Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
717 reviews
Room service

I love the hotel and the services that the provide to make my vacation pleasant. I would like to... See full review

  • Ginou 36
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great time! Great people!

I had an awesome time in Punta Cana! I met many good people and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Our... See full review

  • Little Red Man
  • Jul 2, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (717)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
717 out of 717
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagodoc
chicago
Feb 28, 2014

exelent vacatios

perfect location near the airport ,exelent segurity, rooms very clean and comfortable, staff and service was outstanding , the pool and beach areas clean quiet and nice, restaurants and food were exelent and variety of food and options also exelent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

giarapo restaurant very good dominican food

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simona C
Toronto
Feb 24, 2014

Excellent stay!

Note* Upgraded to The Adults only Level area, upon check in. 420USD for 2 ppl/7 nights. Worth every penny: amazing food, excellent location of room, by pool and beach, by the Level lounge, premium alcohol. Never seen a hotel with such level of cleanliness. Towels changed twice a day, spotless service. Very big resort, not an issue, golf carts running around 24/7. Overall, I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuatro restaurants

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayapaco
New Jersey
Feb 16, 2014

Caribbean getaway experience

Very beautiful hotel, lots of interesting people vacationing, but a big complaint is that the hotel is enormous and to get around you must travel minimum of 20 min from lobby to the beach and room, which is a hassle when going on vacation waiting on transportation and rides from place to place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Overall the good was great but because there are 3/4 resorts mixed in together, the walk to anywhere was ridiculous . Needed to take and wait for transportation.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seasoned Vacationer
Boston
Feb 14, 2014

Watch out for upgrade scams on location

Good hotel. Good facilities. Hit and miss on rooms. That was our experience. The hotel offered us an upgrade to a room that was "twice the size, closer to the pool" all for $125 for 6 nights. Of course we agreed to it. Big mistake - we should have asked to see the room first. They took our money, and when we saw the room it (1) was *exactly the same size*, (2) had only ONE light working and (3) had no functioning telephone. When we asked to fix this or move us to an equivalent room, they only fixed the bathroom light. And kept promising that they would fix the rest but never did. Finally we asked for a refund, which they said they would do "within 45 days". It is now past that, and I have no refund. American Express is disputing this on my behalf. Bottom line: if I do not get the refund, my "No I would nor recommend" still holds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chanceyou
Miami lakes, Florida
Feb 13, 2014

Bad experience (S)

Omg, what a waste of money. The pool was cool, the center circle in the middle of pool is dressed as a hot tub and it's another part of the cold pool, they misrepresent the property and then try to sell you time share. Only the food was decent in this place. Almost forgot, the spa was dirty and the water level was warm not hot at all, people were complaining about cleanliness and water temp. They just smile and said OK. Do not stay in this resort folks. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
newTraveler
San Francisco, Ca
Feb 6, 2014

Average Resort

We just came back from an amazing 5 night stay in Punta Cana at the Melia resorts where we upgraded to the adults only section, the LEVEL. This resort is huge and going to one side to the other might be difficult at times. The trains take forever to get around and having the VIP wristband (for the LEVEL) doesn't make it any easier for the golf carts to give you a ride (even if you tip them)!! The walk would be much faster except it rains making the road very slippery and not fun at night. The upgraded hotel suites with the jacuzzis are a 7 on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the best. Cleanliness is about 8.5, there was a baby lizard in our room :) When we got there, a phone call was made to our hotel room welcoming us and inviting us to a complimentary breakfast by the beach the next day, which we thought "how nice..." The next day we were escorted by an employee to their "business center" and before we knew what was going on they had us sign a 90 min welcome presentation that lead to the wasting more than 90 minutes of our time trying to sell their luxury points club (like timeshare) to us. The lady that we spent our morning with was super nice and it was kinda hard to even know what they were trying to ask from us. We had breakfast with her at the buffet so it was not what they told us which is really unprofessional of them and def. NOT luxury accommodation. So be aware to not fall for their breakfast tactic. The beach at the adults only section is very nice. The staff are very friendly but they will be a lot nicer if you speak Spanish. Two of the BEST staff were Mr. Jesus Jose, and Mr. Domingo Arias. They were really cool and would chat with us almost every time we saw them. Mr. Freddy Zapata by the beach took good care of us with the drinks. The food was really good, though it was difficult to make reservation for the times you want. The Capri was one of the best out of all of them. Overall, we had a great time in Punta Cana, but the whole breakfast issue really disappointed me of the hotel. They should never do that to you when you are on vacation and want to enjoy every second of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mustang nc
Dominican Republic punta cana
Feb 1, 2014

Heavenly experience for two

Its was definitely an breath taking experience definitely doing it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My Dominican family
Ma.
Jan 23, 2014

Exceptional

We have been to this hotel many times . The staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home,the food excellent a large selection.beaches are beautiful . We have just returned from staying there. We up grade to the all adults section called the level . This was the best experience . Service was above and beyond food outstanding . Can't, wait to go back! Melia We'll Done !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italiana
Mass
Jan 22, 2014

Melia tropical

everyone was very professional. the entire place was very clean. we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Working jornalists
Ohio
Jan 20, 2014

This is truly paradise

My boyfriend and I went for a quick getaway from the arctic Ohio blast...this was a superb hotel with an even better staff. We will go back often!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top