Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
382 reviews
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014
Amazing Vacay

From the moment we walked in the staff was super friendly and helpful. Lots to do,food and drinks... See full review

  • Island Dreamers
  • Jul 22, 2014

In harmony with island architecture, the new, all-inclusive Riu Montego Bay sits on a beautiful stretch of beach, surrounded by nearly 10 acres of lush gardens. Less than three miles from downtown Montego Bay, 1.7 miles from the international airport and conveniently located near a shopping center, this island oasis offers a wide variety of activities and deluxe accommodations in a serene setting.

Enjoy sports such as windsurfing, sailing, and kayaking in the turquoise waters of Montego Bay, or relax on the beach in a sun lounger.

There are many dining options available, in addition to a 24-hour snack and beverage service. Wireless Internet in the Lobby area for free.

With an on-site spa and golfing nearby, Riu Montego Bay is the ideal vacation destination for families, couples or singles.

Amenities include restaurants, fitness center, sauna, meeting facilities, theatre, tennis courts, 2 outdoor swimming pools with integrated Jacuzzi, one outdoor children's swimming pool, miniclub and activities program for children from 4 - 12, daily activities for adults( 7 days a week), nightly entertainment including live music and Riu Theme Shows( 7 days a week) and a discotheque (entrance and drinks included) open 7 days a week. All meals, drinks, tips and taxes are included. Chargeable amenities are spa services: massages and beauty treatments, beauty salon, conference room rental, internet access, laundary service, babysitting service available upon request, medical staff on call 24 hours, gift shop, sports and activities, scuba diving school, nearby horseback riding.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.

***NO STUDENT GROUPS UNDER 21 YEARS OR 'SPRING BREAKERS' ARE ACCPETED ALL YEARR ROUND***

Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 people per room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All people in the room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.

Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Special requests: Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

Guests have 90 min/day free Wi-Fi-connection in the lobby, we also have Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel, at a charge.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.5173 -77.8834
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
A beach front property located in the tourist area of Montego Bay,on the northwest coast of Jamaica, 2.7 mi/4.3 Km from downtown Montego Bay.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (382)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ishbish
New York, New York
May 8, 2013

Bachelorette Party!

A fantastic Bachelorette Party in a location with pretty good food for an all inclusive and 24 hr access to cocktails! The pool was great... wish we had more time to watch the shows! The staff was super nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigt07735
cliffwood nj
May 8, 2013

great place good for everybody

nice people good food and entretaniment ,good transportation from the hotel to any place . we had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kae12
Miami, Florida
Apr 27, 2013

Chillaxation

Much better than last time I stayed here (2 years ago). Room was clean, although mattress was hard and pillows were lumpy and VERY uncomfortable. Staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Food was good, but not a lot of variety. I did not think the restaurant reservation process was difficult at all (several of the previous reviews said it was). The rooms do need to be upgraded, though. All in all, a good trip. I went for rest and relaxation and I got it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Flud
Sandiego
Apr 25, 2013

