Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
642 reviews
Great Stay at RIU Palace Las Americas

Everything about the stay was great. Excellent food with plenty of options, very nice resort which... See full review

  • Ryan F.
  • Feb 19, 2015
AMAZING!

My husband and I were impressed. We were treated like royalty. The food was to die for, the view... See full review

  • Happy in Sun
  • Feb 4, 2015
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (642)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
642 out of 642
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agent M
Business
Lake Balboa, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Great time at our 1st All Inclusive

This was our first time at an all inclusive resort. Based on this experience, I never want to stay anywhere but a RIU. My only major gripe is that once you head up the elevators to the room floors, there is a slight moldy/mildewy smell as soon as you get onto the floor. In all fairness, Cancun is a very humid place, so I can understand how moisture can constantly seep into the structure. There was never any visible mold/mildew anywhere. Same smell is in the room, but after a week, I couldn't really tell anymore. The hotel workers are constantly cleaning the place. We would wake up around 6:30am - 7:30am local time there would be an army of people in the lobby and pool area sweeping, mopping, wiping everything down. Obviously, no glass containers by the pool, so instead the bars use small hard plastic cups. They are very small (~ 6 - 8 ounces), so I would recommend bringing a bigger cup with you. I saw a few guests do this. The restaurants on property are great, but you do have to make dinner reservations to the specialty ones. In order to make a reservation, you have to physically go down to the lobby and do it in person.I would recommend getting there when they open (7am) in order to reserve for the following day. I believe you can try to reserve for the same day and the following day only, but the girl let us make a 3rd reservation 2 days out. Also, for men, no sandals or shorts at the places that need a reservation, and you have to wear a shirt with sleeves. I did see somebody get turned away for wearing shorts. Although tips are supposed to be included, I would recommend tipping the hotel workers who provide excellent service I believe towel service for the pools starts at 7am. Hardcore guests would get their towels and "reserve" the chairs they wanted. Usually in prime locations next to the pool with he two bars. This is supposedly against hotel policy, but everybody does it. They place their towels on the chairs around 7-7:30am and probably don't make it to the pool until 9:00 or 10:00. I am guilty of this myself, but only after seeing how the prime pool real estate was being gobbled up. Public buses stop outside of the Riu Caribe (sister hotel), which is directly adjacent to the Riu Palace. One way is 8.5 pesos per person. We used it to go to Mercado 28 and Walmart. I had to stop at Costco (long story) and the cheapest way that was recommended to me was to take the bus into town, and once in town, take a cab to areas in El Centro. A cab ride from Mercado 28 to Costco was 20 pesos. That definately would have been a long walk. We booked two 1 day excursions with vendors that setup shop in the lobby every morning. Their prices are identical, but they may slightly differ as to stops, toll roads vs public roads, etc. We book an excursion to Chitzen Itza and to Xcaret in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Do not change your dollars to pesos. For the most part, you will get more bang for the buck using dollars. Vendors will give you a price in dollars, and if you have pesos, they will convert using a lousy exchange rate.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 27, 2010

Wonderful service, clean and beautiful

This is a wonderful hotel if you are looking for things to do for the whole family. The all inclusive is a good value for a family, although I enjoy the variety of venturing out. The service in all restaurants was exellent and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to plan day excursions away from the hotel right before you do them. If someone in your party becomes ill during the visit you will lose all or at least half of your money. Plus you may change your mind after a day or so, so don't let the company's pressure you in to planning your whole vacation the first day.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ttubular
Business
long island
Aug 24, 2010

vacation august 2010

the hotel was spotless and the staff was awesome. the food at the buffet was good but the food at the resturaunts was amazing. not enough activities during the day. from 1-2 is lunch and 2-3 is just music at the pool. so that is 2 hours in the middle of the day with nothing planned i didnt like that at all. i have stayed at other hotels where there are activities all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

eat at all the resturants in the hotel and not the buffet if u can. the food in the resturaunts was amazing.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thenewlyweds
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun

