Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
399 reviews
Excellent Vacation

We had a wonderful vacation. The entire crew in the hotel was great. We had nothing negative to say... See full review

  • Macaluso
  • Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an... See full review

  • Lisa29
  • Jul 27, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheenie
Washington, DC
May 13, 2013

AMAZING! WE LOVED IT! JUST DO IT!

Beautiful resort. Fantastic Value. Staff- I have never met friendlier staff. They were very happy and accommodating. They went out of their way to bring us drinks, ask about our stay and make jokes with us. We received a phone call to ask about how our visit was going. They also gave us free postcards to send to family. Lots of extras. The staff always say things like, "I'll get that for you. You're in Jamaica, mon. No worries. You relax." The staff really do work hard and it shows. We left small tips because we appreciated the service. Beach- I've done a lot of traveling, and this is the most beautiful beach I've seen. It is pristine. The water is turquoise blue and mellow. Great for swimming. The beach has the perfect ratio of palm trees. The staff climbed the trees and brought down fresh coconuts for us. They chopped them open and we were able to drink fresh coconut juice on the beach. Early every morning, the staff is outside cleaning the beach and they periodically take cups, etc. Lots of lounge chairs. We were never at a loss for private space. They also have free kayaks, paddle boats, and wind surfing. We took advantage! LOVED IT! Great value. Food- I was worried that this was going to be a greasy Vegas buffet. But I was PLEASANTLY surprised. There are lots of restaurants and food options. Fresh tropical fruit each day (including exotic ones). They also had fresh seafood (even lobster tails one day). My favorite was the jerk chicken that they grill on the beach every day. Very tasty. Some of the food was a little greasy, but you can avoid it it you want to. Plenty of other options. Salad bar is fantastic. We were there for a week and didn't get sick of the food. Rooms- The rooms are nice. Nothing too fancy, but clean and spacious. We had a tv and couch in our room. The cleaning staff left towel sculptures on our bed everyday--swans, hearts, etc. We always had hot water. AC and fans all worked perfectly. Free drinks in the room, including large water bottles. Replenished daily. We tipped the cleaning staff at the end of the trip. Internet- Internet is free for 90 minutes in the lobby. You have to use your own computer. Sometimes it was a little slow during heavy traffic times, so we used it early in the morning before breakfast and it was fine. You really only have "one free session" per day even if it is under 90 minutes. We honestly didn't use the internet that much since we were on vacation, so it wasn't a big deal. You can pay for premium service if it's important to you. Entertainment- The steel drum band from Kingston was AMAZING. They were the real deal. Lots of live music. We loved Lady Champagne, a reggae singer. Some of the performances were not family friendly--women wore thongs and dancing was sexualized. They do have special performances catered towards children though. Pools- Pools were fancy and clean. They have a swim up bar. The main pool has some entertainment during the day and music, but other pools are quiet. Something for everyone. Classes- They have water aerobics, beach aerobics and dance classes during the day that I liked. Taxis- My only complaint is that the on-site taxis are very expensive. We were adventurous and walked/took local transportation, which is not recommended by the resort but we were fine. Location- We flew into Montego Bay and took a shuttle that we booked through this website. The resort is about 2 hours from the airport. It's totally worth it even with the long ride. Resort is close to Dunn's River Falls. We totally recommend it! We scratched our heads the whole time wondering how the hotel makes money when they give everything away for free! Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food- I was worried that this was going to be a greasy Vegas buffet. But I was PLEASANTLY surprised. There are lots of restaurants and food options. Fresh tropical fruit each day (including exotic ones). They also had fresh seafood (even lobster tails one day). My favorite was the jerk chicken that they grill on the beach every day. Very tasty. Some of the food was a little greasy, but you can avoid it it you want to. Plenty of other options. Salad bar is fantastic. We were there for a week and didn't get sick of the food.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamaicanMeCrazy
Kansas City, MO
May 6, 2013

Weekend fun

Me and my friend celebrated her bday and I'm so happy we choose this resort! The poodle were great! the room was awesome! And the food was wonderful... my friend is a picky eater and she loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although places on and off the resort take American money it's a good idea to exchange some. Things are cheaper with Jamaican money.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Washbelly Kid
Warrington, PA
May 5, 2013

Christmas gift for my boyfriend

We had the time of our lives! The staff members were the best and made our stay comfortable and lots of fun. I'd like to mention Latoya, Gregory, Damien, Sheldon, and Peacock for their amazing service. It was my second time at your resort and I'll definitely be back next year! Respect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can save money by not leaving the resort for the sometimes pricey excursions. All you need to have a great time is right at the hotel!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thegera
Bakersfield California
May 5, 2013

Happy vacation place

Trip from airport to hotel was good and comfort, hotel location are in good conditions, all staff was very friendly specially with my little kid, drinks good, food average nothing special except for the Italian food ( pizza was very good and the beef lasagna was delicious, Asian food no good taste just regular nothing special. Beach beautiful! Amenities good Our only issue was about the cleanliness in the room, it was very poor and we saw some little roaches on it in our last days. Next time I will inspect room once we start our vacation time, after this the rest if things was okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle f
Carmel, New York
Apr 27, 2013

Fantastic getaway

Our stay was excellent. My husband and I went for a week with the idea of just relaxing and that wa exactly what we did. The hoitel had many activities going on also.You were able to snorkel jet ski zip line etc. if you wanted or do nothing but lay at the pool/beach and relax. The staff was also very freindly and got people involved in doing dancing or whatever was going on. Much more value for your buck. Will go back or even visit a different Riu in another area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to make reservation at specialty restaurants in advance because they book fast

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan NJ
NJ
Apr 12, 2013

Very good vacation for the value.

