Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 3, 2016

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard L.41, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queenspeople
Couples
NY, NY
May 26, 2011

Pretty Pretty Nice!!!!!

Before the trip, we did expected the hotel to be nice, but it blew us away when we actually got there. The security at the gate greeted us and let us in after confirming our reservation, then the bell man took our bags from the car and we proceeded to check in. We were upgraded to a oceanview room even we were booked in a garden view, nice! The corridors leading to the rooms are open air, and overlook a garden, which is very serene feeling. The room we had was very nice, enough for 2 adults, and as promised, overlooking the very blue and gorgeous ocean. Bathroom was of adequate size with just enough counter space, separate toilet area, nice touch. The balcony was big, with 2 chairs. We used the swim up bar, the drinks were ok, US pricing. No kids running around and plenty of chairs. Service by the beach was prompt too. The hotel happened to sit on a very nice stretch of beach, no drop or whatsoever. Water was a little rough, yellow flag though. We didn't dine in any restaurants on site, but the front desk did offer to suggest dining options. We only stayed 1 night, but will definitely go back for more, for what we paid, we felt it was a bargain. Very very nice hotel, will recommend for friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
music man
Couples
portland, oregon
May 20, 2011

stay at Marriott CasaMagne Resort

Beautiful beach front hotel. Everything you would want for the water activity is right there for you. Also, rental car available if you desire non-water activities such as: zip line, exploration of the ancient ruin and etc. One tip: find a local bank and exchange $$$ because the hotel exchange rate is much higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

visit some shopping areas. At the information center, there are free drink coupons available.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
London, Ontario, Canada
Mar 21, 2011

Wonderful Vacation

The Hotel was great. The staff were friendly. Security was very good. The pool was clean and of course the Ocean and the beach were amazing. The hotel restaurants were a little pricey. The food quality was good but not great. You may want to take the opporutnity to go off sight to enjoy authentic Mexican food. Xplore was worth the money as to was Chichen Itza. This is not an all inclusive so if travelling with kids expect to pay a few more dollars to find activities that they will enjoy. I am not aware of a food plan at the Marriott but check when you book your trip because if there is one I would choose this method especially for breakfest and lunch. At the end of the day if travelling with kids I would suspect an all inclusive is a better choice. If travelling with adults only then this is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Basically we were advised to go to Wal-mart in Cancun. We bought cereal, milk, Water (1 litre for 80 Cents), chips, pop, etc. These are the expensive items at the resort and with kids a must. Also might want to pre-book an extra fridge for the room.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chevy Chase, MD
Oct 7, 2010

Great Choice

It was my third trip to the area and the first for my kids. The staff is friendly and efficient, the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Very easy to go downtown by catching a bus. The only issue was with the travel agency in the hotel. Way too complicated to get a refund. But otherwise, it was a great stay and I will definitely plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gramma
Family
Denver, CO
Aug 18, 2010

All inclusive, still the way to go

We were disappointed that some of our favorite meals were no longer included on the all-inclusive menus. We had several times when there was feces in the pool. Everyone but one got sick or had diarrhea. We figure it was the pool, not the food. The beach had been replaced and was wonderful despite an undertow. The staff was cheerful and remembered our names and friendly to the children. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. I had to call to have the bed made up at 3:30pm. I think that is late, but it didn't happen again. Pool service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FNMFLV
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 15, 2010

Good, but not as great as expected....

Casa Magna is a beautiful resort, located in a quiet and convinient part of Cancun. After reading the numerous great reviews [...], we thought 'this is THE ONE'. We were debating between CM and Live Aqua...after staying in CM for a week, we would say that overall, it was good, especially the breakfast buffet. But as a couple in our mid-late 20s, we would have to say that CM is more for families and older people. Just a quick tip I guess. The pool was okay...but Live Aqua's was much much nicer and chic. (One of the reasons why I was debating between the two hotels, other than competing reviews!) Staff were overall great...but a few 'eeehs'. Didn't accomodate our food substitute for room service, (also told us to pay cash b/c he is too busy to accept credit cards), 15 minutes late for wake up call, etc. Wasn't anything crazy but these minor things account for something, right? Oh and one of the front desk girls was pretty rude, which affected my feeling about the place since she was one of the first people we encountered upon arrival. Overall, very nice hotel...but next time we will probably opt for Live Aqua. Hope this helps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongo is great! We are from Vegas and must say the 'Disco and Show' club in Cancun is one of the best! Oh, and many locals recommended La Parilla as one of the best local mexican eateries...we traveled to downtown and walked a couple of blocks only to find another tourist scammin trap with below average food!! AAAH horrible!! Also, do not book your flight with SPIRIT AIR. They charge for carry ons now..and their planes are sooo dirty and uncomfortable!

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Tacoma, WA
Apr 27, 2010

Fun beachside resort

We were there for an academic conference, but also enjoyed the beach and some of the nightlife. The hotel is very beautiful and clean, and our room was right off the pool and had a lovely view even though it was billed as a 'garden view'. The staff was quite helpful and the sushi restaurant was delicious. The only things we didn't like was how expensive the wireless internet was (17.25/day!) and that the beds were doubles instead of queens. Also, breakfast is not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
norms
Friends
dallas, tx
Mar 24, 2010

Unforgettable Vacation

The hotel was beautiful. The staff were great and very friendly. We got there a few hrs before check in and they accomadated us. The beach is your backyard. Not far from the airport or the shops. As soon as you were done with the beach you could walk straight to your pool. And for later that night the jacuzzi was nice and hot. Very good size for the jacuzzi and the pool. This was one of the best vacations ever and the hotel was also one of the best if not the best I've stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Distelleria. Ask the hotel. Wonderful food. Chichen Itza, go on tour.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Ocean front room was just awesome, patio was very nice, our area was very quiet just as i wanted it. room was very clean, staff was overwhelmingly helpful. Would definately come back again. We had breakfast included was awesome each morning. I cant say it again, the service was awesome as it should be. Air conditioning was top notch as we went in Humid October, boy that was a lifesaver. We went on tours every other day and it was nice and restful to come back to a cool room that was very clean and had an awesome view. Very happy we choose this hotel. We also asked for late checkout (2pm) which was no problem. Only drawback internet access was too expensive at $17 a nite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon and Virginia
Couples
Kansas
Oct 17, 2009

Great TIme

The hotel location was nice..not too close to the busy section of the hotel zone. Only a short bus trip away. Buses were definetly the way to go. Went to Walmart - not sure I would again. It was dirty and some items didn't look safe. Not worth the taxi cost. Be sure if you want to go somewhere to check ahead of time and see what the hours are - esp. during off-season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aqua World is a short walk from Motel. They have lots to offer.

Back to menu Return to top