Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
399 reviews
Excellent Vacation

We had a wonderful vacation. The entire crew in the hotel was great. We had nothing negative to say... See full review

  • Macaluso
  • Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an... See full review

  • Lisa29
  • Jul 27, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macaluso
Lynbrook
Aug 27, 2014

Excellent Vacation

We had a wonderful vacation. The entire crew in the hotel was great. We had nothing negative to say about this hotel, beach, pool, and everything else. We loved the people and met new friends along the way. Keep up the great work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Excellent place to stay at.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heather164
Nashville, Tennessee
Aug 20, 2014

Rooms need some attention

We stayed here for 5 days, and couldn't have been more happy with the location, the staff, or the amenities. Upon check-in, we were given a key that didn't work for our room, leaving us to have to get our locks changed out after several convesations with the front desk staff. The supervisor eventually fixed this, but it took much longer than it should have taken. Also, our toilet leaked water onto the floor every night....which was not pleasant. However, since we spent most of our time on the beautiful beach, in the restaurants, and wandering around the resort - it didn't bother us as much as it should have. We brought our 2 year old son with us, who was treated like royalty by the staff. If we didn't have so many room problems, I would give the Riu 5 stars without a doubt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for special dining for better quality food and less chaos!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rattie
Business
new york
Aug 19, 2014

total discomfort

I did not receive my ocean view room which i paid for,the manager is disrespectful and is not accomodating, refuse to address customers concern, elevator does not work, you have to walk 20 rooms to a elevator, toilet does not work properly, need a coffee pot and a microwave in the room especially for parents with small children,its very dark and scary to where my room is located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

will not return

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sirmet Bek
Parsippany NJ
Aug 16, 2014

Amazing hotel and place, but food could be a little better.

Went on a couples trip from Sunday through Friday. Had an amazing time. Recommend eating at the restaurants you have to make reservations at theyre way better than the general buffet. Drinks are awesome. Room was great. Views were great. Entertainment was great too. I recommend adults only side if you don't have kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the restaurants.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ family of 6
New Jersey
Aug 10, 2014

Had hoped for much more

Let me start by saying that I was not totally unhappy with the hotel and staff, but I was expecting much better. The facility was clean, rooms were generally comfortable and roomy. Some meals were great. The deluxe (adults only) pool was amazing. Some snorkeling could be done right off the hotel beach. On the negative side - had only 2 people doing check in at a 900 room resort so the check in wait was about an hour and the staff seemed not to care. Bathroom toilet was not working and it took me 4 calls to the front desk ( who rarely picks up the phone) and a meeting with the hotel manager to get a maintenance person to our room. The only places in the hotel that were air conditioned were your room and the casino. As a result, when you got dressed up and went to dinner, you could expect to be uncomfortably hot and dripping while you ate. Restaurants that required a reservation were nothing special. Buffet was better food with more options. Shows and bands were mixed. A few were great. Some were high school musical quality. Overall - our youngest had a blast. We all had a relaxing time, but it could have been a much better resort experience. We would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dress in light clothes. There is no air conditioning in the restaurants

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rae The Traveler
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 1, 2014

Girls Getaway

Seriously one of the nicest hotels in Ocho Rios! The staff was amazing, attentive and super friendly! I will come back here every time I am in Ochi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa29
Orlando FL
Jul 27, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an incredible time. The staff are extremely friendly and go above and beyond to pamper to us every time we stay here. The food is amazing with a huge variety of items to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Char23
New York, New York
Jul 27, 2014

Vacation with boyfriend and parents

My experience at the RIU was good. I traveled with my boyfriend and parents and the activities were fun for all of us. The entertainment team were all very friendly & ensured all participated in differnt activities. What I liked most about the hotel was the beautiful views of the beach. You can literally sit anywhere around the resort for relaxation and enjoy the sound of the beach waves, and the beautiful clear blue ocean! The beach is absolutely amazing!! I also enjoyed the adult only pool. It was very relaxing and not over crowded. On the contrary, the service at the hotel was not good at all! The people were not friendly, hardly smiled or greeted one to even say good morning. This hotel is definitely lacking a friendly enviornment!! If you are looking for great customer service, dont come here! Otherwise it's a good hotel. Improving the customer service should be the main focus, and I bet it would go from a 3 start to a 5-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dunn's River Falls & Snorkeling

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chilillo
Los Angeles, California
Jul 24, 2014

great place for a cavation

Riu Ochorios was a great location for our vacation getaway. The staff was second to none and the room as well as the facility in general was superb. I highly recommend this location to any of my friends for the future vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is open to bargain in Jamaica. Even cab drive to downtown oho Rios. You should pay no more than $25 for round trip cab or you could to go around the lobby where there is agency booking Tours and paid $8 for a share ride to downtown.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papapula
New York
Jul 17, 2014

Great Time

Great time staff friendly, room cleaned everyday, mini bar check and stock every other day. Had a great time so much to do never got board. Daily entertainment was original and fun. Food was varied and good. I would recommend Riu Ocho Rios to every one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top