Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

5 stars
View map of Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, Rome, 00136

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
17 reviews
great time

great time. very nice view from the city, also very close from the vatican. See full review

  • igor a.
  • Feb 16, 2015
Amazing hotel

I loved the the rooms, very clean, well looked after and staff were excellent, very helpful. But it... See full review

  • Princess
  • Dec 29, 2014
A tranquil paradise overlooking center of Rome and Vatican City

The Rome Cavalieri hotel is part of the Waldorf Astoria Hotels and Resorts group. It is located in a private park above the Vatican. The 5-star hotel has beautiful, panoramic views of the entire city of Rome. It features a grand spa, a world-renowned art collection, and a Michelin star-rated restaurant. The hotel also houses four bars, four swimming pools, 10 treatment rooms, two tennis courts, a fitness center with climbing wall, whirlpools and more. The Rome Cavalieri hotel is also family-friendly and can provide parents with baby-sitting services.


3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Turkish baths, spa, Jacuzzi and whirlpools
  • Highly prized art collection throughout the hotel
  • Most rooms feature a soundproof door, balcony, marble bath and flat-screen television
Rome Cavalieri Hotel Rooms
There are 345 guest rooms in the Rome Cavalieri hotel. The deluxe rooms contain balconies that offer breathtaking views of Rome, a large seating area, and a marble bathroom. Basic features also include LCD television with satellite TV, a minibar, hair-dryer, safety deposit box, bathrobe and slippers. The imperial rooms provide guests with deluxe room features plus a king-size bed, larger bathrooms, and 42-inch plasma-screen TV. When staying in one of the imperial suites, guests receive complimentary access to the spa and the Imperial Club. Guests can also access a breakfast buffet and bar. The largest suite in the Rome Cavalieri hotel is the alcove suite, with 9 square meters. of balcony space that overlooks the Mediterranean gardens. The Alcove suite contains all of the features of the Imperial suite, plus a walk-in closet, marble writing desk, and 5.1 surround-sound speaker system. 
Things To Do:
  • Vatican City (1.9 mi/3 km) 
  • Rome city center (3.1 mi/5 km)
Policies and fees
  • Small pets allowed
  • Photographic identification is required upon arrival
  • Cash or credit card deposit payable for the duration of stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9193 12.4458
Nearby airports
Leonardo da Vinci/Fiumicino, (FCO), 35.00, KM, SW; Ciampino, (CIA), 40.00, KM, SE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Vatican area: 0.5 mi
  • Al Sole d'Oro: 0.8 mi
  • Prati: 0.9 mi
  • Pineto Regional Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1 mi
  • Vatican Museum: 1 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.1 mi
  • Vatican Library: 1.1 mi
  • Gardens of Vatican City: 1.1 mi
  • Sistine Chapel: 1.2 mi
  • COIN: 1.2 mi
  • Apostolic Palace: 1.2 mi
  • St Peter's: 1.2 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Peter's Square: 1.3 mi
  • Vatican area: 0.5 mi
  • Al Sole d'Oro: 0.8 mi
  • Prati: 0.9 mi
  • Pineto Regional Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1 mi
  • Vatican Museum: 1 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.1 mi
  • Vatican Library: 1.1 mi
  • Gardens of Vatican City: 1.1 mi
  • Sistine Chapel: 1.2 mi
  • COIN: 1.2 mi
  • Apostolic Palace: 1.2 mi
  • St Peter's: 1.2 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Peter's Square: 1.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 1.4 mi
  • Via della Conciliazione: 1.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 1.5 mi
  • Castel Sant'Angelo: 1.5 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1.6 mi
  • Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II: 1.6 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.6 mi
  • Sant Angelo Castle: 1.6 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 1.6 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 1.6 mi
  • Ponte Sant'Angelo: 1.6 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 1.6 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.6 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 1.7 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 1.7 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 1.7 mi
  • il Babuino: 1.8 mi
  • Centro Storico: 1.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 1.8 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.8 mi
  • TAD: 1.8 mi
  • Biblioteca Vallicelliana: 1.8 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1.9 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1.9 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 1.9 mi
  • Chiostro del Bramante: 1.9 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1.9 mi
  • Oratorio dei Filippini: 1.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patti the italian
Business
rome Italy
Jun 13, 2011

terrible service!!!!!!!

