Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
649 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an... See full review

  • Lisa29
  • Jul 27, 2014
great place for a cavation

Riu Ochorios was a great location for our vacation getaway. The staff was second to none and the... See full review

  • chilillo
  • Jul 24, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (649)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
649 out of 649
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAP
ri
Jan 24, 2010

girlfriends getaway

from the moment you check in and see the lobby and the ocean and the pools, wow, and then it gets better. the staff could not be more accommodating and our driver from the airport , [...], thru Juta tours said he would be back to take us back tothe airport the following Sat.,& there he was!!! the food had something for everyone at every hour of the day. the beach was ourstanding and plenty of towels and chairs for everyone. no early getting up to "mark your spot" the shopping is brought to you, as is the entertainment. we only left the resort once, to go to dunns river falls and a park and city, and shopping tour. took 6 hours and that was plenty being away. go to jamaica, the people, the Riu Ochos Rios, the beaches, even theride from the airport. perfection. weare already planning on the return trip. enjoy& feel safe, you are.!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

take a private ride to and from the airport, the drivers are wonderful and the ride relaxing and informative.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAP
ri
Jan 24, 2010

girlfriends getaway

from the moment you check in and see the lobby and the ocean and the pools, wow, and then it gets better. the staff could not be more accommodating and our driver from the airport , [...], thru Juta tours said he would be back to take us back tothe airport the following Sat.,& there he was!!! the food had something for everyone at every hour of the day. the beach was ourstanding and plenty of towels and chairs for everyone. no early getting up to "mark your spot" the shopping is brought to you, as is the entertainment. we only left the resort once, to go to dunns river falls and a park and city, and shopping tour. took 6 hours and that was plenty being away. go to jamaica, the people, the Riu Ochos Rios, the beaches, even theride from the airport. perfection. weare already planning on the return trip. enjoy& feel safe, you are.!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

take a private ride to and from the airport, the drivers are wonderful and the ride relaxing and informative.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
WV
Jan 21, 2010

Good for the price

Weather was terrible when we arrived, but staff was really upbeat, very friendly and helpful. The pools were great and the beach had an active area and a calmer area. No complaints about the food, abundant and good. Don't bother standing in the line for reservations for "specialty" restaurants, the buffet and Italian were just as good if not better as far as choices. One day our room was never cleaned and had no clean towels or soap. This is an area they need to work on. The entertainment people were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother going into Ocho Rios...Shops all carry the same beach wear & souvenirs, just off the resort compound are shacks on the beach with all the same stuff. Beware the jewelry in town!!! Way overpriced gems, gold, silver, etc. Selling some stones as real when they are lab created!!!!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
WV
Jan 21, 2010

Good for the price

Weather was terrible when we arrived, but staff was really upbeat, very friendly and helpful. The pools were great and the beach had an active area and a calmer area. No complaints about the food, abundant and good. Don't bother standing in the line for reservations for "specialty" restaurants, the buffet and Italian were just as good if not better as far as choices. One day our room was never cleaned and had no clean towels or soap. This is an area they need to work on. The entertainment people were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother going into Ocho Rios...Shops all carry the same beach wear & souvenirs, just off the resort compound are shacks on the beach with all the same stuff. Beware the jewelry in town!!! Way overpriced gems, gold, silver, etc. Selling some stones as real when they are lab created!!!!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MattyBecks
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 21, 2010

Very good experience

Great beach, quite large. The food (except the pasta) was very good. Very nice, modern up-to-date buildings. The rooms were very nice. There was a slight moldy smell in our room, and one of the elevators had a very bad moldy smell. My wife and I went on our honeymoon and had a great time! The evening entertainment was great, and the bar in our room was a great touch. We didn't have great weather while we were there, but the hotel did provide board games and activities to during that time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If using a cab, find other people headed to the same destination and split the fare. There is only 1 cab company to use at the hotel, and just to go into town (ocho rios) or even closer (dunns river, mystic mountian) costs $30 roundtrip. It is a little too far for walking distance. Very overpriced for quick ride and it will add up quickly.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Golden Girls
Boston and North Carolina
Jan 18, 2010

