Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
516 reviews
Five stars experience.

Excellent! We did the upgrade to the Level. Very clean, staff is very friendly and the food is... See full review

  • Nat26
  • Aug 15, 2014
Honeymoon hotspot

My wife and I had the best honeymoon we could ever imagine. The food, staff, pools, alcohol, and... See full review

  • gIMpSTa
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (516)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
516 out of 516
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Wade
Murray, KY
Mar 31, 2014

Great vacation

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week in the adults only upgraded Level section of the resort. Check in and check out was very quick and easy using the VIP lounge associated with staying at the Level. Upon checking in a concierge was assigned to us and showed us around. Roldan Capellan did a wonderful job making us feel welcome and at home during our stay, and helped us with such things as arranging for transportation and making reservations. The resort grounds were well-maintained and beautiful. The pool is huge and kept very clean, and the white sand beach was just a short walk past the pool from our room. Overall the food was very good (though I cannot recommend the Mexican restaurant). We actually enjoyed the restaurants set aside for the Level guests the most, and they were the closest to our room. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful, from bartenders to waiters to groundskeepers (especially Roldan and the young lady that greets guests entering the Level buffet/restaurant area - wish I knew her name so she could get the credit she deserves). We had a great stay at this resort and would not hesitate planning another stay in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked airport transportation along with stay at resort. It was easy and worth the cost.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Continental
Louisiana
Mar 30, 2014

Getaway for a few days

Absolute fantastic resort! Beach area is gorgeous with lots of activities on the beach. You can walk forever on the beach passing a nice little shopping market not far from the resort. Also nice large shopping mall right behind resort with walking distance. Golf close by. Not a blade of grass out of place at this resort. Grounds are impeccable. Peacocks and flamingos everywhere. Anything you could imagine to eat. Restaurants are first class. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Most of the staff friendly but you do have a few sour faces here and there. Would highly reccomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drink cups at hotel are rather on the small side (although they wil refill them as much as you want) you spend alot of time walking around for drink refills....so bring your own large insulated mug from home and they will refill those for you! HUGE time saver so that you're not running around for beverages!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JA KM
Reno, NV
Mar 28, 2014

poor customer service, good food

Worst customer service at a hotel we have ever had. Resturaunts were decent however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA KM
Reno, NV
Mar 27, 2014

Terrible Customer Service

My husband and I recently traveled to this resort with another couple, for a 6 night beach vacation. We had booked our trip for a standard king room. When we checked in the person at the desk tried to sell us the upgrade for the Adults Only area, The Level, for an additional cost. We were not prepared to spend additional money as we had already spent a significant amount bookin the trip, therefore we declined and wanted to keep our existing reservation. When we arrived at our room the door was incredibly difficult to open, room was out-dated and poorly lit. It definitely lacked any type of "wow" factor, we were dissapointed. I called the front desk and their only solution was to pay the difference for the upgrade. For all of our meals the resturaunts were crowded with families with young children, they were noisy and messy. The resturaunt by the beach was filled with flies, flies were landing both on the food in the buffet and on your plate while you tried to eat. We put our items down on tables to reserve them while getting food from the buffet and other people would move our things and sit there, it was very crowded. Also, staff were unfriendly, not helpful, and downright rude. I asked to speak to management and their solution to everything was to pay the upgrade, even when I demanded to speak to their manager they said that there was no other manager. I asked to cancel my reservation and go to a different hotel, they laughed at me and said I cannot do that and that my only solution was to pay more. After 3 days of this and being miserable we decided to pay the difference and upgrade. The upgraded room in The Level comes with access to an adults only pool, and completely different resturaunts. We instantly were happy with our choice to upgrade, but had an underlying feeling of stress and sensation that we had been forced to upgrade which kept us frustrated about the whole hotel itself. The resturaunts were a huge step up, they were insect free, beautiful, better quality food, less crowded, and significantly better staff. The room itself was also much nicer and worth the upgrade. We ended up loving the 2nd half of our stay at the Level. Also, our waiter at the pool, Domingo, was amazing and attentive, as well as friendly. It is unfortunate that we spent so much money on this trip and then had to spend even more once we arrived in order to receive the service that we expected from the beginning. This hotel has poor business practices. I recommend booking The Level to begin with, or going to a different property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Lady
New Hyde Park, NY
Mar 25, 2014

Amazing Couple Getaway

I had a really great time there. I stayed at The Level, which is the Adults Only section. It was great because the rooms are near the pool, beach and four adults only restaurants. If you wanted to get to the other side, you could have a staff member take you in a private golf cart instead of waiting for the train trolley that takes the guests around. It was a great perk. The pool for the adults only side was quiet and beautiful. The main pool looked exactly like the Adults only pool, but it had a lot of families and was a bit more crowded. The one thing that wasn't great was the check-in. We arrived around 1:15pm and our room wasn't ready until 3:15pm. We understood that it was supposed to only be ready by 3pm so we weren't upset about that, but the staff had taken us separately to the side of the resort where our room was without our luggage. It then took an additional 2 hours to get our luggage to our room (we received it around 5pm). So what could have been an entire day spent by the pool 1:30pm- into the evening, turned into waiting in the room for our things. I would suggest to future guests to ask to take your luggage aside and remove your beach items before the staff transports you to your room. Other than that, the service was great. The staff were very polite and accommodating. We loved our room and the maid service. The beach chairs and the beverage service was impeccable. The swim up bar had great service. We enjoyed the DJ music on the various nights and the Dominican music. The general grounds were extremely well kept as compared to other places like Cancun. The casino was small, maybe one or two blackjack tables, so don't go if you are looking to gamble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was great, but take a look at the menu before you commit because the buffet offers so much!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYGiants
Long Island, New York
Mar 20, 2014

