Rate based on Check-in: Feb 25, 2016 Check-out: Feb 28, 2016

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
21 reviews
Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in... See full review

  • Bianca constant traveler
  • Dec 29, 2014
Good location, average rooms

Basically you are paying for the location, room size and conditions are average, dont go by the... See full review

  • Trav
  • Aug 16, 2015
This hotel has delightful "old-fashioned" atmosphere that once welcomed the English clientele during Paris Belle Epoque. The quests would admire the charm of the waxed wood and the cozy atmosphere in piano-bar. The hotel boasts a stunning position: an exceptional location facing the Louvre on the corner of the Rue Saint Honore, famous for its luxurious windows displays. The hotel also provides free wireless access in rooms, at the reception and in the breakfast room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.2

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
Family
mass, USA
Oct 26, 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trav
Family
Cupertino
Aug 16, 2015

Good location, average rooms

Basically you are paying for the location, room size and conditions are average, dont go by the photos they have posted on the web

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Single
MT ELIZA
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Louvre is a 2 minute walk. The Tuilleries are a 2 minute walk. The famous cafe tea-room Angelina is a 2 minute walk on Rue De Rivoli. Excellent stores and cafes surround the hotel!!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ANNiE the Artist
Couples
Florida
May 11, 2014

AMAZING Location

The staff was helpful and friendly. Most speak fluent English. Room was serviced daily. There was lots of hot water. The room was larger than I expected as was the bathroom. The lobby has grand chandeliers. The bar has lots of woodwork. The location is AMAZING, only a half block from the Louvre. On the down-side, check-in isn't until 2pm and when you arrive on an early flight, bone-weary tired, waiting is the last thing you want to do. The area is expensive, so expect to pay a high price when dining out. This grand old lady of a hotel is in need of a little plastic surgery or rather plaster surgery. The bathroom had chunks of plaster coming away from the wall, peeling paint, and cracks in the wall. The tub surface was coming off as well. When you open the windows to the inner courtyard with picturesque metal roofs, the wood work is almost not nearly there it's THAT old. BUT in spite of it all, I would most definitely stay here again and AGAIN and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small grocery shop nearby, stock up your in room fridge with cheese, meat, fruit, wine, and a baguette for picnics at the nearby Tuileries Garden. WATCH out for pick pockets!!!!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Functionally
Business
Eindhoven, Neitherlands
Mar 20, 2014

Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a morning walk around would be a very impressing experience in visiting such a cultured city, if you live in Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Location is the ONLY good thing

The ONLY good reason to stay at this hotel is the location which is superb. There are literally NO ammenities at the hotel such as coffee in the morning, vending machines, or ice machines. You CAN get breakfast for 12 euros but I just wanted coffee and was charged for breakfast. The hotel staff seemed annoyed when we asked for help with directions. The rooms seemed clean but badly in need of rennovation with peeling paint and wallpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monet
Single
Rochester, Michigan
Oct 17, 2010

Great location, hotel not so much!

I felt that this Normandy hotel was probably once a very grand place to stay in it's hay day, however, it's time to update the complete hotel from the entrance, foyer and more importantly the rooms themselves. I found it all very tired and not the best in cleanliness. It was in an excellent location central to the louvre, so that was the upside to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Aug 26, 2010

Hotel Service? None, Ignored,

Arrived in room to find out that the Air Conditioner wasn't working. Showed signs of not working for a while, broken grills, controls damaged and hanging by wires, water/or other fluid leaking from the bottom (had to put garbage pail under to collect).Calls to front desk, to repair and or change our room were IGNORED. [...]Room windows had to be left open to make room comfortable, Not so - outside temperature was hotter and the noise leave keep us up most of the night (extremely noise).Room was reserved for 3 adults - you would think that with 3 beds in the room that the house keeping staff would leave towels for 3. Not so, 2 days without enough towels for 3 and even after calling front desk - NO towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
East Patchogue , NY
Aug 17, 2010

Charming but tattered

The location was perfect, one block from the Louvre and Metro station. As an American I appreciated a Starbucks acrooss the street with american style coffee. There also was a cash machine across the street. The room was charming but a little tattered, very French. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Holywood Co Down Northern Ireland
Aug 9, 2010

Paris trip

We visited all the well known sites in Paris, they were so close to the hotel you could almost walk to most of them. I had to ask for extra pillows over a two day period, other than that the trip, the hotel and staff were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 28, 2010

Unwelcome at the Normandy

Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a very small, shabby room with no air-conditioning. We immediately asked for a room with a/c but were told it was not working throughout the hotel. We explained that a/c was one of the reasons we chose the hotel and were met with blank stares -- there was nothing they could do. I asked a gentleman who was standing nearby if he was staying there - yes - and if he had a/c in his room - yes! The staff were lying to us, our room never had a/c to begin with. [...] After much discussion, we were grudgingly told a room change might be possible the next day if we came to the desk early in the morning to inquire if anyone checked out. We did and were given a slightly better room the next day which at least had a/c. This room had peeling paint, threadbare sheets and broken furniture. To add insult to injury, when we checked out we were told we owed 1.8 euro per person, per night for city taxes. We have done extensive traveling and are familiar with European accommodations and this was by far the worst we have encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top