Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2016 Check-out: Mar 13, 2016

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newark, NJ
May 30, 2007

All Right for the Price

This Hotel is MUCH too big. We came across a couple who had gotten lost for 2 hours and this was the second time they had visited the resort!! It is very easy to get lost. Resort is much too big and not clear on where things are. Beach was nice. There are various activites located on the beach which you can take part in. The staff was relatively friendly. Though they push you quite a bit to by a time share. We dined at just about all the restaurants. French, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, Seafood, Mexican, Dominican and American Grill. Ironically, the best restaurant was the American. The Chinese and Mexican were came in second and third respectively. All in all, i would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a large shopping mall within the confines of the resort.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
May 21, 2007

Great place to get away and relax

The staff at the Melia Caribe Tropical was extremely warm and friendly. I liked the fact that there was a lot to do at one resort so even after 5 days you'll feel like there's so much more to be seen. The warm, courteous and friendly staff make you feel like family and the variety of foods was delicious. The rooms were cozy though they could do with an upgrade with a little modern touch but nontheless they were kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are places to eat/have refreshments at the mall while you shop just minutes away.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orlando, FL
May 13, 2007

Most Relaxing Vacation EVER

The Melia Caribe Tropical was a wonderful place! We had a 3 year old and stayed on the Tropical side next to the beach, buffet and two swimming pools. We could have asked for a better location. The room was great except our TV's sound had problems. My son loved the train transportation to the front and the most we had to wait for it was maybe 10 minutes. We tipped with 1's and 5's and I can tell you it would get us better service. The buffet was good, but the restaurants were even better. I only wish we stayed there long enough to try all of them. Overall, the trip was fantastic and it was hard to come home (and leave the massages by the pool and the swim up bars and beautiful beaches). My only big complaint was the kids club. It was too baby for my son and they would not let him go outside with the older kids (one year older). Also, the hours are only during the day and should be at night around dinner or the shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Outback Safari excursion is one of the best 8 hour days ever: Boogie Boarding, Visiting a house and school, eating, shopping, smoking cigars, drinking Rum and Coke on the bus!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
May 4, 2007

great if you like walking

The Melia Caribe Tropical was very comfortable, the jr suite was very spacious(king bed, full bath, sitting area, and balcony with ocean view, in room coffee maker sugar no cream avail,mini fridge stocked with bottled water and soft drinks, cable tv, and in room safe for a very small fee.) The check in was very welcoming(included special welcome drink). The staff were all very pleasant(although language was a barrier at times, the dominant languages seemed to be Spanish and French, luckily my niece speaks some conversational Spanish.) I thought the grounds were breathtakingly beautiful( and very well maintained) and the pool with the swim up bar was huge and fantastic! The beach and ocean were beautiful. The trains for guests and the mopeds used by employees emit alot of fumes, could use some maintenace or updating. About the food: the restaurants were great(the Capri/Italian, the Haikaido/Japanese, The American Grille/American, Hacienda/Mexican, and the buffets by the ocean (Caribe/adult side) included lots of variety and the fresh fruits/chesses yum!) Other guests said the dominican restaurant was the best, but we just didn,t have enough time to try them all. I would recommend this resort for friends who are more physically fit than myself. You should really enjoy alot of walking on cobblestone surfaces. I don't know if room service is an option, that would be something to check on?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston, MA
Apr 30, 2007

Hotel Offers -Poor Guest Service

Upon arrival at hotel I asked for Guest services to help me locate my luggage which didn't show up at the airport. Was told this isn't their problem. I didn't have so much as a tooth brush or comb, they said there a store in the lobby of the hotel for you to purchase things at. They cost was outragious for any of the purchases - double the price you would normally pay. The help was very lazy and would not offer to be of assistance when I asked them to call the lost luggage department at the airport the next day. Basically, they have your money and they don't want to be bothered with you now. I finally did get someone to make the call for me and they told me that the luggage did not arrive at the airport that day, if it did they would have brought it to my room and notified me. An 1/2 hr. later we were walking thru the lobby area and there was my luggage just laying on the walkway and no one seemed to care where it belonged or had any knowledge of it arriving. I would not stay or recommend this hotel. Food was not very good. Same cheap meals prepared everyday. More like a cafeteria style than. Not worth the money. Spend a little extra and stay somewhere really nice. Hotel was too far from the beach...Trains didn't run that often, especially when it was raining...not the place for someone that can't walk long distances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall is close by, but half the stores are closed. And prices are high.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newark, NJ
Apr 30, 2007

My Paradise Vacation

Our stay at Melia Caribe Tropical, was wonderful!We experience A+ treatment, from the moment we arrived. The friendly staff,rooms,food and the lovely gardens were fantastic. I am fussy when is comes to cleaniness and food. But everything passed my test. This resort I would highly recommemd to everyone. I haven't stopped talking about the paradise we were in. The beaches are so clean and there are so many activities going on there is no time to be bored. Having all inclusive is the way to go. The buffet has such a large variety and can never go hunger.The staff is so friendly, and they are there to help in any area needed, Oh yes! If you know spanish it is helpful but many of them speak english. Again it is paradise and I would certainly return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall in walking distance. Go there to buy gifts. They are much cheaper and you will find bargains.

Back to menu Return to top