Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Boncompagni, 35/37, Rome, 00187

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scooby
Business
jacksonville, fl
Jan 29, 2010

Rome

Was a little confused about the Room Service offered, but everything else was too my liking. The Staff was very helpful. Their partner restuarant, Mariano's, next door, offered great food an excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scooby
Business
jacksonville, fl
Jan 29, 2010

Rome

Was a little confused about the Room Service offered, but everything else was too my liking. The Staff was very helpful. Their partner restuarant, Mariano's, next door, offered great food an excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 9, 2009

OK but wouldn't go back

The Romanico is in a pretty good location, close to Metro, restaurants, and Trevi Fountain. Room was small and there was a terrible odor coming out of somewhere in the bathroom. I was on the second floor and it was very noisy as the hotel is on the corner of two relatively busy streets. It was warm in the room so I opened the window but it was way to noisy. The included breakfast is not much; croissants, fruit, cold meats, etc. You pay extra for things like eggs and bacon. If you do choose to stay here, ask for a room on one of the top levels, bring earplugs and air freshner, don't bother with the breakfast and spend as much time visiting the sites of Rome and not in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metro!

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Upset in Florida
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 2, 2009

Failed to deliver

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was told that they made a mistake and did not have our room ready. The staff told us that they booked us for the night at Hotel White. Hotel White was not comparable to Hotel Romanico Palace nor was it what I paid for in advance. The front desk paid for our cab ride there, but did not reimburse the cab ride back to the hotel the next day. While the staff was very courteous, this error on the hotel's part caused us a great inconvenience and forced us to miss some of our pre planned tours. [...] I feel that I should be reimbursed for the one night because Romanico Palace failed to live up to their booking agreement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ameliaha
Business
Annapolis, MD
Oct 19, 2009

lack luster

Hotel was clean, lacation was good. One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because it offered A/C. The room they put us in had a broked air conditioner and it wasn't until we complained non stop for two days, not getting any sleep because it was so hot did they agree to change our room. they thought we should just deal with keeping the room 79 degrees. We found this completly outragous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cary nc usa
Oct 16, 2009

wonderfully helpful staff

I would have preferred to be closer to the historic center, a lot of walking --- a little bit hard on older people. Great breakfast, helpful staff. Beds were hard, I like firm--rooms very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 15, 2009

Absolutely Horrible- DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

I was expecting waaaaayyyyy more. the hotel was the size of a bathroom and was decorated in total cheesiness. The worst experience that we have ever had. The worst thing was is that it was our honeymoon! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Oct 12, 2009

Great Hotel

Nice Hotel, good location but a little noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and Daughter travelers
Business
New York
Oct 11, 2009

Great Hotel, a little too far away.

The hotel was spotless and staff excellent. However they were lacking on a lot of tourist info which we were interested in. Their promo [...] said they were close to rome's famous shopping district, but this turned out not to be true from out point of view. We didn't mind the walks as we are always game for a walk, but, this neighbor hood lacked a lot of choices for night life. Their concierge recommendation of a resturant near the trevi fountain was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For the price the quality was excellent and so the walk was not burdensome to us. We purchased a 48 hour hop on hop off bus pass that had a reasonably nearby stop so we only had cab fare to the train station. Beware, a traveler who can't walk several miles per day would spend a fortune on cab fares here. I liken this hotel to one on the upper east side of NY. Classy, quite, but far for the action in midtown if you get my meaning.

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rome_first_timer
Business
Dallas Texas
Oct 11, 2009

Nice Place to stay ,,,,, but

Good Hotel but they overbooked for the first two nights and when we arrived, we were informed that they had booked a room in a hotel three blocks away and we were taxied over. They made up for this by upgrading our room when we returned. Other than the surprise and aggravation (two nights out of eleven nights) of repacking, we were satisfied. The roof top breakfast buffet was great with enough choices to vary selections daily. Front desk was terrific at all times. Rooms very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

IF staying for more than 2 or three days, take the open tour bus to get feel and layout of attractions, traffic, train station, etc. Thereafter it is easy to take the bus or train or metro systems. You can almost always get help or directions in English. The Hotel Romanico is within walking distance to Termini to catch trains or buses to the Catacombs and Ostia Antiqua (a must visit just west of central Rome reached by local train lines).

Back to menu Return to top