Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
715 reviews
Room service

I love the hotel and the services that the provide to make my vacation pleasant. I would like to... See full review

  • Ginou 36
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great time! Great people!

I had an awesome time in Punta Cana! I met many good people and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Our... See full review

  • Little Red Man
  • Jul 2, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (715)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
715 out of 715
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of Spencer
Philadelphia
Apr 19, 2014

Be careful of this resort's layout!

We visited the first week in march with my active 11 year old son. This is our 5th winter of using all inclusives. The resort is laid out in a rectangular shape going from the beach inland...the beach and the center of the resort (all dining ) are at the small ends. There is a huge amount of very pretty tropical land that one must traverse to get from the beach/pool area to the center where all the restaurants are located. I personally prefer more beachfront dining (there was one bar/grill) near - the beach with some limited beach views which was repetitive and very mediocre. We were able to book specialty restaurants very easily and they were enjoyable - breakfast and lunch however, were limited to two places with very average selection/d├ęcor. ACTIVITIES/OTHER : The resort did not promote its activities/offerings overly well and there truly was nothing for the pre-teen/teenagers in terms of organized activities. A big disappointment for us as we have only one child and he is sociable! There is a room with a ping pong table, 3 playstations, fuzz ball and a pool table. It is small, completely undecorated and closed except for a few hours in the evening. Few kids were there. There is only one beach volley ball net, no hammocks, and a giant chess set and Connect 4 game which we were not allowed to use as it sat on the "adults" only section of the beach!! (unused the whole week). Also, there is a severe lack of toilets near the pool/beach/beach restaurant!! There is a zip line which we did several times ($10 each trip). I did not see any snorkeling or any snorkeling equipment provided. There was very little management around - not a lot of people to answer your questions except other guests. Again, NOT Crazy about the layout with all the dining sites being Very inland - away from the beach/pool. Be prepared to walk or take shuttle. The entire resort was spotless and very pretty and the employees were very friendly. However, there are more activities, better food and better layouts elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohioguy83
South bend, IN
Apr 13, 2014

Great beach area, great service,

If you are looking for a great place to relax, this is it. Beautiful beach area and very nice pool ( Levels adult area). The abundance ofpalm trees, palm thatch umbrellas and constant ocean breeze made relaxing on the beach just a wonderful experience. Rooms are average. The grounds are very nice and constantly being maintained. Nice pool in adults area with nice swim up bar. Buffet foods are mediocre, but all of the specialty dinner places had very good food. After dinner entertainment was above average versus other all inclusive places we have been . Lots of people to provide drinks, dinner service was good and rooms were always clean. We will definitely be coming back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for specialty restaurants right away.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nolevamo
Costa Rica
Apr 13, 2014

We had a great time

The Melia was great. We decided to upgrade to The Level, which is the adult side only and it was the best we could have done. The food was great, the staff was very attentive and overall excellent. The only drawback was the noisy, drunk Americans by the pool who got pretty annoying after a while so we decided to hang out by the beach. We did not like that this girl was very nice with us and all she wanted was to sell us a time share and requested us to attend a 90 minute session. We cancelled and she went after us when we were at the gym. That felt too pushy. Other than that the place is great especially Elizabeth Rivera who was always making sure everything went well. We will definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are travelling with your significant other, upgrade to The Level, you will not regret it.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kgifford
Chicago, IL
Apr 7, 2014

I cannot recommend this all inclusive resort to my friends

The service, food and drinks were horrible! It was not possible to get reservations at the ala carte restaurants unless you were willing to pay for them. If you tried the requisite 24 hrs in advance they were always booked. Every restaurant I poked my head in on my way to the horrible buffet was nearly empty so I can't figure that one out. The room was clean but had issues. The shower fell apart the first night, the room above us had a leak and whenever they used the sink it rained into our bathroom. There was no toilet paper holder. Just a roll sitting on the sink. Kinda reminded me of college. When we got there there was a crib in our room. They wouldn't remove it so we dragged it out to the hallway where it sat for 2 days before someone took it away. There is no poolside service. If you want a drink you either have to swim or walk a very long way for it. Booze was really cheap and drinks were really bad. Overall, it seemed like their favorite word was "no", which is not what you want to hear when you are on a vacation that cost you a lot of money and is supposed to be all inclusive. The good news is that we didn't gain any weight. In fact, we were hungry most of the time. On the plus side, the grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. We have concluded that we will stick to the American all inclusive model of hospitality in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pay for the reservations if you have to to avoid the buffet. The ala carte were a little better. There were 2 restaurants that cost $30 per person. We tried one and it was pretty good, but we were irritated that we had to pay for food while at a all inclusive resort.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThreeBoys
Fargo, ND
Apr 2, 2014

Don't trust the concierge!!