Poor Weather but a Great Time

The staff in The St Anns restaurant and the entertainment crew are absolutely wonderful. They are the only reason why I would go back to this hotel. The hotel is huge. Lots of Europeans, Canadians, etc. So the hotel cater primarily to these groups. Restaurants all serve foods for these groups, but the St Anns restaurant always has a "Jamaica Corner" with more authentic Jamaican cuisine - which was delicious. The Jerk Hut is also pretty good.In the lobby, walking areas and entertainment areas, the cigarette smoking is very overwhelming.Sometimes its like walking through a smoking gauntlet, and the guests smoking are so rude about it - just no manners. For the 8 days we were there, it rained every single day! It never let up. We had to travel away from Ocho Rios and into Port Antonio area to find good weather and beautiful beaches. You'll see lots of weddings, at least 3-5 per day. Quite beautiful, but depending on where your room if its near the conference center patio area where often the receptions are held, you probably won't get a good night sleep when a wedding reception is goin on because they are LOUD! Rooms: - now if you book "ocean view" you'll get a room where you have to strain your neck to get a glimpse of the ocean. Its the "ocean front" rooms that give you unobstructed view of the ocean. The "standard" rooms are small, no carpet, cold tiles on the floor. Because they run the A/C all the time in the rooms, it's damp, moldy smelling, and funky. Everything in my suitcase, even stuff I didn't wear ended up smelling moldy like the room. We tried to upgrade to the jr suites, but was told none available. The absolute best part of the trip is the people - no joke. They are friendly, happy, pleasant and just beautiful. The staff in the St. Anns restaurant were delightful. The entertainment crew are extraordinarily talented. They keep you well entertained and laughing. I fell in love with the energy of [...]. I would return to the Riu Ocho Rios, just to see the St. Anns crew and the entertainers again. Overall, a very good time was had. It was a birthday gift to my Mom, and she enjoyed herself tremendously - and that's all that mattered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It was fun to visit the Craft Market... enjoyed it!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Golden Girls
Boston and North Carolina
Jan 18, 2010

Poor Weather but a Great Time

The staff in The St Anns restaurant and the entertainment crew are absolutely wonderful. They are the only reason why I would go back to this hotel. The hotel is huge. Lots of Europeans, Canadians, etc. So the hotel cater primarily to these groups. Restaurants all serve foods for these groups, but the St Anns restaurant always has a "Jamaica Corner" with more authentic Jamaican cuisine - which was delicious. The Jerk Hut is also pretty good.In the lobby, walking areas and entertainment areas, the cigarette smoking is very overwhelming.Sometimes its like walking through a smoking gauntlet, and the guests smoking are so rude about it - just no manners. For the 8 days we were there, it rained every single day! It never let up. We had to travel away from Ocho Rios and into Port Antonio area to find good weather and beautiful beaches. You'll see lots of weddings, at least 3-5 per day. Quite beautiful, but depending on where your room if its near the conference center patio area where often the receptions are held, you probably won't get a good night sleep when a wedding reception is goin on because they are LOUD! Rooms: - now if you book "ocean view" you'll get a room where you have to strain your neck to get a glimpse of the ocean. Its the "ocean front" rooms that give you unobstructed view of the ocean. The "standard" rooms are small, no carpet, cold tiles on the floor. Because they run the A/C all the time in the rooms, it's damp, moldy smelling, and funky. Everything in my suitcase, even stuff I didn't wear ended up smelling moldy like the room. We tried to upgrade to the jr suites, but was told none available. The absolute best part of the trip is the people - no joke. They are friendly, happy, pleasant and just beautiful. The staff in the St. Anns restaurant were delightful. The entertainment crew are extraordinarily talented. They keep you well entertained and laughing. I fell in love with the energy of [...]. I would return to the Riu Ocho Rios, just to see the St. Anns crew and the entertainers again. Overall, a very good time was had. It was a birthday gift to my Mom, and she enjoyed herself tremendously - and that's all that mattered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It was fun to visit the Craft Market... enjoyed it!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisbot
Massachusetts
Jan 11, 2010

