Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Boncompagni, 35/37, Rome, 00187
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
130 reviews
A great roman experience

The hotel has lovely decor and fits the photos advertising it which we were sceptical about.... See full review

  • The D man
  • Apr 17, 2014
Perfecto!

Amazing hotel, perfect spot, friendly staff and beautiful inside and out. Highly recommend this hotel See full review

  • Traverls
  • Mar 21, 2014
Those looking for sophistication in the heart of Rome need look no further than the four-star Romanico Palace Hotel. Featuring ornately-decorated rooms, statues and classical interiors, it's an excellent choice for the discerning traveler who wants to be close to all of Rome's churches, attractions and museums. Take it easy at the hotel's Romanor Spa with Turkish bath, steam bath, multi-sensory showers and heated beds. Guests can book a massage or customized body treatment. There's also a modern and well-equipped gym for those looking to work up a sweat.
Key facts
  • 79 guestrooms, including a range of suites
  • 7 floors
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Business center
  • Full-service spa
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Romanico Palace hotel lies in the fashionable Via Veneto area of the city, and is surrounded by fashion boutiques, cafes, bars and upscale stores. This glamorous area of Rome is also home to the Spanish Steps, which are just a five-minute stroll away. Visitors can walk through the Villa Borghese gardens, and marvel at the art collection in the villa and the statuary in the gardens. Guests can stroll to the Pantheon and Castel Sant'Angelo in 10 minutes, with the Vatican and the Colosseum both less than fifteen minutes' walk away, as well. The beautiful church of Santa Maria della Vittoria is just steps from the hotel; its Cornaro Chapel houses Gian Lorenzo Bernini's acclaimed masterpiece, the Ecstasy of Saint Theresa. Art lovers will also love being so close to the Palazzo Barberini and the National Gallery of Ancient Art.
Hints and tips
Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant serving dinner, they do offer 24-hour room service for light snacks.
The concierge service also operates on a 24-hour basis, which is great for booking last-minute theater tickets or reservations of any kind.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double
Room with two single or one double bed offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone. Size 18 square meters.
Classic Triple
Room with three single beds or one double bed + sofa bed offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Classic Quad
Room with four single or two double bed or 1 double + 2 single beds offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Junior Suite
Beautiful Room with one double bed, round Jacuzzi bathtub, City view. It offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Economy Double
Double Room with one double bed, Courtyard view and located between the first and the second floor. It offers facilities like air conditioning, cable satellite TV, colour TV, ensuite private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, minibar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Romanico Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9084 12.4936
Area served
Roma
Nearby airports
LEONARDO DA VINCI - FIUMICINO is an international airport,CIAMPINO is domestic airport.
Area description
Situated near the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, Galleria Borghese Park, the hotel offers easy access to the main sights of the city, which are all within walking distance.

Nearby points of interest

  • Via Veneto area: 0.1 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.1 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • Spagna: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.5 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.5 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.6 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.6 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.6 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.6 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.7 mi
  • Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma: 0.7 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.7 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.7 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.7 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville, Tx
Jul 23, 2011

Romanico Palace in Rome

The room was great at this hotel. They were new, modern, and very clean. Everything worked out well. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was within walking distance of most attractions. I would recommend staying at this hotel and we would stay again ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A restaurant close by called La Lampada had very good, homestyle Italian food. The hotel made our reservations

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jul 4, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Romanico

Our stay at the Romancio Palace Hotel was very enjoyable. The staff was very helpful regarding tours, ground transportation, directions, and restaurants. They were also very nice to our children. Our only suggestion that would increase the comfort level would be more fluffier pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, Ms
Apr 29, 2011

what a place!

the restaurant at the top was only open for breakfast.........bad decision on hotel's part. no outside venue at all........sad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great neighbor hood

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moomooshi
great falls, virginia
Apr 25, 2011

a beautiful hotel in a good location

I loved the location of the hotel because it took us 10-15 mintues walk to all the sites that we were were supposed to see. The room was a little bit small but that is how the all the hotel rooms are in center of major cities in Europe!! Breakfast buffet was good but no omletes/eggs!!!. Staff were all useful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excelent steak restaurant, 3 blocks away from hotel on the same street. wow! great food and cheap in compare to other restaurants!

