Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston, MA
Jul 30, 2011

Underwhelmed

Our family of 15 just visited the Melia Caribe Tropical resort in Punta Cana. The resort grounds were beautiful and filled with many beautiful animals from peacocks to guineas. The rooms were also very clean. The double were a little small, but they were ok. However, the good news stops there. It took us over an hour to check-in because the employees at the check-in counter try to sell you upgrade packages and do not want to take no for an answer. Check-in was a lot more difficult than any of us anticipated it to be. Once we were finally checked in, we were told to meet our vacation representative (who was actually very, very nice) to set up our excursions. At that time we were approached by a vacation club salesman that works for the Melia, who offered to handle our restaurant reservations for the duration of our stay. Unfortunately, once we declined to attend his sales presentation he completely skipped out on us and we were left without restaurant reservations. Our family tried to make restaurant reservations on our own, but to no avail. The staff was not accommodating to our family of 15 and instead explained that they did not have the room to accommodate such large groups. When I went on to explain that they claim to be a family oriented resort, the man simply had no response and said there was nothing that could be done. The large buffet restaurant also gave us a hard time to seat our group and would also made unnecessary comments when we would approach them. The resort also lacked activities. It is not a good place to bring children. Both the children and adults found themselves to be bored if were not at the pool or the beach (which was covered in seaweed). Overall, our family will be returning to Punta Cana because it is a beautiful place! However, we will never be retuning to the Melia Caribe Tropical!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Brooklyn, New York
Feb 22, 2011

Jacqueline Diaz

First let me say Melia Tropical was booked when I went to check in they sent us to Paradisus hotel for two nights...which was inconvenient beause we went for a wedding which was in Melia.......Paradisus was a beatiful hotel but my reservation was for Melia Tropical..........we had to pack up our things again and check in Melia Tropical that also was inconvenient.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Miami, FL
Aug 20, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The hotel was in a great location, the beach was beautiful. The hotel was beautiful, the pool area, the greenery gave it a unique touch to the place. The food was excellent in all the buffet restaurants. Making reservations to the dining restaurants was nearly impossible and when you did get one the service was low. The rooms were clean but they need updating and are run down. The air conditioning was excellent and there was no humidity in the rooms. The customer service was horrible the attention in the hotel was very bad and they weren't helpful at all. Overall the hotel was average definitely not a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady K
Couples
New Jersey
Jun 28, 2010

Melia Caribe Tropical Review

The resort is beautiful. It was a very large property with lots to do. Very family friendly but excellent for adults as well. The buffet food was not very good but the restaurant food was good. The bars served great drinks and the nightlife was great. I loved the pools and the beach. My first room was beautiful but had a broken tv, phone, and the security chain lock was broken. The second room was missing some towels, smelled funny, and the phone would randomly ring throughout the night. I was not able to call long distance on the phone either. I heard random complaints about uncleaned rooms and cockroaches. The royal suites are so much better than the regular room I stayed in. I would return to the country but not this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adarn
Couples
New York City
Jun 23, 2010

Paradise in Punta Cana

This is our sixth time to the Melia, so it's obvious we love it. My only pet pieve is that I feel that the royal service should be for adults only. You pay extra for the peace and quiet like having a separate resturant,beach and pool. Even the music at poolside is low. And then you have children screaming and yelling (that's their job) and their parents screaming and yelling behind them.But other than that, the hotel is exotic and beautiful. There's something to do for everybody. And the cuisine is quite varied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try as many resturants as possible

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Orleans, LA
Mar 4, 2010

Great Honeymoon but...

