Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
176 reviews
Great location

We traveled from Madrid to Barcelona, the South of France, Firenza and eventually to Rome, this... See full review

  • El Matador1825
  • Apr 25, 2014
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • Feb 25, 2014
With its red-brick frontage adorned with Classical porticos, the 19th century building of the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome assures you of an authentically Roman stay. A part of the Globe Hotels brand, well-lit red surfaces and wood-accentuated decor impart a warm glow to the hotel's lobby and rooms, while the multilingual staff make sure guests receive the right tickets and prices at the tour desk. At the end of a long day, you can sink into the adjustable Smart bed in your room - positioned however you like - and the substantial American-style buffet breakfasts served in the Augusta restaurant will satisfy the heartiest appetite.
Key facts
  • 108 guestrooms
  • Concierge and 24-hour reception
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Fax and photocopying services
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Electronic in-room safes and secure luggage storage
  • Restaurant open for breakfast
  • Evening dinner service for bookings of 20+
Neighborhood
Located right in the heart of Rome's historic center, the Augusta Lucilla Palace is within easy reach of two of Rome's most popular sights, the Colosseum and Oppio Hill, one of the famed Seven Hills of Rome. Descend the famed Spanish Steps or witness the dancing waters of the Trevi Fountain, both about a 15-20 minute walk away. The Cavour-Esquilino bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, and it's a five minute wander to the Termini railway and subway station.
Hints and tips
Need help finding the Augusta Lucilla Palace? Call the hotel before you travel and they'll pick you up from Rome Fiumicino-Leonardo Da Vinci airport (FCO) when your flight lands, for a small additional fee. This is a far more cost-effective option than hailing a taxi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room with Balcony
Double room with a BalconyTerrace with table and chairs overlooking the rooftops of the Eternal City this spacious room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and private bathroom. Room amenities: terrace, telephone, satellite channels, safe, air conditioning, heating, wooden floor, Shower or Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, minibar. Bed type: 1 double bed or 2 single beds.
Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Kellie
Florida, USA
Apr 17, 2013

Would defintely recommned this hotel.

Pros: 1. Perfect location. Was only two blocks from the Metro station which was a great way to see all the sites. 2. Room was clean and up to date and didn't seem to be old. 3. Staff was very helpful with any questions that I had and they spoke very good English. Very polite and respectful. 4. The breakfast was really good and was included in the price. Cons: 1: Internet didn't work well in the room but worked well in the lobby 2. It was kind of hot because they do not turn on the AC expect for in the Summer time and we were there in April which was still considered Winter. 3. The room view was not the greatest but our room did have a balcony although very few rooms did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We got the three day metro pass for a cheap 16.50 euro which allowed us to ride the metro all over the city and see all the sites, most of which are really close to all the metro stops.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TESEO101
NEW YORK
Jan 9, 2010

GOOD HOTEL RIGHT PRICE

The hotel was great, newly renovated, spotless room although a little small but perfect for the time you going to spend there, bathroom and shower very clean but not curtain of division so the whole bathroom get soak and wet when you shower but it didn't matter. Service was incredible; breakfast included was good, not fantastic but good to start the day. Safe box in room, very close to train and subway station and a lot of sightseeings around. Hundreds of hotels in the area, so is pretty safe. A little confusing to located, so make sure you bring a print out with map and directions in detail, just to get there, once you are there, you get in and out very easy. You can't beat the price; don't pay attention to bad reviews about small things that other people complain about, like breakfast (remember, it's FREE!!!). It has a 1 Internet station in the lobby if you want to pay for the Internet, we didn't use it, so I don't know how good or bad was. I'll stay there again and I extremely recommended to anybody in a budget and easy going that do not care much about the size of the room, or the beautiful decor, etc. we spent probably only 1 hour a day (other than the time sleeping) in the room, it's so much to see in Rome that you won't even have time to be there for long. The bed was comfortable, we ask for a double bed, so it was 2 twins joint, but it worked fine. We checked in around 10 am so the room wasn't ready, they put or luggage on storage, gave us our keys and we hit the road, when we came back at evening, our luggage was in the room safe and sound. If you are planning to check in early make sure you wearing comfortable shoes and adequate clothing for the season, get your gadgets with you (cameras, mp3 players) and stuff you think you going to need and go and start enjoying such a beautiful and fascinating city as Rome is, and don't worry about the room, when you come back, everything will be ready and in place for you just to crash after and exhausting day in Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the train station from airport, just a couple of blocks walking distance.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHK
Sterling Hts. Michigan.
Oct 8, 2009

Clean, friendly and good for the price!

