Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 24, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016

Apollo Hotel Athens

3 stars
View map of 10 Achilleos Street, Athens, 10436

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
4 reviews
Clean hotel, poor location

This hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. However, the location was poor. Not near... See full review

  • Emily G.
  • May 24, 2015
Average

This hotel was a good deal because it was close to the metro and well priced. However, besides... See full review

  • Michael P
  • Jul 5, 2012
The Apollo is a superior 3 star first class central hotel which displays the true values of Greek Hospitality. With 52 quality rooms we are always able to provide accommodation to you satisfaction and comfort, with room ranging from singles to suites. All rooms are graciously appointed with all the amenities a customer requires of the even demanding hotel market. With luxury fittings providing maximum comfort and convenience for all our guests, we are certain that you room will be to your satisfaction, and ensure that our high standards equate to excellent value for money.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Apollo Hotel Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.9851 23.7202
Area served
Athens, Greece
Area description
Hotel Apollo is located in Kareiskaki sq. 10, Achilleos str, 2 min. walk from Meraxourgio Metro Station allowing for easy Rail (Larissa International Train Station - 500 m) and Bus access, with convenient reach to Flaka (Old Town of Athens) and Acropolis.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Apollo Hotel Athens

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1.5
Value:
2.5
Sort by:
Review of Apollo Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emily G.
Single
medford
May 24, 2015

Clean hotel, poor location

This hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. However, the location was poor. Not near many grocery stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Apollo Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael P
Friends
Bay Area, California
Jul 5, 2012

Average

This hotel was a good deal because it was close to the metro and well priced. However, besides closeness to the metro, the location was not great. Once we got to Athens, we found a lot better locations with similar deals. The staff was a mixed bag. There was one gentleman that checked us in and was very helpful and friendly. There was also one lady that was there every morning and did not have a friendly demeanor and made it seem like helping us was a huge inconvenience. Overall, I would say that this was an average hotel for the price but not a great deal. I would stay somewhere else if I go back to Athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Apollo Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Professor
Single
Italia
Aug 22, 2010

You Get What You Pay For...

The view from the rooftop is amazing! You can see the entire city and some amazing sunsets while having a drink and/or dinner. I have to say that this was one of the best parts of my stay at the hotel. The bartender and the cook (young man and young woman) were my 'best friends' during my visit! They both made me feel at home and gave me great advice and insight into Greece and Greek culture. Since I travelled alone, I looked forward to their company each evening. Honestly, without the two of them, well, I probably would have switched hotels after the first night! The two of them make that place what it is! I would hire either one of them to work for me if I owned a hotel. The woman who tends the front desk in the afternoons was also very friendly and very helpful! She answered all of my questions about directions and places to go and did so with a friendly smile and in near perfect English! She was great! The woman who tends the desk in the mornings, unfortunately, was not at all friendly. She was "too busy" as she said, to help me with directions, but then quickly drew lines on map just to get me out the door. If I owned a hotel, I would NOT want her greeting my customers! She needs to work on her people skills. She had little patience and when she did talk to me, it was not at all sincere. I did not find her personality, thankfully, to be the same among the Greeks. The hotel is in not in the greatest location as far as asthetics is concerned. You have to walk past some pretty horrible sights to get to it. I discovered, however, that that is the case in most of Athens. The location near the Metro was a HUGE HELP. Would I stay there again...probably not, unless, of course, the people who I mentioned favorably were still working there. Oh, and if you think you're getting a slamming breakfast in the morning, think again. It was not at all like those I've had in other countries. The Germans and the Poles have this place beat hands down!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Because this hotel is so close to the Metro, you can get to just about every part of Athens with little or no trouble. I would stay near a metro if I were you. It saves time and money. It's cheap, clean, and runs like clockwork! Don't buy any of those pre-packaged tour trips. Do your homework and research where it is you want to go and then do it on your own. You save a lot of money and can do things at your own pace. That's what I did.

Review of Apollo Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GladToBeHome
Family
London
Mar 15, 2010

Average hotel in a very dangerous area

My mother and I stayed at Apollo Hotel together and it was one of the most unenjoyable experiences ever. The hotel claims it's in a safe area of Athens...it isn't! We were walking back to the hotel one evening after eating in Psiri and two policemen drove us back because the area we were in was dangerous. There are abandoned buildings, trash on the streets, and tons of graffiti on buildings. In general, just filth with the people occupying the neighborhood to match. The hotel didn't make up for the bad location either. Most staff was unhelpful and had very negative attitudes. The wireless Internet worked for the first day and then wouldn't work for the rest of our stay despite frequent contact with the hotel staff. The breakfast is the same every day. Bread, peaches, cornflakes, and hard boiled eggs. The upstairs terrace that they rave about on their website is only opened during the summer months. In general, there is no entertainment or anything fun to do at the hotel and it's terrible because there is nothing in the neighborhood to do either. A generally disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top