Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016

Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan KM 13.5 Lote 24 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forcefan1
Couples
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Feb 2, 2011

Enjoyable vacation

Enjoyed this hotel, and loved the location. The beach was beautiful, rock free and waves to play in. Food was ok but nothing to write home about. Drinks weren't very strong and all the fruity drinks seemed to taste alike. If you get tired of all the fruity drinks, try a brandy alexander or grasshopper, a refreshing change. Go to the shows. They have something different everynight and are entertaining. Pools are nice and well maintained. Our room was comfortable and didn't have any issues with it. We would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

First off take the bus! only $8.50 pecos (less than a dollar) each way. Can't beat the price and you don't have to wait more than a couple minutes for one. Secondly, if your cell phone doesn't work (like mine didn't) and you need to call to the states don't buy the phone cards in the hotel. You only get 12 minutes for $10.00 ($100.00 pecos) Take the bus to Wal-Mart and get a phone card for the telmex / ladatel phones. You get 25 minutes for $10.00. Lastly if you plan on bringing back alcohol (Kahlua in my case) The cheapest place I found, (and I do shop around) was at the Flamingo plaza mall, next to outback steak house. They have Kahlua for 2 bottles for $17.00 US!

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 2, 2011

3 Star At Best

The location of the hotel is great. Very close to downtown. The first night we had a disgusting room. It overlooked the street with no balcony. We switched to an ocean view room with a balcony that was much better. The beach is beautiful except that the lounge chairs have no cushions which makes no sense. They are extremely uncomfortable. There are three pools, which was great because two of them are very quiet. The food is good, nothing great. The buffet gets pretty boring after awhile. The seafood restaurant was the worst of all. My biggest problem with this resort is the way they treat the Spanish travelers compared to the Americans. It was so obvious the distaste they have towards Americans. The Spanish people were treated like stars and the Americans like second class citizens. This was very evident throughout the resort especially in the restaurants. The portions of food they received was bigger and they got treated with first class service. For that reason I would never go back to this resort (even if they paid me) and I do not recommend to anyone unless you are of Spanish descent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
10-10-10
Friends
Indiana
Oct 14, 2010

Check it out!

The hotel was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall I would say this is a great place. The food was not good though. All of the food was the same regardless of the restaurant that you chose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calix
Family
chicago il
Aug 29, 2010

beautiful hotel with awesome staff.

had a pleasant time. everything was top notch and everything went without a hitch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

ask for [...] who works with grayline. took real care of us.

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim now the world travler
Friends
Millbury, Ma.
Aug 15, 2010

Awesome Cancun Vacation

[...] guest service supervisor went up and beyond for me and my friends everyday to make sure we have and understand what to do for adventures. The hotel same clean rooms awesome food clean pools and funny staff made the trip outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
23 year old
Friends
chicago
Jun 23, 2010

worst vacation ever

with this resort you get what u pay for...it was a cheap hotel and it showed. food was horrrible, the pool was dirty, staff was not friendly or helpful...example, our air conditioning was broke in our room, and we told the front desk 3 times before they finally did something. so for the entire trip our room was hot! power went out 3 times on our floor during the week. and we had no water the morning we left so we couldnt take showers before the airport!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EXBARCELOGUEST
Family
NEW YORK NY
Jun 15, 2010

