Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
735 reviews
READ THIS REVEW don't pass this place up......

My husband and I went to the Excellence on our honeymoon October13-21 2014. I did sooooo much... See full review

  • xtine n todd
  • Oct 22, 2014
Best Vacation Ever!

From the moment we arrive and until we left we were pampered. The people and the Excellence were... See full review

  • saltcay01
  • Oct 12, 2014
Come see what it really means to get away from it all. At Excellence Punta Cana we surround you with luxury. We seclude you among palms on a perfect powdery -sand beach. We invite you to experience the natural friendliness of people who call the Caribbean home and to enjoy the ease of an all-adult resort. Here, everything is taken care of and nothing is left out. So you are free to create those moments you dream of and memories you'll have forever. At Excellence Punta Cana you are secluded but not isolated. Our all-adult, all suite world is situated on a beautiful beach in a palm grove on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, convenient to both Punta Cana International Airport and La Romana International Airport. Its architecture is in the classic colonial style, and two enormous pools wind through our grounds. We created The Excellence Club to provide an exclusive level of luxury and amenities at each of the Excellence Group Luxury Resorts. You are privately greeted and checked into your suite, which is adorned with welcoming flowers upon your arrival. Each morning, fresh fruit and newspapers are delivered to your suite. You can enjoy our private Excellence Club beach and lounge, complete with complimentary Internet access, buffet & bar service. At Excellence Punta Cana, dining is truly international, and you have a total of eight irresistible restaurant options. In addition to its evening fare, our Italian restaurant serves breakfast,lunch and a la carte Diner. For dinner, you may choose from our French, Mediterranean, Asian/Japanese & Mexican, as well as restaurants specializing in lobster steak and pizzeria. And best of all, reservations are never required. Ten different bars complete the experience. You can swim up to the pool bar or join fellow fans in the sports bar. Whatever your pleasure, there is a convivial watering hole for everyone. Or you can stay in and enjoy room service, which is available 24-hours a day. Our Spa is virtually a resort within a resort. It is tucked away in a beautiful colonial building facing the Dominican mountains. There, in a private relaxation garden surrounding a Zen fountain, you will discover a unique combination of hydrotherapy and indigenous treatments that allow you to create your own moments of wellness and renewal. You may choose from single and couple treatment cabins, or opt to enjoy your spa services outdoors, facing the sea. Our spa offers a complete array of personal pampering services, including expert skin care and hair styling. Separate facilities for men and women include authentic Swedish saunas, steam rooms and luxury locker rooms. Our spa also offers you an on-site gym and large whirlpool. Healthy refreshments are always close at hand. Visit the spa boutique for the finest skin-care products and other selections. Your stay at Excellence Punta Cana is peaceful but never boring. You can go scuba diving and deep-sea fishing or enjoy a friendly game of bocce, water polo, beach football, squash, tennis, archery or billiards. Or, wrap up a day of snorkeling and diving with a horseback ride along the beach. You can improve your fitness and personal wellness through classes in yoga, dancing or water aerobics, or go for a jog on our 607-meter track. All this is in addition to Excellence Punta Cana's fully equipped fitness and cardio-conditioning center. In between all these activities, you can even take Spanish or cooking classes. Above all, we want you to enjoy as much activity, or as little, as you wish.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (735)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
735 out of 735
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Manda0419
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Sep 13, 2011

Worst Hotel I have ever been too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This hotel was the worst hotel Ive ever been too!!!! I recommend no one to ever go to the Excellence hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zero Stars for This Place
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 15, 2012

One Star is Too Many!

Service was awful, staff was rude. Rooms dirty, old, beds uncomfortable, bar not set up, no towels, soap, shampoo. Room not ready when we arrived even though it was 6:00 at night after an hour ride from airport (Excellence is the LAST resort on the island). Restaurants require long pants from men but their food tastes like cafeteria food--don't try to have a high-class dress-code thinking it creates a high-class restaurant--only food can do that. No management is anywhere to be found. Activities are similar to those you'd find at a senior citizen home. If it rains you better be an alcoholic or you will be bored out of your skull--and even if you like to drink the drinks are watered down so much that you will be sick from either the water or the sugary juice. And don't go expecting drinks made with fresh squeezed island mango or pineapple juices, they have no problem pouring the no-name canned juice right in front of you. If you still want to go after reading this review make sure you either bring Tums for your stomachaches or lots of money because you will need to purchase Tums for $30 USD at their store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation True Review
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Hated It!

