Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
415 reviews
a wonderful relaxing vacation can't get any better than that

The best vacation ever me and my husband had a wonderful time, I would recommend this hotel to... See full review

  • Mta diva
  • Nov 28, 2014
Should of Stayed Longer!

When we got to the hotel, the staff instantly welcomed us, and they thanked us for coming. Each... See full review

  • SD Jamerican
  • Nov 15, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (415)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
415 out of 415
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buju
Business
Spring Valley NY
Jun 18, 2009

There was great food nice people.

We had a great time we will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

One of your staff help me find some swim trunk.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx.
Jun 17, 2009

Not what I expected

There was not enough local cuisine. I love Jamaican food and I didn't get much while at this hotel. I would have liked to have heard more reggae in the hotel club. I hear American music all the time. I made this visit because I love the food and music and there was not enough available. The radios provided in the room did not work. I had to change rooms because the double beds were very uncomfortable for two people that wanted a single bed. The double bed came apart twice. The hotel agreed to move us the next day around 10:30am but we didn't get another room until 3pm. We had to leave our luggage behind the front desk. The second room was very humid and damp. The A/C didn't work properly but I was not willing to move a second time. The hotel constantly ran out of clean towels. The elevators were not working properly. I was briefly stuck on one. When it was reporter to one of the hotel staff members that someone else was stuck on the elevator she did not seemed concerned at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The performances that were put on every night were excellent. They made sure the audience participated every night.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Jun 17, 2009

riu ochos rios

the hotel was a real nice location and the people were always somewhat friendly but it was the people located next to the property that harassed us and tried to get us to buy things. the jet skies drove up and down making most abundant smell gas. over the resort was a great place and i would reccomend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

all of the food was mediocre and it was nearly impossible to get reservations in some of the better restaurants. Overall it was average to say the most.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimie the beach lover
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 15, 2009

Visit right away!

RIU Ocho Rios is a great choice for your Jamaica vacation! The staff is very helpful and friendly, the resort is beautiful, our room was very nice and clean, the beach and pools are great, the drinks are strong...I can't say enough wonderful things. The only downside is dinner. Breakfast was good: there's a guy who'll make an omlette to order, and the coffee is very good. At lunch go to the Jerk Hut on the beach. Yum! For dinner though, I would suggest you ask the staff for nearby local places. The restaurants on site fall short. Dinners were bland. Try Scotchies right down the street. Adorable hut-style spot with pretty gardens and the best jerk!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Dunn's River Falls and Chukka horseback riding! We had a blast! You'll never forget it.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TGH
Business
Ochos Rios
Jun 14, 2009

1st Wedding Anniversary

Lack of towels each day in room Lack of beach towels each day Bad attitude of staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Tours to Dunns River and Negril Sunset

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtney first time traveler
Business
Clinton, IN
Jun 12, 2009

Riu Ochos Rios

The hotel was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. The only thing that wasn't very good was the air conditioning. It felt cool but your room always felt sticky. Other than that it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We found two different taxi drivers that were awesome. Don't book the shopping through the tours do it on your own. It's about the same price and your driver will give you more time if you need it. We had one of the ladies working in Margarittaville call our driver and ask him to pick us up a little later. It worked out great!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uptown girl
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 10, 2009

Horrible choice

I recently visited the Riu hotel and resort in Ocho Rios Jamaica. I was not pleased at all with my stay. I booked the trip on [...]. It took 1.5 hours to reach the hotel from the airport. I was not aware of this. Online it appeared the hotel would be bout 45 min away from the airport. Once arriving at the hotel, It took approximately 1.5 hours to check in. Once we were in the room, the safe was not operating properly. We had to carry around all personal items the entire stay: passports, cash, credit cards, phones, etc. The entire stay, we were only given two face towels and two bath towels per day. There were three women in my room including myself. Housekeeping would knock on the door early in the moring and ask for dirty was cloths and bring two new ones back around 4/5 o' clock pm that day. The electricity was in and out the whole stay. The AC in the rooms was not working well. At check in, we were given three keys. The keys to the room were not working properly. We had to have a technician come up to the room at least 4 times to try to fix the problem. Every time we left the room, we had to stop at the front desk and have someone escort us back to the room w/a master key. We did not receive properly functioning keys until the night before we left. The pool closed every night at 6pm for "treatment" as well as there was no beach access after 6 pm. There was no note of this on the Riu website. There weren't many activities that were included in the amount paid, maybe three. We pretty much had to pay for all the activities. I had to wake up early in the morning and be in line by 7am to wait until 8am in order to make a reservation for dinner at one of the restaurants. Although you can make a reservation until 4, all the restaurants would be booked by 10am. And of course once we would have dinner, half the restaurant was empty. he food was not that great. There was basically no authentic Jamaican food at the St Annes Buffet or any of the other restaurants. The alcohol was watered down. There were about ten front desk supervisors. Every time we had questions no one appeared eager to help nor was there any urgency. . We would have to wait until they were ready to assist us even though they were standing around. There was no consistency with responses to the same questions regarding the room keys. Considering the trip was booked online, we did not have a "representative". So when it came time to book a shuttle to go back to the airport, no one was willing to help. The only thing said was we need to contact our Representative, which we didn't have one. When we were finally at out wits end and asked to speak to a Manager, we were given the run around. I briefly spoke to [...] who wasn't very helpful and only offered the same solutions that didn't work before. She said she would open the line on the phone in our room but never did. We were not bale to call out when we tried to call American Airlines to try to get onto an earlier flight home.We were given the name for [...], who never appeared. Instead she sent out An assistant manager by the name of [...] who finally had more towels sent up. By far [...] was the most customer service oriented and appeared to be sincerely concerned. There was a mosquito problem, I cam home with about 20 bites on my legs and arms. My left foot is swollen from so many bites and I have puss bumps on my foot from the bite as well. I've been taking benadryl since I returned home. Not to mention a stomach ache from something I ate...which I'm just now getting over. Otherwise I would have already sent this email. This was my third time going to Jamaica. i was very disappointed with my experience with the Riu Ocho Rios. There appeared to be 850 rooms and not enough staff to accommodate all the visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susanna
Business
california
Jun 8, 2009

