Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan KM 13.5 Lote 24 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
305 reviews
Romantic Getaway

This was our fourth visit to the Barcelo Tucancun. My husband and I love this Hotel. The Beach is... See full review

  • John and Janet
  • May 29, 2013
Great Hotel

Great view to the ocean, restaurants are OK and the staff first class, the will communicate either... See full review

  • Dabassman
  • Apr 15, 2013
Cancun resort on the Caribbean Sea near shopping and nightlife

The seven-story Barcelo Tucancun Beach is a modern, tranquil property in Cancun's hotel zone. It is located 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport on the Caribbean Sea and Nichupté lagoon. The all-inclusive resort is within walking distance of nightlife and shopping at Kukulcan Plaza. It features rooms with lagoon or ocean views and caters to couples and families with nightly themed entertainment, including a cabaret and fiesta. Other diversions include karaoke, a casino, game room and land and water sport equipment.

Highlights
  • Located in the hotel zone, close to nightlife and shopping
  • Modern rooms overlooking the turquoise waters or Nichupt√© lagoon
  • All-inclusive, themed nightlife, including a cabaret, fiesta and Caribbean night
  • Club for kids ages 4 to 12
Rooms

All of the 335 rooms overlook the lagoon or ocean and have one king or two queen-sized beds. Guest rooms feature private bathrooms, air conditioning and satellite TV with pay per view (fees apply) as well as amenities such as alarm clocks, hairdryer, coffeemaker and mini bar. Most rooms feature their own terrace or balcony.

Features

The modern, seven-story beachfront property has sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea and Nichupté lagoon. Its convenient address within Cancun's bustling hotel zone is near nightlife and shopping, including Kukulcan Plaza. Nightly on-site entertainment, sparkling pools, numerous land and water sports and four restaurants serving a variety of Mexican and international cuisines cater to an all-ages clientele.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (16 mi/ 25 km)
Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Aquaworld (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Downtown (16 mi/ 25 km)
  • Breathing Observation Bubble (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
Business

Meeting room, accommodating up to 650 for cocktails or 450 in auditorium fashion

Banquet facilities, audio/visual equipment and a business center

Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Room
Bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, PPV, telephone with voicemail, alarm clock, hair dryer, coffeemaker, minibar, vanity mirror, iron and iron board. Standard Lagoon view furnished with 1 King size bed or 2 Queen Size beds. Terrace or balcony is available in most rooms. Four (4) rooms are equipped for the handicapped. 110 Volt electricity.
Superior Ocean View
Bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, PPV, telephone with voicemail, alarm clock, hair dryer, coffeemaker, minibar, vanity mirror, iron and iron board. Standard Ocean View rooms furnished with 1 King size bed or 2 Queen Size beds. Terrace or balcony is available in most rooms. Four (4) rooms are equipped for the handicapped. 110 Volt electricity.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1014 -86.7645
Area served
Blvd. Kukulcan km. 13.5 lote 24z Cancun Quintana Roo 77500, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport: Aproximate driving time is 25 minutes and distance is 25 km (16 mi)
Area description
From Cancun International Aiport: drive north on the highway, proceed straigh on highway, the "Hotel Zone" sign will be visible, after crossing over a bridge, the highway becomes Blvd. KuKulcan starting at km 27, continue straight to km 13.5,turn right at the corner of Kukulcan Plaza.

Nearby points of interest

  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 0.6 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 2.7 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 3 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 3.4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.7 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.4 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One meeting room named Tucan, capacity: buffet set up 300 pax; school set up 250; auditorium set up 450, "U" shape 150, Cocktail 650,

Dining

Mexico Lindo
Mexican cuisine is served a la carte for dinner only. Air conditioned. Reservations required.
La Claraboya
Air conditioned with an ocean view. Lunch and snacks served mid-day to evening; thereafter, a la carte seafood dinner served. Reservations required.
Don Quijote
Spanish cuisine is served buffet-style for dinner.
Mallorca
International cuisine served buffet-style, this cafe is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
305 out of 305
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Fyrepup
Chesapeake, VA
Jul 17, 2010

Nice hotel but terrible AC.

We had never been to Cancun before and based on the reviews of the hotel, thought we had selected a good one. The hotel was clean and staff friendly but the AC in our room was extremely poor. When we arrived in our room the temperature was 30 celsius (86F). We said something to the front desk but they insisted it was the outside temperature. Thank goodness for the ceiling fan. We managed to the room temp to a manageable 25C (77F). (We keep our house at 20C (68F) which is considerable lower.) We were offered an upgraded room our last night there but when they found out that it was last night, recinded it. The family pool was very cloudy and you could never see through the water. The water temp was very warm too. Almost like a hot tub. One day we had a poolful of guys showing us their bare bottoms. They would dive and at the same time, drop their swimsuits. I didn't consider it appropriate behaviour for a family pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel is a very nice mall. There is a store called Hacienda Tequila. It sells everything and the prices can't be beat. Also there is another outdoor mall which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Thong
San Jose, CA
Jul 14, 2010

The good resource

swimming, enjoyed food and shooping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Jillee
Washington. Pa
Jul 13, 2010

Would Go Again

One thing that was missing was being able to get a snack when you wanted one, especially at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Amazon16
Des Moines, IA
Jul 9, 2010

Cancun

I enjoyed the location and the hotel itself. The wait staff was exceptional. The front desk staff were not completely pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Fun in cancun
Birmingham Alabama
Jul 5, 2010

