Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

3 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan km 4.5 Lote D7, espacio 5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 777500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
184 reviews
wonderful first time out of the country vacation

It was above and beyond anything we saw on the reviews as we were booking this vacation See full review

  • popcorn lady
  • Jul 14, 2014
TERRIFIC VACATION

This was a first for me especially where everything was inclusive. The meals were great and very... See full review

  • Great Jose
  • May 21, 2014
Family-friendly Cancun resort with nightly shows

The all-inclusive Barcelo Costa Cancun is situated on a tranquil beach near downtown Cancun. The hotel has many family-friendly amenities, including a club for children and pool with water playground. There are 357 rooms with private balconies for relaxing. Four restaurants, two bars and a spacious free-form pool are hubs of activity. Other perks include a health and body spa (fees may apply), nightly live shows and complimentary use of non-motorized water sports.

Highlights
  • Club for children, playground and water play area
  • Four diverse dining options, free of dress codes
  • Live nightly entertainment
Rooms

All of the 357 rooms at the Barcelo Costa Cancun feature one king or two double beds. Rooms have light-colored furniture and sand-colored bed spreads. Expect individual climate control, ceiling fan, glass-enclosed shower (no tub), marble vanity and a two-chair dining set. Rooms also feature 27-inch flat-screen TVs with DVD player.

Features

The all-inclusive Barcelo Costa Cancun has four restaurants without dress codes, two bars and an expansive free-form pool. Its health and beauty spa offers massages and body treatments and is outfitted with a six-person hot tub and adjacent cold-water plunge pool (fees may apply). Live nightly entertainment, contests and beach games and non-motorized water sports are among the all-ages activities. A club for kids with babysitting services gives grownups a change to relax over a cocktail at either of the two bars.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
Attractions

Downtown Cancun (3 mi/ 4.8 km)

Museo de Arte Popular Mexicano (0,1 mi/ 0.2 km)

Iberostar Cancun Golf Course (1 mi/1.6 km)

Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
with French Balcony. Recently refurbished rooms, Mediterranean-style decor, with a king-sized bed or two double beds, French balcony with sea views, fitted with a minibar, coffee maker, air-conditioning, safe, satellite color TV operating on a pay-per-view system($), wi-fi ($), bathroom with a shower, telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Connecting rooms available.
Junior Suite Ocean Front with Hot Tub
Terrance, 1 King bed. Recently refurbished room, Mediterranean-style decor and in front of the sea, with a king-sized bed and a large terrace with hot tub and a hammock. Fitted with a minibar, coffee maker, safe, air-conditioning, flatscreen TV operating on a pay-per-view system ($), wi-fi ($), bathroom with a shower, telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Double Room
with French Balcony or Terrace. Recently refurbished rooms, Mediterranean-style decor, with a king-sized bed or two double beds, fitted with a minibar, coffee maker, air-conditioning, safe, satellite color TV operating on a pay-per-view system($), wi-fi ($), bathroom with a shower, telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Connecting rooms available.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1454 -86.7886
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport- 14 Miles.
Area description
Located in the heart of Cancn, situated in the Kukulkan Boulevard. In front of the Caribbean Sea. Its close to Malls and Discos. 20 min. from Cancn International Airport and 5 min. from the center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Tortugas: 0.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 2.3 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 2.6 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.5 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.6 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.9 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.1 mi

Dining

Albatros
International Buffet restaurant. Open from 7:00 am.
Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:00 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:00 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered
Bar
3 bar in the hotel.
Claraboya
Sea and Caribbean Food. Buffet restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) open from 7:30 am. Reservations are required just for dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rhonda Wells
Dallas Texas
Jan 27, 2010