We stayed at Riu Ocho Rios from 4/5-4/11 and had a fantastic time. Staff was excellent and very friendly, beach was beautiful, and the hotel was always clean. Only downside was the somewhat aggressive beach vendors and the inconsistent food in different restaurants (steakhouse, fine dining and buffet were very good/ italian and asian were not). Location is great to several fun attractions and lots of great shopping at town center. Overall great vacation for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

dolphins cove

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Airborne Tuba
American Military Overseas
Apr 11, 2013

Food was meh....

The food was very mediocre at all of the non-deluxe meals. At some meals the food was honestly lacking in quality. For example, the breakfast bacon tasted heavily of smoke. My wife and I would go around the buffets trying different things every meal. The only sure winners we discovered were hot cocoa, ham and cheese sandwiches, and omelets. Everything else was pretty hit or miss. We expected higher quality on the buffet line for an all-inclusive. Perhaps our expectations were too high. The reservation dinners were good. Unfortunately, we were only able to make 2 reservations during our 4-night stay. Room service would not clean our room before 4:00PM. We would leave the room and put the sign up at 12:00PM hoping they would come by before we finished at the beach, but every day they would come after we had already returned for the evening. Honestly, it looked like the room service ladies just stood in the hallways. We couldn't figure out why 2 ladies would be on a single hallway for 4 hours without cleaning our room. All-inclusives seem to seek other small ways to make money off of patrons. At this all-inclusive, they would leave a 1.5L bottle of water of in your bedroom. If you wanted water from the bar, you would have to get Jamaican tap water in a glass. They did not stock bars with small bottles of water. They did, however, sell small bottles of water at the gift shop. Items at the gift shop had a considerable mark-up. 2 doses of a common ointment for cuts would cost $4USD. Cigars would cost almost twice as much as if you bought them outside of the resort. I suppose you could call it a convenience fee. Also, the hotel charged you additional money to play arcade games in the bar, the pool table and the ski ball table. All of our excursions were canceled because my wife found out just before the trip she was pregnant. Apparently, pregnant women are not allowed to ride horses, go on zip lines, or do anything else fun. We decided to book a sunset cruise, and all seemed well. Then the sunset cruise was canceled for 2 consecutive days. I was upset that we didn't do any excursions during our visit, so my wife decided to hire a taxi to take us to Dunn's River Falls. That was the highlight of our trip. Don't let the canceled excursion stop you from going out into Jamaica to explore. Finally, I think that sites like this one need to reference if the people at resorts are paid realistic wages. It turns out that many of the housekeepers and staff are paid the Jamaican minimum wage which is $50-60USD per week. If I had known that the workers were only paid about $1.30 an hour, I would have probably chosen a resort that took better care of the workers. You can tell that the workers are grateful for having their jobs, but I truly feel sorry for the workers that do no get tips daily such as the towel boys or the people that clean up your dishes. The resort was very pretty and clean. The service from the Jamaicans we met was exceptional. You could tell a lot of care went into maintaining the facility and the grounds. I just thought it would be good to shed light on the few problem areas. If you're looking for a cheap place to go on your vacation, this is a good hotel for you. I might try a different resort if I go back to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

1) Don't exchange currency at the airport. There exchange for about 15% less than your currency is actually worth. 2) Don't buy from the hotel. Go into town to buy items such as cigars. 3) If you use Jamaican Dollars in town, you will usually get better deals.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NUDIO69
New Jersey
Apr 11, 2013

Great All Inclusive Hotel with Great Facilities

Great 3.5 / 4 star resort. The value factor is what makes Riu Hotel chain worth being loyal to when traveling to the Caribbean destinations. The only drawback is that they do not offer premium liquor at the bars. They only offer no name brand liquor I am a single malt drinker and prefer at least at a minimum blended malt Johnny Walker Red Label if they want to serve non premium brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are strict Vegetarians or Vegan, get a hold of the Food and Beverage Manager ahead of time so they can make arrangements for good tasting food options. I tried contacting Jose C. 4 days prior to our arrival and he never responded to my email that the hotel manager asked me to send vs. speaking to him on the phone. This was the only issue I can really BITC& about. :)

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plucky in Pink
Willard, MO
Apr 3, 2013

Great location

This is a really great location. It's all inclusive, so the food is buffets. There is no heat, so if you are prone to being cold, bring plenty of warm clothes. No hot tub, warm water in the shower was iffy. It was realloy difficult to find a way to warm up. We loved all of the boating activities offered on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go on the Chukka Ride and Swim!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luigi Five
Business
Italy
Apr 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel and lovely animation

Fantastic experience. Good quality food and wide selection. Room large, clean and provided with suitable furniture. Fantastic animation. Nice beach and sport facilities available.The only negative is the fridge that was not working well and was not fixed in 11 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fantastic lobsters in a beach restorant just next to the hotel

Back to menu Return to top