Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
707 out of 707
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OK GIRL
Business
SANTA MARIA, CA
Nov 23, 2010

AWSOME

I HAD THE MOST AMAZING TIME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

XPLOR IS AWSOME. ZIP LINES, RAFFTING, AND UNDERGROUND SWIMMING.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENERALBS
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 20, 2010

Great place, great staff

This resort was very nice and the staff are super friendly.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The club hop tour was fun, I would recommend this if you like to hit the clubs.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Nov 16, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Married Young Professional
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Nice hotel, ok location

This was the first time my husband and I visited Cancun, first time all-inclusive, but we've been to Cabo and other places in Mexico before. We've also been to several beach vacations all over the Caribbean and Hawaii. I booked Riu Palace after reading great reviews. I didn't book a balcony room because I kept seeing reviews of people getting upgraded for free during peak season. Since our stay was in the beginning of Nov and it was supposed to be their low season, I thought we'd be ok. However, when we got there, the front desk wouldn't upgrade us so we were stuck with the standard room on the 8th floor. That put a major damper on my initial experience because I regretted not paying the extra $25/night to guarantee us a balcony. The hotel itself was nice and the infinity pool and ocean view as you step out is breathtaking. The property is very well kept. We didn't like that the jacuzzi tubs were kind of off on their own, separated from the main areas. The beach was ok. Sand was very soft but the beach is short with limited space for seating. The water was nice but not much action for snorkeling. We rented jet skis and were restricted to only jet ski in a fairly small perimeter... so we spent the 40 minutes riding back and forth about 20 times. It got boring and I was waiting for it to end after 4 round trips in the small perimeter. The food and service at the Riu Palace was great! However, the specialty restaurants require reservations in advanced which was quite annoying especially if your trip is short and you want to try a place your first night. For us, our first night was our anniversary night so we followed the advice of other reviews and went to Sakura (Japanese) shortly after the seating time (6:45pm) and asked to get slipped in if other reservations didn't show up. There was an opening so it worked out great. The food was good but not the best Japanese we've ever had. Second night we went to Los Arcos for Brazilian Steak and that was very good as well. However, third night we went to Krystal and LOVED IT! That was one of our most enjoyable dinner experience because the food was a unique fusion of so many different cultures. We also ate at the buffet other nights and the food was great also. Like all other buffets, they're not gonna hit an ace on EVERY dish, but overall there was enough variety and quality. The location of the hotel in Hotel Zone was below average due to the attractions. There are barely any shops across the street and the few that were there were extremely overpriced with people hassling you to buy anything and EVERY thing. The hassling part is normal for Mexico but doesn't make it any less annoying. The nicER shopping area is too far to walk. You can take a bus, but it's quite sketchy and is confusing... even for my husband who is good at Spanish. We went to XelHa one of the days and rented a car at Avis to get there. We booked an Avis package that included a one day car rental and 2 admission tickets. XelHa was hands down, the highlight of our entire trip. It's an all inclusive ecological park I recommend for all ages and group types. TIP!!! We brought a bunch of $1 USD bills (awkward experience at our home bank) with us to tip. They really appreciate it and the service people don't get paid enough for all the hard work they do. Tipping is supposedly already included and not required, but why wouldn't you tip? It's quite obvious these service people don't get paid very much so a few bucks goes a long way. Once a waitress myself, it's just the right thing to do. Cancun itself is NOT our ideal place to travel and we will most likely not be returning unless going with a group of friends that all want to go back there. Being from CA and traveling to several beach destinations before, we enjoy seeing the sun setting on the ocean. However, since Cancun is east of Mexico, the sun sets behind the hotel and land, also minimizing sun time on the beach. It...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Krystal - must have dining experience. And TIP all your servers and bartenders ($1-3)!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy if room was decent
Business
Highlands Ranch, CO
Nov 8, 2010

