhere. The hotel was beautiful with super-friendly staff. The food was great and there were 5 different a-la-carte restaurant if you didn't like buffet. We'll definitely stay at Riu again. They really know what they're doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Always bargain. A simple T-shirt can start off at $50 and by the time you walked away, it would be down to $15. Unless it is in an outlet mall where all prices are marked down already, you should always bargain. We spent $87 for swimming with the dolphins and the advertised price was $135.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Mar 11, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Excellent trip with top notch service. The hotel is spotless! Our room faced the ocean with a balcony. The room had a huge bathroom, a bedroom area, and a sitting room. The room bar was always stocked. The restaurants were difficult to book because they are rather small, but don't worry because the buffet is outstanding. The pools are gorgeous with plenty of setting and activities. The wait staff constantly replenishes your drink. The beach is clean and the sand is like white powder. Check in and check out were a breeze. We recommend fishing at El Dorado Beach Club. They cooked our fish and served it with all the condiments and beer for $5! Best meal we have had in our lives We are planning to return to this hotel next year. So relaxing, quiet, no "spring breakers", elegant, but still casual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Upon arrival, check in with customer service to make restaurant reservations.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather Bear
Prov, RI
Mar 9, 2010

Wish I could have stayed longer!

We had 9 friends go down together. Hotel was beautiful but the weather wasnt as amazing. VERY windy and not that warm. But when we went next door to the Riu cancun there was practically no wind. It was nice to stay in the better hotel with use of the amenities next door. And with our group being in the mid 20 range the Riu Cancun was set up for that. It had a mini club and younger people staying there. The restaurants at the palace were GREAT! and the buffet had plenty of options. We had no problems getting reservations for 9 people. Never woke up early or had to wait in lines. Just start booking the day you get there and keep doing it 2 days in advance. the only one we didnt try was the Japanese because not everyone in our group loved sushi. And we were also a little late to rise so we often got stuck missing breakfast and then consequently missing lunch. The are in betwen small buffets but I could have used a few more options. I wish during the random hours there was more dining options. We wnt out to Pat O briens (dont do it) The city (HUGE CLUB) and Sweet (very luxurious) club entry fees at about 45 to get in with open bar (which is only like tap beer, vodka and rum) We haggled to make the 45 include a vip table with bottle service. That made the experience soooo much better. My boyfriend and I had a couples massage, not expensive in my opinion and was very nice and relaxing. We booked a zipline and atv combo before we left online through [@] very trustworthy and super cheap only $99 each including round trip transfer, I had so much fun on this I would do it again. We had other friends staying at the OASIS (MTV Spring break hotel) it was $26 to get in for the day, I would never want to stay there but it was fun for just one day. We spent another day on a private catamaran snorkeling (its so crazy to see the fish so close, don't worry they don't bite) and the boat took us to an island for shopping. We also spent a day on the beach jet sking and parasailing. All in all it was a great time we were there for 7 days 6 nights but wish it was 10 because I wanted to do so much other stuff. I personally spent a total of $750 (not including the initial cost of the trip) We did however go to clubs, go on excursions, get massages, rent jetskis and tipped generously. Ive been on cruises and spent double. I would go back to Riu again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

HAGGLE! the price they say is never the "Real" price. This goes for excursions, shopping, cabs and even club entry fees. We rented a private catamaran for a half day to take us to isla muerta for shopping, coral reef snorkeling, open bar on the boat. They wanted 90pp we talked him down to 45. Just walk away and they come down to the price your want. Even when everyone was paying $45 for entry into the club we just asked that price to include a private table with bottle service. Throw someone a tip and they will do anything for you.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Athens, Greece
Feb 16, 2010

Great.

Riu Palace Las Americas is the best hotel in Cancun. The Spain creator - architect Mr Sancimez designed, 6 years ago, a real Grand Hotel similar to those in Cannes and Monte Carlo of the period between the two wars. In the lobby you take the atmosphere of the legacy. Very nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top