Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. J
Business
Claremont, NC
Jan 21, 2012

rome in January

Rome is a great value in January. Minimal lines and less competition for services. We really enjoyed our visit at the Augusta Lucilla Palace, the front desk staff was extremely helpful. The room was very nice but the bed was VERY hard and the first few nights were difficult getting to sleep. The morning breakfast was the exact same menu every day. The only hot items were eggs and bacon that was not cooked well enough that most Americans would feel comfortable eating. Lots of breads and coffee though. The location near Termini station was convenient and kept travel times to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cunyuk
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

close to main transportation

The hotel is nice,clean and quiet modern.It is close to the main station termini, where it is the hub of the main transportation in rome. You can catch metro, bus or intercity train from this terminal. Hotel staff's are very helpfull when you need some information or direction to go somewhere, or how to get to specific tourist destination. We would certainly rcommend this hotel to friend or family who may come and visit Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the receptionist about place to eat, they will glady point you to the right place and even made reservation for you if you need one.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenniphiliac
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Perfect for the average tourist

This was a great hotel for a first visit to Rome. It's just blocks from the train station and surrounded by restaurants and shops, with all the popular sites close by, easy to walk to or get to by subway. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean and comfortable. They also serve a big complimentary breakfast. It's an excellent place to stay if you want to be in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Breakers
Business
London, UK
Apr 6, 2012

Fantastic, much better than thought it would be for the price!

The hotel was much better than we were expecting for the price. Really friendly and helpful staff, very comfy room. Breakfast was great, a good spread with something for everyone's tastes. Location was perfect for a sightseeing trip to Rome, 5 minutes walk from the main station. The area felt a little run down so again the Hotel was surprisingly nice. The only shame was the Wifi which was free, but the signal was very poor so we could only get it in the lobby and that was temperamental at best! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 4euro coaches to and from the airport instead of the 14euro train, Its 45 minutes straight to Termini station.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hummercat
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Would stay there again! Perfect location.

If we are ever lucky enough to get back to the beautiful city of Rome, we will stay here again. The room was comfortable and large enough, given that hotel rooms in Europe and Italy are small. The bed was very comfortable, room was always clean and tidy when we returned after a long day. THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL IS SIMPLY PERFECT! Just 2 blocks to the metro, train and bus station called Termini. (We saw no reason to spend a lot of money on an extravagant hotel room knowing we would not be in it much.) Location was everything and we had it all. I would recommend a room looking over the inner courtyard as the city is very noisy in the morning. We vacationed in April and had to have the window open for cool air so had difficulty sleeping in the morning due to the street noise. The friendly staff could not have been better and were very helpful on each and every question and concern we had. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient to start each busy day. The room lacked hooks and enough hangers to hang jackets and other articles of clothing on (it looked as though the wall lighting has been used for hooks as they were hanging as through ready to fall off). The snack fridge was useless as it was housed in a cabinet under the desk which had no ventilation so the items inside were not cold. Would have been nice if the Augusta had a restaurant, but there are so many good ones around that you don't lack a selection. Go to the first one the hotel staff recommends (Cecio Cecio, I think.) It's not far and they are quite accommodating and friendly with enough of a selection on the menu that you could eat there every night and not go wrong. Finally, Rome was one of the friendliest cities we've every visited, except our own, of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the Roma pass for transport and entrances to Museums. We did not as we went when the Museums were free. However, it still would have been less expensive. It is a good deal.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMLeon
Business
Kentucky, USA
May 29, 2012

Excellent location and extremely helpful front desk staff!!

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The fornt desk staff was always willing to assist with booking museum and dinner reservations and providing directions to the various sites. The room was clean, comfotable, and conveniently located to most of the major sites. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Borghese Museum - do not take bus 910 as our driver dropped us off on the opposite side of time at an empty arena. Fortunately, found a person that gave us directlions to tram -- which then required a very, very long walk from one side of the Borghese grounds to the museum.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevRG
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2012

Nice hotel/location

We stayed at the Augusta Lucilla Palace from 7/8/12 through 7/16/12. The room was spacious (there were only 2 travelers) and clean. The cleaning staff cleaned our room every day and did a great job. The only two downsides were that we did not have an ironing board or a refrigerator. Each morning we ate the continental breakfast. This consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, sweet rolls, etc. The breakfast was okay, but nothing memorable. The location of the hotel is great as it is in walking distance to Termini train station and very accessible to all of the sites. The gentlemen working the front desk were very helpful. For the first three days of our stay, we were signed up for guided tours that we needed to confirm beforehand. The gentlemen at the front desk gladly took care of it for us. Further, they took care of booking a taxi to come pick us up when we had to go to the airport. Great value, comfortable/clean rooms, and great service. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a good little restaurant called Il Tavolinetto just down the corner from the restaurant. Try the zucchini and mushroom pizza. It was fantastic.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilot Paul
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 18, 2012

Great Value

The reviews posted online were very accurate. This is a clean, comfortable hotel located within easy walking distance of the main train station and all major attractions. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were decent-sized and clean. There were numerous comments about the very firm mattresses, and I found this to be true. They were not uncomfortable, though. There is a very extensive breakfast served every morning with cold and hot foods. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersimmo
Business
UK
Jun 10, 2012

good location

hotel very good location and very clean. perfect situation for termini only 5-10mins walk and easy to get on buses for hop on hop off tours. can walk to coliseum from hotel about 15mins. staff very friendly and helpful. would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suguna
Business
Richmond VA
Jun 22, 2012

Enjoyed our family vacation at Augusta Lucilla

Our family of 3 stayed six nights at Augusta Lucilla. Its in a great location, close to the Termini Station and has plenty of nice restaurants a few blocks away. The staff at the reception is very helpful, rooms were comfortable and breakfast is fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top