Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan km 4.5 Lote D7, espacio 5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 777500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
190 reviews
Fun family trip

Everyone was helpful and very nice. Loved the hitel See full review

  • Maureen W.
  • Jan 5, 2015
wonderful first time out of the country vacation

It was above and beyond anything we saw on the reviews as we were booking this vacation See full review

  • popcorn lady
  • Jul 14, 2014
Family oriented resort lies on a calm-water beach between Cancn's downtown, pool with a childrens section, a childrens club, a health-and-beauty spa, daytime activities, and restaurants without dress codes.

Located just 30 minutes away from Cancuns International Airport and 5 minutes away from downtown, Barcelo Costa Cancun, is an excellent option because of it's nearness to everything.

This resort achieves a perfect balance between upbeat city energy and downbeat fun in the sun, offering 357 rooms with air conditioning, internet access, satellite TV with DVD player, minibar, iron and iron board, hairdryer, alarm clock.

Enjoy any of 4 restaurants and 2 bars giant free-form pool, gym and spa, beauty salon, kids club with babysitting service, pool and beach sun loungers service , entertainment throughout the day, and nightly shows with live music.

A health-and-beauty spa offers massage, body wraps and scrubs, facials, waxing, and hair and nail care (surcharges apply). The spa includes sauna, steam room, and six-person spa tub with adjacent cool-water plunge pool. Access to all is included in the All Inclusive Plan, as is a large fitness center containing cardio machines, a Universal gym, and free weights

An air-conditioned childrens clubhouse, with adjacent outdoor playground, provides daily supervised care for children ages 4-12 as part of the All Inclusive Plan.

The activities/entertainment staff at Barcelo Costa Cancun All Inclusive perform a show nightly on an outdoor stage and conduct games and contests daily at the pool and on the beach. On-site shopping includes gifts, liquor, jewelry, resort wear, and crafts

Complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, and snorkeling gear. Introductory scuba-diving lessons in the pool are also complimentary. Additional complimentary water sports available at a marina on Nichupt Lagoon, the vast body of placid water lying between Cancn Island and the mainland, include pedal boats, Hobie Cat and Sunfish sailboats, and windsurfers. Guests must provide their own transportation to the marina, which is seven miles (11.5 km) away.

Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
with French Balcony. Recently refurbished rooms, Mediterranean-style decor, with a king-sized bed or two double beds, French balcony with sea views, fitted with a minibar, coffee maker, air-conditioning, safe, satellite color TV, wi-fi ($), bathroom with a shower, telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Connecting rooms available.
Junior Suite Ocean Front with Hot Tub
Terrance, 1 King bed. Recently refurbished room, Mediterranean-style decor and in front of the sea, with a king-sized bed and a large terrace with hot tub and a hammock. Fitted with a minibar, coffee maker, safe, air-conditioning, flatscreen TV operating on a pay-per-view system ($), wi-fi ($), bathroom with a shower, telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
Double Room
with French Balcony or Terrace. Recently refurbished rooms, Mediterranean-style decor, with a king-sized bed or two double beds, fitted with a minibar, coffee maker, air-conditioning, safe, satellite color TV operating on a pay-per-view system($), wi-fi ($), bathroom with a shower, telephone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Connecting rooms available.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

21.1454 -86.7886
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport- 14 Miles.
Area description
Located in the heart of Cancn, situated in the Kukulkan Boulevard. In front of the Caribbean Sea. Its close to Malls and Discos. 20 min. from Cancn International Airport and 5 min. from the center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Tortugas: 0.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 2.3 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 2.6 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.5 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.6 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.1 mi

Dining

Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:00 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered
Bar
3 bar in the hotel.
Claraboya
Sea and Caribbean Food. Buffet restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) open from 7:30 am. Reservations are required just for dinner
Albatros
International Buffet restaurant. Open from 7:00 am.
Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:00 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juliark
Business
Oregon
Apr 1, 2013

Very good family vacation

We were cautious because it was our first time in Mexico and because we were going there with children during spring break. But from the very first moment till the end of our stay we enjoyed the courteous staff, the beauty of the hotel and its amenities (excellent food, good pool, the spa, entertaining show). We had a clean, large, nice-looking room with good beds and spacious balcony with a pool view (we did not ask for upgrades - just took the room we were offered). The only drawback was that, despite a nice clean beach, the swimming area is extremely small and and almost always there was a strong current, so we ended up swimming at a public beach about a mile away. Also, the music played at the premises was way too loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa Linda, a public beach across the bay, offers a much better swimming experience

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelbug1013
Business
new york
Mar 20, 2013

ok, but never again during spring break

I went with my husband and 8month old. We have been to Cancun 6+ Times but first time at this resort and this time of year. The price was good, location nice, but lots of boats in and out so you smell fuel all of the time from the idoling boats. Water in pool and ocean was cool for this time of year, but clean. We were hounded to receive our "welcome package" I ended up unplugging our room phone after they called so much and woke my baby. They need to update what they offer for a crib, it was dragged up, no wheels, all wooden and old. I checked it for bed bugs because it looked so bad. But it worked out ok. I liked our location and view from the room, The nice balcony with hammock. The spring breakers weren't all bad in the beginning, but it gradually got worse. The last night was the worst screaming and banging on doors, we had to call and complain. The room was beautiful, bathroom huge, no tub so a bit harder to bathe my baby but we made it work. The food and restaurants were very good, like some SO a bit repetitive but always good choices. No swim up bar, small pool. Mixed drinks were horrible, very syrupy, even the margaritas were gross, we stuck to Coronas....that was the least I've EVER seen my husband drink while on vacation. Nice palm trees throughout the beach area. We used best day for travel round trip from airport they are always the best and located in the lobby. The waiters were very helpful with our baby ,Orlando was awesome! :) we received discounts on many things like lobster dinners and spa massage. I enjoyed a stone massage that was wonderful! The elevator was small and slow, thankfully we were on the second floor, we carried my son in his stroller most of the time. We stayed at a barcelo before in DR and were hounded there to be involved in the time shares, they don't like to hear no. We usually stay at Riu' s now...but wanted to give this one a try. Our fault for going during this time of year, but we made the best if it. I might go back in a quieter time of year, but I don't think my husband will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the local Wal-Mart hop on the bus for a short trip to get great deals on liquor and gifts! The flea market guys tend to "adjust" prices as they feel and can get rude.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrinaS56
Business
East Cost, USA
Mar 17, 2013

