Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
647 reviews
Excellent

I would it to anyone. Extremely friendly staff, absolutely beautiful resort. I would go back in a... See full review

  • husband1
  • Jul 6, 2014
Beyond Expectations

This place is great! Plenty to do locally and on site. The staff was very nice, we felt welcome and... See full review

  • JLowry
  • Jun 16, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (647)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luigi Five
Business
Italy
Apr 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel and lovely animation

Fantastic experience. Good quality food and wide selection. Room large, clean and provided with suitable furniture. Fantastic animation. Nice beach and sport facilities available.The only negative is the fridge that was not working well and was not fixed in 11 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fantastic lobsters in a beach restorant just next to the hotel

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DocKev
Miami, FL
Apr 1, 2013

Bday and friends wedding

the food and drinks were just ok but the resort was great and the location was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cent
New Jersey
Jan 13, 2013

Winter 2013 Vacation

We had a good time and can't wait to revisit in August.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nonito
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 3, 2013

Excellent location, can be better

Internet is a disaster, receptionnists are average, not professional, food can be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dobie4
Dallas TX
Dec 30, 2012

2.5 stars at best!

If you are accustomed to the Hyatt over the Holiday Inn then this is NOT the resort for you. We could not have been more disappointed. The rooms are aged and tired. The staff is rude unless tipped. There is NO premium liquor and the food is wretched, even in the 'reservation only' restaurants. The entertainment is lacking and the daily activities are a bore. I'm not sure who ranked it 4stars but it's 2.5 at best! If you have any class, you will be disappointed. Btw...I am here now and can't wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SWEETTESS
OCHO RIOS
Nov 16, 2012

FANTASIC STAY

FOOD WAS GREAT. THE BEACH POOL STAFF WAS SO FRIENDLY I WILL TELL MY FRIEND TOO COME TO RIU OCHO RIOS TO ENJOY THEM SELF ALL I CAN SAY FOR THE FOUR DAY I STAYED I REALLY ENJOYED IT WILL DO IT AGAIN LOVE IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two vacationers
North Palm Beach, FL
Oct 22, 2012

Fun trip, but not the best value for the money

My fiance and I stayed 4 nights at the RIU Ocho Rios resort. While we were there, we snorkled, scuba dived, kayaked and did the Chukka Horseback Ride and Swim Adventure. The snorkling was wonderful, but don't waste your money going out on the boat, because there are reefs right off the shore were just as good or better than going out. The Discovery Scuba dive was pretty neat though we didn't see nearly as many fish as we did when we snorkled off shore. All in all, it was a plesant vacation, but not really worth the money for us. If you are a big drinker, you will probably get your moneys worth. My fiance and I are not. It seems all of the activities that we enoyed the most cost extra money and were not included (Scuba-Ninty dollars each, Horse riding-seventy five dollars each#. The food was pretty bad and I pretty much just stuck to bread and pizza the entire time. There is a lot of 'gourmet' food at the buffets, but did not taste good bc it sits out for so long. Be sure to make reservations in the restaurants available #free# so you can have some fresh meals. The downside of the experience was that they tried to charge you for a lot of things. For example if you wanted to go sailing or wind surfing, they want you to pay twenty dollars for a lesson. It supposed to be free to use those amenities but the employees tell you "one lesson, and it's free after that." It's not supposed to work like that. We tipped generously in which some employees were very grateful and others could care less without even a "thank you" in return. The downside of the trip was walking around the resort at night and being slightly harassed by the vendors selling souvenirs while you are walking to and from dinner. That was annoying. In the future, I will try a different resort, maybe not an All-Inclusive since I didn't feel we got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the restaurants. While many people were happily stuffing their faces at the buffets, we almost starved to death and just could not stomach most of the food.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island MAN.
Florida
Oct 20, 2012

Great choice

Great Family Getaway. had a blast will go back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rp goodtime
Atlanta
Oct 12, 2012

Vacation

A Great hotel ! Had a wonderful time ! The food, music staff, I am ready for my next one already !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

book your reservations early

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ackee
long island, NY
Oct 11, 2012

RIU HOTEL JAMAICA WI.

The staffs are warm and caring, from the information desk to the tour guide and all the other attendants. The environment is clean and safe. Lets talk about entertainment. Riu offers the best. My evenings and night were fill will live entertainments, especially the Micheal Jackson show, which left you in awe. The panoramic view is mellifluous. The food is Delicious. The mattress could be more comfortable,and more pillows were needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top