Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Nov 28, 2009

Best Vacation Ever!!!

The location was amazing. Every room has a balcony that faces the ocean. We were very impressed with the service and hospitality. Keep in mind the food is buffet style, almost everywhere. I know some people have a problem with that but we love buffets so it was perfect for our needs. Don't forget to go to the Jerk Hut out on the beach for authentic Jerk Chicken and Pork.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid of the locals. We saved money and time by going to the sights with the locals instead of the tour groups. We made friends with the bartenders who called the locals for taxis. This was a great way to save money, time and see the real Jamaica not just the American style resort.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galactic HitchHiker
Couples
DE
Sep 8, 2009

First time ! but NOT the last time !

We enjoyed the nightly live entertaiment and the daily Beach Barbecue (Jerk Chicken), delicious food at the dining facilities. Fun recreation activities through out the day, very friendly staff that makes you want to come back again, and not to forget the beautiful scenery that Jamiaca has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mello
Couples
new york
Sep 5, 2009

"excellent service" "delicious food"

Relaxing by the beach and absorbing the warmth of the water as well as the sun was fantastic. Night time entertainment was as though one was on Broadway in NYC. Hotel staff is superb. I wish my stay was a bit longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too far from major attraction sites such as Dolphin Cove and the Magnificent Dunn's River Falls.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keshia
Single
Tampa, FL
Jul 27, 2009

The Best Vacation

My vacation at Riu Ocho Rios was great because there was a lot of activities for me too do. I didn't have to leave the premises to enjoy myself. I liked the wet bar, where you swim up & get your drinks, very friendly staff. The night time entertainment was the absolute best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great night time entertainment at the hotel!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uptown girl
Friends
Dallas, TX
Jun 10, 2009

Horrible choice

I recently visited the Riu hotel and resort in Ocho Rios Jamaica. I was not pleased at all with my stay. I booked the trip on [...]. It took 1.5 hours to reach the hotel from the airport. I was not aware of this. Online it appeared the hotel would be bout 45 min away from the airport. Once arriving at the hotel, It took approximately 1.5 hours to check in. Once we were in the room, the safe was not operating properly. We had to carry around all personal items the entire stay: passports, cash, credit cards, phones, etc. The entire stay, we were only given two face towels and two bath towels per day. There were three women in my room including myself. Housekeeping would knock on the door early in the moring and ask for dirty was cloths and bring two new ones back around 4/5 o' clock pm that day. The electricity was in and out the whole stay. The AC in the rooms was not working well. At check in, we were given three keys. The keys to the room were not working properly. We had to have a technician come up to the room at least 4 times to try to fix the problem. Every time we left the room, we had to stop at the front desk and have someone escort us back to the room w/a master key. We did not receive properly functioning keys until the night before we left. The pool closed every night at 6pm for "treatment" as well as there was no beach access after 6 pm. There was no note of this on the Riu website. There weren't many activities that were included in the amount paid, maybe three. We pretty much had to pay for all the activities. I had to wake up early in the morning and be in line by 7am to wait until 8am in order to make a reservation for dinner at one of the restaurants. Although you can make a reservation until 4, all the restaurants would be booked by 10am. And of course once we would have dinner, half the restaurant was empty. he food was not that great. There was basically no authentic Jamaican food at the St Annes Buffet or any of the other restaurants. The alcohol was watered down. There were about ten front desk supervisors. Every time we had questions no one appeared eager to help nor was there any urgency. . We would have to wait until they were ready to assist us even though they were standing around. There was no consistency with responses to the same questions regarding the room keys. Considering the trip was booked online, we did not have a "representative". So when it came time to book a shuttle to go back to the airport, no one was willing to help. The only thing said was we need to contact our Representative, which we didn't have one. When we were finally at out wits end and asked to speak to a Manager, we were given the run around. I briefly spoke to [...] who wasn't very helpful and only offered the same solutions that didn't work before. She said she would open the line on the phone in our room but never did. We were not bale to call out when we tried to call American Airlines to try to get onto an earlier flight home.We were given the name for [...], who never appeared. Instead she sent out An assistant manager by the name of [...] who finally had more towels sent up. By far [...] was the most customer service oriented and appeared to be sincerely concerned. There was a mosquito problem, I cam home with about 20 bites on my legs and arms. My left foot is swollen from so many bites and I have puss bumps on my foot from the bite as well. I've been taking benadryl since I returned home. Not to mention a stomach ache from something I ate...which I'm just now getting over. Otherwise I would have already sent this email. This was my third time going to Jamaica. i was very disappointed with my experience with the Riu Ocho Rios. There appeared to be 850 rooms and not enough staff to accommodate all the visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susanna
Couples
california
Jun 8, 2009

mom vacation

i payed for a ocean view i got a garden view the staff is very rude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ProVacationer
Couples
NJ
May 31, 2009

Great fun, lots of sun.

Overall, my wife and I had a great time at the RIU. The beach was awesome, beautiful water and clean sand. Lots of activities to do without any additional fees (kayaking, snorkeling, sailboating). The entertainment crew was very energetic and friendly. To our surprise the nightly shows were amazing (especially the steel drums show)! Having stayed at other all-inclusives, we were not expecting too much in terms of food quality. But we were pleasantly surprised, the food was actually really good. There were really only two things we didnt like about our stay. One was the ridiculously long line you had to stand in to make reservations at the restaurants. Im not even sure it was worth it, the food in the other locations was just as good. The other was the attitude of some of the staff. Most of the staff were pretty nice, however some of them could use a lesson in customer service. Wouldnt let that hold you back though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Okeechobee, FL
May 13, 2009

Best Birthday Trip Ever!

The best trip ever. The food was gourmet, the service was first-class, & I can't think of one negative thing about the whole trip. We paid $620 a person, for everything, the plain, food, hotel, drinks, etc.. It doesn't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the tuckers
Couples
pensauken nj
May 11, 2009

wow very nice

the stay here was great one of the nicest resort on the island i can't wait to come here again and vist other riu resort at other location we where attending a wedding and everyone loved the resort and we all agreed to come back again. so if your looking to travel to jamacia this is one of the best places to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

make sure you take the schduled drop off and pick up serviceits expensive to take a taxi

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit, MI
Sep 22, 2007

UPGRADE OF ROOM

THE RIU RESORT WAS A VERY NICE ESTABLISHMENT. MY HUSBAND AND I WERE MARRIED THERE AND HAD A GREAT TIME. THE ONLY THING I WAS DISSAPOINTED WITH IS THAT PART OF OUR WEDDING PACKAGE PROMISED THAT WE WOULD HAVE A ROOM UPGRADE WHEN WE CHECKED IN. WE DID NOT GET ONE AT CHECK IN AND THEN FOLLOWED UP SEVERAL TIMES AND STILL DID NOT GET ONE. OUR ROOM WAS VERY NICE BUT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE THE HONEYMOON SUITE THAT WAS PROMISED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top