Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard L.41, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Aug 9, 2010

Cancun visit

The staff of the Casamagna was very friendly and accomodating. We especially enjoyed the bellmen that met you at the front door. It was obvious that they got to know you and would always welcome you back. The pool and beach were outstanding. We also found that the tours setup by either IMC or Aqua World staff within the hotel were as competitive, convenient, and organized than any of the free roaming beach vendors that would approach you. The facility was extremely clean and well-kept. The only complaints we had were that the malls were a little way away from this hotel, but with the buses shopping was still easy to get to. Also, a convenience store was right across the road for the occassional bottled water run. Also, many people refer to the simple trip to Wal-Mart downtown. That trip is about 30-35 minutes by bus each way. We did not price cab fare, but would anticipate it being around $20 US. We did not find the food prices at the restaurants in the Hotel Zone to be a bargain as compared to what we are used to in the US. The food and service was extremely good, just don't let the lesser value of the peso trick you. We did find the prices of the excursions we took to be reasonable as compared to ones we have taken while on cruise trips in other parts of the Carribbean. Overall, we had a good experience and would have no problem recommending Cancun and the Marriott Casamagna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet was very good. Way more choices than any one person could eat in one sitting.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torreon, Mexico
Aug 7, 2010

Great facility and service, poor mngmnt!

This hotel has everything to be best in class, but falls short. Fountains are dirty. I found a cockroach in my room. When I contacted customer care they upgraded me and gave me a $100 credit on my stay...but then the manager implied that I could have brought the cockroach in my luggage...The ice machine in my floor didn't work. The hotel has two elevators, only one worked. I WANT to think I just had bad luck because all the reviews for this hotel are great, but I can't help but feel dissappointed about it. On the good side, they handled all the situations very gracefully. I got an upgrade from the cochroach. When the ice machine didn't work, they brought me ice to my room. However, you want things to happen the RIGHT way from the start, not the hotel to do good damage control. I would stay there again, out of goodwill, but my experience was not what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two convenience stores right out of the hotel. Use them to buy beer and stuff like that. The hotel is pricey for the mexican standard ($5 USD beers).

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evelia
Business
Mission, Tx
Aug 5, 2010

exelent!!!!!

Exellent service, everything was perfect, the attention of the personal was amazing always trying to to the best, the breakfast buffet first quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Madero excellent Argentina cuisine

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 31, 2010

what a great place!

(note: 4 adult travelers staying in two separate rooms from Sunday to Thursday 7/25/10 to 7/29/10)1) Was there for Vacation for the first time at this hotel. [...] We booked two rooms and asked for adjoining rooms but they didn't' have any at that time which was another bummer. The agent was able to find us two rooms next to each other which was ok for us.2) Everything else was smooth. I didn't mind the towel card policy. The beach was nice. Lots of loungers and The pool had lots of children but it's a family style resort so thats to be expected. 3) Room service was decent. We ordered pizza one night and off the menu the next. We had the breakfast included in the room rate and it was served daily at La Capilla. It was a very good buffet style breakfast. Many choices ranging from american to mexican to asian. Lots of fruit and pastries and cereal.4) The rooms were standard fare. A bit small but not cramped. The bathroom was nice and spacious with a separate room for the toilet. The bed was nice but not the most comfortable. The pillows are down so they tend to be soft. The blankets were polyester filled though and not down filled. The linens were soft so that was a good thing. Standard sized TV 32inches. The AC worked perfectly. No in-room coffee maker and fridge.5) Everything at this resort is a la carte. In other words, you have to pay for almost everything. Internet, bottled water is not included in the rate. That didn't bother us since we knew we booked for the room only and not for the food and drinks. But some people may be disappointed if they didn't book a all-inclusive plan that this hotel offers from time to time.Overall, I love this hotel and would come back here anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mexican Flea Market has overpriced souvenirs. Better to get the souvenirs in the Mall @ Plaza Caracol.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 27, 2010

fantastic

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sosiboys
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 26, 2010

This is the place to stay!

We were pleasantly surprised and how clean and beautiful this hotel is. I read all the good reviews before I booked it and everything is all true this is the place to be. Everything from the hotel staff to the rooms it was perfect. The bathroom is huge floors are all marble the hotel is all marbled floor the pool is gorgeous and our room was spotless and cleaned. If I could get the same rate for this hotel I would booked our next cancun trip with this hotel again. [...] I would really recommend you stay at this hotel its first class!! We also got free breakfast for 2 every morning the breafast is so good it has everything you would want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your coffee, water, sodas across the street at Oxxo they are cheaper. Don't use the room phone for local or outside calls they are expensive. They charge 5.00 a minute to San Antonio, TX.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arizona Nora
Business
Tempe, Arizona
Jul 26, 2010

