Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
800 reviews
amazing family time

everyone was helpful amazing ambiance, the food was good and the entertainment was great for adults... See full review

  • andrea aaa
  • Mar 9, 2014
Awesome Family Vacation

We went for 1 week and hotel was awesome. Will recommend the hotel to all my friends. See full review

  • Familyis1
  • Jan 2, 2014
All inclusive for families, couples on magnificent Montego Bay coast

The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort is a full-service, all-inclusive resort nestled on a breathtaking half-mile beach six miles from downtown Montego Bay. Daytime activities revolve around the beach, which has a full range of water sports and a festive pool complex. The full-service Sol-Mer Spa & Salon spoils patrons in a tropical setting. The eight restaurants and bars offer a variety of tempting delights, from romantic dining to the fun Barefoot Bar & Grill. Slip into the electronic casino after dark or enjoy the tennis courts and two swimming pools.

Family-friendly, all-inclusive beach paradise near Montego Bay

Highlights
  • Half-mile long beach with private island
  • Full-service Sol-Mer Spa & Salon
  • Vibrant pool complex, tennis courts and Kids program
  • Meeting space and shopping area
  • Children 12 and under stay, play and eat free
Rooms

The 518 guest rooms are brightly decorated with tropical themes that blend naturally into the lush Jamaican flora.  All rooms have two double beds or one king bed, balcony or patio, flat-screen television, free Wi-Fi access, safe deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and ironing equipment. Some units offer separate living areas and Jacuzzis.

Features

Recreational amenities at the resort include the large lagoon shaped free–form swimming pool, fitness centre, full-service Sol-Mer Spa & Salon and children's activity centres. The resort also boasts of adults–only pool with swim–up bar and whirlpool, four tennis courts, nine-hole mini golf course and Wi-Fi access throughout the resort (fees apply).

For entertainment, tourists can head to the on-site electronic casino (for ages 18 and over), relax at the oceanfront whirlpool and unwind at the Port Royal Pub / Lounge. Guests can also have fun at the game room/arcade or trying snorkeling, pedal boating, kayaking and catamaran sailing.

Dining

Diners enjoy the International foods and tasty island delicacies Portside Buffet Restaurant or stop by at Sea Breeze, gazebo-style restaurant offering à la carte grilled specialties at the beach. Sorrento offers fine dining Italian dishes while overlooking the ocean while De Terrace delights with à la carte traditional Jamaican favourites. Guests share a tropical drink with friends and family at De Lobby Bar or visit Big Smaddy Bar at the adult pool. Jus' Kiddin' for Kids caters to the younger set while Barefoot Bar & Grill serves appetising hamburgers, hot dogs and etc. Port Royal Pub / Lounge features unlimited fun, Caribbean style.

Kenko Japanese Restaurant  is Japanese Teppanyaki concept with à la carte dining. This restaurant is not part of the All-Inclusive meal plan. Aa premium charge of US$20 per person applies, and children 12 and under eat free.

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (7 minutes)

 

Attractions
  • Golf (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Martha Brae's River Rafting (24 mi./38.6 km)
  • Downtown Montego Bay (10 mi./16.1 km)
  • Dunn's River Falls (55 mi./88.5 km)

 

Business
  • Business Center staffed between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.
  • Copying and courier service
  • Banquet facilities
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting facilities with 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space

 

Policies and fees
  • All inclusive package includes room, meals and snacks, and non-motorized water sports
  • Free parking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (800)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
800 out of 800
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Pharmacist Teri
Washington State
Jan 5, 2013

Ok for Kids

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. They made the difference in this visit. The hotel itself is great for kids, but very loud at night with computer generated ambiance. They also have an arrangement with a taxi company which keeps out the local cabbies keeping the prices very high unless one leaves the hotel compound to find better pricing. Local commerce is kept away from this facility. With kids, this hotel was great giving much to do for them. For an adult, I would stay elsewhere. The staff should be given the highest rating as they were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1/4 mile down the road away from the shops directly across the street, the local Jamaicans have set up shops. They were kicked out from the stores directly across the street. Walk 1/4 mile and shop from them. Deals are better, they are very nice and support the locals!!!!!!! It;s worth it. You'll find local cabbies also very reasonable if you leave the compound.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Thandrr
Morgantown, WV
Jan 3, 2013

Good Family friendly hotel

The good: # Staff are friendly # Food is not fancy, but very good. The New years spread was great # The beach is on a cove # Proximity to airport The not so good, # This is an 2-3 star property # AC was noisy and not very effective Over all, we and our family enjoyed the stay. They have activities. We have seen better new years eve parties though. After all the reviews we heard, Montego Bay and Jamaica felt safe. There was not much hassle from vendors, as long you keep your distance and say a nice "no thank you" Prices in the hotel shop are comparable to ones in town. Have a great stay !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Talk to the drivers in the lobby before deciding on the tours from the tour desk, may be a better deal if you are in a group.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
KellyK01
Jamaica
Jan 2, 2013

adult section

We stayed towards the adult section and loved it. We were in building 6 which was 1 away from being the last and it was a great spot! The main pool and main lobby was loud and lots to do but staying by the adult swimming pool with swim up bar and the adult beach it was very quiet and relaxing. Security guards made sure to keep under age people out of the adult areas which was really nice to see. Drinks are ok, food was iffy, some staff very nice while others were horrible. pick and choose. over all it was a good experience. Very happy and relaxed when we came back home. Charlies craft area at the conrer of the adult beach is pretty good also! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Thrill Seeking
Phila., PA
Jan 2, 2013