RIU

Hotel was beautiful. Service and food outstanding. [...] in main outside dining for breakfast and lunch buffet was rude and begged for tips. Japanese, Los Arcos and French was awesome - food and service outstanding. Our biggest issue and why we would not return was as follows: The ROOM! Mold and musty to the point we could not breathe and could not wait to go home - sad but true then they cleaned with amonia to kill the mold/must. Bed uncomfortable and sheets damp always. Had to wash our clothes and souveniers three times when we returned to get the smell out. [...] - with Grey Line/[...]sold us activities and she did not know what she was talking about - expensive and disappointed with CocoBongo. She sold us the Dolphin experience and then came back and wanted more money?? That is it - overall the hotel staff and hotel was beautiful and we loved it but sleep is important and we never slept due to smell/dampness in the room - we slipped on the tile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joni/Chachee
Business
Indiana
Nov 7, 2010

Location, location, location

My husband and I have been to Cancun several times, however, this was our first stay at this location. Hotel is fair at best. The smell of mildew, dampness is a little overwhelming. We have stayed other places and never had this type of odor. The food is fair. Lots of choices on the buffets, three times a day, only reservations for dinners in the good restaurants. sometimes hard to make reservations, they only let you make them for the following two days only. Pools were excellent! Pool bar, service, servers, entertainment, was phenominal. Staff speaks very good english. Room service, maid, beverage cart for your rooms, were disappointing. NO TOP SHELF liquor. not even Captain Morgan. The person thats refills your mini fridge knocks twice and barges right in your room. I was showering and couldn't get to the door, the man just walked right in and filled the fridge. I also asked for Pepsi light, (this is the name of Diet Pepsi in mexico) he ignorred me, and proceeded to fill the other sodas. Your bed, sheets, towels, etc, in your room feels damp and smells like mildew the entire time. As far as night life goes...you have a different show on the resort every night. About an hour and then everything is done by eleven. If you choose to go into town, Coco Bongo, The City, sweet, etc..those are all in walking distance. They will try to get you a taxi or go as a group on a bus. The entertainment staff does very well in keeping you informed on which club or bar they will be going to each night. Please also note, there are rumors Mexico is not safe right now. WE were completely safe and felt fine the entire trip. When enjoying the pool/beach, if you bring your own cup/drinking glass, they will make you whatever you want in it, otherwise, you will be served tiny, six ounce juice cups, with hardly any ice. Ice was definately a huge problem...either they were afraid of too much ice watering down your drink, or people in mexico just dont like ice cold drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to nightlife, huge plus. however, they will still try to get you to pay for the group rate for the bus trip and VIP. When arriving to the place, cover charge was the same and there was no special perks with going with your hotel staff.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, Louisiana
Nov 5, 2010

You'll Never Want to Leave!

This vacation was better than our honeymoon! The hotel and staff went out of their way to make us feel special, and treated us as if we were the only ones at the hotel! The food was exceptional, the grounds were immaculate, the hotel is spectacular. We have never felt more comfortable and appreciated on any other vacation. You will not be dissapointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Cancun
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2010

Excllent HoneyMoon

Friendly Staff, Clean Room Nice Food, Beautiful Beach, Clean Pool All you can drink and they keep refill your drink. I love them so much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RAKANDBOG
Business
Westerville, Ohio
Oct 29, 2010

Magnificent, Clean, polite staff

If you are looking to get some High Class R&R you have found the place. I cannot say enough about how hard-working and polite the staff was. They work so hard at keeping drink/food in hand and keeping the Palace spectacularly clean. If you are there to Eat, Drink, and be Merry there is no better place. However, if you like only a few days relaxation make sure to plan some excursions which cost extra but are worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClasEJJ
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Oct 29, 2010

The good service makes you feel good!

All inclusive indicates that the service might not be that good, but it was really very good. The staff was very attentive and they treated you very well. Spending the days at the very nice sandy beach and then enjoy really good food in a nice atmposphere, what more can you ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The a la carte restaurants in the hotel were excellent. It is a joy to see and taste the food. The only draw back was that the selection of wines was very limited.

Back to menu Return to top