Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
169 reviews
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • Feb 25, 2014
Great hotel to visit Rome

We were in Rome for short one-day stay due to almost 24h between flights. General impressions of... See full review

  • yousha
  • Nov 11, 2013
Centrally located, renovated hotel with stylish non-smoking rooms

A completely renovated 19th century property, the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel sits less than a 15-minute walk from many of Rome's most spectacular attractions, including the Opera Theatre, the Coliseum and the Spanish Steps. A multilingual staff mans the 24-hour reception, with a concierge available to help organize and book tours and tickets. The hotel is decorated in a modern, comfortable style, with sumptuous reds and creams, heavy drapes and dark wooden furniture evoking a classic Italian feel.

Reasons to stay
  • A short, easy walk to historical attractions including the Coliseum and Roman Forum
  • Centrally located; a five minute walk to the main train station, Termini, and buses
  • Beautiful panoramic views of Rome from the top floor garden
Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel rooms

The 108 rooms at the 19th century Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel provide newly decorated, classic yet modern accommodations in the heart of historic Rome, all with sound proofing and double glazing. Every room gives guests individual air conditioning, bathrooms with well stocked toiletries, hairdryers and a mini bar, as well as an LCD television offering satellite channels. A variety of room types ensure there is something to suit all visitors, including families, with triple and quadruple rooms available, and travelers with very young children take advantage of cots free of charge. Larger rooms also supply small sofas for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. Rooms are all non-smoking at the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel and all rooms have Wi-Fi (fees apply). A number of rooms cater for guests with limited mobility and all facilities around the hotel have disabled access.

Things to do nearby
  • Santa Maria Maggiore (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Via Veneto (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Trevi Fountain (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Roman Forum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Coliseum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Piazza di Spagna (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Piazza Navona (1.2 mi/2.1 km)
  • Sant'Angelo Castle (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Saint Peter's Cathedral (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Vatican Museums (2.5 mi/4.0 km)

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 23, 2011

Location! Location! Location!

We stayed in Augusta Lucilla Palace for a couple of days when we visited in Rome. This hotel is only 5-minute away by walking from Roma Termini (i.e. the main train station in Rome), bus stops, and metro station. It is very convenient to go almost any place in Rome from this hotel. There were tons of people walking on the street all day long, even late at night. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The room was small but clean. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They were patient enough to answer all kinds of questions we had and even helped us making reservations of day tours in other cities in Italy. The only thing we were not very impressed was the breakfast buffet served in the hotel. Food they provided was not as good as other hotels we stayed in Rome. Comparing against making reservations directly with the hotel, I found the price we paid online is so much better. This is certainly a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many hotels around the area serving authentic Italian food. We visited a couple of them in the area. We love the pasta they served.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Travelady
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2013

Nice hotel in the tourist center

If you want to see the Colosseum, the Vatican, etc... and enjoy the center of tourist Rome this is the perfect place for you. The hotel is 2 blocks away Termini (the bus & train terminal) and just a 12-minute walk to the Colosseum. Bus #40 from Termini will take you straight to the Vatican. The location is just great. However, this is not the location if you're training to enjoy great Italian food. All the restaurants in the area are mostly tourist traps, giving you bad & expensive food. Coming from New York I wanted to try some amazing pizza, or traditional pasta, or eggplant dishes. None of the above. I could find better Italian food at any restaurant in NYC. But if you just take the bus outside the center and find a nice quiet local restaurant and you'll be fine. A good thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Even though they have basically the same thing every day, it's a good hearty way to start the day. The staff if also really nice. I recommend it. Just beware of the restaurants near the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your tickets to the Colosseum & the Vatican Museums through their websites before you get to Rome. You'll be able to skip the extremely long lines outside the ticket booths and head straight in.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Alhambra, CA
May 28, 2011

Great Location, Pleasant Stay

This hotel has great staff and is in a great location, situated only 3 blocks from the Termini Station. This was our first time in Rome, and felt we made a good decision staying here. We came in quite early, but were able to get our room an hour earlier from the normal 2pm check-in. The room was modestly small, but very clean with modern amenities. We had air conditioning which we took great advantage of during our 3 night stay. They had a flat screen tv, which had the bare minimum of channels but they had BBC and CNN so we were able to track the Icelandic Ash Cloud while were there. Wifi internet costs 5 euro an hour, which you had to get a prepaid card for at reception. If this is too much, there are also internet cafes around the corner that are at half the cost. They accommodate rides to and from the Fiumicino airport, which I requested via email. Upon arrival, we were greeted to a driver who waited with our name on a placard. We paid 60 euro for the ride. On our departure, we decided to take the Trenitaly train. We prepaid the day before and was a half hour ride at 28 euro. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely consider going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
irvine, ca
Sep 13, 2009

nice place

Room was small but spotless clean. We typicly stay in W, Westin or Hyatt in US. The price of highend hotes in Rome were just too much so we settled for this place. So do not expect W but great rooms and service with nice free breakfast. do not expect Hyatt type lobby and you will be fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Loveitalia
Korea
Oct 8, 2013

Good location

Close to Termini. So convenient if you are traveling on train. Close to meeting point for tours. Not close from tourists sites, but it was okay. Spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

forgot the name of the restaurant. It was recommended by a hotel staff. Excellent Italian restaurant.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jun 1, 2011

Beware of the Shower Doors

While a nice hotel in a convenient location, the service I received when the shower door fell and exploded into a million pieces was disappointing. I feel fortunate that I was not badly injured, though the staff was very apathetic to what happened and offered no solution for my inconvenience. So beware, don't use the shower doors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants nearby.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
OK.
Dec 12, 2009

Good location and quality

noise factor was not really a problem, mostly usual street noise the hotel had a very helpful staff the hotel breakfast was different from American standards but good rooms were very clean but lacked a coffee maker / hot pot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

don't waste time searching for a good place to eat, just walk out the front door of the hotel, turn left to the end of the block, turn left again, and walk 1/2 block to a great place to eat (La Galena Bianca)

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2011

Excellent place to stay in Rome

They were very accommodating allowing us to check in early so we were able to get some much needed rest after an overnight flight from Boston. An enjoyable trip except for getting my pocket picked on the Rome Metro. People should be warned to be very careful to protect their belongings. The breakfast which was included in the cost of the room was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several excellent and reasonably priced restaurants within easy walk from hotel.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Flatline
Boca Raton, FL
Jan 11, 2010

Great Hotel. Close to Termini Station

We were in Rome for Christmas. The Hotel is perfectly situation right by Termini so we were able to take the Bus and trains around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of nice restaurants nearby. Hotel has a decent breakfast buffet (hot and cold foods). Execllent and Friendly staff.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
DebbTX
Texas
Apr 4, 2014

LOVE the bed!!!

FANTASTIC memory foam King size adjustable bed! Very polite helpful staff, close to termini station. Close to restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top