Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Solis Hotel Rome

3 stars
Via Cavour, 311, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Excellent Location

Excellent location and right in the center of the historical attractions. Staffs are very helpful... See full review

  • Ray Don
  • Aug 8, 2012
Location was worth every penny

This hotel was great. It was within walking distance to everything in town and was worth the... See full review

  • 1der
  • Jun 19, 2012
Newly renovated hotel overlooks Rome’s ancient ruins

This three-star hotel has a bright, fresh feel after a recent renovation. Affordability allows you to spend your savings on your Roman experience, not accommodations. Simple, but tasteful rooms at Hotel Solis have views of ancient Rome. Step out your door and walk to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and numerous historical attractions. Hotel Solis provides complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi (fees apply) throughout the hotel. Termini Station and underground stops Colosseo and Cavour can be reached by foot.  

Highlights
  • Walk to Colosseum
  • Ancient churches nearby
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Recent renovation
Location

Located on Via Cavour between underground stops Colosseo and Cavour, and a short walk toTermini Station, Roman attractions are at your disposal. Walk to the Colosseum, Roman forum and many ancient churches. Piazza Venezia and shopping on Via del Corso can also be reached on foot.

Rooms

Accommodations, though small, are tastefully decorated and have a fresh feel after a recent renovation. The hotel's 17 soundproofed rooms have views of the Roman Forum. A buffet breakfast is included in your rate and all rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), mini bar, and desk.

Features

Hotel Solis offers renovated accommodations and affordability overlooking the Roman Forum. The hotel's position allows guests to walk to the Colosseum and many ancient attractions. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast before setting out to see the sights, then relax at the hotel bar or TV lounge at the end of your day. Renovated rooms with Wi-Fi (fees apply) and modern amenities provide comfort during your stay. Hotel Solis provides a concierge, office services and parking (fees apply). Underground stops Colosseo and Cavour are nearby, as well as Termini Station.

Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport
  • Ciampino Airport
  • Termini Station
  • Closest train stops: Colosseo and Cavour
Attractions
  • Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
  • Colosseum
  • Domus Aurea
  • Roman Forum
  • Arco di Constantino
  • Piazza Venezia
  • Palatino

Solis Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Double Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Triple Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solis Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8939 12.4898
Area served
Rome, Italy

Nearby points of interest

  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.3 mi
  • Palatine Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.3 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.3 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.3 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Marforio: 0.4 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.4 mi
  • House of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.4 mi
  • Palatino: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.5 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Solis Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray Don
Business
Madison, WI USA
Aug 8, 2012

Excellent Location

Excellent location and right in the center of the historical attractions. Staffs are very helpful and particularly Jenny. They all try the best to help you in anyway can. We will stay again in this hotel if we come to Rome again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anatolia
Ankara, Türkiye
Jan 7, 2012

Great Location, Helpful Staff

The Solis Hotel has great location. It is very close to famous ancient buildings in Rome. Walk away from Termini station. Breakfast is satisfactory but its room is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lafornarina
Eugene, OR
Sep 25, 2009

A good bang for your buck

If you're fussy and looking for an American style luxury hotel, this probably isn't the spot for you. However, if you're looking for a comfortable, convenient and cost effective place to stay, this place is excellent. The only thing I didn't like was the unfriendly lady who tends to work the front desk in the afternoon. She likes to lay on the couch in the lounge and watch tv/talk on the phone, which makes things very awkward if you need something. She also begrudged us using the ground floor restroom, insisting it was for staff only, although there was no sign to that effect, no lock and no one else seemed to have any trouble with it. I don't think she quite understands the service industry. All the others on the staff, however, were friendly and helpful and I was overall satisfied with my stay. I plan to stay there again next time I go to Rome and would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyla
Connecticut
Jan 16, 2012

Great price and location but left something to be desired...

