Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
491 out of 491
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaysean
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Jul 6, 2014

Beautiful Location, Horrible Food

It might be worth noting that this was our first time staying at an all-inclusive, and after our experience, maybe all-inclusive is not our thing. Pros: The location of the hotel along the beach is great. The water is clear blue, the sand is pure white. In my opinion, the beach was even nicer than the beaches in Aruba. The Elegance Club portion of the hotel is adults only, which is also nice. Also, as part of the Elegance Club, you have private access to lounges where you can take as much bottled water as you like. Cons: My biggest complaint would have to be the quality of the food and drink. The food was so bad in fact, that I lost 7lbs during our 6 day stay. The drinks were not much better. You are forced to drink their house red or white wine, unless you are willing to pay $17 for a bottle of $4 Barefoot wine at each meal. Their mixed drinks at the bars and pool are very rough, made with loads of Brugal rum. My wife and I were careful in what we ate so that we wouldn't get sick, but the last night we ate shrimp at the Japanese restaurant, and both got sick. Also, on our last night there, after dinner, we asked the hostess of one of the restaurants to take a picture for us. She took one, which didn't turn out, so I asked her to take another, and she rolled her eyes and mumbled something in Spanish at me... Advice to future travelers: Tips Take $100 in $1 to tip pretty much every staff member you interact with. When you arrive at the airport, you're luggage will change hands at least twice, and both hands will want a tip, the shuttle driver does too. We left the maid a few dollars each day, and it really did make a difference. Your tip dollars will be best spent tipping the people who operate the tubing, sailing, and parasailing on the beach. If you give them your camera, they'll take photos for you. Food I would recommend going to the Japanese restaurant the first night as you sit around a hibachi table and meet new people, but do NOT eat the shrimp, you will get sick. Don't eat at Sea and See as it is the worse food available at the resort. Also, stick to the cooked vegetable, chicken, and steak meat. Stay away from lettuce, skinless fruit, and ground beef. Excursions If you pay cash, you get a better price. If you pay with a card, you will end up paying a conversion fee. We did 2 excursions, one swimming with dolphins, and other was a combination of 11 activities. Both were expensive, but worth it. It is worth noting that you have to pay $60 to get photos with the dolphins as you are not allowed to photograph them yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Reef Explorer activity includes 11 different activities, including a 15 minute foot massage, paddle boarding, snorkeling, swimming with sharks and stingrays, kayaking, and going to a reef.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pick4
Business
mooresville, nc
Jul 3, 2014

honeymoon

wonderful stay…could not have asked for anything more. top notch service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJ77
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jul 1, 2014

Average

I stayed at the Majestic Elegance for 4 nights in June with my wife. The beach and pools are great, but the resort itself is just average. The food is mediocre at best, even at the formal restaurants that require long pants and a collared shirt. The breakfast buffet was by far the best food at the resort. The staff was very friendly, and the drinks were good (try their special "Majestic" at the pool or beach). We did upgrade to the Elegance Club which gave us access to more pools and private beach areas. Overall, it was a nice stay and the price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ely Vacation
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 28, 2014

Good Hotel but needs improve in the cleanliness

Overall is good hotel although needs to improve in the cleanliness in the common areas specially in the bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurants are good

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dan from KC
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 26, 2014

Good Not Great

My wife and I joined some friends here for a 4 night stay in June 2014. We thought the resort itself was nice enough. The pools and the beach are great. The rooms have everything you need and are well kept. The food is not great but there is a large selection. Most of it is bland buffet food, but they do have stations where you can get fresh burritos or pasta. I would not say the staff as a whole is overly friendly. Most of the people will take care of you, but don't expect anyone to go to far out of their way. All in all, we had a good time for the money we spent. I think I'd try someplace different if we were to ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an outdoor market just outside the resort grounds. You can walk there, but beware it is extremely high pressure sales. You have to be rude to the shop keepers if you want to be able to leave.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not a Pleased Customer
Business
New Iberia, Louisiana
Jun 21, 2014

Our 25th Wedding Anniversary Trip

Our trip started out to be very nice. The resort was very large and very well groomed. Palms and tropical landscaping everywhere. The view was breathtaking. The people made you feel very welcomed. A couple of problems we ran into was one, it was a problem getting washcloths. We had to endup buying loofers to shower with. The food was plentiful but not always up to par. The other problem was both my wife and I came down with some kind of stomach virus. This was due to the food or beverage that was consumed. This stayed throughout our trip. We couldn't enjoy our 25th wedding anniversary like we anticipated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be careful of what you eat or drink. Make sure the place serves fresh food.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
daffyduck
Business
California
Jun 18, 2014

nice stay

We opted for the "Elegance Club" and that did add some good amenities (worth the extra money). This property needs to be gone over with a fine tooth comb to make sure that each room's mechanics work, that all is in good repair and that the customer is aware of all amenities. Yoga in the AM was nice - and food was mostly very good, except that my husband got food poisoning and lost a day and a half. Good news is that the pharmacy has the meds necessary to treat. Could have been the water. We did use bottled water all the time, though. Overall, it was a good value for the $. But you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

be careful not to drink tap water!

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HunkDiesel
Business
Wheeling, WV, USA
Jun 15, 2014

Horrible food that will make you sick the entire time

I had high expectations for this trip because of all the good reviews I read. There were 4 of us in our group that traveled together. After being there for 2 days we all start to get sick to our stomachs. The food is very average, which I can live with, but you can guarentee you will be in the bathroom 15 mins after you eat. I am back home post 1 day of the trip and am still trying to recover. I stayed previously at 2 all inclusive resorts by the Secrets chain (jamacia and Mexico) and never had a problem like this. This is NOT acceptable. The staff was for the most part not friendly. The best staff member was Juan, our butler. He was great and very attentive. The bartenders were average at the swim up bars. I am very disapointed with this trip and will NEVER stay with Majestic again. Honestly, I'm not hard to please when I'm in paradise just give me food that doesn't have me running to the bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheaper than the hotel but requires a lot of bargaining. Very high pressured sales. Shop # 40 has a rude seller. I would recommend shop #28.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonerssss
Business
Chicago
Jun 14, 2014

Should have stayed at hard rock

The beach and hotel landscape is beautiful. During the day many activities. Lacking at night. Rude staff in every store but the maids, butler, bartenders are very nice. The air conditioner in the room blows directly onto bed and the air never stops on auto so we had to build a fort with the four post bed and uSe the comforter to block air. Room had tiny ants by mini bar we has to kill and most rooms smell like sewer. Ok that's the bad. Food was decent but couldn't wait to eat anything American when I got home because even eggs are different in DR. If this is your honeymoon I would pay the extra to stay at a brand new resort but I would give 3.5 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the Michael Jackson show. It is great. Held at hotel.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deeyoucee
Business
san jose california
Jun 13, 2014

family vacation

French food is good. Steak house meat a very chuwy. Japanese food is ordinary. Buffet is great, many selections. Room is clean. Gym is ordinary, 3 out of 4 treadmills are out of order. Found out that they have been out for 3 years. The remaining one has problem with slowing the speed. Need more AC or big fan in gym other than that, very things else is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top