Better than the rest

Transportation to the airport took waaay too long, but this was hardly the fault of the resort. On the way the bus stopped to drop off guests at a couple other resorts, and every time we stopped my gf and I looked at the place and said "I hope our place looks that nice." Well, it looked even nicer.When we first checked in went to our room we thought we'd be writing a negative review. The concierge told us to leave our baggage and it'd be taken to our room, but over an hour later it still hadn't arrived and we wanted to change and shower so we took it ourselves. Our fridge and a couple lamps did not work, but the fridge was quickly fixed. I didn't even complain about the lamps because there was plenty of other lighting. We also didn't initially get a safe lock because they didn't have any leftover, but the next day that was resolved. After that everything was pretty great. The room was beautiful, and right by the beach. We could even watch weddings from our balcony. The bars were terrific and the bartenders were all friendly, the only thing I didn't particularly like was some of the cups used to serve the drinks. They were the clear hard plastic non-disposable ones that seem to keep some odor, but usually you're given glassware or disposable plastic cups. The beach was great, the pools were crystal clear, the grounds were immaculate, and the entertainment was amazing. The biggest cons were the food at the buffet style restaurants were either bland, or just plain bad. Just enough to keep you from starving. The traditional style restaurants were very difficult to get reservations for especially if you had any plans for the day. In order to get a reservation you have to get up early, wait for at least a half hour in line, and cross your fingers. Also, watch out for the gold-toothed man on the beach, unless you want some [*] A lot of the reviews I've read complained about the beds. Its true that they were pretty firm, but I actually like that. It felt good on my back and I thought they were very comfortable. There's stuff to do in the area too, just make a reservation with Jamaica Tours Ltd. I recommend Dunn's River Falls, the Luminous Lagoon, and Fern Gully.All in all, I can't wait to go back. Maybe we'll get some sun next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Eat early and get to the entertainment area between 8:30-9pm otherwise you'll be standing, and you want to stick around for the whole show.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisbot
Massachusetts
Jan 11, 2010

Better than the rest

Transportation to the airport took waaay too long, but this was hardly the fault of the resort. On the way the bus stopped to drop off guests at a couple other resorts, and every time we stopped my gf and I looked at the place and said "I hope our place looks that nice." Well, it looked even nicer.When we first checked in went to our room we thought we'd be writing a negative review. The concierge told us to leave our baggage and it'd be taken to our room, but over an hour later it still hadn't arrived and we wanted to change and shower so we took it ourselves. Our fridge and a couple lamps did not work, but the fridge was quickly fixed. I didn't even complain about the lamps because there was plenty of other lighting. We also didn't initially get a safe lock because they didn't have any leftover, but the next day that was resolved. After that everything was pretty great. The room was beautiful, and right by the beach. We could even watch weddings from our balcony. The bars were terrific and the bartenders were all friendly, the only thing I didn't particularly like was some of the cups used to serve the drinks. They were the clear hard plastic non-disposable ones that seem to keep some odor, but usually you're given glassware or disposable plastic cups. The beach was great, the pools were crystal clear, the grounds were immaculate, and the entertainment was amazing. The biggest cons were the food at the buffet style restaurants were either bland, or just plain bad. Just enough to keep you from starving. The traditional style restaurants were very difficult to get reservations for especially if you had any plans for the day. In order to get a reservation you have to get up early, wait for at least a half hour in line, and cross your fingers. Also, watch out for the gold-toothed man on the beach, unless you want some [*] A lot of the reviews I've read complained about the beds. Its true that they were pretty firm, but I actually like that. It felt good on my back and I thought they were very comfortable. There's stuff to do in the area too, just make a reservation with Jamaica Tours Ltd. I recommend Dunn's River Falls, the Luminous Lagoon, and Fern Gully.All in all, I can't wait to go back. Maybe we'll get some sun next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Eat early and get to the entertainment area between 8:30-9pm otherwise you'll be standing, and you want to stick around for the whole show.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, pa
Dec 31, 2009

Amazing Place to stay!

this hotel was by far the best experience I have had and I can't wait to go back. The staff was very friendly, the rooms and entire hotel were spotless. All of the pools and restaurants were amazing. Great selection to choose from. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping off of the resort was frustrating at times. Everyone wants your money and they will tell you anything you want to hear to get it.

Back to menu Return to top