Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
120 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 120
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.9

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delta Heart
Business
Indiana
Jul 27, 2014

Lots of Character

Hotel was beautiful, but it was very hot in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the three day pass for the subway.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner4travel
Business
Boston
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

Great location on this older hotel, so close to the Louvre. Staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John J H
Business
New York, NY
Apr 29, 2013

Look elsewhere

I paid $120 for a night here in late April 2013. The one good thing about this hotel is location, as it is a stone's throw from the Louvre. Other then that, I was pretty disappointed. No a/c, broken fridge (which they pretty much refused to help me out with), not the best English speaking staff, and very, very spartan accommodations to the room. In dire need of new management and a renovation. Look elsewhere unless you can get it for cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Carrefour on St Honore a few blocks away, where you can get a large baguette, pate, cheese, and some beer for under 8 Euros.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zelda0309
Business
OC, California
Aug 22, 2012

Great location, not a four star hotel

This is definitely not a four star hotel, having said that, the three minute walk to the Louvre makes up for everything else. The whole hotels needs an upgrade, and the (free) wifi only works in the lobby. I found the room to be quite roomy- I stayed in a single room, but it didn't have any sort of air circulation. Luckily, there was a fan. The only times I was in the room was to sleep, and nap in the middle of the day. The staff was friendly- just make sure you know a few basic words in French, and they'll be your best friend ("bonjour" and "comment ca va?") I was a single woman traveling alone, and felt safe returning and leaving hotel after sun-down. This wouldn't be my top choice when I return to Paris, but I also paid pretty low prices when grouped with the flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stops very close by!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacques Brel
Business
New York
May 22, 2012

Solo Trip

As I was traveling by myself, I wanted to book my hotel in a very central location that was close to the metro. In this respect, this hotel was a perfect choice. However, on my first full day there, I had an issue using my credit card, and when trying to call out of the hotel to fix the situation, I ran into a slew of difficulties. The concierge was most unhelpful I explaining the phone situation. I was told I needed a phone card to call collect out of the hotel, sent on a wild goose chase to purchase a phone card, only to get back and be told you could not use a phone card with the hotel calling service. Very frustrating to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 19, 2011

Fantastic Location - Wonderful Staff!

This is an old old building with great charm. Expect old and smaller rooms, but the location is a 2-minute walk to the Louvre! All kinds of places to eat immediately around hotel. If you want to waste no time seeing the sights, this is the place to be. Price is good for such a location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
Jan 10, 2011

Great location but small rundown rooms!

The lobby is very nice. The room was small and had massive cracks in the walls and ceiling! The bed was very old and not comfortable. There is no room service and the tv only gets one channel in English. The wifi Internet access is limited to the ground floor only, there is no access in the rooms. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining area at the Louvre is excellent for all kinds of international and French food.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monet
Business
Rochester, Michigan
Oct 17, 2010

Great location, hotel not so much!

I felt that this Normandy hotel was probably once a very grand place to stay in it's hay day, however, it's time to update the complete hotel from the entrance, foyer and more importantly the rooms themselves. I found it all very tired and not the best in cleanliness. It was in an excellent location central to the louvre, so that was the upside to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
coloradofarmer
Business
Boulder,CO
Sep 23, 2010

Variable experience

1. I arrived and was given my room. It was in the back of hotel, up 3 separate flights of steep stairs ( w/ no ascenseur option!). I heard other people dragging their luggage up and down during my 4-day stay! It was VERY logistically difficult. They had nobody to offer to help I later noticed guests going up and down an ascenseur in the front of the hotel, so they obviously have "normal rooms" to which you may get your luggage up and down. 2. They kindly booked me a Navette, 36 hrs in advance, to get to CDG airport ( took an 8E deposit, and rest to driver). In the morning,I waited 5,10,15,20,30 mins for it to show up! The Concierge just shrugged and got exasperated: "Madame I cannot control them". Then I tried Plan B for a taxi (I was desperate and would pay anything!). The Concierge told me they were all busy... I tried to get him to refund my Navette deposit, and it took about 15 mins!! He claimed that he had called a taxi, but 15 mins later, nothing. At this point I was in serious jeopardy of missing my flight. I was saved by a French/Turkish chauffeur.... he obs. this, talked w/ me, and finally hailed me a cab and said "Just get into it, and take it!" Since I hadn't counted on a 60E trip to CDG, I only had 58E. My Normandy Hotel Concierge ( above-mentioned) refused to exchange a 10 USD bill for Euros. So, I prayed that my cab didn't exceed my E. (I just made it, and just made my flight as well). High stress ending to the great city of Paris. Stay somewhere else while you're there - it really is a wonderful place, with wonderful people. And thanks to my blessed Turkish/French chauffeur!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top