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, Al
Apr 5, 2011

Rome March 2011

We visited various sites in Rome - not on a tour and no particular agenda for each day. The hotel was clean, reasonably quiet and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Plenty of hot water - our room had a tub and shower. Our 1st room was next to construction and we were moved without any problem.Room was comfortable and English speaking TV news station was a plus.No room service or in house restaurant except for breakfast.Biggest surprise was a 40 euro per day mandatory "upgrade". This was not noted when we booked the trip and to our pleasant surprise the amount was refunded by [...](our 1st time to use them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy tourists
London
Feb 25, 2011

Avoid, worst hotel stay ever. AVOID!!!

My wife and I booked the Hotel Romanico for our anniversary and were looking forward to 4days in Rome. Upon booking the hotel we thought we had secured a great stay, our package included airport transfers, breakfasts and coliseum tickets (the coliseum tickets were a big draw card as we wanted to avoid queues and with pre tickets it would have been perfect)From our arrival to departure things got worse every day, our airport transfer didn't arrive, after two calls to our hotel they finally said someone would be sent. We waited over an hour in the airport, upon arrival to the hotel no apology was offered and we were told the Coliseum tickets were not able to be booked. (I had given the hotel enough email notifications about our stay to insure the tickets were booked)I could go on forever with things they did not do- but in short, stay somewhere else if you're looking for a relaxing weekend without any problems. Avoid this hotel at all costs, my wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels across Europe and never have we experience problems like this. The main reason for posting this review is to prevent others from experiencing these problems; it just ruins your holiday!In the end we had to buy our own Coliseum passes and wasted over half the day queuing to get tickets, we then had to claim back the money from the hotel. Total hassle and ruined a day of site seeing.Staff: Unhelpful and rude, no manager to assist during our stay, bar tender was the nicest guy and should find another place to work, the hotel is bringing him down! Room: Our bed was hard; air conditioning unit did not work and was never fixed during our stay. (We advised the front desk every morning but nothing was every done about the air conditioning) Location: Close to the Spanish steps and train station but so are loads of other hotels, nothing great about this place and next time we'll be avoiding this hotel.Breakfast: Just basic stuff, nothing to write home about.All in all, the worst hotel experience and we have stayed in plenty over the last 10years. We live in London and travel Europe regularly and this was so bad it's prompted me to write this review, also management don't seem to care about the negative. You may be interested to know, I've sent a letter of complaint to the hotel and also emailed twice, it's been 2weeks and still no response. I've called to speak to the manager [...] and left messages for him to contact me but still nothing. Shows what they think of their customers. You have been warned; if I was you avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase your tickets to the Vatican & Colisum online, this way you can avoid the long queues and go stright in. Just book online via the websites, print out your ticket and your ready. Don't expect your hotel to have tickets like ours said they would, total let down and ruined a day of site seeing! Avoid the Hotel Romanico Palace!

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico
Feb 6, 2011

The bad

We had an aweful surprise when we arrived to the hotel. We had to pay 40euros extra per night. When we booked suposed to be all done didnt say anything about the extra charge in the hotel they said was paid just the reservation we travel quite often and never never this is happen to us before. I dont know if is [...] thing or the hotel. If you dont wanna get an aweful surprise like us be sure everything is pay and double check in others websites is the 1 time we did in the page and believe me the last one.Really disapoint it about this situation but we were there and was nothing we could do!.The hotel was ok but theres many hotels near to the tourist places if u can avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capucino
Centerville, Mass.
Oct 27, 2010

Wonderful

Excellent service, great location near Via Veneto . Hooked you up with daily tours, restaurants, shopping. Very nice customer service. Room a bit small but we were out all day anyway. Very professional... Great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan daily excursions ahead of time so they are not booked. Plan excursions the night before through your hotel.

Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Oct 11, 2010

Nice hotel, breakfast was very

Nice hotel, breakfast was very basic. Location is not so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David and Rebecca
Polesworth North Warwickshire
Oct 2, 2010

Absolutely fantastic !!!!!

Beautiful hotel for the money. Immaculately maintained, extremely helpful and polite staff, lovely breakfast. Excellently located for walking to all the main areas of interest. We were on honeymoon here and it was just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top