25 year old bday celebration

There is no airport shuttle to resort - so you have to take a bus or taxi- for three people taxi was $25 dollars to the riu. Upon arrival, lobby was very spacious and beautiful, they welcome with a rum punch. However the assistant manager at front desk was not being very helpful with questions about the dinner reservations.. The room was clean, decent space & big closet size with a safe, with three beds, mini fridge, an complimentary mini bar, with mixers in the fridge, and decent bathroom, with a mini outdoor patio. Food was one of our biggest disappointments- upon arrival on Friday, we were told the two main restaurants were already booked out thro Sunday- with no Availability except the buffet until Monday.. Even though the frot desk clerk stated you can only make reservations the morning of.... No sense.. Buffet food was good with large variety, however only open at certain times during day. None of the restaurants were open very late- their "24 hour" snack bar/sports bar was only cheese nachos, and old soggy fridge sandwiches.. Drink service was very well, good quality, save a lot of money with the all inclusive part with this especially.!! And when u tip- they service you automatically.. The bar tender would have our drinks ready- by the time we walked up to bar! They have a lunch BBQ on the beach- which was pretty cool, also a lunch patio buffet which was good- and only spot you can eat at in your swim suit The activity staff was very cool and friendly, they did different activities with guests such as volleyball, contests, dancing, games, etc.. Complimentary kayacking, and mini sailing included with your stay- which was really fun to use. The beach sand quality is good,looks beautiful. however beach stretch is not very wide, maybe lil over quarter mile.plus a lot of sea weed a long the shore line We had a very nice time lounging in the beach chairs, & hoping on the volleyball court. The pool was great! Big swim up bar area, a lot of in-pool tables and seats. Very spacious pool, with different areas and sections. There are built in lounge chairs in the shallow water, Also volleyball net in shallow pool area as well. They have night time activities, including shows, entertainment , live bands, dancing, and a night disco/club. The disco has a nice bar in it, with DJ and dance floor! Nightlife outside the resort is a little limited- There is a complimentary shuttle bus that takes you to margaritaville in town- however its $10 to get in, and about $10 in average per drink But was a very good time!!! Djs were great, an a lot Dancing!! They have tours and exclusions leaving straight from the hotel at additional costs. We did the horse back riding tour one day, which was fun, however there's no fast riding- you ride on the beach for a little bit, and little bit in the water- but mainly on a flat trail We also did the catarmeran boat with the hike to dunns river falls.. My favorite part of the trip by far was the water hike!!! Soo awesome and beautiful- although large groups of people- still an enjoyable time! We also did the tour to maragritville in negril- wih the shopping stop, and trip to rocks cafe. Maragritville was beautiful- the beach was awesome- the boys went seadoing while we layed on the beach and swam. Then we hit the shipping part in the tour- which was at a mini mall.. Prices seems very high- like average $20 for a shirt Then last stop on the tour was ricks cafe- which was really cool- and has cliff jumping. Pricing for food was really costly. $11 for a cheese burger with nothing else.. Like $17 for a pasta We paid about $235 for all three tours total per person So a little costly. But good time. All And all the trip wa awesome!! Very fun, relaxing & adventurous! We def. got our money's worth in alcohol for the all inclusive pricing. Lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Might want to check other sites for excursions to compare pricing. Plus you might want to hire a van/bus on your own to get around if you have large group - would probably save a lot more money- and have more freedom to go places you want to see or stop at

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronnie the man
Toronto, Canada
Apr 15, 2013

Very good resort.

My wife and I have been to many AI in other countries but until now, not a Riu. We we impressed with the overall quality of the food, staff, and facilities. This is (a bit) more than an 3* hotel. Easily a 3+, if not a 4*. Its location to the airport (10 mins) means no 'wasted time' travelling. One negative is that the beach is not the greatest. Lots of seaweed and sludge in the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Littlest sis
Glen Ellyn IL
Mar 29, 2013

Relaxing getaway

We took a spur of the moment short trip. This place was all inclusive, which was important. The food was plentiful, and pretty good. We did have difficulty because my sister has to eat gluten free, but we certainly did not starve! The pool was great, it is right on the beach, and the rum punch flowed freely! We took the catamaran/snorkeling trip, which was extra, but well worth it. The horseback riding trip was 5 hours long and although it was fun, it took too much time just to get there and back. Overall, a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FaithfulRIUstayerNOmore
Chicago IL
Mar 28, 2013

Hotel Staff not professional or understanding

My cousin and I stayed at the RIU from March 6th thru March 12th. The first part of the vacation was fine however on the 11th the front desk team contacted us in a very rude manner and said that we had been check out 1 day early. This was due to a booking issue however when we tried to expalin the situation the staff seemed disinterested and rude. THey spoke over me and required we pay additional money or leave, they even went as far as turning off the water and lights in the room while we were sorting things out through the booking agent. THis was our 2nd year stating with RIU in Montego Bay and we Will NEVER stay in a RIU chain hotel again. Not in Mexico, Domincan or anywhere. We did not deserve the treatment we received when it was clear based on our itenerary that we printed out for them that there was a small mistake made on the agents end. Not to mention trying to get dinner reservations at any of the 3 restaurants was close to impossible!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retta loved Jamaica
Montego Bay Jamaica
Mar 19, 2013

Great Getaway

Me and my friend had a wonderful time. The day we checked in the customer service was awesome and our room was ready and clean. First visit to Jamaica and we loved it. The entertainment staff was awesome every night and the activities throughout the day were fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan before you go for activities

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robertw
maine
Mar 6, 2013

vacation

Nice time. Great weather. Hotel was nice. Food was great. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the steak restaurant

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rfield1
Chicago
Mar 4, 2013

Long Weekend Getaway

The hotel was good with great customer service, not to far from night time activities. They didn't have room that was paid for Superior King with Ocean View on arrival, but was upgraded the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top