disappointed

Jan 16th, Plane from DFW was 2 hour delay then sat on the runway for an hour, after we got to Bercelo Costo we were met with many opened handed employees, We did not know who we were to trust. We were to have an Ocean Front Room But we were put in Room in corner of garden Room 146 no patio no hammock and no view no TV remote in room, Then the frig was not working in our room, And no American Beer We had to rent a Taxi all over town to find Bud Lite or Coors Lite. Also the beach area was smaller than my pool at home. I got hunry one afternoon around 4:30 called front desk to see what and how I needed to reserve a table or where I could not get something to eat at this time unless the snack bar, no ice on food, the food looked like it has been there a while, So we ordered room service and paid 35.00 with tip. The last day we open up our patio door to find alot of paint everywhere they were doing some fixing up if you will call it that, so we had no veiw at all at this time we had towels and cloths hanging out they had white paint all over them This is our first trip to Cancun but I don't think I would return, also I need to to let someone know the the Taxi and van ride from airport was the most reckless driving I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't eat off of the snack bar

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tanzo
Cancun
Mar 21, 2012

Very disappointing

On the 2nd day of my stay, I had a bad allergic reaction to something I ate at the hotel. My face got swollen, the breathing from my nose was blocked and my eyes were puffed up. My friend called for an ambulance and after an hour of waiting in critical condition, a doctor came in and the first he asked me is how will I pay for the service. They could care less about me as a person needing medical assistance, all they cared about was money. The food there was horrible, the snack bar was full of expired cheeses and yogurts and I'm sure a lot of people get sick because of that. I will never go back to that hotel ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you tip the bartenders or else they will ignore what you ask them, even though it's an all inclusive hotel and gratuituies are included.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bad experince.
Estados Unidos
Apr 1, 2012

Not good

The worse experience of all!!!!!!. The hotel is dirty,The beach is very small, the food is not good... Very bad experience!!!!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a taxi.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EDWARDSON
MEXICO CITY
Mar 3, 2009

NOT GOING BACK.....

WE HAVE TO CHANGE ROOMS COUPLE OF TIMES... INVASION OF ANTS! IN THE FIRST ONE, AND THE VIEW WAS A DIRTY PARKING LOT.... THE SECOND.... NOT FOR 2 PEOPLE.... IT WAS FOR 4.... FINALLY THE THIRD ONE WAS CLEAN ENOUGH, PARTIAL VIEW TO THE SEA, BUT! EVERY MORNING AND VERY EARLY MUST TO SAY, THE MAIDE KNOCK THE DOOR JUST TO "CHECK OCCUPANCY"????!!!??!! . THE SERVICE AT THE BEACH WAS GOOD. SERVICE AT RESTAURANTS FAIR ENOGH. BUT THE QUALITY OF THE DRINKS WERE TERRIBLE, RUM FROM THE "HOUSE", AS WODKA, AS MANY COCKTAILS WITH LOW LOW QUALITY FOR AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT UBICATED IN CANCUN. BARCELO CHAIN IS REALLY IN DEBT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

CANCUN HAS A LOT OF REALLY GOOD PLACES TO GET DINNER, DANCE, SHOP, ETC. ITS A REALLY NICE PLACE.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luigio
Diamond Bar California
Dec 24, 2012

Hotel and amenities

Hotel quality and service is not acceptable under any standards. I will never recommend this place. Location is terrible, hotel design cheap and awkward.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Dec 30, 2009