No Thrill

The hotel is situated in a great location, but it lack the thrilling filling of being on a carribean island. Front desk staff was friendly, but slow. The food was always cold and tasteless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
New Palestine family
New Palestine, IN
Jan 1, 2013

Family Christmas

This was our first all inclusive and it was great. We enjoyed the beautiful weather, beaches, and actitivies. The resort was very clean and well kept. The buffet was our least favorite but okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Aruba Beach Bum
North Jersey
Dec 29, 2012

Something for everyone

It's a very good stay for the money. We had an ocean front room. A very short walk to the beach. The food in the main dining room is very good as it has a variety of choices. But the food at the seafood restaurant, a short walk from our room, is not up to par. As a matter of fact, it's aweful to say the least. The only complain that we have is the lack of a shuttle bus by the hotel to take people to and from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not have dinner at the seafood restaurant. The food is aweful.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
dakota00
Michigan
Dec 29, 2012

good trip

Hotel was fine--the 3 star rating fits as we have also stayed in 5 star hotels.. We had no problems or issues and it was worth the money. Hint: The excursions always take longer than they say. Add 1-2 hours to the return time specified. We liked the fact that it was close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Very active mom
Michigan
Dec 26, 2012

Feels like I was trapped in cage - activities for small children only

Room and food was OK; entertainment was good; GYM was small and crowded, but you can find everything you need. Volleyball was terrible – basically there is no volleyball, court is concrete with something like gravel on top, very dangerous! And I usually not afraid to fall, I play volleyball at least several times a week and usually looking forward for any vacations to play beach volleyball, not at Holliday Inn. Swimming was by far the worst I ever experienced!!! You can’t pass the rope, which is not even up to my chest! There is absolutely no swimming in the ocean! You cannot walk along the beach like everywhere else. There are guards on both ends and you can’t pass them! You really are incarcerated! And hotel does not have enough territory for all the people trapped in there; it’s overcrowded all the time. Water activities is the same way – you are trapped inside tied area which is just a few steps, if you like kayaks and paddle boats, you will not enjoy it there; maybe OK if you have never done it before. Also hotel is too close to city, you can't walk. Maybe good only if you have very small children, my daughter is 14 and was bored to death, and small children were everywhere! Way too much for me. I will absolutely never ever go back there!!!!!! Or any other Holliday Inn hotels outside USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Silver honey mooners
Bermuda
Dec 21, 2012

Great place in the wrong country

We had a great time at the Holiday Inn Sunspree. We spend 5 days in middle of December there to get some sun and ocean and to celebrate our silver anniversary. The staff was always helpful and friendly. Yes, they like tips, however, more important seemed to us to treat them friendly and polite and with respect. We got more smiles for praise of their work and the service than for any of the tips. We had opted for the Deluxe Room and enjoyed a great ocean view. The room was very clean, with tiled floors that got mopped daily. (they don't provide conditioner). The All-Inclusive package is what you need in Jamaica. You don't really want to leave the complex because there are constant beggars, t-shirt sales people and even worse: robberies. We thought it would be somewhat like in Bermuda where you can go everywhere and are safe by yourself, but outside the hotel it was more like Haiti. We had rented a car, however, we only used it once for a little trip, but the streets are in very bad condition and you just don't feel (nor are) safe. We should have taken a taxi (You have to agree on a price before you even leave) or the shuttle to and from the hotel and just stayed there or maybe booked one of the tours. The food was of high quality, good quantities, and very fresh. It offers a nice mix of local dishes and fruits, and standard dishes. We ate at three of the a-la-cart restaurants (seafood, Jamaican, and Italian), however, the reservations are best done the day before in the morning. They only sit so many per seating, though the restaurants appear half empty and could easily sit more. You can only reserve each restaurant once per week which felt a little cheap. Nonetheless, the dinner at the main buffet restaurant was great too, its just lacking a bit of atmosphere and you have to listen to the animation/entertainment. Some of which was okay, but in general the speaker volume was too loud and some of the "games" were an insult to adult intelligence and would have fitted maybe college week parties. They had some musicians and traditional dancers who were good (but too loud as well). We often went to the beaches away from the center to have some quiet time. The pool seemed clean and great for families. The beach is long, has many sun recliners, and some (enough) shade from umbrellas and trees, however, for swimming the water wasn't deep enough. Its great to just lay in it, or to snorkel a bit. There is a reef about 20 to 30 yards from the beach that breaks the waves. They have several out door bars and an adult only area and pool as well for those who come without children. We kept to beer (Jamaican Red Stripe, pretty good beer), soda water, and wine (so so) but others were drinking hard liquor and long drinks as if there was no tomorrow. The staff was willing to fill bigger containers if you brought them. But refills were no problem at all. We had no problems with diarrhea though we drank the water, ate the fruit and salads from the buffet, and had ice cream. We will probably not go back to Jamaica, but that is because of the crime and poverty outside the resorts. Within the hotel we found it very safe, clean, friendly and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Whoooo
Michigan
Dec 17, 2012

Relaxing get away

We just spent a week at the Holiday Inn Sunspree. It is a good resort for the price. The staff was very attentive to our needs. The drinks were plentiful. There was always enough choices to eat well. Over all you can not beat it for the price, if you want high class this isn't for you, but if you want to vacation and not empty your bank account this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top