Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robbie07
Business
NYC
Sep 7, 2013

Great end of summer break

Beautiful resort. Spotless and relaxing with plenty of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kamikazekelly
Business
NC
Aug 30, 2013

Amazing trip, hotel was great, but scuba people were horrible

overall it was fantastic, but I'm sure a lot of that had to do with the people I went with. We were very excited about having the scuba stuff at the hotel, but sadly they were extremely rude. so we only did out first dive with them. Luckily the customer service people at the front desk hooked us up with a dive shop 7 minutes away call Sea World Scuba at the Carablue hotel. Vincent was our guide and was fantastic. Took us where and wanted to go and was just a really nice guy. The tubing and ziplining we did with Chukka tours was a blast. I strongly recommend. The hotel employees (other than the scuba people) were amazingly nice. The entertainment was a lot fun. The dancers were great. The Italian restaurant was by far my favorite of the 3 restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jhon smith
Business
home
Aug 26, 2013

one star

Don't waste your money. They need to teach their staff the meaning of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avidtraveler348
Business
orlando, fl
Aug 26, 2013

Great Value for the price

The hotel grounds was amazing!! The rooms however are not very modern and definitely needs some upgrading. The staff are some of the nicest people I've met! Overall a great value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GlobetrotDoc
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 25, 2013

Not bad

Overall, it was a good resort. The food is amazing! Downside- dinner reservations go fast so try to set it up your first day. The beach was beautiful and pretty well kept. The bars were well staffed and the drink variety was so vast I didn't have the same drink twice the entire 4 day stay! Not quite as personable as other resorts I've stayed at, but still good staff for the most part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Girl 27
Business
Princeton, NJ
Aug 19, 2013

Great getaway

This was my fourth time at this resort and I still love it! The workers are wonderful and friendly and the resort has alot to offer. I will definitely be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FluffyGeorgia
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 4, 2013

Rest and Relaxation

First upon arrival my check in was a bit frustrating, but thanks to Christina from the front desk she automatically made it more inviting and comfortable. This was my 3rd visit and this visit was more about relaxation and enjoying the amenities of the hotel. I did not go on any excursion so I enjoyed the entertainment provided, lounging in the lobby and on the beach. Compare to previous trips this was a little different, but I enjoyed it anyway. Staff in the dining area were the friendliest and provided great services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Always provided a good variety of entertainment love it

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
c317
Business
Indiana
Jul 22, 2013

2nd time in Jamaica!!!!!!!

K Low Down: The Good: 1. Entertainment 2.Pool 3. Main Buffet 4. Beach better than I thought... I had low expectations based on other reviews 5. Entertainment AWESOME Girl Trip The Bad: 1. Restaurants were all buffet style... and not as good as the main buffet 2. No Premium Liquor 3.No Room Service 4. Average Rooms If you want quite romantic amazing beach it's not the place for you. You want entertainment, quick good buffet to settle the liquor down and a decent beach, and a blast at the pool! It's a must go! Ive been to several all inclusives' you get what you pay for... this resort is a happy medium! We ate the buffets because we were there to have fun and drink NOT for the fine dining...( I'm 38! married and a kid) I've been to Cancun, DR, Jamaica before... all over the Caribbean... All the Saints...! I LOVE JAMAICA... because of the FUN... DUNN RIVER FALLS IS A MUST!!!!! Oct Ill be in Hawaii for the Romance and relaxation....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WWJ world traveller
Business
Maryland
Jul 8, 2013

RIU Montego Bay

The staff at RIU MoBay is the best any where on the island. They are friendly and attentive. The Jerk Hut is worth the trip alone! Just a short drive from the airport yet all the ambiance of Negril.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant is buffet. The Italian restaurant is both. Sign up for the Steak restaurant early, it fills up fast.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatieH
Business
New York
Jul 7, 2013

Nothing to write home about

Well -- I must say we had a great overall time but it wasn't because of the amenities or the food. Typical resort food. Best was the steakhouse which require reservations. All other eateries were buffet style. A few years ago, my husband and I and 1 friends went to the majestic colonial in the DR. We loved it there. Didn't fully appreciate how gorgeous it was until we arrived here in Jamaica. Just blehhh! Views were nothin special. Beach was so-so. The huge plus to this resort is that it stayed lively until lateeee. Like 4am. Other resorts we've gone to are like a ghost town past 10 so this was much more our speed. We left our kids home for a reason. I DO NOT recommend for honeymoon or wedding. No way, no how!!!!!!!! Nothing romantic about this place and it was run over with kids! Hope this helps you. We would not go back. Overall experience was good because we always like to have fun and meet people but the resort wasn't even pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My iPhone was stolen out of the locker at Margaritaville. Be sure to get locks on your locker. You must rent one from the manager.

Back to menu Return to top