Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

3 stars
View map of 23-25 Bachelors Walk, O'Connell Bridge, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 14, 2009

nice place but

Great location, nice staff, clean rooms. The only real problem is there is no air conditioning and no real air comes from the windows. So if it is really cold out you will have no problems. Great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

left side of the spike its called Flanigans best place I found in 7 days

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 6, 2009

Central Location

Very good location, close to everything. If your windows are facing Liffey river, you'll get fantastic view but not much sleep on weekends. Free Irish dancing and songs in hotel bar. Although hotel advertises free WIFI it didn't work in our room. It worked just fine in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple bar is just across the river.

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jofle
Business
Olympia, WA
Jun 18, 2009

Outstanding with a few drawbacks

Only a few steps across the river from Grafton Street, Trinity College, and the Library. Unbeatable for the price. Staff were not just helpful, they were eager to help. Nightly free entertainment was good to very good with a talented trio playing Irish and 50-60s period folk and rock tunes one night and Irish dancers and snother band the next. On the questionable side, our room opened onto an alley. With our window open all night for necessary air circulation, aside from the normal city noise, occassionally loud and drunken street people ambled by. The north side of the river is taking a bad economical hit and while we never felt unsafe, we would advise confining walking time in the evening on the south side. We would book again for the location, staff and entertainment. This was a great find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PadraigS
Business
Michigan
May 31, 2009

Nice place, Great location.

Right in the middle of a bustling tourist area in Dublin. The Arlington has a great show aimed squarely at tourists, it's clean, efficient and has great service. It's not the Ritz... but a good mid-priced hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore MD
May 28, 2009

Amazing location for the price

We arrived at the Hotel a little tired and concerned that our room was not going to ready, because our check in time was 1400 and we arrived at about 1215, but the staff warmly welcomed us. They seemed to care about us and the distance we traveled to get to them. They asked questioned about our trip and weather we were hungry. They made reccomendations of places to eat, both inside the Hotel and outside. The check in process was effortless, and the room was ready. The room was clean comfortable and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The live entertainment at the Arlington was unsurpass and you must do The Bus Tour around Dublin with live commentary. When shopping please ask for the Tax Free statements

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkland, WA
May 27, 2009

Great location, average hotel

Stayed at the Arlington Hotel while vacationing in Dublin. After brief confusion over our reserved room (we swapped rooms 3 times before getting our standard two beds in on room)we had a pleasant stay. The front desk staff were always courteous and helpful. We enjoyed the Irish dancing show in the lounge area, would definitally recommend this. The food was OK. Wouldn't bother buying the continental breakfast. You get cereal, yogurt, toast and some old looking fruit. There are many coffee and bagel shops around that have better options. The location is wonderful. You're a block from O'Connell Street (you can catch a shuttle to the airport here)and within a 10-15 minute walk to Trinity College, Dublin Castle, the temple bar area and Christchurch Cathedral. The music from the bar can be very loud. The music stops at 11pm on weekdays except for Friday, don't plan on going to bed early... Overall, very nice stay. Hospitable staff, clean rooms and lots of hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Color me gone
Business
michigan
May 9, 2009

good location

Worst part of hotel was an out of order phone that they did not repair. Half way into stay they offered to move us to a different room. No radio as advertised on their web site. Hotel was in central location and in close proximity to many attractions. Evening entertainment was good at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midland Michigan
May 8, 2009

Fantastic location in Dublin

We had a wonderful time during our six day stay at the Arlington Hotel. The hotel's perfect location, the friendly staff and the awesome entertainment in their bar are positives that far outweigh the one disadvantage of noise due to the nightly entertainment in the bar. I would suggest requesting a room as far away from the bar as possible and/or taking a white noise maker to mask the music. We had the latter and it worked just fine. I highly recommend the Arlington if you visit Dublin. It's a great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

make reservations as early as possible for the Irish dancers and dinner show. Ask for the closest table to the stage.

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dublin visitor
Business
nyc, ny, usa
May 8, 2009

ok for short stay, with some drawbacks

this hotel is not bad for a budget hotel. it's pretty clean and in a GREAT location, particularly if you want to take the AirLink or AirCoach to & from the airport. it's right on the Liffey River & O'Connell Street, and all the sites in central Dublin are walkable from here. some of the staff was friendly, some a little cold. typical i suppose. the double bed was actually 2 twins pushed together. fine, but not ideal. as an american, i find myself a little spoiled when it comes to plumbing, so the fact that the sink had 2 faucets -- one scalding hot, and one freezing cold -- neither quite comfortable to use for washing your face, etc. -- a little irritating. do NOT stay here if you intend to have visitors. i spent an evening walking around Dublin with my friend who lives there, and he wanted to use the toilet before taking the tram back to the suburbs where he lives -- and they wouldn't let him in!! this was only at about midnight. and this is not a dangerous area. i found that quite silly & irritating. and another thing about the free WIFI -- to be completely blunt, they filter out sites they consider to be "pornographic". i find it strange that a hotel dictates for its patrons what is and isn't appropriate material to browse in a private hotel room whilst traveling. all in all -- for a quick cheap stay, it's clean and safe and convenient, but feels a little like staying at a controlling nun's place or your conservative grandmother's house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Apr 22, 2009

great location

room was very small and tv didn't work. Good lively entertainment in the bar. Overall my stay was enjoyable and would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top