Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
178 reviews
Great location

We traveled from Madrid to Barcelona, the South of France, Firenza and eventually to Rome, this... See full review

  • El Matador1825
  • Apr 25, 2014
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • Feb 25, 2014
With its red-brick frontage adorned with Classical porticos, the 19th century building of the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome assures you of an authentically Roman stay. A part of the Globe Hotels brand, well-lit red surfaces and wood-accentuated decor impart a warm glow to the hotel's lobby and rooms, while the multilingual staff make sure guests receive the right tickets and prices at the tour desk. At the end of a long day, you can sink into the adjustable Smart bed in your room - positioned however you like - and the substantial American-style buffet breakfasts served in the Augusta restaurant will satisfy the heartiest appetite.
Key facts
  • 108 guestrooms
  • Concierge and 24-hour reception
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Fax and photocopying services
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Electronic in-room safes and secure luggage storage
  • Restaurant open for breakfast
  • Evening dinner service for bookings of 20+
Neighborhood
Located right in the heart of Rome's historic center, the Augusta Lucilla Palace is within easy reach of two of Rome's most popular sights, the Colosseum and Oppio Hill, one of the famed Seven Hills of Rome. Descend the famed Spanish Steps or witness the dancing waters of the Trevi Fountain, both about a 15-20 minute walk away. The Cavour-Esquilino bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, and it's a five minute wander to the Termini railway and subway station.
Hints and tips
Need help finding the Augusta Lucilla Palace? Call the hotel before you travel and they'll pick you up from Rome Fiumicino-Leonardo Da Vinci airport (FCO) when your flight lands, for a small additional fee. This is a far more cost-effective option than hailing a taxi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room with Balcony
Double room with a BalconyTerrace with table and chairs overlooking the rooftops of the Eternal City this spacious room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and private bathroom. Room amenities: terrace, telephone, satellite channels, safe, air conditioning, heating, wooden floor, Shower or Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, minibar. Bed type: 1 double bed or 2 single beds.
Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMLeon
Business
Kentucky, USA
May 29, 2012

Excellent location and extremely helpful front desk staff!!

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The fornt desk staff was always willing to assist with booking museum and dinner reservations and providing directions to the various sites. The room was clean, comfotable, and conveniently located to most of the major sites. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Borghese Museum - do not take bus 910 as our driver dropped us off on the opposite side of time at an empty arena. Fortunately, found a person that gave us directlions to tram -- which then required a very, very long walk from one side of the Borghese grounds to the museum.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevRG
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2012

Nice hotel/location

We stayed at the Augusta Lucilla Palace from 7/8/12 through 7/16/12. The room was spacious (there were only 2 travelers) and clean. The cleaning staff cleaned our room every day and did a great job. The only two downsides were that we did not have an ironing board or a refrigerator. Each morning we ate the continental breakfast. This consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, sweet rolls, etc. The breakfast was okay, but nothing memorable. The location of the hotel is great as it is in walking distance to Termini train station and very accessible to all of the sites. The gentlemen working the front desk were very helpful. For the first three days of our stay, we were signed up for guided tours that we needed to confirm beforehand. The gentlemen at the front desk gladly took care of it for us. Further, they took care of booking a taxi to come pick us up when we had to go to the airport. Great value, comfortable/clean rooms, and great service. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a good little restaurant called Il Tavolinetto just down the corner from the restaurant. Try the zucchini and mushroom pizza. It was fantastic.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilot Paul
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 18, 2012

Great Value

The reviews posted online were very accurate. This is a clean, comfortable hotel located within easy walking distance of the main train station and all major attractions. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were decent-sized and clean. There were numerous comments about the very firm mattresses, and I found this to be true. They were not uncomfortable, though. There is a very extensive breakfast served every morning with cold and hot foods. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersimmo
Business
UK
Jun 10, 2012

good location

hotel very good location and very clean. perfect situation for termini only 5-10mins walk and easy to get on buses for hop on hop off tours. can walk to coliseum from hotel about 15mins. staff very friendly and helpful. would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suguna
Business
Richmond VA
Jun 22, 2012

Enjoyed our family vacation at Augusta Lucilla

Our family of 3 stayed six nights at Augusta Lucilla. Its in a great location, close to the Termini Station and has plenty of nice restaurants a few blocks away. The staff at the reception is very helpful, rooms were comfortable and breakfast is fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FRBPanner
Business
Glendale, California
Sep 15, 2012

Good value for the money

I selected this hotel (9/3 to 9/12) because of its location to the metro and train connections (Stazione Termini). It was an excellent choice; the best I made on this trip. As an urban planner, I found the location of this hotel ideal, the streets were very safe and clean. I often traveled up to midnight; safety was critical for me. I was very pleased. The streets were clean and safe. The hotel room was very small, but clean, clean, clean. The noise from outside or inside the hotel was almost non-existent. The bathroom was full sized and more than adequate. I brought my iPad which connected to the hotel's WiFi network with not problems at all. This service was free - as advertised. In reviews, from other internet sites there were complaints about the continental breakfast. I too found the breakfast to be less than average. The eggs and most other "food" was poor, to say the least; while the coffee was so bad that words escape me. Most of the front desk staff was very good, professional, friendly and always helpful. One of them was outstanding in all ways. Their recommendations for restaurants and places to purchase gifts was excellent. I asked about the difficult to find farmers markets and which were the best ones (not to be found in guide books); as usual the staff was outstanding; they told me which were the best ones and how to get there. I would recommend that the hotel tell you in advance about the city's tax, when calculating your "true" bill. It was a surprise to me. So, overall, this hotel is very good; an excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

In my opinion, visitors should become familiar with the Metro system, as well as the electric trolley system (not to mention the buses). You can only save a great deal of money over taxis. Expect to walk a bit, so wear sneakers and have a positive attitude, you will have a great time, like I did.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobd740
Business
new york city
Oct 9, 2012

Weekend in Rome

The hotel is very close to Termini station, the subway and the hop on and off buses. All of Rome's attractions are either in walking distance or a short ride by subway. The area is quite safe. The staff is excellent. In particular Gianluca was extremely helpful when we were having problems with the internet. He offered advice on the sights to see and where to eat. The buffet breakfast was adequate. Overall, we were very happy with our stay there and the the value for the price was very very good. We stayed there for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huddersfield uk
Nov 4, 2012

Great short break

We found this hotel to be superbly located , close to the main termini and within walking distance of many attractions. The staff were polite and helpful and answered email requests very quickly. The breakfast was varied and good quality. The room was fine for three people and the beds were very comfortable. The only issue was they were very hot but the windows did open to allow in some fresh air. We also found it quiet at night and the blackout curtains were excellent. I would definately recommend this hotel to others .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a ticket for the hop on hop off bus at the termini kiosk. They stop just round the corner and allowed us to see all the sights .

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indagine
Business
Ohio
Nov 3, 2012

Our "Go To" Hotel in Rome!

This is a great place to stay if you are in Rome for an overnight or a few days. It is close to Termini in a very safe neighborhood. We have stayed here many times and will do so when we are next in Rome. The front desk staff is always very helpful, (Thank you Massimo) and arranges drivers for us in the middle of the night, if necessary, to get us to the airport. I would have given it an overall 5 star rating EXCEPT the WiFi (which is free to guests) was not usable in our room. The signal was non existent as soon as we left the lobby. During our last visit there was a small charge for the WiFi , but it DID work. I would rather pay and have a strong signal than receive Free Wi Fi that doesn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simon
Business
Michigan
Dec 24, 2012

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is very close to Roma Terminal with easy access to the central train station and bus station. The free breakfast is good and free WiFi is OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top