WONT BE BACK :(

WE ARRIVED AND HAD TO WIT 4 HOURS FOR A ROOM WHEN THEY FINALLY GAVE US ONE IT WAS NOT WHAT WE RESERVED THEY TOLD US ONE WOULD BE AVAILABLE THE NEXT DAY, THEY CALLED TO CHANGE OUR ROOM THE DAY BEFORE WE LEFT *WE STAYED FOR A WEEK)* WHEN ASKING FOR ANY KIND OF SERVICE IN THIS HOTEL IF YOU ARE NOT WHITE AND SPEAK TO THEM IN SPANISH YOU WILL GET THE LEFTOVER SERVICE IMPOLITE SERVICE OR A PLAIN FEELING LIKE YOU ARE A BOTHER TO THEM. THE FOOD IS HORRIBLE BLAND AND THE SAME AL WEEK LONG THE SHOW IS *B*O*R*I*N*G AND WHAT THEY CALL POOLSIDE ENTERTAINMENT IS BINGO AND WATER VOLLEYBALL.THE RESERVATIONS FOR THE RESTAURANT HAD TO BE MADE ROM 7AM TO 12NOON SO IF YOU ARE A LATE SLEEPER GOOD LUCK ...THE RESTAURANTS FOR WHICH YOU NEED THE RESERVATION ALL WHERE HORRIBLE THEY LAMB CHOP IN THE SPAIN THEMED RESTAURANT MADE ME SICK AND THE ALKA-SELTZER IN THE GIFT SHOP COST $10*(FOR 2 TABLETS)* ALL WHERE HORRIBLE 8EXCEPT THE MEXICAN*(GO FIGURE)* THEY MADE SOME GREAT MANGO MARGARITAS..UNLESS YOU CARRIED A $5 TIP ON HAD FOR EVERY ONE IN THE HOTEL YOU WILL GET ABSOLUTELY NO SERVICE AND IF YOU DECIDE TO COMPLAIN TO MANAGEMENT AT RECEPTION THEY WILL GIVE YOU AN OHH WELL IM SORRY. THE CALL ROOM SERVICE MAKING YOUR BED AND PUTTING EVERYTHING IN A CORNER. WE HAD TO CALL EVERYDAY FOR SOAP TOOTHPASTE AND COFFEE....OVER ALL THIS HOTEL IS GOOD AS YOUR LAST CHOICE IF YOU ARE STRANDED FOR LESS THAN 3 DAYS IN CANCUN WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

SKIP THE GIFT SHOPS AND GO ACROSS THE STREET TO THE MALL THEY SELL EVERYTHING MUCH CHEAPER PLUS THE BELLHOP HAVE COUPONS FOR 10% OFF ON HANDCRAFTS AND 5% OFF LIQUOR....****CLUBS**** DON'T GO TO COCO-BONGO IF YOU ARE CLAUSTROPHOBIC THEY HAD ABOUT 8000 PEOPLE IN A ROOM MADE FOR 1000 WITH ONLY ONE*(1)* EXIT ITS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN..SHOW WAS GREAT THOUGH CANT ARGUE THERE SENOR FROGS AND CONGO WHERE AWESOME

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tan2
Friends
Michigan
May 22, 2010

nice beach - not so good service or food

Customs was a mess. over 2-hours in line because they were under-staffed. As far as Barcelo Resort... I don't think I have ever experienced so many staff members that either didn't want to be there and let you know it, too. The bars were closed here there and everywhere within the resort. And since when do the resorts (or anyone for that matter) wash the plastic "throw away" cups in iodine and re-use them? H1N1???????? Which brings me to the re-cycled food choices. EVERYDAY it was Chicken with mole sauce, mushroom sauce, garlic sauce or a red sauce. Let's not forget about the rice EVERYDAY. Breakfast was terrible, too. Super disappointed in our stay. We will not reccommend or be back to this place next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KC Crew
Family
Kansas City, Missouri
May 15, 2010

Good and bad, but relaxing...

We had a relaxing time, but the front desk staff was not consistent, things changed every day and none of our requests were fulfilled. We asked 3 times about the AC and got nothing, the room we were in was not what we reserved and we could only change rooms after the 3rd day, what's the point???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus, it was the easiest way to get around the strip...

Review of Barcelo Tucancun Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bloomington, Indiana
Apr 20, 2010

Had a wonderful time!!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! The staff was great....(mostly encountered)[...] at the @ the "party" pool bar & [...] @ the lobby bar! What a great crew! They made our stay so much fun! Only unfriendly employee we met was [...] @ bar in swim up pool. Food was delicious...especially @ dinner! Service seemed to be quickest @ dinner also. Otherwise, be prepared to wait in line for EVERYTHING (seems to be the norm for all employees in cancun....@ every store, restaurant, bar, etc...) Our room was cozy, but it did rain heavily & we had to have the water mopped up from floor 2 different days. Overall, we had a great time & was perfect location for our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top