Great fun and really good service

No problems at all,we loved every minute of it.We would do it the same way again if we have the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Believe it or not taking the city bus is not that bad.But get a map from the hotel and use other hotels as around where you are going as referance points.It is reasonably priced ,at 7.5pesos which is about 50 cents.We got pesos and We just gave them a 20 pesos and the driver would give back the change,but I would just tell him to keep as a tip.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 5, 2010

Good family vacation spot

Overall the resort was ok. Nice pool area. The beach was very small and not very swim friendly. The food was really the only downside to the vacation, however the staff truly is very friendly and helpful. I would give it a 2.5 star rating but if the food were to improve some it could definitely move up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mayan Ruins trip was fabulous

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
James Vanderbeek
Michigan
Jul 4, 2010

4th time is still great

This was our 4th time staying at the Barcelo Tucancun. The value you get for what you pay is great. The food is great. The drinks are also great, and there were even some imported liquors that were free this year (Bacardi, Smirnoff, etc.). The only reason I marked the cleanliness down is because there were a few tiny ants crawling on our bathroom sink every time we went in there, but not a huge deal, they weren't hurting anything. Three previous times we have been during Spring Break, which is crazy, but we were surprised at the number of people that were there during the last week of June. Lots of foreigners other than Americans - Lots of people from the southern hemisphere (Australians and South Americans especially, being winter in there part of the world). We will most likely be back to the barcelo before too long. We had a group of 11 and everyone had a great time. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chichen Itza is awesome

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
NC, USA
Jul 4, 2010

Heed Warnings---You Decide

I read the reviews before we booked and decided I could live with hot/cold showers and a hard bed BUT I had no idea! The beds make it impossible to get a decent night's rest (the only one in our family that slept was our 95 lb. son! My husband actually slept in the chair one night. The showers weren't that bad (large enough you could get out of the way when it changed from warm to scalding)! Maybe even more annoying than the beds were the hotel employees trying to get you to go to timeshare presentations (we actually avoided the lobby during certain times). Other than that we had a great time, decent food with little wait, clean hotel, great pools and beach. You just have to decide if you want to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall just across the street has the same and in many cases cheaper prices that the markets downtown.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
kydo76
New York
Jun 27, 2010

Review as of June 2010

Pros: - Very Clean - Beach is beautiful - Very Hard beds (personal opinion) - Lunch (hamburgers and hot dogs) and Breakfast were the best meals. - Mexican Restaurant - the best thing out of everything I had was a very hard name, but the description said something about enchillada. Cons: - Bartenders asked each other if you tipped them or not in spanish, as if I couldn't understand "no dinero," and are not friendly towards you until you do tip them. - Housekeeping does a very good job when you tip them each day, otherwise your room will be last to be cleaned. If you plan on tipping at the end of your stay, don't bother, just spread it out throughout the days. - They wouldn't give me a king sized bed for me or the other two couples I was with. Nor would they even try to accommodate you in any way that wasn't already set in their system. - I asked for a late checkout which is $10 extra per hour, only if our room wasn't going to be occupied the same day. They said they can't check whether or not the room is taken until the day of your departure. When I went to ask that day, the lady at the counter said there's a 98% chance that my room was taken and I couldn't do a late checkout, but refused to look it up on the system to make sure. - other than the ones I listed above, the food is horrible, but kind of expected for all-inclusive. *warning* the Mexican Restaurant Lime Soup is the worst thing I've ever eaten, but great at local restaurants. - If travelling with 6 or more, don't expect to sit together at the buffets, unless you want to wait a very long time. Which by the time you'll just have to agree to sit separately. I'm only saying I would recommend this hotel because it was clean and friendly enough that I wasn't too bothered by anything enough to risk a worse experience. Just don't expect much and you'll have a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
danielle and joey
chicago il
Jun 24, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR RESORT!!!!

When we purchased our trip barcelo advertises it as a four plus star resort, it was actually a 3 star resort because they lost a star!!! on the website it claimed that room service was included, we soon found out it was not!!! we were actually told by a bartender that he was too busy and could not give us water when it was over 100 degrees outside and we were at the pool! We complained to the manager and he did absolutely nothing about it!!! the service was horrible, but the most astonishing event of our stay was on the second morning when we were woken up at 730 am by a painter on our fifth floor balcony! We called down to the front desk and they said we should have received a notice which we didn't! they did nothing about it, the guy remained there for almost 3 hours and invited more painters to the balcony for a total of 4! The food was absolutely terrible, we didn't expect much since it was only about 110 dollars a day, but it was unbearable!! It was also not clean or fresh!! The buffet was the worst, everything that was supposed to be hot was luke warm and everything that was supposed to be cold was luke warm including the beer throughout the whole resort!! We were forced to eat at the buffet the majority of the time because you have to make a reservation between 8am and 2 pm in order to get into the nicer restaurant and when you go on a tour that starts at 7 and ends at 5 you cannot make the reservations!! The buffet was supposedly open until 1030 but by 8 they ran out of all the food and did not place anymore out!! when we finally got into the spanish and mexican restaurant it was just as bad as the buffet!!! i ordered a fillet and it was a sirloin folded in half!! i became VERY sick with food poisoning, and the doctor was supposed to be open at 7 am, but he never showed up!!! the front desk said they could call him but for a hundred dollar charge when i was sick off of their food!!!! There was no nightlife at all, they did not even have live music!!! This resort was one of the most horrible vacation experiences i have ever had!!! i will never stay at another barcelo ever again!! BEWARE if you book your trip here you will have many problems with the resort and staff!!!! spend the extra 50 dollars for the better resort, don't make our mistake!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sisala mexican restaurant

Back to menu Return to top