Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Breakers
Business
London, UK
Apr 6, 2012

Fantastic, much better than thought it would be for the price!

The hotel was much better than we were expecting for the price. Really friendly and helpful staff, very comfy room. Breakfast was great, a good spread with something for everyone's tastes. Location was perfect for a sightseeing trip to Rome, 5 minutes walk from the main station. The area felt a little run down so again the Hotel was surprisingly nice. The only shame was the Wifi which was free, but the signal was very poor so we could only get it in the lobby and that was temperamental at best! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 4euro coaches to and from the airport instead of the 14euro train, Its 45 minutes straight to Termini station.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hummercat
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Would stay there again! Perfect location.

If we are ever lucky enough to get back to the beautiful city of Rome, we will stay here again. The room was comfortable and large enough, given that hotel rooms in Europe and Italy are small. The bed was very comfortable, room was always clean and tidy when we returned after a long day. THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL IS SIMPLY PERFECT! Just 2 blocks to the metro, train and bus station called Termini. (We saw no reason to spend a lot of money on an extravagant hotel room knowing we would not be in it much.) Location was everything and we had it all. I would recommend a room looking over the inner courtyard as the city is very noisy in the morning. We vacationed in April and had to have the window open for cool air so had difficulty sleeping in the morning due to the street noise. The friendly staff could not have been better and were very helpful on each and every question and concern we had. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient to start each busy day. The room lacked hooks and enough hangers to hang jackets and other articles of clothing on (it looked as though the wall lighting has been used for hooks as they were hanging as through ready to fall off). The snack fridge was useless as it was housed in a cabinet under the desk which had no ventilation so the items inside were not cold. Would have been nice if the Augusta had a restaurant, but there are so many good ones around that you don't lack a selection. Go to the first one the hotel staff recommends (Cecio Cecio, I think.) It's not far and they are quite accommodating and friendly with enough of a selection on the menu that you could eat there every night and not go wrong. Finally, Rome was one of the friendliest cities we've every visited, except our own, of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the Roma pass for transport and entrances to Museums. We did not as we went when the Museums were free. However, it still would have been less expensive. It is a good deal.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMLeon
Business
Kentucky, USA
May 29, 2012

Excellent location and extremely helpful front desk staff!!

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The fornt desk staff was always willing to assist with booking museum and dinner reservations and providing directions to the various sites. The room was clean, comfotable, and conveniently located to most of the major sites. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Borghese Museum - do not take bus 910 as our driver dropped us off on the opposite side of time at an empty arena. Fortunately, found a person that gave us directlions to tram -- which then required a very, very long walk from one side of the Borghese grounds to the museum.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevRG
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2012

Nice hotel/location

We stayed at the Augusta Lucilla Palace from 7/8/12 through 7/16/12. The room was spacious (there were only 2 travelers) and clean. The cleaning staff cleaned our room every day and did a great job. The only two downsides were that we did not have an ironing board or a refrigerator. Each morning we ate the continental breakfast. This consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, sweet rolls, etc. The breakfast was okay, but nothing memorable. The location of the hotel is great as it is in walking distance to Termini train station and very accessible to all of the sites. The gentlemen working the front desk were very helpful. For the first three days of our stay, we were signed up for guided tours that we needed to confirm beforehand. The gentlemen at the front desk gladly took care of it for us. Further, they took care of booking a taxi to come pick us up when we had to go to the airport. Great value, comfortable/clean rooms, and great service. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a good little restaurant called Il Tavolinetto just down the corner from the restaurant. Try the zucchini and mushroom pizza. It was fantastic.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilot Paul
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 18, 2012

Great Value

The reviews posted online were very accurate. This is a clean, comfortable hotel located within easy walking distance of the main train station and all major attractions. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were decent-sized and clean. There were numerous comments about the very firm mattresses, and I found this to be true. They were not uncomfortable, though. There is a very extensive breakfast served every morning with cold and hot foods. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersimmo
Business
UK
Jun 10, 2012

good location

hotel very good location and very clean. perfect situation for termini only 5-10mins walk and easy to get on buses for hop on hop off tours. can walk to coliseum from hotel about 15mins. staff very friendly and helpful. would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suguna
Business
Richmond VA
Jun 22, 2012

Enjoyed our family vacation at Augusta Lucilla

Our family of 3 stayed six nights at Augusta Lucilla. Its in a great location, close to the Termini Station and has plenty of nice restaurants a few blocks away. The staff at the reception is very helpful, rooms were comfortable and breakfast is fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FRBPanner
Business
Glendale, California
Sep 15, 2012

Good value for the money

I selected this hotel (9/3 to 9/12) because of its location to the metro and train connections (Stazione Termini). It was an excellent choice; the best I made on this trip. As an urban planner, I found the location of this hotel ideal, the streets were very safe and clean. I often traveled up to midnight; safety was critical for me. I was very pleased. The streets were clean and safe. The hotel room was very small, but clean, clean, clean. The noise from outside or inside the hotel was almost non-existent. The bathroom was full sized and more than adequate. I brought my iPad which connected to the hotel's WiFi network with not problems at all. This service was free - as advertised. In reviews, from other internet sites there were complaints about the continental breakfast. I too found the breakfast to be less than average. The eggs and most other "food" was poor, to say the least; while the coffee was so bad that words escape me. Most of the front desk staff was very good, professional, friendly and always helpful. One of them was outstanding in all ways. Their recommendations for restaurants and places to purchase gifts was excellent. I asked about the difficult to find farmers markets and which were the best ones (not to be found in guide books); as usual the staff was outstanding; they told me which were the best ones and how to get there. I would recommend that the hotel tell you in advance about the city's tax, when calculating your "true" bill. It was a surprise to me. So, overall, this hotel is very good; an excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In my opinion, visitors should become familiar with the Metro system, as well as the electric trolley system (not to mention the buses). You can only save a great deal of money over taxis. Expect to walk a bit, so wear sneakers and have a positive attitude, you will have a great time, like I did.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobd740
Business
new york city
Oct 9, 2012

Weekend in Rome

The hotel is very close to Termini station, the subway and the hop on and off buses. All of Rome's attractions are either in walking distance or a short ride by subway. The area is quite safe. The staff is excellent. In particular Gianluca was extremely helpful when we were having problems with the internet. He offered advice on the sights to see and where to eat. The buffet breakfast was adequate. Overall, we were very happy with our stay there and the the value for the price was very very good. We stayed there for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huddersfield uk
Nov 4, 2012

Great short break

We found this hotel to be superbly located , close to the main termini and within walking distance of many attractions. The staff were polite and helpful and answered email requests very quickly. The breakfast was varied and good quality. The room was fine for three people and the beds were very comfortable. The only issue was they were very hot but the windows did open to allow in some fresh air. We also found it quiet at night and the blackout curtains were excellent. I would definately recommend this hotel to others .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a ticket for the hop on hop off bus at the termini kiosk. They stop just round the corner and allowed us to see all the sights .

Back to menu Return to top