Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
View map of 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Terri
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 4, 2014

Classic Hotel

This is a lovely classic old hotel. Loved the fact that the Beatles and U2 both have stayed there before. :o) Great staff and nice facility. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice walk from the very Irish Temple Pub.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ATOZ
Business
West Yorkshire
May 2, 2014

Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated in the thick of things. Cannot say anything negative about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget taxis to/from hotel. Get a coach from the airport - it stops immediately outside hotel, pick-up is directly across the road and runs every 15 mins (cost 7 euros each way).

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mauram
Business
Norhern Ireland
Apr 30, 2014

Loved it

Stayed in the Gresham Sudnay 27t April. On arrival the receptionist was very helpfefull, expecially when i asked for a room facing O'Connell Street. My room was on the 1st floor, was quite big and newly refurbished. Beds were comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Had all the little extras in the bathroom that can be so easily forgotten. It also had the dressing gowns and slippers, nice touch. My only fault for the room, was the hairdryer, i like hairdryers to have a nozzle, but it still did the job, so not too big an issue. The Gresham has the pefect location, right in O'Connell Street, really handy for everything. I will definitely be back and stay longer next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
steinanwine
Business
Chicago
Apr 22, 2014

Decent but NOT a 4 star hotel

I'm not a snob about hotels. I need a nice, clean and warm place to sleep. The Gresham was all of those things but it's been billed as 4 stars. It is certainly not a 4 star hotel, it is just 3 stars, if that. The room itself while clean, including the bathroom, was drab and just meh. Again, I don't need chandeliers and glittery sheets but I was underwhelmed since its supposedly a 4 star place. The beds were springy and pretty uncomfortable but still clean. The bathroom had nice hot water and good water pressure but their toiletries they offered were of below average quality and they did not even have conditioner. The tape seal on my shampoo was already broken (do not use if seal is broken) which I only realized after I was in the shower. The shampoo is also labeled as moisturizing. I assure you it is not. The exterior and lobby of the hotel are nice but misleading. The rooms do not reflect the same grandeur as the exterior of the hotel. Staff was friendly and the location is pretty good but thats mostly considering that Dublin is not a huge city so as long as you are somewhere in the city you're probably near everything you want to see. It was fine for our one night stay and I didn't feel dirty or taken advantage of but this place was a bit expensive for what it actually was and is just definitely not 4 stars, at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
British Wonderer
Business
England
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent Location

I had passed the Gresham Hotel on a number of visits to Dublin and thought it would a pleasant hotel to stay in, if I ever had the opportunity. How wonderfully surprised I was when I decided to book a room for our visit. From arrival to departure all of the staff were attentive, courteous and responsive. The room was really nice and the food beautifully prepared and served. We would be happy to book a room in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Iced lady
Business
Dundalk
Feb 19, 2014

Very cold room

When we arrived there was no heating on in the room We had to ask them to look at it which they did Very quickly, but after a few minutes it went Off again. Asked again and they got it Working, but the bathroom was freezing no Heating at all. Very disappointing for the Price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaguar Skills
Business
England
Feb 4, 2014

30th Birthday

Staff were very friendly. The hotel was very clean, had a nice bar and seating area for drinks, and the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Your pretty much close to everything you would want to do! Also Muhammad Ali stayed there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside the hotel you can catch one of the Dublin tour buses - it takes you to pretty much everywhere you want to go and you can use the same ticket the next day - saves on taxi fares :-)

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed01
Business
Stuttgart. Germany
Dec 17, 2013

Dublin Weekend

The hotel was in a great location and had some charm. The room was clean and comfortable but I must say that I did not have a 5 star experience. My room window faced a dirty alley that was constantly noisy and the window did not seal very well, there was a constant cold draft. The wifi internet did not work well and I could not keep a connection and at most times if would not connect at all. The breakfast buffet for 20 euro was the worst I have ever experienced, not something you would expect from a 5 start hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelGuy77
Business
NY
Oct 8, 2013

Quick Trip to Ireland

The hotel is upgrading some rooms and not others. I was in 2 seperate rooms during my trip. One was upgraded and the other wasn't. The upgraded one was much nicer and more acceptible. My shower in the orig room as not really working properly and the beds were not that comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mlssrvs
Business
Evanston, IL
Oct 8, 2013

Nice hotel, pricey but in line for the location.

I had a nice stay at the Gresham. The lobby areas are well appointed. The rooms had all the right amenities and were good sized. The only issue I encountered was someone pulled a fire alarm at 3am on saturday night/sunday morning so we all the hotel guests had to trek out to the streets in our PJs. This is obviously not the hotels fault but it definitely did damper my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

all walking distance or a short cab ride away Saba - Thai food Temple bar area for drinking

Back to menu Return to top