Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
421 reviews
Amazing Honeymoon!

Everything was amazing from the beginning to end of our stay! Great beach and food. Jerk chicken on... See full review

  • Felicia happy honeymooner
  • Jan 25, 2015
Honey moon trip

The hotel was amazing. The staff treated us like queens and kings. Everything was wonderful and the... See full review

  • Madonna S.
  • Jan 9, 2015
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (421)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
421 out of 421
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 5, 2009

Riu Ocho Rios

The hotel itself was very nice, but the front desk staff and service was terrible. They were not helpful or friendly. Our room was never cleaned before 5:30 any day that we were there. The food was also not very appealing. The foods that were supposed to be hot were usually cold and the foods that should be kept cold were generally room temperature. The reservation system to eat at the nicer restaurants at the hotel was also completely worthless. You have to get up and downstairs by 7:30 AM in order to have a chance to eat at one of the nicer places, and it is almost impossible to get a reservation at a place for any time before 9:00 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yah Mon
Business
NH
Jun 28, 2009

Everything was great... except the food!

Beds are VERY hard and uncomfortable. Woke up sore almost every morning. Food gets very repetitive (if not already bad) and you have to stand in line at 7am to make the Gourmet Restaurant reservations. Not to mention the portions are RIDICULOUS at those gourmet choices. Pools close at 6pm and 7pm. Are you kidding???? No night swimming at all. And there's really nothing else to do at night besides the live entertainment they have that starts around 8:30 or so. Drinks were great. All you could ask for. And the live entertainment at night was really good. Especially the Michael Jackson show. Which we saw at the resort 2 days before he died, coincidentally (RIP). Maintenance/Service staff are not very good. Everything is SLOWWWW. It was almost expected to be forgotten about at breakfast (trying to get a pot of coffee). And Maintenance never even came to our room when we reported a leak from the ceiling, dripping onto the floor. We didn't let these things keep us from having a great time, but I wish a lot of the details turned out better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunn's River Falls is a must. Great experience.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 28, 2009

We [heart] the Riu

overall, we had a fantastic time! Cant wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

best time to make dinner reservations is BEFORE 8am in the lobby, & make sure to get in the correct line!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jun 28, 2009

Nice Hotel, OK Help Desk Customer Servic

Nice hotel, nice resort, buffet became repetitive real quick. Had to wake up by 6:30am if want to get in line to sign up for specialty restaurants. You're on vacation, you don't need/want to wake up that early. Not sure what the reasons but if they move the time to 10am for example, it wouldn't kill them. Requested a room with 2 beds. Received 1 bed instead. Asked to move. They moved us to another room with 1 bed. Next day asked to move again and they moved us to a room that had a defective air conditioner. We gave up. Can not believe that their system couldn't tell which room has what number of beds. We were on vacation and decided to just enjoy the remaining stay. Everytime we go up to the front desk, the male manager pretented to whisper something with the staff and not be accomodative with their looks at all. Although in Carribean, wish they have more circulated movement in the Chinese restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cu2cool
Business
Quincy, MA
Jun 24, 2009

Had a Great Time!

The Riu at Ocho Rios was a wonderful place to stay. Once you get to the main lobby for check-in you will see how nice it really looks. Check-in time was about 20 minutes for my party of 4. I e-mailed the resort ahead of time to request adjoining/adjacent rooms with king-sized beds, and I did get adjacent rooms with king beds. I had the standard rooms I'm guessing with the white all-inclusive wristband we had to wear our entire stay. Food was good, nothing really great. The jerk chicken was tender and juicy, but I wasn't crazy about it. It's true that most of the meats are fatty, but it was OK because I just ate around the fat. Plus those pieces are the most tender. The entertainment isn't that great. At least for my stay during a wednesday-sunday. I saw a bob marley documentary movie, some dace acts, live bands, and a children performance who stayed at teh resort. Seats fill up quick for the performance area, but like I said, there's really nothing that great to watch. There are bars at the resort are plentiful, usually with enough bartenders to get around to your order. They don't press for tips really, and in fact I don't think any resort employee did during my stay. The employees I encountered were half and half when it came to service. Some looked like they were glad to serve you, and the other half seemed like they dreaded being there. No big deal to me as long as I get what I ordered. I usually left a tip for meals and sometimes for drinks. I didn't really use housekeeping besides asking for new towels, and left them a tip when I left. There are people that try to sell drugs/souveneirs to you on the beach, but I just politely declined each time, and all was cool. "No Problem" and "Respect" is what you'll be hearing a lot. And of course "Yah mon." Sometimes I felt like I was mocking them when I try to say it back, but it's cool. There are plenty of beach chairs all day long, but at the pool you may have a do some searching. Especially near the pool bars. You have to make reservations for dinner at the restaurants, which are limited in seats. If you have a big party you'll have to line up early (7:30am) to get seats, but I think a couple should have no problem reserving a table around noon. The restaurants were alright. Once again, nothing special. Just an alternative to eating buffet food everyday. Even so, there is still some buffet foods served in the restaurant. Also men have to bring pants to get into some restaurants. Overall, this is was a joyful experience at Ocho Rios in Jamaica. I would not recommend staying at the resort the whole trip. If you're like me, you'd be bored to death. The resort is conveniently located near a bunch of outdoor activities and 5 minutes from a shopping center (which is full of souveneir shops). I wouldn't really bother with the shopping center though. In my opinion, you can just get the souveneirs you need at the resort. I did the canopy tour, atv, and dunns river falls. All were fun. Look for the atv/dunns combo online for $80. It's an asian guy who runs his business out of a cargo hold, but TRUST ME you get your moneys worth. He provides excellent service, is very friendly, and will go above and beyond. For transport from teh MBJ airport to the resort, we went to the taxi stand at the airport and got a van for $100 ($25 split 4 ways) and we gave a $10 tip. The driver was friendly, and offered to pick us up at 5am for our 8:30am return flight. We could've left at 6am and still have time to spare becuase the morning drive without traffic only takes an hour as opposed to the 2.5 hour drive to the resort with traffic. BTW, drivers in Jamaica will drive on the opposite lane towards oncoming traffic, so be prepared for the taxi adventure. It's cool though, all drivers there are freindly to one another and honking is common courtesy. Wi-Fi is free to use in the lobby, but the internet cafe in the sports bar is not. You could even try to c...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to get a group of people to do an activity at the resort to lower price. I had 6 people to go jetskiing with, so I got them to lower the price from $60 to $40 for a half hour each.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Jun 23, 2009

