Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
126 reviews
Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in... See full review

  • Bianca constant traveler
  • Dec 29, 2014
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 126
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colin C.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Normandy Hotel

certainly not 4 star, but clean & right in the centre of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edmund M.
Business
Sausalito
Jan 23, 2015

Trocadero central location

Easy walk from Eiffel Tower. Great jogging map was provided by the hotel for my morning champ de Mars run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Business
MT ELIZA
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Louvre is a 2 minute walk. The Tuilleries are a 2 minute walk. The famous cafe tea-room Angelina is a 2 minute walk on Rue De Rivoli. Excellent stores and cafes surround the hotel!!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Business
MT ELIZA
Dec 17, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delta Heart
Business
Indiana
Jul 27, 2014

Lots of Character

Hotel was beautiful, but it was very hot in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the three day pass for the subway.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner4travel
Business
Boston
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

Great location on this older hotel, so close to the Louvre. Staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John J H
Business
New York, NY
Apr 29, 2013

Look elsewhere

I paid $120 for a night here in late April 2013. The one good thing about this hotel is location, as it is a stone's throw from the Louvre. Other then that, I was pretty disappointed. No a/c, broken fridge (which they pretty much refused to help me out with), not the best English speaking staff, and very, very spartan accommodations to the room. In dire need of new management and a renovation. Look elsewhere unless you can get it for cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Carrefour on St Honore a few blocks away, where you can get a large baguette, pate, cheese, and some beer for under 8 Euros.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zelda0309
Business
OC, California
Aug 22, 2012

Great location, not a four star hotel

This is definitely not a four star hotel, having said that, the three minute walk to the Louvre makes up for everything else. The whole hotels needs an upgrade, and the (free) wifi only works in the lobby. I found the room to be quite roomy- I stayed in a single room, but it didn't have any sort of air circulation. Luckily, there was a fan. The only times I was in the room was to sleep, and nap in the middle of the day. The staff was friendly- just make sure you know a few basic words in French, and they'll be your best friend ("bonjour" and "comment ca va?") I was a single woman traveling alone, and felt safe returning and leaving hotel after sun-down. This wouldn't be my top choice when I return to Paris, but I also paid pretty low prices when grouped with the flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stops very close by!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacques Brel
Business
New York
May 22, 2012

Solo Trip

As I was traveling by myself, I wanted to book my hotel in a very central location that was close to the metro. In this respect, this hotel was a perfect choice. However, on my first full day there, I had an issue using my credit card, and when trying to call out of the hotel to fix the situation, I ran into a slew of difficulties. The concierge was most unhelpful I explaining the phone situation. I was told I needed a phone card to call collect out of the hotel, sent on a wild goose chase to purchase a phone card, only to get back and be told you could not use a phone card with the hotel calling service. Very frustrating to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top