Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabulous Fab
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 13, 2010

Amazing Stay

It was an amazing stay. Staff was very freindly and helpful. Food and drinks were okay. I would definitely recommend Riu Palace to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservation way ahead of time.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay the Broker
Business
Chicago,IL
Sep 13, 2010

"The Best of Cancun"

I have been going to Cancun since my first spring break in 1990. This hotel is in the best location and unlike so many all inclusive hotels it is first class. The food, service, and liquor quality I would compare to a non inclusive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try taking a fairy take the yello one its faster $15 per person to Isla Mujeres a 5 minute cab ride from the Riu. Rent a golf cart on the island $50.00 all day, and drive to the bridge in front of the Avalon hotel bridge. Most unbelieveable sand bar of any Cancun ocean front. You can walk 500 ft of just beautiful private beach.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Camper Richacha
Business
Wash DC Metro - NoVA
Sep 13, 2010

I WANT TO GO (BACK) TO RIU

We had another wonderful vacation at the Riu Palace Las Americas. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Restuarant and Bar service was exceptional this trip. However, the Palace had an unusually high occupancy rate -- and we learned during our trip that other visitors who had booked cheaper rooms at the RIU Cancun and RIU Caribe had been "upgraded" to the RIU Palace ... making it a bit more crowded than preferred, but still nice (just wish we could have paid less to get the same accomodations).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Bus System to travel within the hotel zone. Drivers accept US currency (generally no coin); use a $1 bill and most drivers issue a peso or two in change.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cardinals-chic
Business
Tennessee
Sep 7, 2010

Couples fun

The overall experience was great!! The hotel was beautiful. Our room was extrmely clean everytime the cleaning service came by. She evn lined our shoes up. They had a "quiet" pool and then a "party" pool where they constantly had something going on there. It was a little noisey because of everything going on. The rooms must not be well insoltaed because we could hear a baby all night one night. Overall though it wasn't that noisey. The bartenders were great. The hotel is located on a great piece of the beach. I would say that the rooms stayed a little muggy at times. We had to wash even the clothes we didn't wear, because of the moisture. You can only get a King roo if you get an ocean view. Queens are on the other side. The hotel did upgrade us for free to a king room. The hotel was great! I would defiantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would defiantly do to out at least one night. The best bars are withing walking ditance. CoCO Bongos was the best! You will need to take a bus or taxi to go on the Pirate ship dinner or the Sail Away. The buses are cheaper, but extremly hot! The taxi's are a decent price. It was around $10.00 one way to all the places we went.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanita and Paco
Business
Florida
Sep 4, 2010

Pampered in paradise

This was the first time we were able to do an all-inclusive vacation and it exceeded our expectations. Friends of ours, that are world travelers, have stayed at the Palace 13 times. The Palace treats you like family. With only 400 rooms it is capable of giving very personable service. Someone is always there to help you. Because we only had 5 days we spent all he time relaxing, drinking and eating at the resort. We ventured out once to do some shopping at the mall across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

We didn't find this out till our last day--the hotel staff(that coordinates the pool activities & nightly shows/at the La Nuit lounge provide a shuttle service. Around 11pm or so the Palace entertainment staff accompanies the bus to other nightlife activities and shows at other locations in Cancun that accomodate all RIU guests with entrance/ free drinks and a special designated seating place for RIU guests. This info was not given to us at c/in.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agent M
Business
Lake Balboa, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Great time at our 1st All Inclusive

