Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 11, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
404 reviews
Excellent Vacation

We had a wonderful vacation. The entire crew in the hotel was great. We had nothing negative to say... See full review

  • Macaluso
  • Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an... See full review

  • Lisa29
  • Jul 27, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (404)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cente
fort lauderdale
Aug 4, 2013

cente

Pleasant atmosphere and staff. Food has room for improvement (more tasty)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hex68
ATL
Jul 18, 2013

Great vacation

Food was very good, good service and they keep the guest busy with shows, live music and entertainment on a daily basis, the club inside its also great and play good music, the only negative it's that the selection of the alcohol they offer is not that great, overall I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the catamaran cruise they offer(chukka cat), it was a blast.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaLa07111
Herndon,Va
Jul 14, 2013

good times

My family enjoyed our stay at the Riu...We enjoyed the jerk chicken on the beach...the only fall back was the internet connection was bogus...they only allow you 90 minutes each day for free..the rest you have to pay for..for the amount of money you pay to stay at this resort the internet should be free..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChiGirl Heatherl
Schaumburg, Illinois
Jun 4, 2013

Awesome Time!

Had a really great time at RIU with my 15 year old son. I was somewhat reluctant as some of the reviews were not great but we had a fantastic time, just wished that they had more Caribbean food and pastries on site, but would definitely stay there again. The staff were exceptional, they went above and beyond to honor whatever requests I made..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful as which transportation you uses, take the ones that are in the hotel lot with red license plates.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymoon Hottie
Delaware
May 21, 2013

Honeymoon

This was the second time we stayed @ a Riu property & we weren't disappointed. The first time was Riu Tropical Bay in Negril, & then now in Ocho Rios. The views were spectacular, the food was terrific & the amenities were plentiful. We stayed in the deluxe wing & didn't have to walk to the other side of the resort to use the pool. There were separate pools, restaurants, & customer service desk for our convenience. Housekeeping was a lil pushy about cleaning the rooms. Some days we wanted to just relax & sleep in & they kept knocking to get in to clean. If we had a do not disturb sign it wouldn't have been a problem. Overall, we had a wonderful experience & would visit Riu properties again & again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations for gourmet restaurants when you arrive, reservations go fast...even if you cant get into one of the gourmets, the buffet @ St. Anns is delicious everyday!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheenie
Washington, DC
May 13, 2013

AMAZING! WE LOVED IT! JUST DO IT!

Beautiful resort. Fantastic Value. Staff- I have never met friendlier staff. They were very happy and accommodating. They went out of their way to bring us drinks, ask about our stay and make jokes with us. We received a phone call to ask about how our visit was going. They also gave us free postcards to send to family. Lots of extras. The staff always say things like, "I'll get that for you. You're in Jamaica, mon. No worries. You relax." The staff really do work hard and it shows. We left small tips because we appreciated the service. Beach- I've done a lot of traveling, and this is the most beautiful beach I've seen. It is pristine. The water is turquoise blue and mellow. Great for swimming. The beach has the perfect ratio of palm trees. The staff climbed the trees and brought down fresh coconuts for us. They chopped them open and we were able to drink fresh coconut juice on the beach. Early every morning, the staff is outside cleaning the beach and they periodically take cups, etc. Lots of lounge chairs. We were never at a loss for private space. They also have free kayaks, paddle boats, and wind surfing. We took advantage! LOVED IT! Great value. Food- I was worried that this was going to be a greasy Vegas buffet. But I was PLEASANTLY surprised. There are lots of restaurants and food options. Fresh tropical fruit each day (including exotic ones). They also had fresh seafood (even lobster tails one day). My favorite was the jerk chicken that they grill on the beach every day. Very tasty. Some of the food was a little greasy, but you can avoid it it you want to. Plenty of other options. Salad bar is fantastic. We were there for a week and didn't get sick of the food. Rooms- The rooms are nice. Nothing too fancy, but clean and spacious. We had a tv and couch in our room. The cleaning staff left towel sculptures on our bed everyday--swans, hearts, etc. We always had hot water. AC and fans all worked perfectly. Free drinks in the room, including large water bottles. Replenished daily. We tipped the cleaning staff at the end of the trip. Internet- Internet is free for 90 minutes in the lobby. You have to use your own computer. Sometimes it was a little slow during heavy traffic times, so we used it early in the morning before breakfast and it was fine. You really only have "one free session" per day even if it is under 90 minutes. We honestly didn't use the internet that much since we were on vacation, so it wasn't a big deal. You can pay for premium service if it's important to you. Entertainment- The steel drum band from Kingston was AMAZING. They were the real deal. Lots of live music. We loved Lady Champagne, a reggae singer. Some of the performances were not family friendly--women wore thongs and dancing was sexualized. They do have special performances catered towards children though. Pools- Pools were fancy and clean. They have a swim up bar. The main pool has some entertainment during the day and music, but other pools are quiet. Something for everyone. Classes- They have water aerobics, beach aerobics and dance classes during the day that I liked. Taxis- My only complaint is that the on-site taxis are very expensive. We were adventurous and walked/took local transportation, which is not recommended by the resort but we were fine. Location- We flew into Montego Bay and took a shuttle that we booked through this website. The resort is about 2 hours from the airport. It's totally worth it even with the long ride. Resort is close to Dunn's River Falls. We totally recommend it! We scratched our heads the whole time wondering how the hotel makes money when they give everything away for free! Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food- I was worried that this was going to be a greasy Vegas buffet. But I was PLEASANTLY surprised. There are lots of restaurants and food options. Fresh tropical fruit each day (including exotic ones). They also had fresh seafood (even lobster tails one day). My favorite was the jerk chicken that they grill on the beach every day. Very tasty. Some of the food was a little greasy, but you can avoid it it you want to. Plenty of other options. Salad bar is fantastic. We were there for a week and didn't get sick of the food.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamaicanMeCrazy
Kansas City, MO
May 6, 2013

Weekend fun

Me and my friend celebrated her bday and I'm so happy we choose this resort! The poodle were great! the room was awesome! And the food was wonderful... my friend is a picky eater and she loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although places on and off the resort take American money it's a good idea to exchange some. Things are cheaper with Jamaican money.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Washbelly Kid
Warrington, PA
May 5, 2013

Christmas gift for my boyfriend

We had the time of our lives! The staff members were the best and made our stay comfortable and lots of fun. I'd like to mention Latoya, Gregory, Damien, Sheldon, and Peacock for their amazing service. It was my second time at your resort and I'll definitely be back next year! Respect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can save money by not leaving the resort for the sometimes pricey excursions. All you need to have a great time is right at the hotel!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thegera
Bakersfield California
May 5, 2013

Happy vacation place

Trip from airport to hotel was good and comfort, hotel location are in good conditions, all staff was very friendly specially with my little kid, drinks good, food average nothing special except for the Italian food ( pizza was very good and the beef lasagna was delicious, Asian food no good taste just regular nothing special. Beach beautiful! Amenities good Our only issue was about the cleanliness in the room, it was very poor and we saw some little roaches on it in our last days. Next time I will inspect room once we start our vacation time, after this the rest if things was okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle f
Carmel, New York
Apr 27, 2013

Fantastic getaway

Our stay was excellent. My husband and I went for a week with the idea of just relaxing and that wa exactly what we did. The hoitel had many activities going on also.You were able to snorkel jet ski zip line etc. if you wanted or do nothing but lay at the pool/beach and relax. The staff was also very freindly and got people involved in doing dancing or whatever was going on. Much more value for your buck. Will go back or even visit a different Riu in another area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to make reservation at specialty restaurants in advance because they book fast

Back to menu Return to top