Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
120 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UMPreacher
Business
Bartlesville, OK
Aug 11, 2010

Great Location

Fantastic location. Some concierge service not very good, didn't seem interested in helping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

for a great experience, dine at Loup de Vouvre, a restaurant just inside the Louvre, one block from hotel; your can dine on the lawn of the Louvre with the Arc de Triomphe and Eiffel Tower in the distance.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holywood Co Down Northern Ireland
Aug 9, 2010

Paris trip

We visited all the well known sites in Paris, they were so close to the hotel you could almost walk to most of them. I had to ask for extra pillows over a two day period, other than that the trip, the hotel and staff were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 2, 2010

Decent hotel in a good location

Hotel had the largest rooms out of the 10 or so we stayed at in Europe. Location is very good. Most hotels we stayed at included a free breakfast. We did not have that at this hotel. This hotel also really needs maintenence - the porcelin is chipped, carpet worn through, etc. We lost power in all of the outlets (which the service desk told us happened because we left a camera plugged in, which we did not). It looks like it used to be a really nice hotel, and it COULD be again. Adding a guest laundry room would also really be helpful. The laundry service costs were WAY too high for us to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cacechris
Business
new jersey
Aug 1, 2010

Not the best hotel that i have stayed in

It doesnt have air conditioned in the rooms. The concerge on night shift was drunk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 28, 2010

Unwelcome at the Normandy

Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a very small, shabby room with no air-conditioning. We immediately asked for a room with a/c but were told it was not working throughout the hotel. We explained that a/c was one of the reasons we chose the hotel and were met with blank stares -- there was nothing they could do. I asked a gentleman who was standing nearby if he was staying there - yes - and if he had a/c in his room - yes! The staff were lying to us, our room never had a/c to begin with. [...] After much discussion, we were grudgingly told a room change might be possible the next day if we came to the desk early in the morning to inquire if anyone checked out. We did and were given a slightly better room the next day which at least had a/c. This room had peeling paint, threadbare sheets and broken furniture. To add insult to injury, when we checked out we were told we owed 1.8 euro per person, per night for city taxes. We have done extensive traveling and are familiar with European accommodations and this was by far the worst we have encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond va
Jul 20, 2010

hotel normandy

The staff was freindly. the location was great. the room was spacious. But...The hot tub didn't work and there was mildew in the bathroom. Overall, not bad but not four star by any stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to another part of town to eat. the restraunts here are expensive, low quality, and touristy.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SunnyNYC
Business
NYC
Jul 17, 2010

Great location but...

What a Great hotel! This hotel is so good that it will make you just dieing to explore the City. However, please make sure you come back to your single room ( if you booked a single room) dead tired so you can just pass out without an air-condition. This hotel is a green environment hotel its so green they do not use a shower curtain well at least in my bathroom there was none… This hotel wants you to feel like home or at least own a home… too bad I did not travel with my tool box so I could not fix the bathroom door handel… This hotel remind me my childhood when I was growing up in the 3rd world country where I learned how to endure and overcome the difficulty times… This hotel educated me on hotels reating system. I have been worked in many different hotels in different countries… Overall, the hotel has a nice location. That I truly mean it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If walking is not a problem for u ...

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackii M
Business
Leesburg, FL
Jul 16, 2010

NORMANDY HOTEL

The Hotel is very close to the Louve and the Seine, but I arrived in the heat of summer and there was no a/c. The bed had a dip in it and was hard, and the concierge was not particularly friendly. So it's good for convenience sake, I got a good rate, but I have to ask whether it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great little brasseries around the hotel. The food was good and reasonably priced.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Great Location Terrible Hotel

Terrible stay. AC did not work, AC control panel was hanging on its wires and separated from the unit, was told an AC technician would service the unit but AC was never fixed. Complained late in the evening after returning to hotel and was moved to a stuffy room with poor AC. Had to move the portable bed myself (for daughter) to the new room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2010

Normandy Hotel

We arrived in 90 degree heat on July 2 and I assumed there would be air conditioning as this was a "4 star" property. There is no AC. Our room was on the 6th floor. It was so hot we slept on top of the sheets and took multi showers. Opening the windows gave us air - but the drone of motorcycles and police sirens as well as the 3 am garbage trucks left us in zombie mode.The bed was very low in height as it was supported by a box spring 6 inch high that was on the floor. Closet was a small old style wood wardrobe. Business center was one old computer which seemed to be on dial up mode - I gave up on trying to send an email home - it took too long. Its desk drawer was filled with used scrap paper and old candy bar wrappers apparently never emptied by the staff. The bathroom was old tile and the paint was peeling off. This place barely gets a 2 star for location. It was a let down. Breakfast was not included. I found several alternative B & B not far from here in the 1st A that were on quieter streets. Clearly this hotel survives by the influx of travelers by tour bus operators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top