Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
298 reviews
Great location

We traveled from Madrid to Barcelona, the South of France, Firenza and eventually to Rome, this... See full review

  • El Matador1825
  • Apr 25, 2014
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • Feb 25, 2014
With its red-brick frontage adorned with Classical porticos, the 19th century building of the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome assures you of an authentically Roman stay. A part of the Globe Hotels brand, well-lit red surfaces and wood-accentuated decor impart a warm glow to the hotel's lobby and rooms, while the multilingual staff make sure guests receive the right tickets and prices at the tour desk. At the end of a long day, you can sink into the adjustable Smart bed in your room - positioned however you like - and the substantial American-style buffet breakfasts served in the Augusta restaurant will satisfy the heartiest appetite.
Key facts
  • 108 guestrooms
  • Concierge and 24-hour reception
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Fax and photocopying services
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Electronic in-room safes and secure luggage storage
  • Restaurant open for breakfast
  • Evening dinner service for bookings of 20+
Neighborhood
Located right in the heart of Rome's historic center, the Augusta Lucilla Palace is within easy reach of two of Rome's most popular sights, the Colosseum and Oppio Hill, one of the famed Seven Hills of Rome. Descend the famed Spanish Steps or witness the dancing waters of the Trevi Fountain, both about a 15-20 minute walk away. The Cavour-Esquilino bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, and it's a five minute wander to the Termini railway and subway station.
Hints and tips
Need help finding the Augusta Lucilla Palace? Call the hotel before you travel and they'll pick you up from Rome Fiumicino-Leonardo Da Vinci airport (FCO) when your flight lands, for a small additional fee. This is a far more cost-effective option than hailing a taxi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room with Balcony
Double room with a BalconyTerrace with table and chairs overlooking the rooftops of the Eternal City this spacious room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and private bathroom. Room amenities: terrace, telephone, satellite channels, safe, air conditioning, heating, wooden floor, Shower or Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, minibar. Bed type: 1 double bed or 2 single beds.
Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (298)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 16, 2011

Good clean hotel. facilities rather

Good clean hotel. facilities rather basic for a 4* hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tampa Travelers 56
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Great for seeing Rome

The location of this hotel was excellent. We were able to walk to just about every attraction we wanted to see and it was only a block from the main train terminal, making travel to Naples, Florence, Milan or Venice incredibly easy. Minor draw backs - the beds were very hard (but something we've found at other Italian hotels as well) and there was a beautiful bath tub, but no shower in the suite we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RomeTravel
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Great Hotel...Horrible Beds

Overall, this hotel was awesome. The staff was very helpful, the hotel was very clean and it is perfectly located (right next to main metro/train station). For the price, I was very surprised at just how amazing it was. The only complaint I had was that the beds were extremly hard. For a long stay this became a huge problem as it made it difficult to sleep at night. I would recommend this hotel to a friend but would make sure they knew how bad the beds are first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. J
Claremont, NC
Jan 21, 2012

rome in January

Rome is a great value in January. Minimal lines and less competition for services. We really enjoyed our visit at the Augusta Lucilla Palace, the front desk staff was extremely helpful. The room was very nice but the bed was VERY hard and the first few nights were difficult getting to sleep. The morning breakfast was the exact same menu every day. The only hot items were eggs and bacon that was not cooked well enough that most Americans would feel comfortable eating. Lots of breads and coffee though. The location near Termini station was convenient and kept travel times to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cunyuk
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

close to main transportation

The hotel is nice,clean and quiet modern.It is close to the main station termini, where it is the hub of the main transportation in rome. You can catch metro, bus or intercity train from this terminal. Hotel staff's are very helpfull when you need some information or direction to go somewhere, or how to get to specific tourist destination. We would certainly rcommend this hotel to friend or family who may come and visit Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the receptionist about place to eat, they will glady point you to the right place and even made reservation for you if you need one.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenniphiliac
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Perfect for the average tourist

This was a great hotel for a first visit to Rome. It's just blocks from the train station and surrounded by restaurants and shops, with all the popular sites close by, easy to walk to or get to by subway. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean and comfortable. They also serve a big complimentary breakfast. It's an excellent place to stay if you want to be in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Breakers
London, UK
Apr 6, 2012

Fantastic, much better than thought it would be for the price!

The hotel was much better than we were expecting for the price. Really friendly and helpful staff, very comfy room. Breakfast was great, a good spread with something for everyone's tastes. Location was perfect for a sightseeing trip to Rome, 5 minutes walk from the main station. The area felt a little run down so again the Hotel was surprisingly nice. The only shame was the Wifi which was free, but the signal was very poor so we could only get it in the lobby and that was temperamental at best! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 4euro coaches to and from the airport instead of the 14euro train, Its 45 minutes straight to Termini station.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hummercat
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Would stay there again! Perfect location.

If we are ever lucky enough to get back to the beautiful city of Rome, we will stay here again. The room was comfortable and large enough, given that hotel rooms in Europe and Italy are small. The bed was very comfortable, room was always clean and tidy when we returned after a long day. THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL IS SIMPLY PERFECT! Just 2 blocks to the metro, train and bus station called Termini. (We saw no reason to spend a lot of money on an extravagant hotel room knowing we would not be in it much.) Location was everything and we had it all. I would recommend a room looking over the inner courtyard as the city is very noisy in the morning. We vacationed in April and had to have the window open for cool air so had difficulty sleeping in the morning due to the street noise. The friendly staff could not have been better and were very helpful on each and every question and concern we had. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient to start each busy day. The room lacked hooks and enough hangers to hang jackets and other articles of clothing on (it looked as though the wall lighting has been used for hooks as they were hanging as through ready to fall off). The snack fridge was useless as it was housed in a cabinet under the desk which had no ventilation so the items inside were not cold. Would have been nice if the Augusta had a restaurant, but there are so many good ones around that you don't lack a selection. Go to the first one the hotel staff recommends (Cecio Cecio, I think.) It's not far and they are quite accommodating and friendly with enough of a selection on the menu that you could eat there every night and not go wrong. Finally, Rome was one of the friendliest cities we've every visited, except our own, of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the Roma pass for transport and entrances to Museums. We did not as we went when the Museums were free. However, it still would have been less expensive. It is a good deal.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMLeon
Kentucky, USA
May 29, 2012

Excellent location and extremely helpful front desk staff!!

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The fornt desk staff was always willing to assist with booking museum and dinner reservations and providing directions to the various sites. The room was clean, comfotable, and conveniently located to most of the major sites. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Borghese Museum - do not take bus 910 as our driver dropped us off on the opposite side of time at an empty arena. Fortunately, found a person that gave us directlions to tram -- which then required a very, very long walk from one side of the Borghese grounds to the museum.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevRG
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2012

Nice hotel/location

We stayed at the Augusta Lucilla Palace from 7/8/12 through 7/16/12. The room was spacious (there were only 2 travelers) and clean. The cleaning staff cleaned our room every day and did a great job. The only two downsides were that we did not have an ironing board or a refrigerator. Each morning we ate the continental breakfast. This consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, sweet rolls, etc. The breakfast was okay, but nothing memorable. The location of the hotel is great as it is in walking distance to Termini train station and very accessible to all of the sites. The gentlemen working the front desk were very helpful. For the first three days of our stay, we were signed up for guided tours that we needed to confirm beforehand. The gentlemen at the front desk gladly took care of it for us. Further, they took care of booking a taxi to come pick us up when we had to go to the airport. Great value, comfortable/clean rooms, and great service. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a good little restaurant called Il Tavolinetto just down the corner from the restaurant. Try the zucchini and mushroom pizza. It was fantastic.

Back to menu Return to top