We visited Melia Caribe Tropical 2/22/10-2/28/10. Upon arriving we upgraded to Royal Service and were very content with the money spent on it. We received personal butler service, nightly turndowns and bath preparations, only had to call and wait 2 min for golf cart transportation to anywhere in the resort instead of waiting for the tram. Before arriving I had been worried about getting reservations at the restaurants. Most reviews said that if you did not make a reservation one day in advance you would not be able to eat at the restaurants and would have to go to the buffet, we were able to make reservations the day of at most restaurants.(Mexican and Japanese are amazing!)And the buffets were great as well, always great selections and cooked to order options. The beaches and pools were amazing. We mostly stayed by the Gabi pool which was very private with a snack grill, restaurant, buffet and lots of day beds. Spas were simple but service was good. The fitness center is also very simple and small. Basic weight machines and light dumbbells, lots of spin bikes but only 3 treadmills and 2 ellipticals. If there are more than 5 people in there at one time it seems very crowded. My only complaint about this resort is during the first 2 day I felt as if we were being harassed by certain resort employees. After check in we were asked by an employee if we had been given our 'welcome package' he then took us to their vacation club office where a sales rep told us she would give us a 90 min presentation and 'free lunch' (when all the food is included in the all inclusive resort) then we would receive our 'welcome package'. Needless to say I turned down the opportunity to listen to their vacation club/time share presentation for 2 hours, but did waste about 30 min- 1 hour listening to them. We did still receive our welcome present of a $20 coupon to the spa. The next morning we got a phone call saying we had to go to the lobby at 10am and bring our travel info to confirm our flight back to the states. Instead, it was a ploy to get us to the lobby to book excursions, they didn't even ask for our flight info. After these two bad experiences we steered clear of anyone asking us for just a minute of our time. Our room was amazing, we had our own day bed in the back yard, great for napping, and a jacuzzi next to the bed. The maids did come late sometimes but the room was usually made by 1pm at the latest. Beaches were beautiful, snorkeling and water activities are great and free unless you want lessons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
uds
Couples
chicago
Feb 25, 2010

nice place

hotel is overall nice. we had a regular room which is ok definately nothing special. this was ok with us because we really weren't in the room much. the lobby and sitting areas are nice with a cozy atmosphere with nightly entertainment. we thought the food was really good with lobstertail and crab a couple of nights, and filt mignon and another speacialty meat that was different every night. all was very tasty. the main downside was the noisyness on the beach with music that the guy was constantly changing every 20 seconds. young kids are everywhere crying, screaming, and many of them out of control in the dining areas. what ever happened to discipling your child. to be fair this was a family oriented hotel which i was not aware of. lastley, there is always someone trying to sell you something which is the first thing they do when you check in. they try selling you on the paradisus there premium hotel next door. then they will try to sell you on time shares and so on. don't waste 2 hrs. of beach time for it, we didn't. all in all we had a great time. we were open minded and overlooked the negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

don't do their sales tour.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Oconomowoc, wisconsin
Jan 10, 2010

Great fun in the sun

I traveled with a group of family and friends. We enjoyed our all inclusive vacation. However it took nearly two hours to get checked in due to hotel staff errors. We were a large group and the hotel did nothing to try to acommodate us for the time we lost trying to get things straight. Then when we went to check out, it took another long period of time because the hotel insisted on charging for incidentals that we died not use. We needed to catch our flight home so we reluctantly paid the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tigere
Couples
Miami, Fl.
Nov 30, 2009

AWESOME!!!!!!!!

They have great staff, very nice. The hotel is huge and very well kept. We were stunned by it's beauty and the restaurants were great! Try doing the Saona Island tour, awesome location and lots of food and drinks on the Island. I brought my own bottles of Chivas Regal and my own chips and nuts for a late night snack in room, even though they have a small variety of really good Dominican food available 24 hours. This is our 3rd different hotel in Punta Cana, and so far this is the best!! I will definitely come back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not buy inside the hotel. The outside markets are way cheaper and you can always haggle on prices.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolyn and Jack
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 22, 2009

Wonderful, relaxing place to stay

We enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. Based on other comments we decided to upgrade to the royal service. Normally we don't do that kind of thing because it usually is an upcharge for not alot gained but I will tell you it was worth the few extra dollars! We were upgraded to a master suite and it was just like the pictures! Clean, roomy, romantic and every need was accommodated in a timely manner. We had an easy time getting dinner reservations to any restaurant we chose and enjoyed them all. We ate at the Gabi restaurant for breakfasts and lunches since all of the restaurants appeared to have the same menu for these meals. The Gabi provided excellent service all the time and the food seemed to be a little fresher than at the other locations for lunch and breakfast. [...], at the Gabi provided outstanding and friendly service! We truly befriended him during our stay and he made us feel genuinely welcomed and pampered. The food was pretty good and certainly abundant. I think the French restaurant was just ok but our favorite meal was at the Thai restaurant. I would definitely go back to visit this place if you like rest and relaxation, beautiful surroundings and a pleasant atmosphere. Most staff members can speak English and you certainly can get your point across if you are polite and work with them. If you are an impatient person and expect the world to revolve around you then my advice is to stay in the USA but we absolultely loved the ecclectic mix of people from all around the world.A definite thumbs up and certainly worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top