Great location if you come by train, for walking to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Colosseum etc.. The Vatican is a little further, Taxi recomended, or one way taxi and one way walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Infrequent International Traveler
Indiana - USA
Dec 18, 2009

Nice Place Near Train Station

Nice place - good breakfast. Within walking distance to/from bus/metro station. Long walk to Coliseum and other historical sights but you can do it - we did until we found the metro and it only cost 1 Euro (best bargain in town). Rooms are small compared to US, but nice and comfortable. Make sure you put your key card in the light switch thingy to keep the lights on so you don't get stuck in the bathroom when the lights go out! New experience for us - it was hilarious! Only dislike: NO WASHCLOTHS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you put your key card in the light switch thingy to keep the lights on so you don't get stuck in the bathroom when the lights go out! New experience for us - it was hilarious! Only

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 22, 2009

First trip to Rome

This was an excellent choice for our trip to Rome. Great central location close to metro, busses we could actually walk to most of the places we wanted to get to from the hotel. Lots of good eating around. Very friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay there and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelady
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2013

Nice hotel in the tourist center

If you want to see the Colosseum, the Vatican, etc... and enjoy the center of tourist Rome this is the perfect place for you. The hotel is 2 blocks away Termini (the bus & train terminal) and just a 12-minute walk to the Colosseum. Bus #40 from Termini will take you straight to the Vatican. The location is just great. However, this is not the location if you're training to enjoy great Italian food. All the restaurants in the area are mostly tourist traps, giving you bad & expensive food. Coming from New York I wanted to try some amazing pizza, or traditional pasta, or eggplant dishes. None of the above. I could find better Italian food at any restaurant in NYC. But if you just take the bus outside the center and find a nice quiet local restaurant and you'll be fine. A good thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Even though they have basically the same thing every day, it's a good hearty way to start the day. The staff if also really nice. I recommend it. Just beware of the restaurants near the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your tickets to the Colosseum & the Vatican Museums through their websites before you get to Rome. You'll be able to skip the extremely long lines outside the ticket booths and head straight in.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schenectady, NY
Oct 18, 2009

Great location for touring Rome

Great location. Small rooms, but comfortable and all we needed. Beds were excellent. Staff helpful. I liked the safe in the room; perfect to store the laptop for the day. Remember the "bar" in the room is not free. Would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alhambra, CA
May 28, 2011

Great Location, Pleasant Stay

This hotel has great staff and is in a great location, situated only 3 blocks from the Termini Station. This was our first time in Rome, and felt we made a good decision staying here. We came in quite early, but were able to get our room an hour earlier from the normal 2pm check-in. The room was modestly small, but very clean with modern amenities. We had air conditioning which we took great advantage of during our 3 night stay. They had a flat screen tv, which had the bare minimum of channels but they had BBC and CNN so we were able to track the Icelandic Ash Cloud while were there. Wifi internet costs 5 euro an hour, which you had to get a prepaid card for at reception. If this is too much, there are also internet cafes around the corner that are at half the cost. They accommodate rides to and from the Fiumicino airport, which I requested via email. Upon arrival, we were greeted to a driver who waited with our name on a placard. We paid 60 euro for the ride. On our departure, we decided to take the Trenitaly train. We prepaid the day before and was a half hour ride at 28 euro. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely consider going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loveitalia
Korea
Oct 8, 2013

Good location

Close to Termini. So convenient if you are traveling on train. Close to meeting point for tours. Not close from tourists sites, but it was okay. Spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

forgot the name of the restaurant. It was recommended by a hotel staff. Excellent Italian restaurant.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Tour guide
Portland, Oregon
Sep 7, 2009

Wonderful place to stay with a family

This hotel is centrally located and a perfect place to take a family. The air conditioned rooms are spotless and well appointed and the staff very helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much. Located near the train station, all of Rome and Italy are a stones throw from your doorstep. Even though the building is older, it has modern amenities for everyone. The building is beautiful and exactly what we were looking for in Rome. All of the historic sites are within walking distance and we enjoyed them both during the day and night. I was especially impressed with the local food options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was an amazing trip to say the least. We wandered one evening down toward the ancient ruins and enjoyed viewing them as they were lit up at night. What beauty. We returned the next day to tour them and learn even more about the history. A must for today's family.

Back to menu Return to top