mom vacation

i payed for a ocean view i got a garden view the staff is very rude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JSmooth691
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 4, 2009

Customer Service needs improvement

Overall, my trip was mighty pleasant, however I was very miserable the first few hours. Below is a summary of my time in Ocho Rios: My arrival was a bit rocky when I was told the hotel was overbooked and I'd be forced to stay in another location. I booked this reservation three months in advance. Needless to say, I voiced my displeasure and eventually was given a suite upgrade. Days later, the resort manager sent me bottle of Appleton Rum to make up for the inconvenience. I found that awfully thoughtful and professional. I was also a little disappointed in the lack of urgency that the hotel staff expressed whenever I requested my room be cleaned at a decent hour or to supply more bathroom towels. My refrigerator was stocked only once during my 5 night stay. I was told this was supposed to be completed daily. Not good... Last, On Monday, May 25, I didn't think it was fair of the resort to shut down the night club and force its night-owl resort guests to leave the resort and pay for late night entertainment at Margaritaville. The whole purpose of an all-inclusive resort is to provide entertainment at all times. I spent too much money getting to Jamaica. An then I have to leave the compound and spend more money??? It just doesn't make any sense to me. Are resort guests not spending enough money in the local economy? My favorite parts of the trip were the entertainment crew, beach, food, and drink. The resort deserves a 5 star rating in the aforementioned categories. The entertainment crew provided family friendly shows throughout the mornings and evenings. The beach's views were to die for. The food and drink were absolutely delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

On Monday, May 25, I didn't think it was fair of the resort to shut down the night club and force resort guests to leave the resort and pay for late night entertainment. The whole purpose of an all-inclusive resort is to provide entertainment at all times. I spent too much money getting to Jamaica. Now I'm being forced to leave the compound and spend more money??? It just doesn't make any sense to me. Am I not spending enough money in the local economy?

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 3, 2009

beautiful resort

The Riu Ocho Rios resort was beautiful...large pool with fountains, small infinity pool offered a little more privacy, and the beach was clean and larger than expected. The number one thing that set this resort apart from places I've stayed in the past is the entertainment. It was spectacular! The shows every evening were wonderful and almost everyone in the resort attended. The daily activities were fun, whether it was horseshoes or volleyball, everyone was included. The entertainment staff was friendly and tried to get everyone involved. The food was just okay, it was good, but not anything to rave about. That is except the Jerk Chicken hut on the beach that served at lunch...awesome! One thing they don't tell you when you arrive is that it is very difficult to get reservations to the restaurants. You can always eat in the main buffet restaurant, but if you want reservations to other restaurants you have to get up at 7am and wait in line to reserve for that day. We complained (because we were not told when we checked in) and were able to reserve for the following day. The drinks were plentiful, they make the strawberry daquiris and pina coladas pretty weak, but we asked for extra rum and they weren't skimpy! The quality of service varied from waiter to waiter and bartender to bartender. We found a couple of bartenders we liked, and stuck with them. We tried to stay positive and the less than quick service didn't bother us too much. If we wanted more wine, we just got up and got it ourselves (much faster). One last thing...the fitness room was dissapointing. Most of the equipment was broken or in need of maintentance, so it was difficult to get a good workout in (especially if there were other people waiting on the "one" treadmill that worked). Overall, we had a fantastic vacation. We stayed for 6 days, 6 nights (5/25/09-5/31/09...and my only wish is that we stayed one more day. We left early sunday morning and the beach party was sunday night, so we missed it...and it sounded like it was going to be a blast. I definitely recommend this resort, and it was actually quite unexpected how much we loved our vacation. We've been to Sandals and Sunset all inclusive resorts, and though the food & service at Sandals was better...Riu made up for it in the entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you only do one excursion...go to Dunn's River Falls. The shuttle to the park is fairly cheap, and it's worth it! I don't recommend the ATV excursion, the ATV's broke down every 5 min.

Back to menu Return to top