Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Silver Seas Hotel

2 stars
66 James Avenue, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
27 reviews
Real Jamaica Experience!

If you are looking for a clean and reasonably priced hotel with awesome staff and excellant... See full review

  • Vacation Vistas
  • Mar 27, 2014
Silver Seas Hotel Ocho Rios

We were unable to go due to the blizzard on the east coast, but the staff were very nice about... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 4, 2011
Experience natural wonders of Jamaica at historic Ocho Rios beach hotel

The Silver Seas Hotel was the first resort on the North shore and remains a popular destination in Ocho Rios. Surrounded by lush landscape, the resort is perched on a spectacular stretch of coastline backed by majestic mountains. The warm sea fronting the hotel attracts swimmers, snorkelers and sunbathers. Nearby are shops, restaurants and the Island Village entertainment complex. Dunn's River Falls, one of the most stunning waterfalls in the world, is a short drive away. The resort has a dramatic oceanview pool, restaurant and bar.

Highlights
  • Tropical oceanfront setting
  • Proximity to Dunn's River Falls
  • Close to shopping, restaurants
  • Fishing and water sports available
Rooms

The 83 spacious guest rooms at the Silver Seas Hotel occupy low-rise colonial-style buildings stretched out along a stunning coastline. Lush tropical gardens surround the property, which rests between the Caribbean Sea and the mountains. Rooms are decorated in a tropical motif with tile floors, floral fabrics and Jamaican themed art. All rooms include private furnished balconies or terraces facing the sea, two double beds, air conditioning and full bath.

Features

The spectacular shoreline fronting the Silver Seas Hotel provides a playground for water sports and relaxation. Snorkelers explore colorful sea life inhabiting a reef close to the resort shore. Stretch out on a sunbathing pier or enjoy the refreshing pool with dramatic ocean views. The pool bar serves fresh tropical libations. Numerous other water and land sports are available nearby, including kayaking, scuba diving and golf.

 

Popular excursions can be booked at the hotel, including a short trip to Jamaica's most popular attraction, Dunn's River Falls. This is one of the most spectacular waterfalls in world, stretching 1,000 feet high. Visitors climb the falls with a guide, view the spectacle from a terrace or tour the Dunn's River Falls Park and beach.

 

The Silver Seas Hotel is ideally located within walking distance to duty-free shops, food stores, restaurants and a crafts market. The nearby Island Village has a concert venue for live music, a casino and Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (55.4 mi/89.2 km)
Attractions
  • Coyoba River Garden (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Island Village (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Dolphin Cove (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dunn's River Falls (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • Business services
  • Banquet facilities

Silver Seas Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Ocean Front room offers two double bed with air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disabled facilities, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Silver Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4123 -77.1003
Area served
Ocho Rios.
Nearby airports
Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located facing the blue Caribbean Sea.

Dining

Restaurant
Seaside Restaurant Poolside Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Silver Seas Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delie
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 29, 2011

Father-in-law's funeral

It was not the best I did not like where it was, I would stay there again but not for a getaway. I would stay for funerals and occasions where I just need a place to sleep and get up and go. Would recommend to someone for a place to sleep but not as a getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Vistas
Illinois
Mar 27, 2014

Real Jamaica Experience!

If you are looking for a clean and reasonably priced hotel with awesome staff and excellant location, you have found it at the Silver Seas Hotel. The staff are exceptional locals who will do an unbelievable job of taking care of you. The rooms are clean and neat, nothing fancy but the staff make up for it. The hotel has a great location, a good dining room and bar and an good pool. Enjoy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lenny g
ny
Mar 26, 2014

Tranquility

The hotel was very tranquil and you could tell it was a nice show piece back in the day.It is nestled away from the action on the main street in the square.House keeping clean the room every day. The only problem I had was that they took my wash cloth and didn't leave an extra one which became a project trying to get one from the front desk that night and then early the next morning. Thanks to Ivan who went the extra mile to retrieve a wash cloth for me a few minutes later. The staff was courteous for the most part and i felt safe leaving my car in their lot.The front desk lady Beverley was very nice and checked me in early Saturday in rm208.The restaurant was nice and the hostess polite. Even though its not all inclusive it was a good clean stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Jay
New york, New York
Apr 16, 2013

great location

Location was great and priced right. Beautiful balcany views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam JA
Mountain View, CA
Jan 5, 2013

Needs a little love but great location, beach, and friendly staff

You can tell that this hotel was once something special. While its a little run down, the location on the water is amazing, view is great, good amenities, and super friendly staff, just a little rough around the edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
capsi
United States
Apr 13, 2012

I do not recommend this Hotel

The swimming pool doesn't work. No waiters, no chef. The employees take care of the place, doing everything by themselves and always take advantage of the guests all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to negociate te price with the taxi drivers. You are always in their hands.

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beersnob
Orlando, FL
Mar 12, 2012

Good overnight

Stayed for one night on March 7, 2012 & paid $86. Parked in large, free, empty lot with no problem. Staff nice and accommodating, although I think they directed us to restaurant they were working with. But food was good so it was no issue. $86 night seemed the price ceiling for what it was. As other reviews have said the hotel needs some maintenance. A crumbling state of ruin, but rather romantic and could be a really nice place. Room was large and the private balcony overlooking the water was the best. I believed room to be clean, but because old and in need of maintenance seems a bit dingy. Close walk to center of town. Great room/location for a one night stay, but I probably wouldn't stay much longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kemore jackson
Brentwood, MD, USA
Mar 2, 2012

family getaway

i was dissapionted the bath room was ugly drity .smelling .as soon as we got there the toilet flood out it was bad.i feel like to leave the hotel .the tub was mark up ugly looking. no microwave or frigerator .i was not happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

not good

Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delie
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 29, 2011

Father-in-law's funeral

It was not the best I did not like where it was, I would stay there again but not for a getaway. I would stay for funerals and occasions where I just need a place to sleep and get up and go. Would recommend to someone for a place to sleep but not as a getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adminurol
New York City
May 31, 2011

Horrible Hotel

the bed linen was dirty. there were roaches in the bathroom. there was a 2 hour powercut with no backup generator. shall i go on?!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Silver Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 28, 2011

Best room

The Facade could be a turn off however upon entering the lobby, which was clean, open, spacious with a view directly to the sea. The room was huge with floor to ceiling windows over looking the beautiful caribbean sea. It is a very private place, with a friendly staff. We would definitly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

snorkling and swimming

Back to menu Return to top