Save your $$$$$$

First of all, let me say this was a package deal, air and hotel combined. We live in Chicago and our flight was cancelled due to bad weather. We needed to delay check-in by one day and check-out by one day We called [...] to confirm this and they told us they would call the hotel on our behalf and explain the delay. We were told by [...] that there would be NO CHARGE for this change. When we arrived in Cancun, the girl at the front desk confirmed that our trip was moved by one day and that no charge would be given to us for the change since it was confirmed ahead of time. At the hotel, the staff seemed rude and only interested in getting tips from its customers. The beach was covered in green weeds, therefore swimming had to be done at other, nicer, beaches 10 minutes by bus away. Also, there are 3 pirate boats that take people on dinner cruises EVERY night. These boats are parked about 10 feet from the beach of this hotel. When they start their diesel engines and leave them running, you can hardly breath. The day before we were to checkout, our room key did not work. We went to the front desk and was told we were supposed to have checked out that day. This hotel knew we were checking out the following day but they wanted to charge us an extra night. They would not let us back in the room, even though all of our belongings were there, until they were able to swipe my credit card for 285.00 usd. After going back home, [...] assumed NO responsibility even though they told us in the beginning that everything was fine and would be taken care of. The hotel also assumed NO responsibility and claimed they were not aware of the change of the itinerary. That was such a lie. They knew from the beginning. Also, our room was costing us about 130.00 usd per day when you figured out the day cost because this was a package. Guess what, the EXTRA day cost us 285.00 usd. Seems like they marked up the room a bit hmmmm. Overall, all I can say is STAY AWAY from this hotel and [...] if you want an enjoyable vacation. There are so many other nice hotels in Cancun like The Royale. I am a teacher in Chicago and it is not my nature to write such a poor review unless it was 100% accurate. I will definitely be back in Cancun, but I will book with another travel site and stay in a different location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save your money!! Look at another hotel.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Aug 27, 2010

DON'T GO THERE. I WOULD SAY WORST HOTEL.

WE MOVED OUT VERY NEXT DAY TO REAL 'FIVE STAR'.NO BEACH AT ALL. THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THE HOTEL IS THE MICHAEL JACKSON SHOW AND FRONT DESK MANAGER [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Dec 29, 2010

Trust Me-Dont Stay Here

The description/pics on all the travel sites are deceiving. This is now where close to a 4 STAR Resort. This is comparable to a Holiday Inn Express but with worst food, poor customer service,and no real amenities. This hotel is grossly overpriced--poor unsafe location, their beach is extremely small. It is close to NOTHING beneficial like shops, activities, or restaurants. The pirate ships on their beach blocks your view and tranquility due to loud techno music all night from wild party-goers. The "all inclusive" is a joke. They serve the same exact food in 3 restuarants--they save it day after day. The food is disgusting! In the US, the health inspector would shut it down. The rooms are dirty and beds are hard. You will be so mad once you catch the bus to the main strip and see all the BEAUTIFUL hotels for nearly the same price. You can't even get a decent margaritas of nachosat Barcelo. The food texture is strange. The hotel does NOT HAVE A HOT TUBE. They charge $25 for a towel card. There are no activities for adults or children except the one pool table on 2nd floor. The staff doesn't speak English well and bartenders are not trained to make drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at another hotel on the main strip thats in walking distance from shopping malls, night life, and restuarants. Ride the bus for $0.10 USD.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WDGUNTER
Dallas, Tx
Jan 16, 2013

Find Another Place to Stay

I had been here several times when this was The Costa Real and it was amazing. Barceló has remodeled and the building was nice, but the rooms were smaller. The food was mediocre at best and the service at the bars and front desk was awful. We even went to another hotel and paid for 3 nights because we were having such a good time there. The Costa seemed to be full of people from Europe and I guess they are accustomed to a lower level of service on vacation than what I am used to. I had a much better time last year at the Flamingo which would have been 20-30% cheaper. I will never again stay at a Barceló hotel anywhere. One thing I will give them credit for is the cleanliness. They constantly cleaned and everything was spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Spend some time on the island of Isla Mujeres. Wonderful place with plenty of things to do and lots of hotels and amazing food.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dazed and confused
New York
Jun 1, 2011

Worst all inclusive i've been to.

We went to Cancun for some fun in the sun during an extended holiday weekend and to party.The [...] Cancun Specialist recommended Barcelo Costa Cancun based on our request for a place that would be close to the clubs, bars and restaurants.We did not enjoy our stay. The staff was rude and spent time ignoring us. We at times had to seek management to be serviced.The location was far from the restaurant/ clubs and bars.The food was lackluster, everything seem to taste the same.Entertainment was ok, but not good enough that I would want to hang around the hotel.We spent more time away from the hotel doing other activities.Overall this was by far the worst experience I have had at a resort.I have stayed at other resorts in Cancun, Mexico and will not be going back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top