Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
381 reviews
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014
Amazing Vacay

From the moment we walked in the staff was super friendly and helpful. Lots to do,food and drinks... See full review

  • Island Dreamers
  • Jul 22, 2014
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.5173 -77.8834
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
A beach front property located in the tourist area of Montego Bay,on the northwest coast of Jamaica, 2.7 mi/4.3 Km from downtown Montego Bay.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (381)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronnie the man
Toronto, Canada
Apr 15, 2013

Very good resort.

My wife and I have been to many AI in other countries but until now, not a Riu. We we impressed with the overall quality of the food, staff, and facilities. This is (a bit) more than an 3* hotel. Easily a 3+, if not a 4*. Its location to the airport (10 mins) means no 'wasted time' travelling. One negative is that the beach is not the greatest. Lots of seaweed and sludge in the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Littlest sis
Glen Ellyn IL
Mar 29, 2013

Relaxing getaway

We took a spur of the moment short trip. This place was all inclusive, which was important. The food was plentiful, and pretty good. We did have difficulty because my sister has to eat gluten free, but we certainly did not starve! The pool was great, it is right on the beach, and the rum punch flowed freely! We took the catamaran/snorkeling trip, which was extra, but well worth it. The horseback riding trip was 5 hours long and although it was fun, it took too much time just to get there and back. Overall, a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FaithfulRIUstayerNOmore
Chicago IL
Mar 28, 2013

Hotel Staff not professional or understanding

My cousin and I stayed at the RIU from March 6th thru March 12th. The first part of the vacation was fine however on the 11th the front desk team contacted us in a very rude manner and said that we had been check out 1 day early. This was due to a booking issue however when we tried to expalin the situation the staff seemed disinterested and rude. THey spoke over me and required we pay additional money or leave, they even went as far as turning off the water and lights in the room while we were sorting things out through the booking agent. THis was our 2nd year stating with RIU in Montego Bay and we Will NEVER stay in a RIU chain hotel again. Not in Mexico, Domincan or anywhere. We did not deserve the treatment we received when it was clear based on our itenerary that we printed out for them that there was a small mistake made on the agents end. Not to mention trying to get dinner reservations at any of the 3 restaurants was close to impossible!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retta loved Jamaica
Montego Bay Jamaica
Mar 19, 2013

Great Getaway

Me and my friend had a wonderful time. The day we checked in the customer service was awesome and our room was ready and clean. First visit to Jamaica and we loved it. The entertainment staff was awesome every night and the activities throughout the day were fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan before you go for activities

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robertw
maine
Mar 6, 2013

vacation

Nice time. Great weather. Hotel was nice. Food was great. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the steak restaurant

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rfield1
Chicago
Mar 4, 2013

Long Weekend Getaway

The hotel was good with great customer service, not to far from night time activities. They didn't have room that was paid for Superior King with Ocean View on arrival, but was upgraded the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B.A.K
Pennsylvania
Mar 3, 2013

Vacation for 2

Very clean! Friendly staff, knew when to ask if you need anything and when to let you just relax and enjoy your vacation. Drinks were weak, but unlimited. Food was good. Very short drive from airport, maybe 10 min, which allows you to start vacation as soon as you land.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Set your reservations to the specialty restaurants for the entire week as soon as you get there while you wait for your room and you wont have to worry about it all week.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LDThe Park
Washington, DC
Mar 1, 2013

Mother's 85th Birthday

Good stay at a moderate price. The staff made it so, with a special shout-out for front desk staff Jason who bent over backwards to keep our group together even though we arrived at different times. The trip was a surprise for my Mom - who stated she added 10 years to her life that week-end. Thanks Rui

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamaica crazy
philly
Feb 26, 2013

Pleasure

Always stay at the riu montego bay, close to airport, downtown, and love the staff always hooks me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yvetteeeee
New York
Feb 19, 2013

You get what you pay for, great for families

We booked this at short notice and had to pay a lot for airfares so the hotel budget was tight. Travelling as 3 singles in our 30's we typically go 4 or 5 star. But we knew what to expect and our expectations were met. The RUI offers a huge pool, nice beach, entertainmment and all you can drink and eat in the cost. The food wasn't top notch but there was enough variety there to meet even the most fusiest of eaters needs. The alcohol was a bottomless pit, so its not surprising really that the place attracts value seekers who are there for a good time. And that means, beer for breakfast, and cocktail for lunch, dinner and in between. The gym was decent enough but on the busy side. The hotel is on the flight path but again we knew that. Probably the worst thing was the rowdy crowd and pace, it wasn't the most relaxing place to visit. The best would have to be the great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top