Rate based on Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
21 reviews
Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in... See full review

  • Bianca constant traveler
  • Dec 29, 2014
Good location, average rooms

Basically you are paying for the location, room size and conditions are average, dont go by the... See full review

  • Trav
  • Aug 16, 2015
This hotel has delightful "old-fashioned" atmosphere that once welcomed the English clientele during Paris Belle Epoque. The quests would admire the charm of the waxed wood and the cozy atmosphere in piano-bar. The hotel boasts a stunning position: an exceptional location facing the Louvre on the corner of the Rue Saint Honore, famous for its luxurious windows displays. The hotel also provides free wireless access in rooms, at the reception and in the breakfast room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 21
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5
Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Single
MT ELIZA
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Louvre is a 2 minute walk. The Tuilleries are a 2 minute walk. The famous cafe tea-room Angelina is a 2 minute walk on Rue De Rivoli. Excellent stores and cafes surround the hotel!!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monet
Single
Rochester, Michigan
Oct 17, 2010

Great location, hotel not so much!

I felt that this Normandy hotel was probably once a very grand place to stay in it's hay day, however, it's time to update the complete hotel from the entrance, foyer and more importantly the rooms themselves. I found it all very tired and not the best in cleanliness. It was in an excellent location central to the louvre, so that was the upside to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackii M
Single
Leesburg, FL
Jul 16, 2010

NORMANDY HOTEL

The Hotel is very close to the Louve and the Seine, but I arrived in the heat of summer and there was no a/c. The bed had a dip in it and was hard, and the concierge was not particularly friendly. So it's good for convenience sake, I got a good rate, but I have to ask whether it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great little brasseries around the hotel. The food was good and reasonably priced.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Michigan
Nov 4, 2009

Paris hotel Normandy

I didn't realize that using the hotel phone is VERY expensive, had a bill of 70E. Eeeeek!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top