Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
527 reviews
I love this hotel!!!

My husband and I had the best time ever. We are definitely going to go back. See full review

  • Des Goul1988
  • Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel with perfect location

I stay here for 8 night and the staff make me feel very special, the animation team is really good,... See full review

  • Nino 1
  • Nov 20, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweetie14
Business
Ny
Jul 9, 2014

It was nice/okay...

The staff at melia was a hit or miss. Some were very helpful and friendly and others not so much. The food and restaurants were good. Beach and pool was nice and much needed. The pics of the rooms online are much nicer than in person. But it was still nice. I got engaged on this trip during a private dinner in a gazebo off the beach... 4 courses. Very romantic and our private waiter was exceptional. Unforgettable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jazz Professor
Business
Philly
Jul 8, 2014

Great Vacation.

This is a beautiful property with an excellent staff. I spent most of my time relaxing on the beach, but for those that wanted more activity, there was plenty to do. The food was good for an all inclusive, with a lot of variety, especially for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your dinner reservations for about 8, so that you don't have to leave the beach too early.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darig4444
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 6, 2014

Great place as usual.

The landscaping and appearance as with any Grand Melia is 5 star. The staff is above fantastic and Alberto our butler/personal conceriege was without doubt a great representative of the hotel. This is our first all-inclusive experience and it set the bar high. The restaurants we ate at were impeccable. I suggest the French and Dominican restaurant without a doubt. You have to upgrade to level for sure. If you have a child or children this is your place for sure. The staff at the Flintstone daycare were very impressive and I completely trusted them with my 10mth old. A few negatives were the internet as it didn't work well in our bedroom and you can see the age of the hotel in the rooms. We had a very old tv in our bedroom, the toliet needed upgraded and could use a better painter to do the work. I would also recommend they give a better tour upon arrival as this place is huge and explain just how close you are to the mall as you will definitely want to go there for souvenirs as it is very cheap compared to the stores onsite. We are already discussing planning a return trip with mine and my wife's entire family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall right outside the front entrance. It is extremely close and much cheaper and very safe.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda birthday girl's mom
Business
Chicago, Il
Jul 2, 2014

Fabulous

The grounds and resort were beautiful. The staff we met were friendly, helpful, and informative. They gave helpful advice on tours. We went on the San Domingo and the Higuey/farm tours.. Both were fantastic. The shows were great, as well as, the food. I wish we were able to go to more of the restaurants, but some days we were just worn out from the activities. The beach and pool was relaxing. There were plenty of lounge chairs in both locations. We even had milk from a fresh coconut, which a man cut open for us with a machete on the beach. Our maid even left us a flower on our towels. How special can that make you feel? She kept the fridge stock with water and soda, and don't forget the snacks. The drinks were always perfect, especially if you had a bartender who was entertaining. We met people from all over the states and world. Knowing some Spanish can be a plus for you, but not necessary. We had a wonderfully good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Red Man
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 2, 2014

Great time! Great people!

I had an awesome time in Punta Cana! I met many good people and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Our room was in a perfect location and the food was very good. It was sad checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bartender Hector is awesome, the bar by the leveled adults only section is fun, depending on who is hanging out there.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family O Travelers
Business
Los Angeles CA
Jun 27, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We just got back yesterday from a week long stay at the Melia. We went as a family of four with two kids. It was wonderful, the hotel is very tropical and beautiful, the beach is easy to access. The food was plenty with choices for everyone. We really enjoyed the Italian and the buffet. The choices are very entertaining. The dancers are so very talented and we really loved the entertainment. The staff is friendly and eager if you need anything. The only two downfalls we experienced were we should have stayed more than seven days and we got suckered into having to sit through the time share presentation. It took two hours that are priceless when you are on a family vacation. So my recommendation would be yes stay at this hotel but avoid the time share presentation at all costs (even if you end up feeling bad for saying no). We travel every year to a new destination and normally we do all inclusive resorts this one was great value for the money. Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at least the day before or it will be hard to get your desired time for dinner.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio mom Shelly
Business
Ohio
Jun 23, 2014

Beautiful resort

Grounds are immaculate and staff very nice. Food ok, book dinners at the restaurants. This is a time share resort so be prepared to listen to a 90 minute speel. We did not because we were prepared. Take lots of one and five do.lar bills. Even though it is all inclusive, we noticed everyone tipping, waiters, bartenders and golf cart drivers. It is a big place so we decided it was worth a couple of bucks to hop on a golf cart. There is also a tram. We did not do any excursions, everyone we spoke to said they were a rip off. We did not upgrade to the Levels adult only section, too expensive. We were in building 12 and it was closet to the beach and pool. Would recommend .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet is good for breakfast, lunch was not. Make reservations for dinner at the kiosk , it is worth the 5.00. Drinks good but plan on tipping

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jameneiro
Business
hialeah
Jun 22, 2014

I did not want to leave

The hotel is good and the property is huge, more than 50 small buildings that have 24 rooms each. Lush gardens, plenty of peacocks and other birds. A train takes you to all the places. The restaurants and buffet s were great. The entertainment was plenty. The beach gorgeous. But what makes the difference is the staff. I have been in many places and I never felt more taken care than in Dominican Republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Much needed time off
Business
East coast
Jun 20, 2014

Relax

Great hotel. The level section of the hotel was very accommodating. All you had to do was ask for anything you needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a local taxi to and from airport. It's quick and easy.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BOSTON 25
Business
BOSTON
Jun 18, 2014

not a fantastic vacation

iT WAS OUR 25TH ANNIVERSARY WENT WITH OUR 2 ADULT CHILDREN, THEY GAVE US THE WRONG ROOMS WE REQUESTED. ME AND MY HUSBAND HAD TWIN BEDS NOT IN THE ADULT SECTION. THE DINNER RESERVATIONS WERE HDDARD TO GET BEFORE 9OCLOCK. WE HAD TO GET OUR OWN TOWELS AND WATER FOR THE ROOM WAS OUR THIRD TIME THERE THIS WAS THE WORST. WE ALSO ARRIVED A DAY LATE OUR FLIGHT WAS CANCELLED. NOT THE SPECIAL VACATION WE WAITED FOR. ONE NIGHT AT DINNER THEY TOOK OUR ORDER AND ONLY BROUGHT APPETIZERS FOR MY DAUGHTER AND HUSBAND THEY FORGOT ABOUT MY SONS AND MINE, AFTER FORTY MINUTES WAITING FOR OUR MEALS WE LEFT. OTHER PEOPLE HAD GOTTEN THEIRS AND THEY WERE THERE BEFORE US. IT WAS BAD FROM THE START MISSING A DAY AND HALF WAS NOT THE WAY TO BEGIN AND IT WENT DOWN HILL FROM THERE. WE PAID A LOT OF MONEY FOR THIS. AND WE WERE LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS SPECIAL RESORT. I KNOW THEY ARE MAKING IT LARGER BUT THEY NEED TO TAKE CARE OF THEIR CUSTOMERS FIRST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

YOU DO NOT NEED TO TAKE A SHUTTLE BUS. THERE ARE TAXIS OUTSIDE WAITING AT AIRPORT A LOT CHEAPER.

Back to menu Return to top