Small, cosy hotel with perfect staff

Very small territory, absolutely no place to walk. Had to go walking on the bouleward Kukulkan (stuffed with buses, taxis and cars). Booked room was too small. Store credit is just discount coupons; used it for room upgrade to Junior site w/jacuzzi and Wi-Fi (insanely high). Started to enjoy my stay after. Smallest beach with whitest and silkiest sand I've ever seen. Smell of gas all the day long from boats and ships passing to and from lagoon. Worst experience came with my favorite liquers I had to pay for... However staff is perfect! Thanks Norma and Rita! Thanks Alejandra!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Anniversary
Business
Tejas
Mar 9, 2013

Viva Cancun

Nice vacay to celebrate my anniversary with my wife. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T super mom
Business
Lansing, MI
Mar 3, 2013

Great Time Had By All

We have been to Cancun every year for the last nine years. We've stayed at various locations in the hotel zone. The Barceleo Costa was very nice. The staff was extremely plesant and very helpful. Food was very good and we highly recommend making reservations at the restrurants. The beach was small but very well kept, palms trees added a nice touch. Very clean and well kept. We would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations early and you're definatelty enjoy the experience

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boo and me
Business
Chicago
Mar 3, 2013

Boo and me

Grey line took 35 minutes to pick us up at airport. The beach at Barcelo is next to a Helliport (Noisey) and a marina. If you like booze you'll be very happy. They offer all kinds and mixes. The food was average but the buffet needed more refilling. Our room was parallel to the stage for nightly entertainment and was extremely loud. The staff was very friendly and wanting to please. The spa was very nice. One of the best massages I have ever had

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missing mexico already
Business
Minnesota
Feb 22, 2013

Awesome vacation on a budget!

From the airport take a cab $30 for 2-4 people and you don't have to stop at every resort like the shuttles do. At arrival at our resort we were greeted and checked in quickly even though check in is not until 3 we got in early. One staff member helped us gets drinks right away and then filled us in on the important details of the all-inclusive program, making sure we were aware of some things that did have charges like lobster and bottles of wine etc. When we walked into our room(361) it was perfect, bright, clean, and beautiful! King bed with an awesome balcony and our own jetted tub, here we could watch the ocean or drink from the comfort of our room and watch the nightly entertainment at the pool, which was good as well. If noise bothers you, you should not have a room that overlooks the pool, but it didn't bother us. We had wonderful nonstop drinks, some favorites: Miami vice, Pina Colada, Barcelo Costa Beach, Blue Hawaiian, etc. The beach was perfect for us as we could easily find a chair in the sun or escape from the rays under the palms. The hotel was completely booked, no rooms left, and we never had an issue getting served, having space to ourselves, making reservations at the 3 restaurants, or getting seated immediately at the buffet style restaurant. The staff was friendly and the location was nice. Easy bus trip to town and market 28, or the other direction to get to the popular clubs. We loved it and would definitely go back. The one thing I would have liked was a swim up bar, but the pool had a bar close by, as did the beach so it was easy and close enough to get a drink. Anything we needed or had questions about we asked the concierge and they were happy to assist. The bellman helped store our luggage after check out time and we were able to stay on the hotel grounds until we had to leave. We used the spa to shower and change before leaving for the airport. The hotel helped us get our transportation back to the airport and it was a smooth but sad goodbye. We loved Barcelo Costa Cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bus to get around, quick, cheap and we felt completely safe.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shell Bells
Business
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Feb 22, 2013

Do you want to dance?

The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. Our frig was broken for a good part of our stay and when they replaced it the new one didn't work. The food was okay but lacked flavor and tended to be bland. The one thing that surprised me was that the hotel did not have a place where you could dance. They relied on their outdoor shows (which were good) to provide evening entertainment. I would go back to Cancun but not this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Only travel
Business
Dallas
Jan 29, 2013

Fantastic travel with my wife

I do not received the room according with my agreement/payment with the agency. In the first time they give me the room was busy, I was embarrassed when trying to enter, the customer service person in the hotel was angry with me, I do not know why (no apology) after gave me a very small room not as I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WDGUNTER
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jan 16, 2013

Find Another Place to Stay

I had been here several times when this was The Costa Real and it was amazing. Barceló has remodeled and the building was nice, but the rooms were smaller. The food was mediocre at best and the service at the bars and front desk was awful. We even went to another hotel and paid for 3 nights because we were having such a good time there. The Costa seemed to be full of people from Europe and I guess they are accustomed to a lower level of service on vacation than what I am used to. I had a much better time last year at the Flamingo which would have been 20-30% cheaper. I will never again stay at a Barceló hotel anywhere. One thing I will give them credit for is the cleanliness. They constantly cleaned and everything was spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Spend some time on the island of Isla Mujeres. Wonderful place with plenty of things to do and lots of hotels and amazing food.

Back to menu Return to top