Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Royal Saint Germain

3 stars
159 Rue de Rennes, Paris, 75006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
56 reviews
Paris in the summer

An excellent place to stay! Good staff, considerate, extremely clean and neat. A great place which... See full review

  • David the Barbarian
  • Jul 27, 2013
Worth it, great location.

Right in the middle of two metro stops and a short walk from Monparnasse tower, this hotel was a... See full review

  • Me The other doctor
  • May 15, 2014
Whimsical, romantic rooms and a daily continental breakfast buffet

Hotel Royal Saint Germain captures the spirit of Parisian life in one of the city's most charming neighborhoods: Saint Germain des Pres. The elegant property benefits from an ideal location near the Seine, the Jardin du Luxembourg and Notre Dame Cathedral. The hotel serves a daily breakfast buffet in a romantic, floral-filled lounge, which, like the rooms, wins guests over with charm and French flair.

Highlights
  • Elegant hotel in the heart of Saint Germain des Pres
  • Continental breakfast buffet
  • Public parking lot across the property
  • Apartments available for families
Location

Guests at Hotel Royal Saint Germain make the most of their location near Jardin du Luxembourg, Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter. The hotel is in the heart of Saint-Germain des Pres and Montparnasse, known for their vibrant cafes and nightlife.

 

The Metro also transports visitors to the Porte de Versailles Exhibition center, Louvre Museum and Champs-Elysees within 10 minutes.

Rooms

Hotel Royal Saint Germain flirts with whimsy and romance in rooms decorated with floral prints, antique furniture, still life paintings and landscapes. Renovated spaces favor a wide range of hues, from lovely Neapolitan colors to striking fluorescent yellow, slate and red. Fully air-conditioned rooms treat visitors to conveniences like free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, mini bar and direct-dial telephone. Families can also request an apartment.

Transportation
  • Paris-Orly Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
Attractions
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Jardin du Luxembourg (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • The Louvre (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Tuileries Gardens (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Champs-Elysées (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Musee Picasso (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Maison de Victor Hugo (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (3 mi/4.9 km)

Hotel Royal Saint Germain Rooms

Standard Room
Double or twin bed rooms. Air conditionning, safety deposit box, minibar, Free internet wireless. Some rooms are connecting
Superior Room
Renovated double or twin bed rooms. All the rooms have been renovated in 2008 with all the best comfort (LCD TV, digit deposit box), air conditioning, minibar, Free internet wireless

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Royal Saint Germain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8449 2.3252
Area served
Paris Left bank
Nearby airports
30 minutes from CDG airport 20 minutes from Orly airport
Area description
Hotel is located between Saint-Germain-des-Pres, Montparnasse and Luxembourg garden. Few metro or bus station to Porte de Versailles exhibition center, Louvre Museum, Eiffel Tower, Champs-Elysees Avenue

Nearby points of interest

  • Montparnasse: 0.1 mi
  • Musée du Montparnasse: 0.2 mi
  • Théâtre du Lucernaire: 0.2 mi
  • Théâtre de la Gaîté-Montparnasse: 0.4 mi
  • Gare Montparnasse train station: 0.5 mi
  • Saint Michel - Saint Germain des Pres: 0.6 mi
  • Luxembourg Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque de Sainte-Geneviève: 0.6 mi
  • Luxembourg Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Place de Catalogne: 0.6 mi
  • Mines ParisTech: 0.6 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.8 mi
  • Montparnasse: 0.1 mi
  • Musée du Montparnasse: 0.2 mi
  • Théâtre du Lucernaire: 0.2 mi
  • Théâtre de la Gaîté-Montparnasse: 0.4 mi
  • Gare Montparnasse train station: 0.5 mi
  • Saint Michel - Saint Germain des Pres: 0.6 mi
  • Luxembourg Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque de Sainte-Geneviève: 0.6 mi
  • Luxembourg Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Place de Catalogne: 0.6 mi
  • Mines ParisTech: 0.6 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.8 mi
  • Denfert-Rochereau: 0.8 mi
  • Catacombs of Paris: 0.8 mi
  • Paris Descartes University: 0.8 mi
  • Musée Auguste Rodin: 0.8 mi
  • University of Paris-Sorbonne: 0.8 mi
  • Collège de Sorbonne: 0.9 mi
  • Lycée Louis-le-Grand: 0.9 mi
  • Musée national du Moyen Âge: 0.9 mi
  • Latin Quarter of Paris: 0.9 mi
  • Panthéon: 0.9 mi
  • Musée des Plans-Reliefs: 1 mi
  • Musée d'Histoire Contemporaine: 1 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 1 mi
  • Institut de France: 1 mi
  • Army Museum: 1 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 1 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 1.1 mi
  • National Assembly: 1.1 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 1.1 mi
  • Les Invalides: 1.1 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 1.1 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 1.2 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 1.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 1.2 mi
  • Conciergerie: 1.2 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 1.2 mi
  • Le Cordon Bleu Paris Culinary Art School: 1.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 1.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeff R.
Colorado Springs, CO
Apr 4, 2012

Good Location But Hotel So-So

The hotel is being renovated. The hotel staff seemed irritated by the low price we got online kand put us on a floor that had no carpet or wallpaper/paint in the hallways. The room was OK but there was no coffee pot/hot water pot. The shower was nice but the room was a step below the others we got in Paris, Rome, and London. The location is quite nice though. Be careful that breakfast is NOT included despite the fact that the description of the hotel says that it has a daily buffet breakfast. You have to pay extra for the room to have breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best place for Fondu and other eating is by the St. Severin church.

Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamjo
Lansing, MI
Nov 30, 2013

Decent Hotel for First Time in Paris

The location was nice...close to many shops, restaurants, and cafes. There were a couple metro stops close by, which made traveling throughout the city convenient. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was small, but I was expecting this given that it is France. Even so, there was still plenty of room to move around, store luggage, etc. The room was decorated nicely with light blues and browns. The bathroom included a tub/shower with an overhead "rain" shower-head as well as a small vanity with a bowl sink. Our room was on the 6th floor and faced the road. The road noise was noticeable, but not overly loud. There was a strange odor coming from our bathroom. It appears there was work being done outside the hotel on piping, so it may have been related to that. Our stay was in late November when the outside temperatures were in the 30s & 40s F. Our room stayed warm, and we opened the window at times for some cool, fresh air. Overall, the hotel seemed like a good value. I would consider this hotel again when I return to Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim traveling in Paris
Vienna, VA
Sep 11, 2013

Enjoyable Stay

Hotel Royal Saint Germain is typical of other hotels in Paris in this price range. If you are looking for a place to shower and sleep and don't need other amenities - it is great. The night hotel clerk - an older gentlemen whose name I sadly can't remember was absolutely delightful. Loved him!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dad Traveling with Teen daughter
Keene, NH, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Just OK

St. Germain is in a great spot if you like to shop or hit the metro to get around the city. Rue de Rennes has lots of shops and places to eat nearby. I was a bit disappointed in the hotel...we had electrical problems in our room (an electrician was parked out in the hall for a couple of days but it did not fix the broken outlet in our bathroom. Also, the front desk did not have adapters for our US grounded plugs so we couldn't recharge our Mac's. The breakfast is only fair and only worth the 12.5 Euros if you're not up for heading up the street for something better and cheaper. All in all, we had a great visit, the folks at the hotel were nice, but we were left feeling they could ramp it up (clean it better, fix it up). Hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Indian restaurant near the Montparnasse Gare is very good and reasonably priced!

Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KKBW
Alberta, Canada
Feb 15, 2012

good location, small hotel, not super clean

Pleasant surprise to have a continental breakfast included with the room. Good european breakfast. Nice sitting area where breakfast was served. Rooms are SMALL - even Superior rooms. In fact not all rooms are the same size, even though advertised as Superior. Even though it's a non smoking hotel, people stand at the doorway and smoke and then it's sucked into the venting system and enters the room. Had to air out our room by opening the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to use the city bus system. Good value, quick and great way to see the city. Open Tour bus (hop on, hop off) is also good, but is not heated and since we were there when it was VERY cold, city bus was a better way to get around.

Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjfontenot
Anaheim, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Paris

Small but nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the metro and resturants

Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, Costa Rica
Feb 23, 2010

Just ok, expected better

The hotel was not what we expected for the price we paid. [...] The room and bathroom both looked old and needed some maintenance. We complain about the first room we got, so they gave us another one that looked a bit better and at least had a view. We had no major issue, but I'm sure there must be better hotels in France for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Latin Quarter. It is not so close to the hotel, but it is walking distance. There a lot of nice restaurants there and a lot of bars and clubs. A lot of people go during the weekend so it is fun. I recommend it, if you want to walk around and experience a bit of the french nightlife.

Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me The other doctor
New York, NY
May 15, 2014

Worth it, great location.

Right in the middle of two metro stops and a short walk from Monparnasse tower, this hotel was a great stay. Very friendly and helpful staff and free wifi! Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BangorBill
Bangor, Maine
May 5, 2014

Excellent value in good location

We booked one of the less expensive rooms. The room was clean, with garish pink wallpaper and a fine view of a newly-painted brick wall. The bed was OK, good reading lamps, and no other furniture except a small desk and chair. Bathroom was OK, not too small, with a window to open for fresh air. The staff was courteous and helpful. There is a tiny lobby with no seating. We didn't use the breakfast room on the second floor. Earlier in the week we stayed at a big fancy hotel, but we thought that Hotel Royal Saint Germain was a much better value. It is located near the big ugly Montparnasse Tower office building, which offers the best high-level view of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Our five-hour tour van trip to Giverny had the convenience of a pick-up at our hotel, but it allowed only two hours in Giverny, which was not nearly enough time. Advice: Find out how to get to Giverny by train and bus or taxi, and spend a whole day there to see Monet's house and garden, the American Impressionist Museum, the town and galleries, and have lunch.

Review of Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j traveler 2014
michigan
Feb 27, 2014

worked out well

We only stayed a few days but this was a nice place to do it. The room did get hot at night so you want to be sure to either leave the window open during the day or at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the buckwheat crepes around the corner from the hotel. They were reasonably priced and very good.

Back to menu Return to top