Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

3 stars
View map of At Merrion Sqaure, Dublin 2, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas nv
Jan 3, 2011

Awesome! Bar stayed open just for us!!

Friendly staff, small but comfy rooms. AWESOME location! Traveled with another couple and it was perfect! About 2 blocks from Grafton street with awesome shopping. Right by Trinity College and within an adventurous (a bit of a distance) walk to Christ Church, St Patricks church, The Guinness factory and Jamesons. The bar at the hotel was usually almost empty but they would stay open and cheerfully pour drinks till we were ready to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 26, 2010

Great Value in the heart of Dublin

This hotel is right off of Merrion Square and within walking distance to Trinity College, the Temple Bar District, and shopping on Grafton Street. My wife and I were able to walk to all of these attractions from the hotel, which made our stay enjoyable. The hotel room itself is small, but cosy. The beds were comfortable and I felt like we got great value for what we paid. This hotel is listed as 3 stars, but I found it comparable to most 4 star hotels. The staff answered all of our questions and were friendly. I would definitely stay here again if traveling to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Trinity College library is a five minute walk from the hotel. The Book of Kells and Long Library exhibits are very interesting and 9 euro per person.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Jan 19, 2011

Nice Place, Great Location

The O'Callaghan Mont Clare was a great value for the price paid. We arrived in Dublin at 0530 and were able to check in at 0730. Desk staff was very courteous. The room was neat and clean. Very little noise in the hotel and beds were very comfortable. The location is very convenient for most of the Dublin sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamilton, NJ
Jul 30, 2009

Central but quiet location

Perfect city center location, within walking distance to all the major tourist attractions in Dublin, but surprisingly quiet/peaceful even during a busy U2 concert weekend. Hotel staff were friendly and always helpful. Decor was a bit dated and the room was rather small, but it was clean and we we didn't spend much time at the hotel anyways. Great value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring your most comfortable shoes. All that walking on cobblestones will do a number on your arches! Also, we took the Aircoach (Ballsbridge/Donnybrook route) from the airport to Merrion Square North for $8 euro one way pp ($12 euro round-trip). It dropped us off right across the street from the Mont Clare hotel (but the trip took around 45 minutes). If you plan on taking the Aircoach BACK to the airport, you need to drag your luggage to the Suffolk street stop (in front of the Dublin tourist center, about a 10 minute walk from Merrion Square)

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kylie
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

sisters night away

great central location,clean comfortable room,will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cainy
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

good trip

very nice hotel enjoyed my stay, the breakfast is overpriced and not brilliant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Jimmers
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 2, 2014

Nice hotel, good location.

Hotel was very nice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Only small complaint was that water pressure in the room was pretty low, though this may be a city regulation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
Apr 30, 2011

Awesome hotel

Breakfast spread is wonderful and contains a full hot Irish, pastries, fresh fruit with a pot of tea or coffee. Rooms are clean and spacious with a restraunt guide that gives you the menus for several surrounding restraunts. Easy walking distance to EVERYTHING in the city. Cab fare to airport a reasonable 25 euro. Wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ginger Man pub right around the corner. Full bar, super good food (and very generous portions) and chatty bartenders who will tell you the best to see in Dublin and what to skip over.

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul P.
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Great Experience

The hotel was beautiful and situated in a great location for what we wanted to do. The staff were so friendly and helpful and were always ready to help with anything we needed. Such a great experience, will likely stay with them again if we come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul P.
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Great Experience

The hotel was beautiful and the staff were some of the friendliest people I have ever had help me. Such a great hotel in a very central location. Would definitely reccomend to friends, and will probably stay there agin when we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top