Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Grafton Capital Hotel

3 stars
View map of Stephens Street Lower, Dublin 2, Dublin, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
50 reviews
Comfortable

It is a nice hotel. the staff is very friendly. if you are not looking to spend much time in the... See full review

  • The Ireland Fans
  • Feb 25, 2014
Great location

I absolutely love the location, it is walking distance to most of Dublin's top attractions. My room... See full review

  • JC
  • Mar 11, 2015
Shop all day, party all night steps from Grafton Street
Not many Dublin hotels have their own nightclub, but at the Grafton Capital Hotel in Dublin's city center, steps away from world-class shopping and entertainment and the area's biggest attractions, the building's beautiful facade gives way to one of the city's most popular nightspots. Break for the Border incorporates a bar, Mexican-style cantina and nightclub with Mediterranean decor and pull-your-own-pint tables. Rooms are comfortable and spacious with traditional Georgian colors creating a warm, inviting environment.

 

Highlights
  • Beautiful Georgian facade steps from Grafton Street in the city center
  • Break for the Border bar, restaurant and nightclub offers excellent entertainment
  • Comfortable guest rooms decorated in traditional Georgian colors
Rooms

Decorated in traditional Georgian colors, guest rooms at the Grafton Capital exude warmth and comfort. Each room features cozy bedding with extra throws, tea and coffee station, clothes-care facilities and bathroom with power shower, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. Mini-suites offer spacious rooms with king-size bed, CD player, mini-bar and an extra-large bathroom with double vanity.

Features

The Grafton Capital's excellent location in the city center near Grafton Street and Temple Bar means the hotel is steps from area shopping, attractions and entertainment. Guests hoping for an exciting night out need not look far--the hotel's Break for the Border features a Mexican-style cantina serving dinner, a busy bar with pull-your-own-pint tables and a popular nightclub with Mediterranean décor. The Grafton Capital offers free Internet access in public areas and discounted parking is available at a nearby garage (ask hotel for details).

Transportation
  • Dublin bus service (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Luas tram service (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Aircoach service (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • St Patrick's Cathedral (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Temple Bar (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Christchurch Cathedral (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • National Gallery and National Museum of Ireland (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Trinity College (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Mansion House (.7 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • One conference room can hold up to 25 delegates
  • Overhead projector and screen
  • Flipcharts
  • TV and video
  • Direct dial telephone, additional (DSL) ports
  • Special equipment hire

Grafton Capital Hotel Rooms

Single, Double / Twin
Room with one double or one twin, offering Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Room service,Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grafton Capital Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3414 -6.2644
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Grafton Capital Hotel is located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, just off Grafton Street which is the premier shopping district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Castle Market: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.1 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.2 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.1 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.2 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.2 mi
  • The Ark: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.3 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.3 mi
  • College Green: 0.3 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.3 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.3 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grafton Capital Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC
Business
Florence
Mar 11, 2015

Great location

I absolutely love the location, it is walking distance to most of Dublin's top attractions. My room was rather large, especially compared to other places that I have stayed at in Ireland. I personally liked the understated room decor. Value for money considering all the pluses about this hotel it is a very good deal. My only gripe about this place is the fact that I had absolutely no wifi in my room. Since I only stayed here for one night I wasn't overly concerned about it, but in this day in age easily available wifi should be a priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David D.
Business
Clover
Mar 10, 2015

WiFi

The only bad thing is the Wi-Fi is only on the first floor and not actually in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kilkenny Couple
Business
Kilkenny
Feb 3, 2015

Great centred location

Great location to experience life in Dublin city both day and night. May not suit those who needs early and quiet night sleep as there is a club bar at ground floor that caters party goer I would strongly advice to contact the hotel prior bookings. I'm used to sleep with the loud music on background but my other half having trouble with the loud pumping base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Would strongly recommend this hotel for travellers with car who want city centre location and doesn't need to use the car for the day in Dublin city. St Stephen car park just 500m away which you could park for 24h. You could book with the cark park company directly or contact the hotel reception.

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Elaina
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

great location

great for the money. Won't find something so central at the same rate! Clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eleni P
Business
New York
Sep 3, 2014

Great Location

This hotel was within walking proximity to everything! Room was clean. Amenities were decent. The only downside was that there was no wifi in our room. You had to go the first floor lounge for free service. Other than that we were serviced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bettylou
Business
Berkshire, England
Aug 30, 2014

great location

This hotel was lovely, great location, friendly and helpful staff and huge rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the hop on hop off buses for great discounts. The tour guides are great, and will let u know where u can save money

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CaliJen
Business
San Diego, CA
May 22, 2014

Horrible Schmorrible

I stayed at over 10 hotels while in Ireland and this in my only bad review. The good points: Good water pressure, big towels The bad: This place was horrible. DO NOT STAY HERE. OVER PRICED AND GROSS. There was a homeless guy camped out in front of the place when I arrived. The hotel's side doors were locked so I had to drag my roller bag-which was large-through the rotating door. The customer service when I arrived was terrible. The girl at the desk hardly looked at me. Didn't tell me where my room was and took off for what must have been a bathroom emergency or something. She didn't mention the wifi-which is only available on the first floor. So ridiculous. The hotel has a funky odor about it which was even worse in my room. I had asked for a non-smoking but clearly got a smoking room. If you have a converter-good luck using it-the pictures on the wall-which are screwed to the wall-are hung so low that you can't plug your converter in. There was mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom. The noise was so bad I wore earplugs. I could hear the people next door every time they went to the bathroom!!! The hairdryer looked like some weird vacuum cleaner thing. I had to take a picture of it. It was crazy old and took forever to dry my short hair. Overall: The chances of me ever staying here again: NIL. Especially at $125/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonos Bird
Business
Sheffield. UK
Mar 23, 2014

fantastic weekend getaway

The staff were very friendly and always happy to help.rooms cleaned everyday.the best thing about this hotel is the location,close to shops bars cafés and about 5 minutes walk to temple bar. the only down side to the hotel is the night club on the ground level,so if you like your sleep before 2.am id stay somewhere else.i loved the hotel and will be staying again next time im in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina w
Business
Galway
Mar 13, 2014

Excellent location

The location of this hotel is excellent. The decor and fixtures and fittings were all super grand maybe 20 years ago- the bath is fitted with marble tiles and heavy brass fittings. The bath had jacuzzi jets. The room was clean although a bit dated. The room was large. The rooms just need some modernization but i loved this place. The staff were friendly and the location was fab. This is excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an eating feast for our two days in dublin. Had breakfast on day one in cake cafe(10 min walk- pleasent healthy breakfast) afternoon coffee in 3fe (unusual), dinner in fade st social( really enjoyable-just across the road) and a lovely pint after in the hairy lemon. On day 2 had breakfast in fumbelly cafe( real cool) , coffee in the bald barista ( not a pleasant experience) and a nice pint I the long hall before getting the train home that evening!

Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Ireland Fans
Business
NY
Feb 25, 2014

Comfortable

It is a nice hotel. the staff is very friendly. if you are not looking to spend much time in the hotel it is perfect. small but clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top