Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rattie
Business
new york
Aug 19, 2014

total discomfort

I did not receive my ocean view room which i paid for,the manager is disrespectful and is not accomodating, refuse to address customers concern, elevator does not work, you have to walk 20 rooms to a elevator, toilet does not work properly, need a coffee pot and a microwave in the room especially for parents with small children,its very dark and scary to where my room is located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

will not return

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sirmet Bek
Business
Parsippany NJ
Aug 16, 2014

Amazing hotel and place, but food could be a little better.

Went on a couples trip from Sunday through Friday. Had an amazing time. Recommend eating at the restaurants you have to make reservations at theyre way better than the general buffet. Drinks are awesome. Room was great. Views were great. Entertainment was great too. I recommend adults only side if you don't have kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the restaurants.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ family of 6
Business
New Jersey
Aug 10, 2014

Had hoped for much more

Let me start by saying that I was not totally unhappy with the hotel and staff, but I was expecting much better. The facility was clean, rooms were generally comfortable and roomy. Some meals were great. The deluxe (adults only) pool was amazing. Some snorkeling could be done right off the hotel beach. On the negative side - had only 2 people doing check in at a 900 room resort so the check in wait was about an hour and the staff seemed not to care. Bathroom toilet was not working and it took me 4 calls to the front desk ( who rarely picks up the phone) and a meeting with the hotel manager to get a maintenance person to our room. The only places in the hotel that were air conditioned were your room and the casino. As a result, when you got dressed up and went to dinner, you could expect to be uncomfortably hot and dripping while you ate. Restaurants that required a reservation were nothing special. Buffet was better food with more options. Shows and bands were mixed. A few were great. Some were high school musical quality. Overall - our youngest had a blast. We all had a relaxing time, but it could have been a much better resort experience. We would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dress in light clothes. There is no air conditioning in the restaurants

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beauty spot
Business
New Jersey
Aug 6, 2014

Great family getaway

Had a great experience, grounds well taken care off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick fields
Business
Hartford ct
Aug 4, 2014

Great family vacation

It was very family friendly. the food & entertainment was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rae The Traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 1, 2014

Girls Getaway

Seriously one of the nicest hotels in Ocho Rios! The staff was amazing, attentive and super friendly! I will come back here every time I am in Ochi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Kween
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2014

Wonderful family vacation spot

I stayed at this property when it was first opened in 2005 and they have maintained the property very well. The staff was very friendly & courteous. They provide many activities for adults & kids. There was a wide variety of food to please many pallets. We especially liked having an in room bar. The adult side was quiet if you're looking to relax. It's a very large property & considering all the good food I ate, I didn't mind doing the walking to get around the property. The electricity is 110V so no problem for my accessories. We enjoyed horse back riding, Dunns River Falls & visiting the duty free shops in Ocho Rios. We brought our bug spay in our carryon & used it, but on the return they wouldn't allow us to carry it on the aircraft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Upon arrival figure out what day you would like to dine in the restaurant(s) requiring reservation & book it. If you wish to get the most from your vacation, attend the orientation to help plan your daily activities.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa29
Business
Orlando FL
Jul 27, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an incredible time. The staff are extremely friendly and go above and beyond to pamper to us every time we stay here. The food is amazing with a huge variety of items to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Char23
Business
New York, New York
Jul 27, 2014

Vacation with boyfriend and parents

My experience at the RIU was good. I traveled with my boyfriend and parents and the activities were fun for all of us. The entertainment team were all very friendly & ensured all participated in differnt activities. What I liked most about the hotel was the beautiful views of the beach. You can literally sit anywhere around the resort for relaxation and enjoy the sound of the beach waves, and the beautiful clear blue ocean! The beach is absolutely amazing!! I also enjoyed the adult only pool. It was very relaxing and not over crowded. On the contrary, the service at the hotel was not good at all! The people were not friendly, hardly smiled or greeted one to even say good morning. This hotel is definitely lacking a friendly enviornment!! If you are looking for great customer service, dont come here! Otherwise it's a good hotel. Improving the customer service should be the main focus, and I bet it would go from a 3 start to a 5-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dunn's River Falls & Snorkeling

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chilillo
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 24, 2014

great place for a cavation

Riu Ochorios was a great location for our vacation getaway. The staff was second to none and the room as well as the facility in general was superb. I highly recommend this location to any of my friends for the future vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is open to bargain in Jamaica. Even cab drive to downtown oho Rios. You should pay no more than $25 for round trip cab or you could to go around the lobby where there is agency booking Tours and paid $8 for a share ride to downtown.

Back to menu Return to top