Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Boncompagni, 35/37, Rome, 00187
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
85 reviews
A great roman experience

The hotel has lovely decor and fits the photos advertising it which we were sceptical about.... See full review

  • The D man
  • Apr 17, 2014
Perfecto!

Amazing hotel, perfect spot, friendly staff and beautiful inside and out. Highly recommend this hotel See full review

  • Traverls
  • Mar 21, 2014
Those looking for sophistication in the heart of Rome need look no further than the four-star Romanico Palace Hotel. Featuring ornately-decorated rooms, statues and classical interiors, it's an excellent choice for the discerning traveler who wants to be close to all of Rome's churches, attractions and museums. Take it easy at the hotel's Romanor Spa with Turkish bath, steam bath, multi-sensory showers and heated beds. Guests can book a massage or customized body treatment. There's also a modern and well-equipped gym for those looking to work up a sweat.
Key facts
  • 79 guestrooms, including a range of suites
  • 7 floors
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Business center
  • Full-service spa
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Romanico Palace hotel lies in the fashionable Via Veneto area of the city, and is surrounded by fashion boutiques, cafes, bars and upscale stores. This glamorous area of Rome is also home to the Spanish Steps, which are just a five-minute stroll away. Visitors can walk through the Villa Borghese gardens, and marvel at the art collection in the villa and the statuary in the gardens. Guests can stroll to the Pantheon and Castel Sant'Angelo in 10 minutes, with the Vatican and the Colosseum both less than fifteen minutes' walk away, as well. The beautiful church of Santa Maria della Vittoria is just steps from the hotel; its Cornaro Chapel houses Gian Lorenzo Bernini's acclaimed masterpiece, the Ecstasy of Saint Theresa. Art lovers will also love being so close to the Palazzo Barberini and the National Gallery of Ancient Art.
Hints and tips
Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant serving dinner, they do offer 24-hour room service for light snacks.
The concierge service also operates on a 24-hour basis, which is great for booking last-minute theater tickets or reservations of any kind.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double
Room with two single or one double bed offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone. Size 18 square meters.
Classic Triple
Room with three single beds or one double bed + sofa bed offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Classic Quad
Room with four single or two double bed or 1 double + 2 single beds offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Junior Suite
Beautiful Room with one double bed, round Jacuzzi bathtub, City view. It offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Economy Double
Double Room with one double bed, Courtyard view and located between the first and the second floor. It offers facilities like air conditioning, cable satellite TV, colour TV, ensuite private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, minibar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Romanico Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9084 12.4936
Area served
Roma
Nearby airports
LEONARDO DA VINCI - FIUMICINO is an international airport,CIAMPINO is domestic airport.
Area description
Situated near the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, Galleria Borghese Park, the hotel offers easy access to the main sights of the city, which are all within walking distance.

Nearby points of interest

  • Via Veneto area: 0.1 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.1 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • Spagna: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.5 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.5 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.6 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.6 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.6 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.6 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.7 mi
  • Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma: 0.7 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.7 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.7 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.7 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and Daughter travelers
Business
New York
Oct 11, 2009

Great Hotel, a little too far away.

The hotel was spotless and staff excellent. However they were lacking on a lot of tourist info which we were interested in. Their promo [...] said they were close to rome's famous shopping district, but this turned out not to be true from out point of view. We didn't mind the walks as we are always game for a walk, but, this neighbor hood lacked a lot of choices for night life. Their concierge recommendation of a resturant near the trevi fountain was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For the price the quality was excellent and so the walk was not burdensome to us. We purchased a 48 hour hop on hop off bus pass that had a reasonably nearby stop so we only had cab fare to the train station. Beware, a traveler who can't walk several miles per day would spend a fortune on cab fares here. I liken this hotel to one on the upper east side of NY. Classy, quite, but far for the action in midtown if you get my meaning.

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rome_first_timer
Business
Dallas Texas
Oct 11, 2009

Nice Place to stay ,,,,, but

Good Hotel but they overbooked for the first two nights and when we arrived, we were informed that they had booked a room in a hotel three blocks away and we were taxied over. They made up for this by upgrading our room when we returned. Other than the surprise and aggravation (two nights out of eleven nights) of repacking, we were satisfied. The roof top breakfast buffet was great with enough choices to vary selections daily. Front desk was terrific at all times. Rooms very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

IF staying for more than 2 or three days, take the open tour bus to get feel and layout of attractions, traffic, train station, etc. Thereafter it is easy to take the bus or train or metro systems. You can almost always get help or directions in English. The Hotel Romanico is within walking distance to Termini to catch trains or buses to the Catacombs and Ostia Antiqua (a must visit just west of central Rome reached by local train lines).