Great family vacation

Amazing family vacation! The hotel is beautiful and immaculately maintained. Staff are friendly, helpful and professional. Location is absolutely beautiful, with the beach easily accessible, uncrowded and clean. The bus fare into town is less than a dollar per person, and buses run regularly throughout the day. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus, whether at 7am or 11pm. We participated in numerous tourist activities, including the Jungle Tour at Aqua World (a favorite featuring driving/riding a wave-runner and snorkeling), zip line and horseback riding through Extreme Adventure (lots of fun!) and visits to Chichen Itza, Isla Mujeres, and Tulum. The guided tours for our visits to Chichen Itza and Tulum made the experience incredibly informative and meaningful. The visit to Chichen Itza is best during an overcast or even rainy day because it gets very hot when sunny. We got lucky and it rained during our visit, so we enjoyed it thoroughly, thanks to the coolness it brought...the $10 umbrella and $3 ponchos we purchased at the entrance helped too. We visited Tulum on a sunny day, and though it was hot and humid, we were able to enjoy the beach at this site all the more. Be sure to use bug repellent for this visit! You'll also need it if you go horseback riding in the jungle, which I would also recommend. We got to take the horses into the water for a swim in a cenote! The trip to Isla Mujeres entailed a ferry ride to the island where we went snorkeling again and enjoyed a bit of shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The prices in Cancun and Isla Mujeres are high, so don't expect huge bargains. Offer half the initial asking price at the markets, and see what the vendors come down to. I didn't mind paying full price for handmade items made by individual street vendors themselves if it was cheaper than what I might pay at home, though they also usually price things higher than the cost they're willing to sell. Best deals I found were handmade bracelets ($1 each) and purses (under $10 each, varying by size...and vendor). Worst deal I found was water bottles at the hotel and airport for $6 per small bottle! And I thought Disneyland was expensive!

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Great Hotel

As a family we really enjoy our stay at this Marriott. The price was well worth it. the staff and services were icredible and we would gladly recommend others to stay here as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Never again Cancun
Business
Eastern US
Jul 23, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

This Hotel was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KRISTYRAMIREZ
Business
PONCE,PUERTO RICO
Jul 16, 2010

AMAZING PLACE TO VISIT

CANCÚN IS AN AMAZING PLACE TO SPEND YOUR VACATION. THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL, STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP US WHEN NEEDED. WHILE IN CANCÚN, TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE BUS, IT´S SAFE AND CHEAP. ACTUALLY, WE ALSO TOOK A BUS TO GO TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN FOR LESS THAN $6.00 DOLLARS ROUNDTRIP AND TO COCROCUN (INTERACTIVE CROCODILE FARM) FOR LESS THAN $2.00 DOLLARS. VISIT XCARET, CHICHÉN ITZÁ, ISLA MUJERES AND MARKET 28. ALSO, TAKE A FEW MINUTES AND GO TO WALMART AND GET YOUR WATER AND SNACKS. WE WENT THE FIRST DAY WE WERE THERE BY BUS AND RETURN IN TAXI (CHARGE US $10.00 DOLLARS, NOT BAD AT ALL). BE AWARE THAT THE MINIMUM WAGE IN MÉXICO IS APPROX. $4.00 DOLLARS PER 8 HOURS A DAY, SO TIP IS EXPECTED AND DEFINITELY MOST OF THEM DESERVE IT. ALSO VISIT LA DESTILERÍA REST. THEY OFFER A TOUR($8.00 DOLLARS WITH 3 SHOTS OF TEQUILA AND MARGARITA INCLUDED) SHOWING YOU THE PROCESS OF MAKING TEQUILA. REQUEST ANDRES, HE IS THE BEST TOUR GUIDE. LOOK FOR THE TOURS ONLINE, COMPARE PRICES BUT DON´T COMMIT TO BUY UNTIL YOU ARRIVE THEY, HOWEVER BE AWARE OF THE TIMESHARE REPRESENTATIVES, YOU WILL FIND THEM EVERYWHERE (NOT AT CASA MAGNA HOTEL THOUGH). BOOK YOUR TRANSPORTATION AHEAD OF TIME, ROUNDTRIP IF POSSIBLE. WE USED MYCANCUNTOURS.COM ONLY ONE WAY BECAUSE WE WANTED TO KNOW IF THEY WERE GOOD. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT, THEY WERE ONTIME, HOWEVER WE WERE NOT ABLE TO RESERVE A VAN WITH THEM TO RETURN AND WE ENDED UP PAYING A TAXI THAT CHARGED US $47.00 DOLLARS (WE ONLY PAID $24 WITH THE OTHER COMPANY). OVERALL, CANCÚN IS A GREAT PLACE ANY KIND OF VACATIONING, WILL DEFINITELY RETURN THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

TAKE THE BUS, ONLY 7.5 PESOS (AROUND 65 CENTS). VERY SAFE AND RUNS 24 HRS A DAY. BRING A LOT OF SINGLES FOR TIPPING, BECAUSE IN MEXICO THEY WON´T EXCHANGE DOLLARS FOR DOLLARS, ONLY CHANGE DOLLARS TO PESOS. VISIT CROCOCUN, AN INTERACTIVE FARM FOR LESS THAN $25 DOLLARS.

Back to menu Return to top