I had the worst experience ever!!!The staff was always rude! Our rooms weren't ready in time everytime you asked for help they seemed as if you were bothering them. One night I asked the concierge for help reserving a limo for 5 and he said just come down tomorrow morning 5 minutes before, with that I asked for a manager who pretended to care but really didn't he just didn't want me to make a scene. Another day one of the workers yelled at her co worker in front of me about something in Italian she was talking about me and since I understand Italian I understood the whole thing. All I can say is it was the worst experience I have ever had and wish I could get my money refunded.I wanted to celebrate my 30th anniversary in a beautiful Hilton resort and I am so sorry I chose this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

it's too far

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rocketcity
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Be aware

we stayed at this hotel because of the Hilton name, we wanted security but instead my wife's purse was stolen. They claimed that they cannot protect the customer at the restaurant, they forgot that people choose names like Hilton because of quality and safety. The breakfast area was full with employees and yet nobody saw what happened. I called the Hilton headquarter when we arrived back in the U.S. Sorry to say, they are not any better than the people in Rome. We are so sorry to spend so much money on this sorry hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedalia, MO
Jun 13, 2011

Not Impressed

We spent a week at this hotel on the Imperial Floor. The hotel was a decent hotel but nothing to brag about. The biggest issue was that we payed so much to stay there and then had to pay more to do anything (e.g. use the phone). It was very frustrating. It is also not close to the main attractions. They do have a shuttle but it only runs at very few and inconvenient times. If you plan to stay here make sure you have lots of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amos
Business
London
Jan 8, 2015

Location is very poor

Overall I would not recommenced as the location is very bad and it causes many challenges Unless you taxi everywhere, the hotel does provide a shuttle bus to the town center but you are then bound by its timetable with 1 bus running per hour. The last bus leaves town at 9 (which is early) and there is a big afternoon gap in the timetable. The timetable and capacity of the mini bus means it is often at full capacity. This means you may not get on the bus. There were two occasions where disputes broke out with people not being able to get on the bus. and the guests were angry as families got split up and there was no flexibility from the driver. There was one occasion where approximately 15 guests had to take a taxi to get to their destination as the bus was full. Don't expect an orderly que at the stop, its more like a free for all, the driver takes no authority on the que management and whoever gets on the bus first is a winner - it's a bit like getting on to a London tube during rush hour. The hotel is large and at peak times has many guests yet it only has a very small capacity mini bus. Concierge was also poor, and had to be chased to respond to my queries. Staff took one hour to deliver my pillow order and got it wrong too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mia p
Business
Canton, ohio
May 4, 2014

Highly recommended

Everything is excellent about this hotel! Staff is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the free shuttle into town

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jberg2341
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 24, 2011

One Night In Rome

Hotel is gorgeous and offers a stunning hilltop view of Rome. Be sure to get a room with a city view. Be aware, everything in the hotel is incredibly expensive, almost obnoxiously so. If you can avoid the ludicrous expenses at the hotel, its a wonderful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the expenses at the hotel if at all possible.

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wednesday
Business
Bolton, UK
Mar 13, 2012

short stay

we spent 2 nights at the Cavelieri and enjoyed the experience. We would recommend an Imperial room to qualify for access to the Imperial Lounge which proves to be good value. The location and frontage of the hotel leaves a little to be desired but overall the internal space more than makes up for this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tanyusha.vit
Business
Ukraine
May 20, 2010

it`s a big, very big hotel. If you like!

need reservation rooms with viev on the garden- only. When we were in our room woman from room service came 2 from hour at 8a.m. and 8.45

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mia p
Business
canton
Jan 5, 2015

Family trip

Beautiful hotel. Would recommend even though not walking distance to anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the free shuttle into the city!!

Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sakoo
Business
ede kfoun
Mar 3, 2015

Good stay

I booked an imperial room but didn't meet my expectations....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top