Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
594 out of 594
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liz061886
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 23, 2014

Perfect Honeymoon

My parents gave my husband and I a seven day all inclusive stay at the Melia Tropical as our wedding gift. We stood at The Level- Adults Only part of the resort. It really was an amazing experience. Punta Cana is beautiful, and the people are amazing. Our experience at the hotel was exceptional. The staff would greet us by our names and will go above and beyond to assist us and provide excellent costumer service. The property was huge and conveniently located by the beach. We took advantage of the casino, restaurants/bars, shopping center, big pools and transportation to all the areas in the resort. I will definitely recommend this resort to anyone that wants to experience VIP treatment at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the restaurants is better than the buffets. It is important to make reservations a day in advance to make sure you reserve your time.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthdaygirl25
Business
Minnesota
Sep 21, 2014

Birthday weekend getaway

My husband and I went here for my birthday weekend 9-16 through 9-20. This was our first time in the Dominican Republic but not our first time at this chain of resorts. As soon as we arrived to the resort we were welcomed by the friendly staff. Check in was pretty painless. Upon check in the staff member wished me a happy birthday then we were upgraded to "the level". I thought she was being kind since it was my birthday but later found out chatting with others at the resort we weren't that special. The resort was doing construction... The beach was gorgeous minus the awful seaweed!! You couldn't go into the ocean without it touch you. The beach security was amazing, they didn't allow pesky people near you that were trying to sell junk. Biggest complaint was the food. So very hard to get dinner reservations! And I believe since it was the off season they rotated that restaurant were open. Make your dinner reservations the day before! The drinks weren't watered down!! Which was amazing. The resort is HUGE! Pretty sure we didn't see half of the resort. Bring good walking shoes. The Dominican isn't a very clean island and definitely has some cleaning and landscaping to do. That's one thing the Hotel did right. The lawns looked beautiful, and made you feel like we were in a completely different place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel the wifey
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2014

Honeymoon

LOVED Punta Cana! The resort was so big, our room was perfect, so many activities and staff was so friendly! Love it.The beach was a bit dirty so we stayed at the pool. Also wish zthere was more entertainment in the late evenings. Food was good drinks were amazing! Overall we enjoyed stay !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you take your time and review all the activities that are available at the resort otherwise you get carried away and then you realize there are more activities you can do.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana1959
Business
Florida
Sep 19, 2014

Relaxation Vacation

It was a wonderful experience, I would recommend it to everyone. The resort and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The beach was great, a bit of seaweed that they had to clear out every morning but not a big problem. The people were so friendly and helpful, if they could understand you. The food was the only thing I would say that could use improvement, was a little bland but that's just me. If you are on the beach and can flag down a waiter to get you drinks I would recommend getting two at a time as they are not around as much as you might like. All in all we would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you bring plenty of cash, ATM's give you pecos and it costs to have exchanged to us currency, plus bring small bills.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bellaluxebeauty
Business
New Jersey
Sep 12, 2014

Beautiful Property

Beautiful property.... very big and everything was conveniently located. Food was awful though... always cold no matter what time you went & always looked as if it was sitting. Alcohol watered down as usual but that's par for the course for an all inclusive. They are relentless in selling the timeshare also. Was sick of saying no. To conclude, property was beautiful, food sucked and the beach was not the best. A lot of seaweed.... have seen more beautiful water.... plenty of beach chairs and beautiful pool. Boring nightlife.... Would not stay here again. Liked Dreams resort better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

They don't care anymore when you're checking out so call early to get bags picked up. We almost missed shuttle to airport and we called 30 minutes early.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashleyjoaquin
Business
Hazlet New Jersey
Aug 31, 2014

Amazing ! Can't wait to go back !!

The melia is gorgeous and perfect for a romantic get away ! My boyfriend and I stayed at the level ( adults only ) section , with a jacuzzi , which I highly recommend. Our concierge was Samuel , we called him Sam the man , cause he was! He made our dinner reservations , transportation for dinner , sent us champagne and even left us a surprise in the room for our anniversary. At the level you do not need reservations for dinner and it's called the cuattro . They have a buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner , a pasta bar with pizza for snacks , an a la cart lunch a steak and lobster house which you do not need to pay extra for and an Italian. They were all so good and really no reason to go to the other restaurants we just wanted to try them we tried the Dominican and hibachi , both we were disappointed wasn't worth it. Dominican restaurant service was poor and good was eh , hibachi they squeezed us on a table with 14 people and you get 3 little pieces of chicken and 3 little pieces of steak for $39 per person extra...not worth it. At the steak house at the level ask for Domingo , he was awesome , very out going and always made sure everything was perfect ! The pool and landscape of the melia was beautiful and very well kept ! Everyone working there was so nice and helpful , they always had a smile on their face from the Morning until night. At the beach , which was beautiful a little seaweed here and there though, Ramon would always check up on us with our drinks and make sure we were okay. With that being said TIPPING is very very appreciated there and they are very thankful when you do. The melia was amazing , my boyfriend and I can not wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LargerThanLifeSizeBarbie
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 26, 2014

It was ok.

I had multiple issues with my room. My overall experience wasn't a good on...At all!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Kowal
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 23, 2014

Fantastic getaway

My girlfriend and I just loved the Resort. It was so beautiful and peaceful. The staff was very helpful and very nice. Food was amazing, the view, the atmosphere and everything in-between. Only issue was that we were at a sales pitch to buy a somewhat of a time share almost as we got to the resort. Other than a little time spent away from the vacation everything was spectacular!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
budget traveling
Business
New York
Aug 22, 2014

summer vacation

The resort is beautiful. The Japanese restaurant is a must it's worth the $33 extra. The staff is a hit or miss some are really nice others are just upset at life, and going outside of the resort, i can see why, at the same time you have a job to do. So be careful, bring singles $ if you feel like tipping. The fun pub is a waste of time. Remember you make your vacation, the resort just provides you a control environment to have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Akon's club Jewels if you have a large group.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlanta Milf
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

Fabulous Getaway

From start to finish everything was great. The only thing was that we couldn't get reservation at all the restsurants, but that's because the hotel was booked. Would definitely recommend for families or couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you're trying to save money, shop for trinkets outside the resort.

Back to menu Return to top