Pool was so hot we could not swim in it, too crowded, and never any room at the "infinity edge" there were very few cabanas with shade around the pool and the drinks were just okay. The food was just okay, the buffet was better than any of the restaurants. I am not a picky eater, so I always was happy with my food and ate it, but if you are picky eater you probably wouldn't like it. I wish the pool would have been cooler/more refreshing. Would have been much better had there been a bigger "swim up bar" as well. We have been to Cancun about 6 or 7 times and there are nicer places to stay. We went with friends so it worked out great though. The service was excellent and Christina at the concierge desk went out of her way to help us. The reservations setup is nightmare. Waiting in a line at 8 o'clock in the morning on vacation is absolutely ridiculous and then to get there and not even allow a group of 8 to sit at the same table and the food to be subpar. My biggest annoyance was our room key not working on several occasions which was a big hassle considering it is a long way to the reception desk and the elevators are slow. This also means it is not easy access from your room to get down to the pool and beach so don't forget anything! For the price this is a nice place to stay for a weekend getaway, but for anything longer.. i would recommend paying a little extra to stay the Royal Cancun or the Excellence. Both of these blow the Riu Palace Las Americas away as far as service, amenities, food and pool/beach area. It is also a lot quieter with absolutely no kids. There were a lot of famlies with kids at our hotel which i was suprised about. I will say the hotel is beautiful and the shows were entertaining. The staff there really tries their best to keep everyone entertained. We had a great time with the few couples that we went with. Make sure that you specify a king size bed and a ocean view room because several people didn' t get that and weren't happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to carlos and charlies and senor frogs. We had a great time at both!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RedHour
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Great Hotel with a few ;(

The Hotel location was very nice and the view was amazing. I enjoyed the service and the food was great. This hotel is really All Inclusive...everything is included. However there were a few things I didn't enjoy. 1st. Both pools were very dirty, specially the pool with the bar smelled awe-full and the water was full of lemons from other people drinks and ash from the cigarettes and it looked like that they had not cleaned the pool for a long time. 2nd. It is nice the get free drinks all the time, but whats the point when there is no alcohol in it and I'm not a drinker I drink maybe twice a month socially. 3rd. The entertainment was ok....maybe for families but definitely not for young couples or singles...I would have liked more sport entertainment and just fun overall...that was definitely missing...they just had a 9.45pm show which was only 45minutes long and very boring. The beach area was great and nice to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was very good...I liked the fusion restaurant "Krystal".

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 2, 2010

Cancun getaway

Checked into the hotel room to find that the 'Garden' view that we had booked was not the case to be. Instead we got a room that overlooked the adjacent hotel's roof. The staff, although very helpful in all other aspects, was not really helpful in this case. Noticed water on the floor after checking into the room. Housekeeping came and cleaned it up as soon as we called the front desk. Restaurant staff was friendly and hard working. Food and drinks were available at all times. Pool closes at 7 p.m, a little too early, specially for those who would like to avoid the afternoon sun. Buffet food was good. It is a good idea to have reservations to the formal restaurants done in advance (even before you take the trip). Tours sold in the hotel are expensive. Step out and you have much cheaper options. It is better to stay put and/or walk around in the hotel itself. Step out and you will be stopped by almost all the shop keepers or staff at the local restaurants. Overall, a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Aug 1, 2010

Exceeded Expectations. Great Hotel

We came here for a good mix of both. Quiet and relaxing and enough activities and fun to keep us entertained. We had a blast and were very impressed by the facilities and service. We highly recommend this place to couples looking for a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the club hopping package. You get VIP service and a big group of hoppers that travel to several of the clubs. There staff is fun and helpful.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flower Mound Girls
Business
Flower Mound Texas
Jul 28, 2010

Girls Getaway

The staff was very helpful. Drinks came fast and the fodd was good. Make sure you eat at Krystal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joesmoe
Business
austin Texas
Jul 6, 2010

July 2010

due to tropical storm Alex the shoreline was covered with see weed. I don't feel that enough was done to clean the beaches. The staff were professional and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manateeboy
Business
Melbourne, Florida
Jun 23, 2010

Simply the Best

We only go to the Riu Palace Las Americas when traveling to Cancun. We've tried others, but no other hotel campares to the excellent staff and management at the Riu Palace. Will be back in August!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to leave this fabulous hotel, all you want or need is here.

Back to menu Return to top