Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat E
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 11, 2010

location,location,location

[...] We were sent to a very small awful room and treated as if we were lucky to get that. We went up to the room and found it did NOT have two beds. We spoke to a friendlier desk person and got a room with two beds. The room was clean but small and very shabby. We were told to come back Sunday morning to see if we could move to a better room. I went to Paris to see the sights not to fuss with changing rooms. This mixup was entirely the hotel's fault. [...] The Normandy Hotel does not know which end is up. Also, there was never anyone at the front desk or consierge desk when we returned at night. ANYONE could walk in and up to any room without being noticed. Great for a week when the terror alert was RED. There were a couple friendly staff but most were rude and incompetent. Certainly NOT 4 star maybe 2 and those stars are for the location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
coloradofarmer
Business
Boulder,CO
Sep 23, 2010

Variable experience

1. I arrived and was given my room. It was in the back of hotel, up 3 separate flights of steep stairs ( w/ no ascenseur option!). I heard other people dragging their luggage up and down during my 4-day stay! It was VERY logistically difficult. They had nobody to offer to help I later noticed guests going up and down an ascenseur in the front of the hotel, so they obviously have "normal rooms" to which you may get your luggage up and down. 2. They kindly booked me a Navette, 36 hrs in advance, to get to CDG airport ( took an 8E deposit, and rest to driver). In the morning,I waited 5,10,15,20,30 mins for it to show up! The Concierge just shrugged and got exasperated: "Madame I cannot control them". Then I tried Plan B for a taxi (I was desperate and would pay anything!). The Concierge told me they were all busy... I tried to get him to refund my Navette deposit, and it took about 15 mins!! He claimed that he had called a taxi, but 15 mins later, nothing. At this point I was in serious jeopardy of missing my flight. I was saved by a French/Turkish chauffeur.... he obs. this, talked w/ me, and finally hailed me a cab and said "Just get into it, and take it!" Since I hadn't counted on a 60E trip to CDG, I only had 58E. My Normandy Hotel Concierge ( above-mentioned) refused to exchange a 10 USD bill for Euros. So, I prayed that my cab didn't exceed my E. (I just made it, and just made my flight as well). High stress ending to the great city of Paris. Stay somewhere else while you're there - it really is a wonderful place, with wonderful people. And thanks to my blessed Turkish/French chauffeur!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 15, 2010

Steps from the Louvre!

The location couldn't have been better! We were steps from the Louvre, and a short walk to the Tuilleries, the Seine, Place de la Concorde, Opera House, etc. The daily maid service did a pretty good job. The room itself was clearly in need of refurbishing. The bed was comfortable. Requested wake up calls came at the wrong time or not at all. Carlos, the Concierge, was fabulous and saved us time on all we did. Although the staff were very friendly, they did seem understaffed. We did not get into the room on time. They were running late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from Paris Shuttle (parishuttle.com)! We had paid in advance for a shared with other travelers trip from CDG Airport and a private return trip. The initial trip from the airport took over 3 hours because the driver didn't know how to get to certain addresses. For the private return trip (for which we'd paid twice as much to ensure we got to the airport on time), the driver never showed up. We had to flag down a taxi. Although Paris Shuttle told me on the phone that they would refund our money, they haven't done it.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antvic
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 27, 2010

Tourist trap

All what they say, may have been true, when the hotel was built in the early 1900's, certainly not now. A tourist trap. this hotel is falling apart and is not well kept. During our whole stay the a/c in our room did not worked. Staff hang up the phone everytime we called to complaint and bad mouth in french, when we spoke to them in person. With our little comprehension of french, it didn't take a french national to know what they were saying. We met wonderful french nationals in Paris which were very helpful with directions, etc. Regrettably since we had prepaid our stay, they did not want to give us our money back. Will not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Our only bad experience in our trip to Spain and France.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Aug 26, 2010

Hotel Service? None, Ignored,

Arrived in room to find out that the Air Conditioner wasn't working. Showed signs of not working for a while, broken grills, controls damaged and hanging by wires, water/or other fluid leaking from the bottom (had to put garbage pail under to collect).Calls to front desk, to repair and or change our room were IGNORED. [...]Room windows had to be left open to make room comfortable, Not so - outside temperature was hotter and the noise leave keep us up most of the night (extremely noise).Room was reserved for 3 adults - you would think that with 3 beds in the room that the house keeping staff would leave towels for 3. Not so, 2 days without enough towels for 3 and even after calling front desk - NO towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Patchogue , NY
Aug 17, 2010

Charming but tattered

The location was perfect, one block from the Louvre and Metro station. As an American I appreciated a Starbucks acrooss the street with american style coffee. There also was a cash machine across the street. The room was charming but a little tattered, very French. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UMPreacher
Business
Bartlesville, OK
Aug 11, 2010

Great Location

Fantastic location. Some concierge service not very good, didn't seem interested in helping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

for a great experience, dine at Loup de Vouvre, a restaurant just inside the Louvre, one block from hotel; your can dine on the lawn of the Louvre with the Arc de Triomphe and Eiffel Tower in the distance.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holywood Co Down Northern Ireland
Aug 9, 2010

Paris trip

We visited all the well known sites in Paris, they were so close to the hotel you could almost walk to most of them. I had to ask for extra pillows over a two day period, other than that the trip, the hotel and staff were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 2, 2010

Decent hotel in a good location

Hotel had the largest rooms out of the 10 or so we stayed at in Europe. Location is very good. Most hotels we stayed at included a free breakfast. We did not have that at this hotel. This hotel also really needs maintenence - the porcelin is chipped, carpet worn through, etc. We lost power in all of the outlets (which the service desk told us happened because we left a camera plugged in, which we did not). It looks like it used to be a really nice hotel, and it COULD be again. Adding a guest laundry room would also really be helpful. The laundry service costs were WAY too high for us to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cacechris
Business
new jersey
Aug 1, 2010

Not the best hotel that i have stayed in

It doesnt have air conditioned in the rooms. The concerge on night shift was drunk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top