Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
594 out of 594
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoon Vacay
Business
Mississippi
Aug 9, 2014

Beautiful Resort / Rooms Need Cleaning

This resort was absolutely beautiful, but the rooms were simply not as clean as they should be for the prices you pay. The commode leaked and there were small winged bugs dead all over the floor. If the rooms were cleaner, I would recommend this hotel to others, but....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antonio S
Business
Lake Hopatcong NJ
Aug 8, 2014

awesome trip!

everything from the food, room, staff was top notch! they accommodated my family group of 14 with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geoff2028
Business
Centerville, OH
Aug 4, 2014

Wonderful

Helpful staff, wonderful pools, great location, and perfect weather to top it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall that is connected to the Hard Rock Cafe just outside the resort is of decent value and allows you to shop while not being hassled by anyone.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDonVacay
Business
Chicago
Aug 3, 2014

Great Value for the Quality

Firstly, I've got to say this resort is just beautiful. I stayed in the Adults Only area, which had the best location on the resort by far, because it is right in front of their really nice private beach, and also because that area is where the pools are located and has the most shading on the resort. That is not to say that the whole resort wasn't splendid either, it's just that if you want the best setup, leave the kids at home :). I got the all inclusive package(...I don't think Punta Cana trips offer it any other way) and they held up to it. When I got to the lobby, they didn't get/ask for my credit card. Just need your passport, really, while they also serve you martinis while you are sitting down. Afterwards, they showed me around and then straight to my room. The room: Nice, clean, and cold, as well as a giant fan that made it even colder. Beware, that fan is no joke, you're gonna freeze. The shower is nice and seems to always have plenty of hot water, towels, and shampoo or hair gel if you need it. The room also has a mini fridge full of water and soda, as well as a safe for your important stuff. I wasn't expecting much, but this place is really all inclusive. Feel free to eat and drink alot. They know how to make drinks here. However, the buffet could be better. It's okay, has good food depending on the day, but I think they make some of the stuff bland on purpose so that you don't get sick. This is strictly speaking about the buffet, otherwise, they have their separate restaurants that are much better. Though, they have even fancier ones that you have to reserve a day in advance and pay a flat fee. Otherwise, I enjoyed the food because I'm not picky. At one point, I had beer, then two cokes, and then a good cup of coffee in one dinner session. The staff here is pretty good. One last thing, the internet here is decent. It was works well in your room and in the lobbies, but not outside. And if you're the bathroom selfie type...the internet doesn't work there at all. For the most part, I was able to upload picture on Facebook just fine. There isn't much else I can say. As long as you're not demanding a 5 star hotel, the Melia actually provides you quality for an inexpensive stay. It's definitely four star though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waln
Business
Miami
Jul 29, 2014

family

The resort is not family friendly the only way to get the four start treatment is if you are not traveling with children and you have a Level room or are a Club member If not there is no room service no access to the private beach or the private pools and some restaurants are off limits to you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renier
Business
Miami Florida
Jul 25, 2014

Great vacation

This vacation exceeded my expectations. The hotel room was amazing, the staff was friendly and the location was excellent. The staff was able to get us a room just across the pool which was fantastic for our kids. The only downsize, I wish I would have stayed for a longer time. We had a fantastic time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firsttimer12345
Business
Indiana
Jul 21, 2014

Service was good when he got any.

The housekeeping was the most helpful and polite. We felt like we were an inconvenience any other time. Resort was beautiful and beaches we're very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring gum and men's shorts to trade for goods on the beach and any shops in the resort.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenandDee ATL
Business
Atlanta GA
Jul 19, 2014

Awesome getaway with my wife.

The hotel and everything about it was beautiful. The staff in certain areas were great! It is a very large hotel and you need golf carts to get around the property. The cart drivers are all over the property to help with that. The only negative about our stay is how many people tried to sell us stuff. You have to be firm and stand your ground or you'll get caught up in the sales pitch. This is a true all inclusive resort because you do not pay for anything, including wifi. The food and drinks were constantly flowing. The beach is stunning and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The dining options were great and food was incredible.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GodSeiya
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Jul 18, 2014

Great experience

Everything was great, except the Japanese restaurant which didn't served us because we were 8 minutes late on our reservation regardless it was my wife's bday. I placed a formal complaint about this and the hotel grant me a generous discount for a next visit. After that we had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WillMiamiFl
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2014

A not so "All Inclusive Resort"

Management problems when it comes to restaurants availability. I was not able to secure reservations to these even when I would call 24 hours in advanced; this meant that the first night you will not be able to attend a restaurant of your choice. Some of these Restaurants are not available 7 days a week even thought you pay for amenities the full week. It wasn’t until I complained to one of the Restaurant’s Manager about the lack of service, lack of restaurant availability, and unbelievable long lines to simply eat at the buffet, that I was able to secure a reservation for one of the restaurants the next evening. Very interesting to see the abundance of empty tables at the supposedly booked restaurants, I wonder if this was plain old mismanaging or a marketing strategy to get you to upgrade to the “Level” In addition, the quality and quantity of food at the buffet was very limited. There were food shortages for the general public like bacon during breakfast time and mint for the Mojitos. There are four excellent Restaurants in this resort that are always available but ironically are not included in the “all-inclusive” price. However, for an additional upgrade fee of $25.00 per person per night is not something you are eager to pay, then these restaurants (might I add had no shortages) among some other amenities like semi-private pools, imported liquors, will not be available to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not buy the upgrade fee to "The Level" status, is not worth it.

Back to menu Return to top