Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
450 reviews
We had a great time

The Melia was great. We decided to upgrade to The Level, which is the adult side only and it was... See full review

  • Nolevamo
  • Apr 13, 2014
Getaway for a few days

Absolute fantastic resort! Beach area is gorgeous with lots of activities on the beach. You can... See full review

  • Continental
  • Mar 30, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (450)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
450 out of 450
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
TOM TOM 1
PUNTA CANA
Jul 14, 2013

VERY, VERY, NICE....

WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN... VERY GOOD PRICE, RESORT WAS VERY CLEAN, STAFF WAS HELPFULL. LOVED THIS RESORT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

MAKE RESERVATIONS EARLY...

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
TOM TOM 1
PUNTA CANA
Jul 14, 2013

very nice....

it was a great value, loved it. the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Summer Love 2013
NYC
Jul 13, 2013

Amazing trip!!

I cannot find the words to express what an amazing time I had at Melia resort! The food was delicious and the drinks could not have been any better. I cannot wait to go back next spring. Such a blast. I will never forget this trip. Thank you Melia!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Chexany
Punta Cana, DR
Jul 6, 2013

Excellent for the whole family

We just relax, ate, ate and ate, we are not heavy drinkers but did try a few good drinks, to me it was very different because I had never stay at a resort all inclusive before, my husband love the fact that we didn't have to go anywhere to enjoy the stay. The staff was GREAT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

please tip the hard workers

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Aly Rey
Clifton,New Jersey
Jul 4, 2013

Nice getaway

It was a nice experience. However, the hotel does not offer free transportation from the airport to the hotel. I had to pay $50 to a taxi driver. The hotel is very clean and the staff was nice. There were plenty towels at the pool section and at the beach. If you like to be connected to the Internet , the WiFi only works in the lobby. And if you want to have WiFi in your room,you will need to pay $15. They also charged exorbitant rates for phone calls. Food was good but you need to make reservations to certain restaurants. The drinks were so good. The beaches by the Melia Hotel had calm waves. Overall it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation before you head to the restaurant to eat.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
KC Lounge
Waynesburg, PA
Jun 21, 2013

Melia Tropical

The experience was great. We stayed in early June 2013. We upgraded to Royal Service and feel it made the experience much better. The room was clean and spacious, the grounds were well-maintained and beautiful, the pools and beach were breath-taking at times. The staff was very helpful and a majority of the staff were bilingual. We did not attend any excursions but did visit the theatre one evening for the Michael Jackson show and enjoyed it. A few pointers: bug spray is important, bring tons of 30 SPF lotion as the sun is intense, drinks tons of water, take in the whole grounds with the tram or by foot as it is a very beautiful location, bring a ton of reading material, and bring $1 bills for tipping. If you take good care of the hosts they will take good care of you. We will return if the opportunity arises itself in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

There are many restaurants with different themes. My personal opinion is that they are mostly the same in presentation and taste; but there is a spin on each plate (Thai is spicy for instance). But they are well worth it. Some dining locations need to be reserved in the morning or a day in advance.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
ResortPro844
Connecticut
Jun 21, 2013

Don't go if you expect good service

We just got back and went here for a destination wedding. Most of the family and friends agree with me that the service was garbage. Don't get me wrong, you can get whatever you want, but it's like pulling teeth in some cases to get things. For 7 days, no ice machine worked. I harassed staff to make sure there was beer in the fridge every day! The main buffet was good, but the one on the beach is gross. Whenever we asked staff questions, we felt like they would point us in different directions since they didn't have answers. The bartenders know you are there, but choose to make you wait regardless how much you tip. The wedding itself was pretty, but super unorganized. The bride was left in a golf cart in hot temperatures for over an hour before the ceremony because the guy marrying them went to ao another wedding first. Oh and you'll love this....during the first dance, they decided to shoot off pyrotrechnics on the dance floor. Great idea, but THERE WAS A 2 YEAR OLD STANDING OVER THE TUBE WHEN YOU DID IT! There are a lot of positives at this place, don't get me wrong, but the service does not make you feel special. People on my flight who were at different resports pretty much made me feel like Melia is the armpit of Punta Cana. I would not recommend this resort to anybody in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
IrishGirl412
Old Bridge, NJ
Jun 17, 2013

Beautiful Resort

Melia Caribe Tropical was absolutely beautiful. I went with a group of 7 people and we had an amazing time. There were a few hiccups and some things I didn't like, but overall it was a great experience. You have to make reservations for all restaurants in the morning, you can't do it the night before. And the restaurants were never crowded so I didn't care for that. The food was good, but nothing to write home about. There was a leak in my room, but they changed my room within an hour to an upgraded suite. I appreciated the upgrade. The beach and pools were fantastic. I just wish there was a bar on the beach, but hey you can't have everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservation as soon as you wake up.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
hillybetty
TN
Jun 6, 2013

great wedding destination resort

We upgraded to royal service, which we would recommend. The Gabi restaurant/bar is only for those guests and well worth it. The reservations for dinner is confusing, not sure why you can only eat at their specified times?? you cannot walk in to any of them, except Gabi. The pool for royal service is not crowded and we had a private beach area, which is very nice. The staff was always great and most went out of their way to assist. Tipping isn't required, but our group tipped and they truly appreciated it and treated us better than those who didn't. Doesn't take a lot, a couple dollars here and there. They had lobster on the menu every evening in Gabi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
lcadena
NYC
Jun 4, 2013

wonderful experience

Hotel staff is extremely friendly, very serviceable, food is fresh and a different variety daily. Making reservations to restaurant was easy. Just got back and had a lot of good things to say about my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top