Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun and the Sun
Business
Stone Mountain, Ga.
Oct 4, 2009

Vacation in Ocho Rios

I've been to the Riu hotel before in negril and this was the best ever the staff was Excellent and the way the did the food WOW I have to really hit the gym very hard I was a pig. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. It was one flaw the discotech that was on the resort it had a VERY BAD SMELL ( VOMIT)and my friends express our concern to themanagement about I think if this get fix it would really be nice in there, I noticed that people were coming in and leaving out because of the smell I'll give this a "F" ALL the tours were great but some ofthe prices were a bit high. THe staff that does the trip to the Dunes River was Super Very, Very , Very professional, and Very watchful when we were snokeling and the guide on the falls was very good overall I would recommend this place to my friends and give a grade of "A" I would go there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would tell anyone to go to the Dunes River Climb it was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and be careful about the food you will really pig out because the cooks will intise you to try everything!!!!! My Hat's off to the professional GChefs and Cooks they really know there stuff A plus Aplus, Aplus !!!!! Oh my flight was great and timely I had no problem the staff were very informative and professional --thanks Orbit YOU WILL SEE ME AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ANGO
Business
SPACE COAST, FLORIDA
Sep 30, 2009

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

LOVED OUR STAY. HOTEL STAFF WAS EXTREAMLY WARM AND FRIENDLY. NO PRESSURE INSIDE THE RESORT. THE BEDS WERE HARD (AS EXPECTED FROM READING PREVIOUS REVIEWS), BUT NOT TOO BAD. OUR AIR WAS BROKEN AND WE WERE UPGRADED TO A SUITE VERY QUICKLY. OVERALL WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE AND WE WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
8renTo$
Business
Miami, FL
Sep 28, 2009

Worth every penny!

This was my first time at an all-inclusive hotel and I must say it was worth every penny. It was totally worry free, all I had to do was have fun and let loose. The food was great and plentiful, the staff was pretty entertaining and all alcoholic drinks are included, even the mini bar in your room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cycadese
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2009

Honest review!--good resorts,some flaws!

I stayed at this resort the last week of August of 2009. The resort is located on a beautiful beach. The resort has a nightlub, a performance area, several restaurants, a photo shop, a tour guide scheduler, a nurse, and a doctor on call. This place has everything you need for a vacation. Now, for the specifics:Desk Staff--->I arrived on a Sunday. The desk staff wouldn't explain anything to me and told me I had to come back at 9:30 p.m. and talk to the performers to determine what their scheduled performances were for that week. When I asked why I couldn't be told immediately, I was told only the performers knew. How would I talk to them since they were performing?The room--->I was given a room by the noisy pool. I asked for another room. They gave me the key to another couple's room; they were naked in bed when I entered. I was traumatized. The couple seemed unfazed. I placed a chair under my own hotel room door to keep that from happening to me. Note: I had read other reviews that stated this and thefts sometimes occur. I ended up staying in the room by the pool. My ocean view, however, could only be seen if I stood on the balcony and overlooked the pool. This disappointed me since I purchased this room due to having a stressful trial the previous week and wanted to hear the sound of the ocean. I could hear the ocean, but not from this "oceanview" room.The room was large and had a balcony; it was beautiful. The only problem I had was the tub was set up too high and I had a slight step down. Also, on my last night, ants crawled into my glass from out of no where.The room was stocked with RUM, GIN, VODKA, etc.. I drank a lot everyday and never got drunk. I drank some rum I won in Jamaica at my home in the US and got drunk off a sip. It is clear to me now that the alcohol has been watered down.THE FOOD--->I loved being able to eat all day every day. The best food for me was the custom made omelets in the morning and the fried pork chops for lunch. The rest of the food was unflavored and I had to add plenty of salt to give it flavor. In addition, on Greek night, the hummus (my usual favorite) lacked taste and also the cous cous tasted like cardboard. People in reviews raved about a Chicken hut on the beach. Since the hotel staff refused to give me information, I didn't know about this hut.TOWELS-->I got plenty of BIG towels when I called the hotel on the 2nd day and asked why they would give me nothing but 1 towel. The wash cloths were limited, however, and they would ask for your wash cloth at 8:00 a.m. and promise to give you another and didn't. I wouldn't let them take any of my towels.CLEANING STAFF---> The hotel is too big for the small staff. As a result, I never asked them to clean my room during my stay. In fact, they never showed up until 4 p.m. so I told them "don't worry about it."THE GIFT SHOP--->The gift shop had everything you needed; lotion, conditioner; tee shirts; aquatic shoes, etc.. The average price for necessity items was $5.00 US.THE HOTEL CONCIERGE-->I begged her for information on hotel activities; instead she gave me ONLY information on [...]. I took all of the [...] and found them to be boring and uninspiring. If you stay here, try to find another tour company for your excursions in the area.HOTEL ENTERTAINMENT-->I wasn't informed of any entertainment other than the Michael Jackson show and water aerobics. I was burned out on MJ so I just did water aerobics. My abs were killing me for a week after the vacation. SPA-->I had a massage by Natasha at the spa; it was $50.00 US and it was one of the best massages I had ever had.POOL-->I found the pool to be clean and the water the perfect temperature--not too hot or too coldTHE BEACH--->GORGEOUS BLUE and TURQUOISE water. My photos look like they could be in a magazine.THE PHOTOSHOP-->4X6 are $8.00 a piece but they are gorgeous. If I were getting married there, I definitely would let their photographer do the picturesJA...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phila pa
Sep 25, 2009

very good couples getaway.

everything at the hotel was great, just like it was when I was married there a few years ago, except last time I didnt get to enjoy many of the amenities because of the occasion. Ive been to jamaicqa over fifty times, this was one of the best times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dori88
Business
New York
Sep 9, 2009

Great trip!

This was a great trip overall! Food was good, entertainment was fantastic! We went out the city, Dunns River and felt safe everytime we left the resort. We won a free day to the Dolphin Cove which was excellent! We really couldn't have asked for anything more. We also had a great time in the club Pacha - the only thing i could complain about was that Pacha had this horrible smell, but after about 10 mins later i guess we got used to it. This trip was little bit pricey but worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The night club Pacha was great in the Resort, but if you want to go and mingle with some locals MargaritaVille is where its at. Just a short FREE shuttle ride there and back.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galactic HitchHiker
Business
DE
Sep 8, 2009

First time ! but NOT the last time !

We enjoyed the nightly live entertaiment and the daily Beach Barbecue (Jerk Chicken), delicious food at the dining facilities. Fun recreation activities through out the day, very friendly staff that makes you want to come back again, and not to forget the beautiful scenery that Jamiaca has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Sep 8, 2009

great resort with lots to offer!

housekeeping was amazing. loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galactic HitchHiker
Business
DE
Sep 8, 2009

First time ! but NOT the last time !

We enjoyed the nightly live entertaiment and the daily Beach Barbecue (Jerk Chicken), delicious food at the dining facilities. Fun recreation activities through out the day, very friendly staff that makes you want to come back again, and not to forget the beautiful scenery that Jamiaca has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mello
Business
new york
Sep 5, 2009

"excellent service" "delicious food"

Relaxing by the beach and absorbing the warmth of the water as well as the sun was fantastic. Night time entertainment was as though one was on Broadway in NYC. Hotel staff is superb. I wish my stay was a bit longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too far from major attraction sites such as Dolphin Cove and the Magnificent Dunn's River Falls.

Back to menu Return to top