This was our first time at an all inclusive resort. Based on this experience, I never want to stay anywhere but a RIU. My only major gripe is that once you head up the elevators to the room floors, there is a slight moldy/mildewy smell as soon as you get onto the floor. In all fairness, Cancun is a very humid place, so I can understand how moisture can constantly seep into the structure. There was never any visible mold/mildew anywhere. Same smell is in the room, but after a week, I couldn't really tell anymore. The hotel workers are constantly cleaning the place. We would wake up around 6:30am - 7:30am local time there would be an army of people in the lobby and pool area sweeping, mopping, wiping everything down. Obviously, no glass containers by the pool, so instead the bars use small hard plastic cups. They are very small (~ 6 - 8 ounces), so I would recommend bringing a bigger cup with you. I saw a few guests do this. The restaurants on property are great, but you do have to make dinner reservations to the specialty ones. In order to make a reservation, you have to physically go down to the lobby and do it in person.I would recommend getting there when they open (7am) in order to reserve for the following day. I believe you can try to reserve for the same day and the following day only, but the girl let us make a 3rd reservation 2 days out. Also, for men, no sandals or shorts at the places that need a reservation, and you have to wear a shirt with sleeves. I did see somebody get turned away for wearing shorts. Although tips are supposed to be included, I would recommend tipping the hotel workers who provide excellent service I believe towel service for the pools starts at 7am. Hardcore guests would get their towels and "reserve" the chairs they wanted. Usually in prime locations next to the pool with he two bars. This is supposedly against hotel policy, but everybody does it. They place their towels on the chairs around 7-7:30am and probably don't make it to the pool until 9:00 or 10:00. I am guilty of this myself, but only after seeing how the prime pool real estate was being gobbled up. Public buses stop outside of the Riu Caribe (sister hotel), which is directly adjacent to the Riu Palace. One way is 8.5 pesos per person. We used it to go to Mercado 28 and Walmart. I had to stop at Costco (long story) and the cheapest way that was recommended to me was to take the bus into town, and once in town, take a cab to areas in El Centro. A cab ride from Mercado 28 to Costco was 20 pesos. That definately would have been a long walk. We booked two 1 day excursions with vendors that setup shop in the lobby every morning. Their prices are identical, but they may slightly differ as to stops, toll roads vs public roads, etc. We book an excursion to Chitzen Itza and to Xcaret in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Do not change your dollars to pesos. For the most part, you will get more bang for the buck using dollars. Vendors will give you a price in dollars, and if you have pesos, they will convert using a lousy exchange rate.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 27, 2010

Wonderful service, clean and beautiful

This is a wonderful hotel if you are looking for things to do for the whole family. The all inclusive is a good value for a family, although I enjoy the variety of venturing out. The service in all restaurants was exellent and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to plan day excursions away from the hotel right before you do them. If someone in your party becomes ill during the visit you will lose all or at least half of your money. Plus you may change your mind after a day or so, so don't let the company's pressure you in to planning your whole vacation the first day.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ttubular
Business
long island
Aug 24, 2010

vacation august 2010

the hotel was spotless and the staff was awesome. the food at the buffet was good but the food at the resturaunts was amazing. not enough activities during the day. from 1-2 is lunch and 2-3 is just music at the pool. so that is 2 hours in the middle of the day with nothing planned i didnt like that at all. i have stayed at other hotels where there are activities all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

eat at all the resturants in the hotel and not the buffet if u can. the food in the resturaunts was amazing.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thenewlyweds
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun

Pool was so hot we could not swim in it, too crowded, and never any room at the "infinity edge" there were very few cabanas with shade around the pool and the drinks were just okay. The food was just okay, the buffet was better than any of the restaurants. I am not a picky eater, so I always was happy with my food and ate it, but if you are picky eater you probably wouldn't like it. I wish the pool would have been cooler/more refreshing. Would have been much better had there been a bigger "swim up bar" as well. We have been to Cancun about 6 or 7 times and there are nicer places to stay. We went with friends so it worked out great though. The service was excellent and Christina at the concierge desk went out of her way to help us. The reservations setup is nightmare. Waiting in a line at 8 o'clock in the morning on vacation is absolutely ridiculous and then to get there and not even allow a group of 8 to sit at the same table and the food to be subpar. My biggest annoyance was our room key not working on several occasions which was a big hassle considering it is a long way to the reception desk and the elevators are slow. This also means it is not easy access from your room to get down to the pool and beach so don't forget anything! For the price this is a nice place to stay for a weekend getaway, but for anything longer.. i would recommend paying a little extra to stay the Royal Cancun or the Excellence. Both of these blow the Riu Palace Las Americas away as far as service, amenities, food and pool/beach area. It is also a lot quieter with absolutely no kids. There were a lot of famlies with kids at our hotel which i was suprised about. I will say the hotel is beautiful and the shows were entertaining. The staff there really tries their best to keep everyone entertained. We had a great time with the few couples that we went with. Make sure that you specify a king size bed and a ocean view room because several people didn' t get that and weren't happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to carlos and charlies and senor frogs. We had a great time at both!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RedHour
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Great Hotel with a few ;(

The Hotel location was very nice and the view was amazing. I enjoyed the service and the food was great. This hotel is really All Inclusive...everything is included. However there were a few things I didn't enjoy. 1st. Both pools were very dirty, specially the pool with the bar smelled awe-full and the water was full of lemons from other people drinks and ash from the cigarettes and it looked like that they had not cleaned the pool for a long time. 2nd. It is nice the get free drinks all the time, but whats the point when there is no alcohol in it and I'm not a drinker I drink maybe twice a month socially. 3rd. The entertainment was ok....maybe for families but definitely not for young couples or singles...I would have liked more sport entertainment and just fun overall...that was definitely missing...they just had a 9.45pm show which was only 45minutes long and very boring. The beach area was great and nice to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was very good...I liked the fusion restaurant "Krystal".

Back to menu Return to top