Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
399 reviews
Excellent Vacation

We had a wonderful vacation. The entire crew in the hotel was great. We had nothing negative to say... See full review

  • Macaluso
  • Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an... See full review

  • Lisa29
  • Jul 27, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oneddove
new jersey
May 25, 2009

Amazing Place to be

It was great, the had great service and they did what they could to resolve any problems, but the food was good but universal. The real taste was in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Never take the first price, ever! They is always a better deal in Jamaica!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angela belis
Bradenton Florida
May 24, 2009

Amazing Trip!!

WOW!! All we can say...the resort exceeded our expectations!! It was beautiful, food was great at all the restaurants...buffet was awesome for breafast, but definetely sign up for the restaurants for dinner..they where awesome..seeing as we stayed at the resort during the whole swine flu craze we had a lot of people that where suppose to be in Mexico but ended up in Jamaica (might I add that I heard that the resort and airlines let them tranfer for free!!) seeing as the resort was full, I did get up an hour early to wait in line for dinner reservations, but I didn't mind...our drinks where never empty, our room was always clean...tip your room sevice girl/guy it is truly worth the few bucks! same with your bartenders they don't make much and are super appreciative for any tips...but they never asked or demanded or where unfriendly! actually the staff was awesome!!! The resort is beautiful the pics do no justice for this place...if you are hesitant about staying here..don't be it is awesome...oh btw if you are traveling as a couple upgrade your room to hte jr oceanview suite...gives you acess to more restaurants, and puts you in the deluxe wing which was virtually kid free...which for us is why we left on vaca to get a break from our kids! overall amazing experience..we will only stay with RIU from now on...And yes the beds are hard, but you can ask for extra padding and they will accomadate you right away!! STAY AWAY FROM THE VILLAGE FLEA MARKET.... you can find better deals in the village, the locals will bargain, but the locals where way way too pushy...the shop owners will leave you alone and let you shop, and will bargain with you!! we actually didn't bring enough money for what we wanted so the shop owner delivered what we still wanted to our hotel that night and collected payment!! we where very grateful for that.But trust me the flea makret is full of stuff you can get in the village, and the poeple of the flea market are very pushy..just don't go!!! Deff do the cool runnings tour for Dunns River..what a blast!!! but be prepared for a nap after..lots of dancing, drinking, snorkeling, oh and climbing 963 feet of water falls...the resort also offers a catamaran sunset cruise where you get to go out at sunset, snorkle drink champagne, and enjoy a romantic 3 hours for only 38 per person...book it down on the beach where you get your snorkeling gear!! ATV tour was awesome!! and we didn't do it but heard was great was the zip lining...and 1 more thing we met a couple who did not book the round trip transportation to the resort from airport...do yourself a favor and book it with your trip!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dissatisfied Former Customer
Texas
May 23, 2009

Mixed Results

Very poor arrival experience. Although the porter was kind, our reception staff member ([...]) was unattentive and required a reminder that we were still waiting to check in after she left us with forms and then did not know where she placed our itinerary which we handed to her 10 minutes earlier. In addition, we were put into a room that was still being cleaned - odor of cleaning chemicals was very strong in room and bed was unmade when staff left room. After approximately 20 minutes, we returned to find our bags left in the lobby; we took them up ourselves. During stay, request for a cake was made (for a suprise) and acknowledged as possible by staff, but was never delivered. There were a few staff members who were friendly and attentive, but overall the service needs improvement. In addition, the only quality meal we had at the hotel was at the Sir John Restaurant, but the need to line up daily to reserve is ridiculous. The quality of the food at the buffets were very poor. We were at the resort with a wedding group and many of the other members of the group expressed similar concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jules26
East Coast
May 22, 2009

Fun vacation

We had a very enjoyable stay, the staff was wonderful, the food was really good for a buffet and we were able to eat in a couple of the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AggieDoc
Fort Worth, TX
May 21, 2009

Great vacation!

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at this hotel. This was our first trip to Jamaica and the Riu Ocho Rios met all our expectations. The room, a junior suite, was clean and roomy and ready for us at check-in. It was perfect for relaxing. The staff, especially at the front desk, was extremely helpful and kind and answered all our questions. The food was pretty good, especially when one considers how difficult it is to feed so many people. Waiting in line for dinner reservations wasn't ideal, but we get up early anyway and didn't find it to be much of an inconvenience. The beach was very nice and kept mostly clean, and the water was clear and beautiful. There were plenty of chairs and tables, along with free equipment to help us enjoy the ocean. The nightly shows were entertaining and fun for all. There wasn't much of a nightlife, but we went to relax and weren't really looking to party too hard. If you're looking for wild nightlife, this hotel is definitely not for you. As for the location, it's not actually in Ocho Rios, so we mainly stayed on the resort. Town is a couple of miles away and cost $20-30 to get a cab ride in, so we didn't go. We went to Dunn's River Falls, which is an absolute can't-miss excursion. The souvenir vendors there are extremely aggressive and somewhat intimidating, but you still have to experience the Falls. I read a few of the negative reviews and honestly felt sorry for those people. One can focus on negative things about any experience, but we had a great time. Overall, if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, and enjoyable Jamaica experience, this hotel is a good choice. Do your homework about the three main resort areas in Jamaica, and if you decide Ocho Rios is for you, definitely consider the Riu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother pre-booking excursions if you're not going during extremely busy times. There are numerous tour companies that have tables set up in the lobby, and they offer a wide variety of trips. Definitely do Dunn's River Falls, and if you stay at the Riu take the boat cruise that drops you off right at the bottom of the Falls.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MissDani
Pittsburgh, PA
May 21, 2009

Great Experience!

The hotel was great and when they say all inclusive they mean all inclusive! WE had a great time the beach was always clean and there were always chairs at the pool and the beach. We honestly had nothing bad to report besides the early morning reservation lines. I can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't go shopping on SUnday very few places are open except for small vendors that will hassle you to come visit each of their booths with the same stuff.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
recentjamaicantourist
New York, NY
May 18, 2009

Nice rooms, only ok food

The rooms were very spacious and clean. The pool was beautiful, but could get crowded. The beach in front of the hotel was great. We had some things taken from our room during our stay - be sure to lock your sliding glass windows at all times (including at night even when you're in the room). Great front desk staff! The activities staff down on the beach could use an attitude adjustment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bibibips restaurant nearby (cab ride) had amazing food...

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 17, 2009

I had such a great time!

I loved this hotel. Best vacation ever for my boyfriend and I, to date. We spent a lot of time on the beach enjoying the sun. We did wish that we got a suite only for the Jacuzzi that comes with it. The food was a big part of our vacation. It was sooo good. There were a lot of local cusines there and we enjoyed that the most. But you can also find all the basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop for all your souvenirs at the craft market in Ocho Rios. You can get really great value for your buck if you bargin, bargin, bargin. Never accept the price offered.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Okeechobee, FL
May 13, 2009

Best Birthday Trip Ever!

The best trip ever. The food was gourmet, the service was first-class, & I can't think of one negative thing about the whole trip. We paid $620 a person, for everything, the plain, food, hotel, drinks, etc.. It doesn't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
May 11, 2009

Good Vacation

Very nice resort, great pools, good drinks and good food. Would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top