Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Solis Hotel Rome

3 stars
Via Cavour, 311, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Excellent Location

Excellent location and right in the center of the historical attractions. Staffs are very helpful... See full review

  • Ray Don
  • Aug 8, 2012
Location was worth every penny

This hotel was great. It was within walking distance to everything in town and was worth the... See full review

  • 1der
  • Jun 19, 2012
Located in an ideal spot from which the ancient Imperial Roman Forums are actually visible and the great Colosseum of Rome is literally just around the corner, the 3 star Hotel Solis in the historical centre of Rome is the ideal accommodation for those who wish to stay in a comfortable and good quality accommodation without spending all of their holiday savings and yet still be in the heart of everything.Wireless internet throughout, buffet breakfast included (Italian), hotel bar, lifts, internet point, office services, luggage storage.

Solis Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Double Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Triple Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solis Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8939 12.4898
Area served
Rome, Italy

Nearby points of interest

  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.3 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.3 mi
  • Palatine Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.3 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.3 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.3 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Marforio: 0.4 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.4 mi
  • House of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.4 mi
  • Palatino: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.5 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Solis Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray Don
Business
Madison, WI USA
Aug 8, 2012

Excellent Location

Excellent location and right in the center of the historical attractions. Staffs are very helpful and particularly Jenny. They all try the best to help you in anyway can. We will stay again in this hotel if we come to Rome again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin' travelin'
Business
Norman, OK
Jan 17, 2011

Great bang for the buck!

Just returned from an 8-night stay at the Hotel Solis. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect!!! Only minutes from two metro stops and the Coliseum. Breakfast was included in the price and the rooms were cleaned every day. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. The only observation (certainly not a complaint) was that the room was VERY small, but we did have a large closet and bathroom. The photos were a bit misleading in that respect, but the details of the room and the rest of the hotel were exactly as shown in the photos. There was also a refrigerator and an in-room safe. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are many free attractions to visit in Rome - a simple internet search found dozens of places to see. The Roma Pass is essential for using the metro and the 3-day pass includes free entrance to two museums or other attractions and a discount on any others you purchase while there.

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a.bride
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Exactly what we were looking for

My husband and I just spent 8 nights at Hotel Solis for our honeymoon in Rome. We were budget sensitive when picking a hotel and did not go through a travel agency. Hotel Solis was very honest with their website and we were pleased with our stay. The room has all the amenities we wanted. Breakfast was simple, but allowed us to eat before we embarked on exploring the city. The location could not have been better- we were close to a metro station, but were able to walk most places on foot, tons of cafes in the area. The staff was very helpful and patient. Neither one of us speak Italian and they assisted with getting a Taxi and other helpful info. We would stay here again when visiting Rome and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler234567890
Business
US
Dec 1, 2011

Pleasantly surprised!

The staff was very nice and all spoke enough English to communicate. The room was a little mildewy, but was spacious (for Europe) and the location of this hotel is AMAZING. I had read a few reviews that complained about the staff and about there not being an area to leave your bags while you tour, both items are untrue. The staff was nice and helpful, and there's a room where we left our suitcases and there were numerous other bags there as well from other travelers. That was nice, because we checked out at 11 and our flight wasn't until 8pm, so we got to sightsee without our luggage. Breakfast was pretty decent, considering it was included which is rare around there. Croissants, donuts, and cereal and rolls with cheese, cappuccino and orange juice. There are plenty of places nearby to get fruit and other items if you want more food than that. We loved having tv in the room with English channels! CNN and BBC. I would have liked wifi, but knew the hotel probably wouldn't provide it. They DO have a computer you can use in the lobby, and there is a restaurant with wifi across the street that is open for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chucky1
Business
ny,ny
Dec 18, 2011

transportation difficulties

the hotel was fine, but the transportation to airport was not .coming from airport there was no bus available. going to airport the driver has to stop so many places which we almost lost our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anatolia
Business
Ankara, Türkiye
Jan 7, 2012

Great Location, Helpful Staff

The Solis Hotel has great location. It is very close to famous ancient buildings in Rome. Walk away from Termini station. Breakfast is satisfactory but its room is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyla
Business
Connecticut
Jan 16, 2012

Great price and location but left something to be desired...

After reading all the prier reviews, I was a bit weary... The location was as good as it gets, lots of restaurants in the area and just a few minutes walking to the coliseum and metro. Breakfast is the only included meal (which is fine because you want to eat out most of the time) always the same: coffee machine, juice, milk, cereal, bread, ham, salami, cheese, hardboiled egg. Room was small, but not much time was spent there anyways. The Staff was great, very nice people; most of which spoke English well. No real Wi-Fi, you had to pay extra for it. They did have a computer set up in the lobby for guest uses but no privacy and no printer. DO NOT ASK FOR SHUTTLE SERVICE!!! I thought it was an included service most hotels have.... NOT THIS ONE. They sent a personal driver for us and we ended up spending 55 Euros we didn't expect to. I know it sounds a bit intimidating but the train is definitely the way to go. Only €14 per person and €1 for the transfer to get on the right train to the hotel. It's very easy to use and if you get confused, the people are more than willing to help. Definitely recommend you get “Rick Steves' Rome" travel book with the map, It's a big help with travel ideas and how to use the metro. We had an incredible trip hope you do as well =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The further away from the tourist areas the less expensive things get; like souvenirs, panini stands, ... It's worth it to just go a little bit further.

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir18
Business
Benton City, WA 99320, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Perfect location

The staff were all very helpful with one hotel front desk receptionist (young man) extremely helpful and very kind. Most of the staff knew fairly good English and were glad to help whenever they could. The breakfast was good and saved a lot of money by eating there in the mornings. The location was perfect walking distance to most of the major sites in Rome, just a stones throw from the Colosseum and Forum. If you are willing to get some exercise it is even worth the walk to the Vatican, about an hour away. There is no airport shuttle as the reservations suggested, but that is minor as you can catch a bus, train or taxi as you prefer. An excellent week in Roma!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn the Metro and Bus systems early in your stay. The time spent using these public transport systems is well worth it.

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terri H
Business
UK
Jan 27, 2012

value for money hotel

The only small problem was the fan in the bathroom which stayed on all night, since emailing the hotel this has been rectified for future guests. Friendly staff ideal location to see the attractions. Good clean hotel for the price although the rooms are small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All within easy reach

Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1der
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 19, 2012

Location was worth every penny

This hotel was great. It was within walking distance to everything in town and was worth the location alone. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room we had was small compared to an American hotel but the bathroom was surprisingly large for a European hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door is Cavour 313. It is the best local restaurant around with locally sourced food and wine. The wine list is more of a wine book and should not be missed!

Back to menu Return to top