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STEVENBIJAN
Business
LA,CALIFORNIA
Oct 11, 2009

great value

Great staff. Firendly staff and spoke english. we walked everywhere since my fiance and i love walking.Rooms were a little small but then again this is the norm in Europe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

save yourself time and money and spend 20 Euro per person and take the city tour thru one of the tour companies.

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DOS-Mukilteo
Business
WA
Sep 30, 2009

Great place great location

Great hotel, rooms we great and not that small as expected for most European hotels. Good morning breakfast, good staff, great location to Vastours for daily bus tour of Rome. Walking distance to Vastours only a block and 1/2 away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are taking a tour of Rome. Vastours block and 1/2 away. Easy walk to location.

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
Sep 29, 2009

Did not have a room when I arrived

When we arrived, and we were tired after a long flight, they did not have a room available for us. They offered us to go to a different hotel for one night and come back the following day. This caused a major inconvenience since we were in Rome for only two days. On the following day we had to interrupt the tour to change hotels. Rooms were quite small, bathroom was not very comfortable. The other hotel, where we had to spend one night, "Victoria" was even worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel Romanico Palace

My shower did not drain and I asked the staff to repair 3 times without success. Not too good when you spend $1500 for a week and you have to take 40 second shower everyday to prevent water damage to their hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Sep 24, 2009

Good Value

We had a very pleasant stay and appreciated the friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was true Italian with American amenities - - especially the bathroom. Just be sure to pack a washcloth, and be prepared for a very firm mattress (we loved it!). Although advertised as very close to the metro, it's a bit of a hike... but the Hop On Hop Off tour bus stop is reasonably close and is a pretty good bargain. Continental breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a great way to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Start your vacation with a Hop On Hop Off (HOHO)bus tour; they make a full loop of the city, with 17 strategically located stops. Ride the loop all the way around, then decide which attraction you want to explore first. Just be mindful that the (HOHO)busses stop running in the early evening. We found that out too late, but enjoyed the sights on the hike back to the hotel. Also, be aware that just because a tour picks you up at the hotel doesn't guarantee they'll drop you off there, too. (We found that out too late as well, but again enjoyed the hike back to the hotel). It's worth the chance, though, because tours usually don't have to wait in line to get in to the attraction.

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romelover Lovely area great decor
Business
st pete fl
Sep 20, 2009

Great decor Great area

The restaurant was only open for breakfast Lovely location seemed a safe area enjoyed our stay but a bit pricey even for Rome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATB
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 18, 2009

Rome getaway

Nice location, walkable to the train, restaurants and close to the tour bus stops. Rooms were okay, noises will keep light sleepers awake though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordan's
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 2, 2009

Jordan family R&R

The hotel staff could not have been more pleasant. We all enjoyed the rooftop terrace breakfasts. It was a relaxing way to begin the day. The location was wonderful so we did not feel the need to rush to catch buses or metro in order to enjoy the sites of Rome. An iron in the room would have been helpful. Plentiful places to eat near the hotel. We weren't prepared to arrive at the hotel at 9:00 am but be unable to checkin until 2:00 pm. The hotel stored our luggage for us until our room was ready. We were jetlagged so after walking around a while we sat in the lovely lobby reading, people watching, and dozing until 2:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of what my son called the "ambush" restaurants. If you stop to check the menu, they will pull you in and offer to make special dishes just for you. The food will probably be wonderful but the final cost will be a surprise. Be firm that you want to look at the menu and decide for yourself if you want to eat there and always order from the menu items with marked prices. There are so many choices in the area, you can always walk away and find another restaurant. You also don't have to settle for the higher priced dining on Via Veneto. Don't hesitate to wander down side streets to find alternatives. The small, out of the way places are usually the best. There is a supermercado about 2 blocks away. Don't wait to buy last minute souvenirs at the airport. Duty free shop has food gifts, wine, perfumes but no trinkets (tshirts, etc.)

Back to menu Return to top