Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
428 out of 428
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warren, MI
Jul 14, 2009

Absolutely Amazing!!!!!

This trip was absolutely amazing! Beautiful hotel. The grounds were always kept clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They treated us as if we were a king and a queen. They showed us so much love there! The food (oh my)! So flavorful. There were so many choices to choose from from for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You must try the Jerk Hut at lunch time (very good). I really enjoyed myself at this resort and if you listen to the negative comments about this hotel, you will be missing out on the time of your life!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go into to town to see the local life, you should contact [...]. He was a great tour guide and his prices are very very reasonable for taxi service compared to others. If you want to contact him, his e-mail is [@].

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 14, 2009

Excellent vacation good for the entire f

Attended a wedding and bonded with family members. Toured sites of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick in Vancouver
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jul 13, 2009

great time at Riu Ocho Rios

Was there on June 29/ 09. The hotel is approx 1. hrs from Montego Bay Airport. Bus ride was comfortable with 1 stop to rest, buy beer and had excellent jerk chicken. Arrived at hotel and was impressed with the lobby ( grand and breezy ). Hotel staff and service, location, food were all good. Housekeeping staff were friendly and always had fresh clean towels and decorations on our bed each day. Great beach facility - clean sand and ocean. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
superhappyriugoer
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 13, 2009

LOVED RIU! LOVED OCHO RIOS!

We stayed at the Riu Ocho Rios and were soo very happy with all the wonderful things that set Riu apart. Great rooms (definately upgrade to the suite), absolutely beautiful resort inside and out, not too hard to get a reservation at the restaurants but if you eat from the buffet there is a lot of variety whether you want to be adventurous or have burgers and fries (my favorite from the buffet was the curried goat). The beach was gorgeous and clean, the drinks and live music was unending and yet if you are going to relax you will get that too. The best part about this resort was the people. The staff was so friendly and outgoing and the entertainment crew made sure everyone was pumped. Monday nights there is a Michael Jackson tribute that was unbelievable- people were screaming and cheering like it was really MJ. They did an amazing job! We will definately be back ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Riu entertainment is second to none. You will definately not be bored!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovestheriu
Business
canada
Jul 13, 2009

riu ocho rios

Perfect for family reunions, weddings etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Excellent food, service, & entertainment

I've stayed at all-inclusives before and this one puts the others to shame. The food is excellent, the staff was helpful and accomodating and there was always something going on. We took advantage of the free amenities like snorkling, peddle boating and kayaking! The only down fall is it's about 1.5 hours from the airport - but it's worth it. My sister decided to get married there so I can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunns River is an adventure you won't experience very often!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 5, 2009

Good but not Great

If you've stayed at the Riu in Cabo San Lucas, you will be dissapointed because this one is not as nice. I would recommend not going to this one if you have stayed in the Cabo one. If you haven't stayed there, you'll probably think this is one of the best hotels you've ever stayed at. Great beach and pool areas. Buffets are great. Definitely request room on the quiet pool side. They are all Junior Suites and Suites, but if they have any available, they will give you free upgrade. The rooms on that side are more updated, and you don't have to listen to the entertainment team on their P.A. system every day shouting at people to play games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 5, 2009

Riu Ocho Rios

The hotel itself was very nice, but the front desk staff and service was terrible. They were not helpful or friendly. Our room was never cleaned before 5:30 any day that we were there. The food was also not very appealing. The foods that were supposed to be hot were usually cold and the foods that should be kept cold were generally room temperature. The reservation system to eat at the nicer restaurants at the hotel was also completely worthless. You have to get up and downstairs by 7:30 AM in order to have a chance to eat at one of the nicer places, and it is almost impossible to get a reservation at a place for any time before 9:00 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yah Mon
Business
NH
Jun 28, 2009

Everything was great... except the food!

Beds are VERY hard and uncomfortable. Woke up sore almost every morning. Food gets very repetitive (if not already bad) and you have to stand in line at 7am to make the Gourmet Restaurant reservations. Not to mention the portions are RIDICULOUS at those gourmet choices. Pools close at 6pm and 7pm. Are you kidding???? No night swimming at all. And there's really nothing else to do at night besides the live entertainment they have that starts around 8:30 or so. Drinks were great. All you could ask for. And the live entertainment at night was really good. Especially the Michael Jackson show. Which we saw at the resort 2 days before he died, coincidentally (RIP). Maintenance/Service staff are not very good. Everything is SLOWWWW. It was almost expected to be forgotten about at breakfast (trying to get a pot of coffee). And Maintenance never even came to our room when we reported a leak from the ceiling, dripping onto the floor. We didn't let these things keep us from having a great time, but I wish a lot of the details turned out better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunn's River Falls is a must. Great experience.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 28, 2009

We [heart] the Riu

overall, we had a fantastic time! Cant wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

best time to make dinner reservations is BEFORE 8am in the lobby, & make sure to get in the correct line!

Back to menu Return to top