Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Silver Seas Hotel

2 stars
66 James Avenue, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
28 reviews
Wonderful

This was my second time at this hotel and I love it , the staff is just wonderful it's a older... See full review

  • kadnsammy
  • Oct 2, 2014
Real Jamaica Experience!

If you are looking for a clean and reasonably priced hotel with awesome staff and excellant... See full review

  • Vacation Vistas
  • Mar 27, 2014
Oceanfront boutique hotel nestled in quiet seclusion in the heart of Ocho Rios. This charming and affordable hotel has vast ocean frontage. The entire hotel is situated overlooking the beautiful blue of the Caribbean.
Surrounded by acres of lush landscaped gardens, beauty can be seen in every direction majestic mountains, blue Caribbean, and the sheltering reef with breaking white caps. All rooms are oceanfront and have private balconies overlooking the sea.
Additional amenities include: Gift shop, Safe deposit box, Bar, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Tour desk, Parking facilities at cost, Reception.

Silver Seas Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Ocean Front room offers two double bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disabled facilities, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Silver Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4123 -77.1003
Area served
Ocho Rios.
Nearby airports
Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located facing the blue Caribbean Sea.

Dining

Restaurant
Seaside Restaurant Poolside Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Silver Seas Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Brothers
Business
Minnesota
Feb 22, 2010

Couldn't have taken my wife here

Traveling to a wedding held at another hotel. Just my brother and I, left the wives at home and it was a good thing. The hotel was old and VERY worn. Uncomfortable beds, little holes in the sheets, etc. There is no way my wife would have stayed a night in this room! For us guys it was no big deal. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxi drivers charge way more for tourists than local folks. Don't take the first price offered.

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL.
Aug 4, 2010

"Horrible experience"

The hotel was something I never experienced in my life, the location was off an alley. The room wasnt clean very scary location for my first time travel to Jamaica. I didnt stay at the hotel at all I had to book another room in a different hotel. The worse thing about is that the hotel didnt have telephone service for me to use. It looks like an abandoned building [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adminurol
Business
New York City
May 31, 2011

Horrible Hotel

the bed linen was dirty. there were roaches in the bathroom. there was a 2 hour powercut with no backup generator. shall i go on?!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kemore jackson
Business
Brentwood, MD, USA
Mar 2, 2012

family getaway

i was dissapionted the bath room was ugly drity .smelling .as soon as we got there the toilet flood out it was bad.i feel like to leave the hotel .the tub was mark up ugly looking. no microwave or frigerator .i was not happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

not good

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
capsi
Business
United States
Apr 13, 2012

I do not recommend this Hotel

The swimming pool doesn't work. No waiters, no chef. The employees take care of the place, doing everything by themselves and always take advantage of the guests all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to negociate te price with the taxi drivers. You are always in their hands.

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cambridge Ont
Dec 14, 2010

Not good dont do it

Do not go, trust me, it is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It needs to close down, sorry but it is not up to any standards I would expect in NA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hotel\motel
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Apr 3, 2010

Waste of money

The first we noticed as we entered the lobby of the hotel was how outdated and shabby it was. The hotel seemed to have been built during my grandfather's time. It may have been great during those times but not anymore. Trees were blocking the so-called "great view" of the ocean,bushes obviously needed to be cut. The staff were okay,but the surroundings just turned us off from even trying their food there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

cheap hotel/motel

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DonRob
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 15, 2010

Dull lifeless Motel

Didn't enjoy my stay at the Silver Seas. Not much to do on the resort. They need to update the rooms especially the mattresses and they need new air conditioners, towels, and sheets. However, it was very quiet and clean, and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jan 10, 2011

A really bad 5 days

So the hotel staff was nice for the most part, and the view from the balcony was amazing. Otherwise, this is not a pleasant place to stay, especially when looking for a nice vacation with your significant other. We booked for 7 days, but left after 5 for yes, Sandals (in Negril). We had to go all out after staying in this hell hole: Upon being shown to our room, we noticed that the ceiling fan light bulbs went out, and we asked for replacements...we never got them. I also noticed (as soon as the staff left us alone, of course), that the towels were dirty, and there was gum on the wall. Now I'm a tough woman from NYC, so I could deal with the gum on the wall. I was also able to deal with the beds that sunk in, in the middle. No good for cuddling at all, but I survived. I also survived the very run down neighborhood the hotel is located in, and the beggars and merchants constantly nagging us around the neighborhood for money, food, to buy their stuff, etc... What I could not tolerate were the "weebles" in my oatmeal. My boyfriend, born and raised in Jamaica, told me that if oats or flour stay shelved too long without being used, little harmless bugs called weebles start to grow. So to make a long story short, although he came to his senses later on, the cook at this hotel could not identify the weebles that infested our oats, and passed it off as cinnamon until after we had eaten most of the oatmeal. When we asked this same cook for some ice to mix our own drinks in our room, he gave us a cooler instead, so we could buy ice and store it there, and then of course, pay him for the use of his own personal item. This guy was literally trying to hustle us for whatever we would spare, but we weren't having it. Besides the cook, this hotel is also located in a really bad part of Ocho Rios. Honestly, the only nice part about this town is climbing Dunn's River Falls. We walked around the majority of Ocho Rios since we had to find all of our own meals, and I can tell you that the neighborhood is run down, ghetto, and not pleasant. Take it from a New Yorker, this is not the town where you want to spend your vacation. I suggest booking in another city; Negril has the best beaches, so if you can't afford an all inclusive place, you will at least have a better shot at a natural beach, and not the dumped sand beaches that Ocho Rios has to offer. The lady who cleaned our room every day was the only pleasant aspect of this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There are grills, bars and clubs within walking distance, but they all look scary, and I wouldn't recommend going to any of them. Our stay lasted through New Years, and we decided to mix our own drinks in our room, instead of taking a risk at a shady looking club.

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delie
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 29, 2011

Father-in-law's funeral

It was not the best I did not like where it was, I would stay there again but not for a getaway. I would stay for funerals and occasions where I just need a place to sleep and get up and go. Would recommend to someone for a place to sleep but not as a getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top