Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
878 out of 878
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDavy Ya Mon
Business
Tampa
Jan 22, 2014

Ya Mon! The Best Place to bring the FAMILY

Enjoyed the hospitality of the staff! Food excellent, the hotel environment was very appealing! Family oriented! Always a smile on the staff's face which made everyone else smile and have a great time! I will go again with my family to the same resort! Thank you Holiday Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candycane15
Business
New York
Jan 20, 2014

Awesome staff!

We booked this trip because it was reasonably priced and seems to have gotten relatively good reviews. I was definitely surprised at how much better it was than I expected! During the day you can eat at the jerk hit or the grill both of which were delicious options. The buffet was delish for breakfast and hit or miss for lunch/dinner. Kenko restaurant was absolutely delicious! They had live entertainment every night which was kind of corny but fun, and if you have children they had daily activities for them. The staff was super nice and accommodating! I would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Kenko restaurant, try the jerk hut for the chicken or pork, and the seaside grill for fried fish or a delicious burger!

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Familyis1
Business
Maryland
Jan 2, 2014

Awesome Family Vacation

We went for 1 week and hotel was awesome. Will recommend the hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dadpower2
Business
fairfax va
Dec 30, 2013

Winter break

Everything was fine. Just note that if the check- in is 3 PM, that means that the room will be ready exactly at this time. We had to wait a couple of hours but otherwise everything was nice. Activities were sufficient and food was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ire mon
Business
Maryland
Dec 11, 2013

Not bad for the price.

The hotel is a dated 25 + year old facility. Well maintained, but not upto the more modern hotels of the Carribean. Narrow beaches with no waves coming onto the sand ast there is a reef about 100 yards off shore where the waves break. Some sort of seaweed is growing on the bottom right near the shore were you would normally wade into the ocean. Food is just average and the mixed drinks are very weak. The only beer is Red Stripe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reseervations for the special dining early.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
blissful122
Business
Grandview, Missouri
Dec 8, 2013

table for 6 please

Upon arrival approached by cabby to buy weed ( not a good start ) not even checked in yet. It took the front desk nearly 1 hour to check all 6 of us in ( reservations were made 4 months in advance). Nearly every question we asked we were ignored with an occasional rudeness they said I am trying. I would say that about 70% of the staff never smiled, they walked away from you always ignored your questions. The other 30% of staff were totally awesome always happy to be there and help make your vacation pleasurable. Tipping not required but I am here to tell you they ask for it and if you don't they will not make you a drink. This holds true for the whole island to include drivers, tour guides, EVERYONE you come in contact with. The locals HARASS you while trying to shop, this was the most horrifying experience of my life, I was scared to death while running away from them. This hotel really needs to send their staff to some customer service classes or just clean out the bad ones that hate working there. I was never rude to anyone, always smiled and tipped so I just expected to be treated the same in return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your dinners they offer cause buffets are bad, but be aware dinners in hotel restaurants last and average of 1 & 1/2 to complete and they want tipped too.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DGJ33
Business
New York
Dec 8, 2013

Go elsewhere

The only thing going for this place is the location. Drinks were horrible, food was no good with no variety. Even the restaurants were not good. I did not find the staff very friendly except for the buffet hostess and the maid service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beck8271
Business
Rossford, Oh
Dec 4, 2013

Not great, but not bad.

Pros: The location of the hotel was good and was just a short drive from the airport. We had a one bedroom suite that was located on the main floor. My son loved the fact he could run out of the room and right onto the beach. The beach was shallow enough he could go almost anywhere and the water was only thigh high (he is 46”tall). The beach itself was very clean and we never had to wait for a chair. The Wi-Fi also worked on the beach. Cons: When we arrived, we had to argue to get the room we reserved. Our reservation stated a one bedroom suite with a king bed and sofa bed. The hotel staff stated it was a guarantee room. The manager found us the room we reserved. We lost power at least 5 times during our stay. There were several light bulbs missing or burned out in our room making the bathroom and living areas dark. The sofa's pull out bed had rust stains on it. The room itself needed a good scrubbing. The tile around the shower was caked with mud. The room had a whirlpool tub, but it did not work. Majority of the staff greeted us with a smile, but others seemed that we were an inconvenience. The food at the nightly buffet was pretty blah and it was the same thing every night. The specialty restaurants were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sujay01
Business
Northern VA
Dec 4, 2013

Great family resort

The Holiday Inn Sunspree resort is great for families, and has everything for a relaxing vacation- unlimited food and drinks (alcoholic and non), well maintained beachfront, pool areas, nice rooms, watersports, a tiny island off the main beach area , helpful hotel staff, good service.. alongwith the awesome weather in Montego Bay. There could be a couple of improvements- sometimes the live entertainment shows/ music did not elicit a lot of audience excitement, also drinks were served on a walkup basis with kids playing around-could be a concern with older kids. Also outside excursions and taxis booked through the hotel seemed expensive.. but apparently those are the rates at the resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Poore
Business
Fresno, ca
Dec 3, 2013

Average stay

Jamaica is not an amazing country with out the safety of a resort. This is a good one for the price. BE aware that if you stay in building 1 you will hear the band play until 1am. The sit down restaurants need a 24 hour reservation to eat at they fill up fast and you can only book one day in advance. While the resort says no tips everyone and I mean everyone expects them. The food was great and the all inclusive feature of liquor is only for the Jamaican rum. Don't get hurt because the nurses station is only open from 9am-6pm and even then they will just send you to the hospital which is also only open until 6pm. There are children everywhere because kids under 12 are free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

To do the tours of sites you will have to pay the price per person for the tour, plus the cost of the transportation and the "tour guides" will expect a tip. Be aware of sea urchins they are in the shallow shore water

Back to menu Return to top