Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 14, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
125 reviews
Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in... See full review

  • Bianca constant traveler
  • Dec 29, 2014
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
mass, USA
Oct 26, 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colin C.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Normandy Hotel

certainly not 4 star, but clean & right in the centre of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edmund M.
Business
Sausalito
Jan 23, 2015

Trocadero central location

Easy walk from Eiffel Tower. Great jogging map was provided by the hotel for my morning champ de Mars run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Business
MT ELIZA
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Louvre is a 2 minute walk. The Tuilleries are a 2 minute walk. The famous cafe tea-room Angelina is a 2 minute walk on Rue De Rivoli. Excellent stores and cafes surround the hotel!!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Business
MT ELIZA
Dec 17, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B.Ganee
Business
Petaluma
Nov 13, 2014

The best location for the price

I got a good deal on line for this hotel. The building is very old and needs a serious remodeling. The room I had was not so good for the price I paid but the location is really the best. Its just 3-5 mins from the Louvre Pyramid! So, if you stay for just 1 or 2 nights go ahead! Don't choose the standard room. For few bucks more you won't be under the roof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Louvre Museum

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeeMK
Business
Orange, California
Sep 15, 2014

Honeymoon Stay

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. It was very old and the room was on the small side (maybe because our room was under the stairs so we had to duck our heads in 25% of the room space). We liked that the hotel was very close to the metro, Louvre, and many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MirS
Business
Tallinn, Estonia
Aug 20, 2014

Nice vacation

Great location, just about 200 m from Louvre. A little bit old, but cozy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice bakery just across the street - Eric Kyiser. Great croissants in La Musset (also across the street).

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emmerdale20
Business
Birmingham, UK
Aug 11, 2014

Location location location

Although 4 star, this hotel does feel tired. The paintwork is chipped and the wallpaper a bit shabby. BUT, within a few steps of the door you acn see the Louvre or the Palais Garnier (Opera) - which is the reason we go back. This time we had a fridge in our room, little tiny balconies to see out over the rooftops of Paris (we were on the 6th floor), and a very useful electric fan. If you have kids or are feeling unadventurous there's even a McDonalds a couple of doors along and a Starbucks across the way! Not everyone's perect ideal, but for a central location we love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delta Heart
Business
Indiana
Jul 27, 2014

Lots of Character

Hotel was beautiful, but it was very hot in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the three day pass for the subway.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A pilot or a pirate
Business
Detroit
Jul 19, 2014

A good short stay

I think Normandy Hotel is at a perfect location for tourists. It's right next to Louvre and close to many other attractions. We used Big Bus and the hotel is in few minutes away from their office on Pyramid. The room was reasonably spacious compare and better than many space-hungry hotels in Paris. Now for the downsides. The room was noisy as it's adjunct to streets. My wife had to use ear plugs in the night. The air condition in our room was terrible. Even when the light in the air con was "on" the air was not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top