Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
525 reviews
I love this hotel!!!

My husband and I had the best time ever. We are definitely going to go back. See full review

  • Des Goul1988
  • Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel with perfect location

I stay here for 8 night and the staff make me feel very special, the animation team is really good,... See full review

  • Nino 1
  • Nov 20, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (525)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
525 out of 525
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No kids no worries
Business
Mississippi
May 21, 2014

Third time staying.

Last three times we've traveled to the DR, we always look for different hotels to stay in. Every single time we pick Melia. It just doesn't get any better. Food is great and the staff is awesome. They finally left us alone and did not try to push their timeshare business on us. That alone made the trip worth while. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get sunburn, or want to buy souvenirs, the shopping plaza right in front of the hotel has better prices than the gift shop on site and the pharmacy sells aloe based products way cheaper than the gift shop stuff.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jwright19
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 18, 2014

Melia is the best!

Honestly, my wife and I could not have asked for a better vacation. This is our 2nd trip to the Melia Caribe and it will honestly be hard to consider ever visiting another resort for a beach vacation. Fantastic experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get a room as part of "The Level" - Totally worth it! Private butler, amazing room, and exclusive access to the BEST restaurant on the resort. Also a private pool and bar area for Level guests only.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIVB Cin
Business
Vero Beach, Fl
May 16, 2014

Fabulous vacation

Stayed at The Level, adults only. This all inclusive resort at beautiful Bavaro beach is an immense property. Grounds gorgeous, room very large & kept incredibly clean by hard working staff. Pool one of the biggest & cleanest ever! Drinks free-flowing but a little weak. We only ate ate the level, but if seafood is your thing you can have as much as you want at dinner. Lobster, grouper scallops, you name it & delicious! Our butler was non existent, but we were fine with that. Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother w/ the $39 upgrade for Hibachi or steak/lobster restaurants. The inclusive will more than suffice!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbo Hew
Business
Detroit, Michigan
May 14, 2014

Great Getway

Trip was amazing!! Hotel was nice, dinners were very good, beach is amazing. Very big resort wasnt a problem for us to do some walking, but some people might not like it. Only down fall was the workers who try to get you to listen to a timeshare presentation. Was not interested at all, they were very pushy about it. Overall great trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jellyfish down the beach was a great place to eat off the resort.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caribe123
Business
USA
May 12, 2014

Week long honeymoon

Spent a week in Punta Cana at Melia Caribe. The week started off well but crumbled toward the end. First, we made reservations for Adults Only All-Inclusive and got a room next to a family with a crying toddler (at all hours of the day). Secondly, both my wife and I both got sick from the food, running to the toilet was not ideal on honeymoon. There were some good restaurants (Thai place was best). Alcohol was watered down at the normal bars so we had to make our way to the VIP lounge to get real liquor. Excursions were fun but took 2.5 hours to get to the zip lining area. Trying to enjoy that and not 'shart' my pants from being sick took a lot of skill. Other than that the resort is beautiful and the staff are fun and friendly. We met a lot of people from all over the world and had a good time. The beach was beautiful so no complaints there. Transitioning to and from the hotel from airport is a little hectic but thats just how its done in the Dom Rep. I would recommend but be careful and aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Did u get your invitation
Business
Melia caribe tropical punta cana DR
May 11, 2014

Melia caribe tropical where checking out takes EVEN longer than checking in

The check in was an hour and 15 minutes. Standing with a 40lb backpack on in 90 degrees. They then offered me a room w 2 queens instead of my room with one king as booked. I then told them to upgrade me to a better room. In the ADULTS ONLY area which was a joke. They told me 70 more per person per night. Thats $140 more a night. I declined. They then said you can go get lunch at our buffet, When u come back we will have a room for u which they did. The alcohol was all non name brand and watered down. I could not get a buzz. I looked at the bottle and it said 37.5 % alcohol. Everyday multiple times im walk, swim, tan ,nap and dinner would be interupted by someone in te staff attempting to try and sell me something. Which were all over priced activities. They AC in the room sucked and had a motion detector hidden in the room that when u leave the room the air and the fan would shut down soon after. Every request made by a customer led to the same convoluted result of them being confused and some how screwing it up. Out of the 8 people working the lobby desk 2 were working and 6 were just trying to help. Parasailing, 80 for 15 minutes. I go to my room and get suited up go back and they say NO Way its 10 minutes. I said thats not what your sales guy said. I was basically misinformed to get me to the line and the window. It was a giant scam. It was literally 9.5 minutes long not a second more. All they seen was $ signs walking around and not people. They check out was a nightmare. My prepaid shuttle bus wa 20 min late. When it was time to leave. There was a line of 13 people waiting to check out w 1 guy working it. It also took over a hour. They only positive at this resort is the food. Good variety, good taste and i did not get sick. If u are only about food then this place works other then that i would call it a 2.5 star hotel n resort NOT a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La pagoda

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pgoty
Business
washington dc
May 10, 2014

Excellent Getaway!!

My wife and I made reservations at the Melia Caribe for a getaway. All I can say is Wow, no complaints. We are definitely coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darin from Iowa
Business
West Des Moines, IA
May 9, 2014

Big resort, fun pool/beach, good food/drinks, lots of walking

Pro's: friendly service, lots of places to eat, bars are everywhere, good pool, train/golf cart service for transportation, good drinks, kid friendly resort, awesome beach. Con's: too BIG and have to wait quite a while for the train service...we ended up walking a lot, beds were uncomfortable and we had some minor problems with our room, you have to make a reservation to eat dinner at most of their restaurants, language barrier with a lot of the employees that didn't speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations early for dinner. Food is pretty good everywhere and the staff is super nice. On the drink side, you can't go wrong with the Miami Vice! Highly recommend swimming with the dolphins and the Caribbean Pirate Cruise!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CourtneynRandy
Business
Havre de Grace, Maryland
May 9, 2014

PERFECT VACATION!!!!

My husband and I have been twice, and we love it! Whether you are looking for am adults only, or a family resort, Melia Caribe Tropical is the best, hands down! The pools, beach, restaurants and activities are amazing. Most of all, we absolutely love the staff and consider them family. Hector, Eduardo, Alberto and Yahaira were wonderful! They are always friendly, happy and professional which makes Melia the #1 resort in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Awesome
Business
New Jersey
May 5, 2014

Great for Couples - The Level is the Best

Overall I liked my experience at the hotel. I think the staff was nice but you do need to know spanish which may be frustrating for non-spanish speakers. A lot of the staff knows english but they dont all have the best command of the language. The room was nice and always clean. The restaurants at the level were fine but I do think the ones on the other side of the resort were mediocre at best. As far as the restaurants and food go, I would say 4 out 5. I think I just got tired of the same kind of options everyday but the food was good. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were great. I love the adults-only section, it was not too packed and we never had an issue finding chairs which was a big plus for me. Luckily there was always transportation available to the level people. The trolly was kind of annoying so I always had to ask for a golf cart which you can only get at the level. The resort overall was good not amazing. I would definitely go again if the price is right. Great for couples and ladies trips. I would say its worth it because you get what you pay for but definitely do the level as I had better experience with service at the level. P.S. We wanted to golf but only the green fee was waived, they required a golf cart which is $60 and club rental is $45 per person. Not a bad price but considering I paid for the upgrade I would have appreciated if at least the cart fee was waived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jewel nightclub is beautiful and walking distance from the hotel, as is the Palma Real shopping mall which is a great perk.

Back to menu Return to top