The concierge started out very friendly, he even offered to take our towel cards and save pool chairs for us. Once we said NO to the time share he was trying to sell he became very cold. He stole 4 of our cards ($25 each). Beware! Other than that, the resort was wonderful!! The food was very tasty with great variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Wade
Murray, KY
Mar 31, 2014

Great vacation

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week in the adults only upgraded Level section of the resort. Check in and check out was very quick and easy using the VIP lounge associated with staying at the Level. Upon checking in a concierge was assigned to us and showed us around. Roldan Capellan did a wonderful job making us feel welcome and at home during our stay, and helped us with such things as arranging for transportation and making reservations. The resort grounds were well-maintained and beautiful. The pool is huge and kept very clean, and the white sand beach was just a short walk past the pool from our room. Overall the food was very good (though I cannot recommend the Mexican restaurant). We actually enjoyed the restaurants set aside for the Level guests the most, and they were the closest to our room. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful, from bartenders to waiters to groundskeepers (especially Roldan and the young lady that greets guests entering the Level buffet/restaurant area - wish I knew her name so she could get the credit she deserves). We had a great stay at this resort and would not hesitate planning another stay in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked airport transportation along with stay at resort. It was easy and worth the cost.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Continental
Louisiana
Mar 30, 2014

Getaway for a few days

Absolute fantastic resort! Beach area is gorgeous with lots of activities on the beach. You can walk forever on the beach passing a nice little shopping market not far from the resort. Also nice large shopping mall right behind resort with walking distance. Golf close by. Not a blade of grass out of place at this resort. Grounds are impeccable. Peacocks and flamingos everywhere. Anything you could imagine to eat. Restaurants are first class. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Most of the staff friendly but you do have a few sour faces here and there. Would highly reccomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drink cups at hotel are rather on the small side (although they wil refill them as much as you want) you spend alot of time walking around for drink refills....so bring your own large insulated mug from home and they will refill those for you! HUGE time saver so that you're not running around for beverages!

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JA KM
Reno, NV
Mar 28, 2014

poor customer service, good food

Worst customer service at a hotel we have ever had. Resturaunts were decent however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA KM
Reno, NV
Mar 27, 2014

Terrible Customer Service

My husband and I recently traveled to this resort with another couple, for a 6 night beach vacation. We had booked our trip for a standard king room. When we checked in the person at the desk tried to sell us the upgrade for the Adults Only area, The Level, for an additional cost. We were not prepared to spend additional money as we had already spent a significant amount bookin the trip, therefore we declined and wanted to keep our existing reservation. When we arrived at our room the door was incredibly difficult to open, room was out-dated and poorly lit. It definitely lacked any type of "wow" factor, we were dissapointed. I called the front desk and their only solution was to pay the difference for the upgrade. For all of our meals the resturaunts were crowded with families with young children, they were noisy and messy. The resturaunt by the beach was filled with flies, flies were landing both on the food in the buffet and on your plate while you tried to eat. We put our items down on tables to reserve them while getting food from the buffet and other people would move our things and sit there, it was very crowded. Also, staff were unfriendly, not helpful, and downright rude. I asked to speak to management and their solution to everything was to pay the upgrade, even when I demanded to speak to their manager they said that there was no other manager. I asked to cancel my reservation and go to a different hotel, they laughed at me and said I cannot do that and that my only solution was to pay more. After 3 days of this and being miserable we decided to pay the difference and upgrade. The upgraded room in The Level comes with access to an adults only pool, and completely different resturaunts. We instantly were happy with our choice to upgrade, but had an underlying feeling of stress and sensation that we had been forced to upgrade which kept us frustrated about the whole hotel itself. The resturaunts were a huge step up, they were insect free, beautiful, better quality food, less crowded, and significantly better staff. The room itself was also much nicer and worth the upgrade. We ended up loving the 2nd half of our stay at the Level. Also, our waiter at the pool, Domingo, was amazing and attentive, as well as friendly. It is unfortunate that we spent so much money on this trip and then had to spend even more once we arrived in order to receive the service that we expected from the beginning. This hotel has poor business practices. I recommend booking The Level to begin with, or going to a different property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Lady
New Hyde Park, NY
Mar 25, 2014

Amazing Couple Getaway

I had a really great time there. I stayed at The Level, which is the Adults Only section. It was great because the rooms are near the pool, beach and four adults only restaurants. If you wanted to get to the other side, you could have a staff member take you in a private golf cart instead of waiting for the train trolley that takes the guests around. It was a great perk. The pool for the adults only side was quiet and beautiful. The main pool looked exactly like the Adults only pool, but it had a lot of families and was a bit more crowded. The one thing that wasn't great was the check-in. We arrived around 1:15pm and our room wasn't ready until 3:15pm. We understood that it was supposed to only be ready by 3pm so we weren't upset about that, but the staff had taken us separately to the side of the resort where our room was without our luggage. It then took an additional 2 hours to get our luggage to our room (we received it around 5pm). So what could have been an entire day spent by the pool 1:30pm- into the evening, turned into waiting in the room for our things. I would suggest to future guests to ask to take your luggage aside and remove your beach items before the staff transports you to your room. Other than that, the service was great. The staff were very polite and accommodating. We loved our room and the maid service. The beach chairs and the beverage service was impeccable. The swim up bar had great service. We enjoyed the DJ music on the various nights and the Dominican music. The general grounds were extremely well kept as compared to other places like Cancun. The casino was small, maybe one or two blackjack tables, so don't go if you are looking to gamble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was great, but take a look at the menu before you commit because the buffet offers so much!

Back to menu Return to top