Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
119 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
mass, USA
Oct 26, 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeeMK
Orange, California
Sep 15, 2014

Honeymoon Stay

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. It was very old and the room was on the small side (maybe because our room was under the stairs so we had to duck our heads in 25% of the room space). We liked that the hotel was very close to the metro, Louvre, and many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MirS
Tallinn, Estonia
Aug 20, 2014

Nice vacation

Great location, just about 200 m from Louvre. A little bit old, but cozy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice bakery just across the street - Eric Kyiser. Great croissants in La Musset (also across the street).

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emmerdale20
Birmingham, UK
Aug 11, 2014

Location location location

Although 4 star, this hotel does feel tired. The paintwork is chipped and the wallpaper a bit shabby. BUT, within a few steps of the door you acn see the Louvre or the Palais Garnier (Opera) - which is the reason we go back. This time we had a fridge in our room, little tiny balconies to see out over the rooftops of Paris (we were on the 6th floor), and a very useful electric fan. If you have kids or are feeling unadventurous there's even a McDonalds a couple of doors along and a Starbucks across the way! Not everyone's perect ideal, but for a central location we love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delta Heart
Indiana
Jul 27, 2014

Lots of Character

Hotel was beautiful, but it was very hot in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the three day pass for the subway.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A pilot or a pirate
Detroit
Jul 19, 2014

A good short stay

I think Normandy Hotel is at a perfect location for tourists. It's right next to Louvre and close to many other attractions. We used Big Bus and the hotel is in few minutes away from their office on Pyramid. The room was reasonably spacious compare and better than many space-hungry hotels in Paris. Now for the downsides. The room was noisy as it's adjunct to streets. My wife had to use ear plugs in the night. The air condition in our room was terrible. Even when the light in the air con was "on" the air was not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marty14
North Reading, Mass
Jun 23, 2014

Last night in Paris

We had a great night at the hotel. In the morning we had breakfast , which was reasonable at 12 euros each. It is walking distance to a lot of shops, the Louvre, and a bit of a walk to the Eifel Tower. Other tha n the price, it was a wonderful experience, an d we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evan64
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 23, 2014

Decent Hotel in a Great location

The location is right behind the Louvre, which is great!! The place needs some love. The hotel needs a fresh coat of paint and new carpet, but aside from that is decent. We had 2 safe deposit boxes in our room but neither one worked.... Most of the staff was great. Overall our experience was a good one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Louvre is 2 blocks away! Latin Quarter is not a far walk if you're up for it. Notre Dame is within striking distance...

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Functionally
Business
Eindhoven, Neitherlands
Mar 20, 2014

Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a morning walk around would be a very impressing experience in visiting such a cultured city, if you live in Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geoff Brisbane
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Dec 27, 2013

Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just perfect for being steps away from The Louvre, souvenir shops, dining options, transportation. The airport shuttle they offer us is a great budget option to go home. Old hotel and I thought my allergies would be affected (very allergic person) but I had a good night sleep).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner4travel
Boston
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

Great location on this older hotel, so close to the Louvre. Staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top