After reading all the prier reviews, I was a bit weary... The location was as good as it gets, lots of restaurants in the area and just a few minutes walking to the coliseum and metro. Breakfast is the only included meal (which is fine because you want to eat out most of the time) always the same: coffee machine, juice, milk, cereal, bread, ham, salami, cheese, hardboiled egg. Room was small, but not much time was spent there anyways. The Staff was great, very nice people; most of which spoke English well. No real Wi-Fi, you had to pay extra for it. They did have a computer set up in the lobby for guest uses but no privacy and no printer. DO NOT ASK FOR SHUTTLE SERVICE!!! I thought it was an included service most hotels have.... NOT THIS ONE. They sent a personal driver for us and we ended up spending 55 Euros we didn't expect to. I know it sounds a bit intimidating but the train is definitely the way to go. Only €14 per person and €1 for the transfer to get on the right train to the hotel. It's very easy to use and if you get confused, the people are more than willing to help. Definitely recommend you get “Rick Steves' Rome" travel book with the map, It's a big help with travel ideas and how to use the metro. We had an incredible trip hope you do as well =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The further away from the tourist areas the less expensive things get; like souvenirs, panini stands, ... It's worth it to just go a little bit further.

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 15, 2011

The Hotel Solis...AWESOME LOCATION!

The hotel was very nice and we thought appropriate for a three star rating. It was small but this is not unlike most hotels that I've stayed at in Europe. The staff were friendly and willing to help, except that I had one run-in with a housekeeper that I think was just getting off of work and wanted to go home. I asked her for hot water in the breakfast area and she was fairly rude. However the concierge was very accommodating and helped me with the water immediately. The breakfast buffet was really more like snacks...pastries, cornflakes, hard-boiled eggs, and a variety of breads and the beverages were coffee, orange Juice, hot chocolate and tea. It was small but the quality was fairly decent. For the most part our stay was very enjoyable and you simply could not beat the location. We were not more than a five minute walk from the Colosseum s and right down the block you could see the Roman Forum. That TOTALLY ROCKED! Plus most in our area could peak a little English and were very friendly. The only real negative part of our stay was when we were checking out and were hit with the city tax that could only be paid in Euro (no credit cards accepted). that really angered me because if had known that upfront we could have planned better. It was a good thing we had the Euros on hand. I don't mind paying for it...I would have liked to have known about it. Otherwise, I do recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The deli's are all around and very affordable and delicious!

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Jun 7, 2011

Great location to Forum & Colosseum!

Great hotel and location for the money. I shopped around on the internet and finally decided on this hotel. We arrived in the morning and dropped off our luggage in the hotel lobby and did not return until later that night. So, literally, we only slept there, and got up the next morning to go to the airport. We only had one day in Rome after our Mediterranean cruise, and dragged our kids to all the major Rome sites. We were able to walk a few blocks to see the forum and Colosseum. We could lean out our window and see the forum ruins. Restaurants and other necessary stores on this street, surprisingly quiet considering you're in the heart of Rome. Our only negatives were that the A/C in our room was not very cold as we are used to in the United States, but we were so tired, we just collapsed after a long day. The hotel also was not able to exchange money, but there is an exchange store on the same block. Nice staff and at 7am they have a continental breakfast room to start you off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terri H
UK
Jan 27, 2012

value for money hotel

The only small problem was the fan in the bathroom which stayed on all night, since emailing the hotel this has been rectified for future guests. Friendly staff ideal location to see the attractions. Good clean hotel for the price although the rooms are small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All within easy reach

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayton
Syracuse, NY
Oct 3, 2010

Clean and quiet

Very clean and remarkably quiet rooms for being located on a busy street so close to the coliseum and imperial forum. Centrally located and within walking distance to everything in the heart of ancient Rome and the Vatican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options close by. Small shops within 100' of hotel entrance have inexpensive ice cream, sodas and more.

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chucky1
ny,ny
Dec 18, 2011

transportation difficulties

the hotel was fine, but the transportation to airport was not .coming from airport there was no bus available. going to airport the driver has to stop so many places which we almost lost our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1der
Charlotte, NC
Jun 19, 2012

Location was worth every penny

This hotel was great. It was within walking distance to everything in town and was worth the location alone. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room we had was small compared to an American hotel but the bathroom was surprisingly large for a European hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door is Cavour 313. It is the best local restaurant around with locally sourced food and wine. The wine list is more of a wine book and should not be missed!

Back to menu Return to top