Winter getaway

My boyfriend and I just spent six days at this resort and loved every minute of it. The staff is friendly, the beaches are beautiful, the drinks are strong, the food is great and the hotel grounds are very clean. Unlike some of the reviews I read, there is no pressure to upgrade when you check in. Everything is included and the only spending money we needed was for the casino and tipping the waiters and bartenders. It’s a very large resort but once you learn your way around, it is easy to navigate. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CarribeanLady75
Maryland
Mar 13, 2014

Very Disappointed and Upset

I booked this trip as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. When we arrived at Melia they were super nice when they thought we were booked at the Level. Afterwards, they proceeded to pressure us to upgrade to the level for a while for an extra $400. After they realized we were staying on the regular side of the hotel the customer service dropped. First they could not find our name then we were told our room was not even ready and, they acted as if they didn't even know we were coming. After standing there for about 45 mins we were told to go eat lunch then come back and our room SHOULD be ready. After lunch, our room was ready however, the key system was not working so if we left we could not get back in. Finally later that evening, our key was ready. Our room was outdated and the bathroom was horrible. It did not look like the pics on the website. Also, I sent an email requesting a room close to the beach (5 months in advance and a follow up a week before) and we were so far from the beach. I was told they do not take special requests. Don't even let me get started on the amount of people that try to get you to go to a "presentation" to sell you a timeshare! These people are sneaky and are everywhere. Melia, please note that while on a vacation (that I paid a lot of money for) I DO NOT want to be harassed by timeshare representations and people selling excursions every two hours! The pool closed at 7pm every night which is really early and the nightlife was horrible. The disco was ice cold and empty every night. It was almost like they wanted everyone to go to bed early. Food - The food was ordinary and a lot of it was recycled from the buffet to the a la carte dinner. They charge you to make reservations ($5) which is crazy. Also, a few of the restaurants were closed Sunday thru Tuesday. Two of the restaurants charged you from $50 to $80 which is crazy. Even down to the last minute when we tried to check out it was stressful! The bell boy was suppose to bring our bags up to the front at 9:25 am since our car was picking us up at 10:25am. I gave them my check out ticket and for one hour and 15 minutes no one could locate our luggage. Our car showed up and we could not leave. So finally, they found our luggage and then they could not locate the check out ticket that I gave them and would not let us leave until they found it. NIGHTMARE. Now, do not get me wrong it is a beautiful resort and that is the only reason I gave it 2 stars. Melia is huge actually too large. There is a train and golf carts to take you around because it is a 15 min walk. The gas smell from this vehicles is horrible. All the good at Melia seems to get overshadowed by the bad. This was at all not like any "all inclusive" resort I have ever stayed at because it was not truly all inclusive. It seems they are more concerned with making more money off of you then treating you good for what you already paid. I researched for weeks before choosing Melia and I really thought this resort was going to be great It was a huge disappointment and a waste of money. I have been all over the Caribbean at many resorts and this was the worst. I deserve a refund because I left here stressed instead of relaxed. We had planned on staying at the Melia in Nassau in the summer but, now we are undecided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not stay here. They don't appreciate the money you have saved, to spent at their resort.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spartan fans
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Mar 11, 2014

Family winter break

We have been going on a Spring Break with our kids and sometimes extra kids and families now for the past 12 years. Most of these vacations have been in the Caribbean at All inclusive resorts. Although we have always had good experiences during all of our vacations the Melia Caribe and Tropical has been our overall most enjoyable Resort that we have stayed at. Prior to this year (March 2014) the last time we were at this resort was in April 2011 and although not a lot has changed, but there were some noticeable differences; one was that the Resort is divided into three sections, the Level, the Adults only and the rest. At first we didn't think we would like this (we were at the least expensive) but really the resort is so large with so many amenities we really didn't notice it at all. The second change was a kiosk reservation system for Golf and specialty restaurants , which was very easy to use and we had an easy time booking everything that we wanted. The third most notable change was the customer service, check in and check out were extremely fast and we had one issue with our safe and they came with in 10 minutes to fix it. The staff in General seemed to be very attentive to customer service. Me and my wife relaxed on the beach while our 19 & 20 year olds quickly made friends with similar aged young adults from all parts of the world. I am sure we will return to this resort agin in a few years and we look forward to changes that I am sure will be made by then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Use the kiosk in the lobby to book your reservations, quick and easy!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Second honeymooners WI
Oshkosh, WI
Mar 9, 2014

Great people, great service... frustrating language barrier

The workers were extremely friendly and the service was great from the bartenders, to the wait staff, to the cleaning crew... the language barrier got to be frustrating and quite annoying when trying to ask questions. We got around that by asking other vacationers where things are, where to eat and what to do; it's very easy to make friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punta Cana MI
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Mar 7, 2014

Overall enjoyable experience

The resort is very clean and well maintained. It wasn't too crowded when I was on my vacation, so it wasn't too difficult getting rides around the resort. The resort was bigger than I expected, so it took some time to get familiar with the location. The rooms are decent sizes (I stayed at the junior suite) and come with basic amenities. It is an all inclusive resort, so most additional services to the room are free of charge. One downside was that theWi-Fi connection was very weak on the resort. Overall it is a great resort to stay in Punta Cana whether you're staying as a big group, family, or your significant other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Thai restaurant's service was very slow and the food was mediocre.

Back to menu Return to top