Not the greatest...

When I booked my boyfriend and I at the Riu Ocho Rios, I was expecting a five-star resort with comparable customer service as well as a great time for our stay in Jamaica. What I got in return was a mediocre resort with too many people and terrible customer service (actually a lack of really, any, customer service)! Then, to aggravate things even more, my camera was stolen halfway through our trip with pictures taken of the wedding that we had come to be witness to. When we tried to tell security, we were told that if we can't find it, then we probably never will by a security officer. We asked to speak to the manager of security on hand and waited at least 2 hours before he could see us - how frustrating! The other thing that we learned when we got there is that those various restaurants that are advertised in the description must actually be booked each day and the only way to book them is to stand in line at 7am for over an hour to do so. What an annoying discovery! Of the five restaurants that they had, 2 were only available to the "deluxe" rooms and the other 3 were always booked by 9:30am. Withstanding the resort experience, the island of Jamaica is a beautiful one...the beach was amazingly refreshing and relaxing at the same time and we experienced the natural beauty of their Dunns River Falls. Overall, a great trip but I can't say that was because the staff at the Riu made it enjoyable in the least bit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do end up staying at this resort, definitely take the short walk to the restaurant called "Scotchies" where you'll find great authentic Jamaican food, including jerk chicken, pork, etc.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jun 22, 2009

Great Hotel - Wonderful location

This was my first trip to Jamaica. The hotel was great. The staff couldn't be more friendly and they are there to make sure you are having a good time. The hotel itself was beautiful. There is a Sandals resort right beside the RIU and the RIU looks much better/newer than the smaller Sandals. Just one look around and I still can't believe that the Sandals costs more. Ocho Rios was the perfect location in Jamaica because there is so much to do close to the resort. There was a 1.5 hour ride from the Montego Bay airport, but it was even worth it to get to see the sights of Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buju
Business
Spring Valley NY
Jun 18, 2009

There was great food nice people.

We had a great time we will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

One of your staff help me find some swim trunk.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx.
Jun 17, 2009

Not what I expected

There was not enough local cuisine. I love Jamaican food and I didn't get much while at this hotel. I would have liked to have heard more reggae in the hotel club. I hear American music all the time. I made this visit because I love the food and music and there was not enough available. The radios provided in the room did not work. I had to change rooms because the double beds were very uncomfortable for two people that wanted a single bed. The double bed came apart twice. The hotel agreed to move us the next day around 10:30am but we didn't get another room until 3pm. We had to leave our luggage behind the front desk. The second room was very humid and damp. The A/C didn't work properly but I was not willing to move a second time. The hotel constantly ran out of clean towels. The elevators were not working properly. I was briefly stuck on one. When it was reporter to one of the hotel staff members that someone else was stuck on the elevator she did not seemed concerned at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The performances that were put on every night were excellent. They made sure the audience participated every night.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Jun 17, 2009

riu ochos rios

the hotel was a real nice location and the people were always somewhat friendly but it was the people located next to the property that harassed us and tried to get us to buy things. the jet skies drove up and down making most abundant smell gas. over the resort was a great place and i would reccomend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

all of the food was mediocre and it was nearly impossible to get reservations in some of the better restaurants. Overall it was average to say the most.

Back to menu Return to top