Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan km 4.5 Lote D7, espacio 5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 777500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lesterrock
Couples
Detroit, Michigan
Apr 16, 2011

great deal

Very good experience. This is an all-inclusive hotel. The buffet was not the best I have ever seen, but it was very good. The hotel was not the best that I have ever stayed at, but it was very nice. It has a nice pool, and has its own area of beach. Optional activities are located nearby. The staff was good also. The hotel provided evening entertainment which was very good. Some of it was good, and some of it, (like the Michael Jackson singer/impersonator) was almost amazing. To summarize, to me this hotel experience is not lacking in any area, and I would recommend it. My wife and I would like to go back and stay there again. It is an excellent deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus stop across the street. You can take the local bus to nearby areas, (or to WalMart if you wish), or you can take the bus downtown, and there catch other buses to other places.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanda from brazil
Family
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Mar 9, 2011

Good hotel for the price

I recommend this hotel if your are staying for no longer than a week. I have stayed there for 2 weeks. The hotel is all inclusive, so you can drink and eat whatever you want. But i have to say, that the juices are too sweet and therefore the cocktails are way too sweet and undrinkable. The food, it's ok for like 5 days, after that you start to think it is disgusting. The staff are friendly and helpful. The beach, a lot of people say that it is dirty and small, the truth is, they clean the water by the beach every morning and there are lot of beach chairs. You have the option to go to the pool, which is big, clean and with a lot of chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basketball group
Couples
Ohio
Nov 30, 2010

Really great time, relaxing environment

The service is great. Friendly people, nice beach, a little smaller than expected. Food was average. Very relaxing, good entertainment. Older hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
North Carolina
Oct 11, 2010

Barcelo Costa Cancun

This is our 5th time coming to this hotel and first since Barcelo took over. The staff is very accomodating and they really try to make sure you have a great stay. We upgraded online to a superior ocean view room but from experience at other places, when I checked in, I asked to see my room first. It was nice, but the balcony is so small with no room for even chairs. We upgraded for $15 more a night and got a very nice balcony - same room. The balcony had a hammock and 2 chairs and view was great. Best views are on floor 5, 6 and 7. Never got sick once on the food. Only drink bottled water from your room - even when brushing teeth. Air conditioning was ice cold and water was very hot in the room. The pool was not huge, but we had no problem getting a good chair. Restaurants were all good. Buffet was great every time. Beach was small but they had a bar out right there. The location was okay, but you would need to ride a bus or taxi to go to any malls. If you get a bus, be sure to get on the right ones! There is a huge mall that most of the mexicans go to to really shop - Las Americas is the name. Ask for it by name on Bus R27 and you'll be in for a nice surprise. Like 300 stores but most people who work there speak very little english. La Isla is a nice mall but pricey. I have read all kinds of reviews, and realize that this is not like a RIU or Palace but you get what you pay for. I've stayed at the nicer ones but I really like coming back here because of how they treat you and it is very relaxing. The shows at night were great every night too! Oh, and good tip if you get a taxi - ask first how much before you get in and settle that up front. We got a taxi back to the airport from our hotel, for only $20 US, which is cheaper than the transfers. They also had several weddings on the beach at night and they were very well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Americas mall.

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
NY
Aug 27, 2010

DON'T GO THERE. I WOULD SAY WORST HOTEL.

WE MOVED OUT VERY NEXT DAY TO REAL 'FIVE STAR'.NO BEACH AT ALL. THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THE HOTEL IS THE MICHAEL JACKSON SHOW AND FRONT DESK MANAGER [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Antonio,texas
Jun 4, 2010

it was good for the price but not as 4..

I didnt like that nightlife was outside the hotel , the distance as walking was terrible, the beach it was to small and it wasnt clean, no many activities to do inside the hotel, but has great personal staff service, food was good, safe place to stay. I still think that DR offer better ameneties and services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles
May 17, 2010

My getaway

Noisy, and bad location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time all inclusive traveler
Couples
NJ
May 6, 2010

Great getaway!

My boyfriend and I needed a reasonable getaway and this hotel definitely did the job! Although, I felt as though the front desk could've been more helpful & friendly , the rest of the hotel staff was amazing! The wait staff was excellent, the maid service was great, and the event staff were so friendly and helpful! When we first arrived, we checked in right away and found ourselves in a very small room with lights, a safe, and a refrigerator that did not work. We called the front desk and said they'd send someone up to fix it, but never did. I decided to go down, one of the people that worked there gave us two other options to check out and after we got our room situation figured out, our vacation was great! We pretty much lounged poolside and on the beach. The food at all of the restaurants was excellent! I am definitely a breakfast person and the buffet was delicious in the morning! Everyone that worked there could not be helpful enough! We ended up going with the event staff to Coco Bongo. They got us in without waiting in the long long line and helped us make our way up to a little section for us at the top of the club! All in all our vacation was amazing! My only wish is that the front desk would've guided us to someone that could explain more about the restaurants, the reservation policy for dinners and all of the other all inclusive amenities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Baltimore, MD
Apr 24, 2010

Review

Very convenient for a last-minute vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Costa Cancun - All inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Ohio
Apr 23, 2010

Great place to stay!!!

Great location on the Beach, Staff will take you out on a boat and snorkel with you on the reef. The pool has plenty of activities and it is so big you can relax or participate. The people there take care of you and even help you learn Espanol. All inclusive "means all inclusive" just tip them US dollars...Enjoy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a Taxi those guys know where its at!!!

Back to menu Return to top