Went with three other couples and everyone agreed that this place was the worst place we have ever stayed. The service was terrible and no one speaks English. It is impossible to get a drink from a waiter or waitress, you need to get everything yourself. Drinks are watered down and cheap alcohol is put in top-shelf bottles--no one is fooled, most of us are adults and know the difference. I say "most of us" because there were quite a few loud drunken people who were screaming at the pool until all hours of the night, yelling at us every time we walked past. No way is this a 5 star hotel. Not 4 star. Not 3 star. If I could leave zero stars, I would. Food was horrible throughout, especially breakfast since you would expect that is the one meal that no one can mess up. What a disappointment. This place is old and dirty too. The rooms are small and the TV has about 2 channels in English and the reception is awful. They also have these poor birds (6 of them) stuck in a cage in the main lobby just looking miserable like they are in jail. Is there a point to that? Does anyone want to see birds crammed in a cage? It was depressing to see these poor animals trying to flap their wings in this tiny cramped cage. No idea why they would have that there, I think in an adult only resort all adults would have by this point in their lives seen enough birds that they wouldn't need to see a bunch of them crammed in a cage. This place is old, depressing, and don't forget EXPENSIVE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Please do not ignore this
Business
United States
Apr 15, 2012

Regrettably

I am not one to leave reviews, my wife is normally the one that praises a resort, or warn those they maybe considering one we visited. However, I felt compelled to share my experience at "Excellence". First, I feel it is worth mentioning my wife and I visit at least two, and if we're lucky, three "all inclusive resorts" a year. Therefore, we have a clear understanding/expectation of what good "SERVICE" should consist of. After traveling ten hours from our home (driving to our local airport, a lay-over in Carolina, and rummaging through endless buses/vans haphazardly spread throughout the Punta Cana Airport parking lot without any clear direction as to where our "reserved" shuttle was located) to "Excellence", we were told to "walk around the resort while they prepared a room". Mind you, we arrived at 4:15pm in the afternoon. Happy that we were on vacation, my wife and I proceeded to walk in the direction that the gentlemen behind the desk pointed us in. After walking 15 yards, we were greeted by another gentlemen who spoke perfect English and only SOLD cigars by the counts of 10, 20, or 50, and the 10 packs started at $150.00. I respectfully ask that you process the above before moving on. 45 minutes later we returned, checked into the room to find that there wasn't any soap, towels, shampoo stocked in the room. Nor was the bar stocked. How is it a room is not ready at 4:00 in the afternoon? How is it that we are asked to walk around a resort and return 45 minutes later, and then taken to a room without any soap, shampoo and towels? Was this resort unaware that we were coming? After having called the front desk and speaking to one of the four people (all of whom worked behind the desk that spoke some form of English) and attempting to explain ad nausea that the room didn't have soap, shampoo, and towels, we were told someone would t "take care of it." My wife and I decided to self-evaluate our intolerance, and agreed that if we were to eat something it would help us to feel better and not critic the resort so harshly. This decision did nothing more than to cut our vacation short. A six-day vacation ended in two. The problems with the DR/Excellence are as follows, and in no particular order: 1. The people are rude (At Excellence) 2. Utter chaos at the airport 3. Tourism Country, yet very few people speak any other language than Spanish 4. No desire to resolve problems (At Excellence) 5. Management is nonexistent (At Excellence) 6. Poor food 7. Poor service 8. Not clean The good thing is: 1. Leaving When it comes to reviews, my wife and I swear by them, and we are baffled as to how this resort received 5 stars. I highly recommend you do not waste your time/money. Regrettably

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Excellence Punta Cana Sux
Business
NJ
Apr 14, 2012

TERRIBLE HOTEL!

I have no idea how this place received a 5-star rating--it was absolutely horrible. We booked it based on reviews & the fact that it had 5 stars, and we were so disappointed with the staff, service, food, room, and overall experience that we actually cut our vacation short by 4 days & returned home to NJ after 2 days--there was no sense in staying somewhere where the staff was rude & the food was so poor. Lobster was dry and rubbery, service was so slow, steaks were tough & overcooked, have seen better breakfast buffets at Holiday Inns! Very few choices, watered down juices, no pastries, melons that were not ripe. Pancakes/waffles not cooked to order but instead on platters--remember, this is a 5-star resort--there is a level of expectation as to the food they should be serving--it should be hot and fresh. Again, even Holiday Inn cooks you fresh waffles and eggs at their buffets! No ONE--literally no one--speaks even basic English. Yes, it is the DR but this is a tourist destination catering to travelers from all over the world, and if you are willing to accept thousands of American dollars, you should be courteous enough to learn a handful of English words that are standard to the hotel/restaurant industry, such as: Soap, shampoo, towels, wine, and how about the names of your own restaurants, which the staff acted like they didn't even understand what people were talking about? By the way, the room had no soap, shampoo, or towels, and when we asked for them & finally were able to get them to understand our unusual request for same, we received a "blue" watery shampoo and who knows what kind of soap--it had no name on it. This was contrary to the Excellence website claim that they provided high quality toiletries--if we had known we'd be given this cheap stuff we'd have brought our own. Again, even Holiday Inn/Ramada/etc. provides name brand toiletries. I hope this review can save other people from staying at this place. It was awful. Overall, all of the service in the DR was poor-- from the time we were in the airport and the mariachi band kicked a hat at us for a dollar, to the time we were sent to the bus lot to search for our shuttle amongst over 50 buses. Pick a country where they appreciate tourists, like Jamaica. DO NOT BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A 5 STAR RESORT, you will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveler's
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 23, 2013

Worst Resort Experience Ever!

We were guests at a destination wedding. The experience was a disaster from the start. We are frequent travelers so we understand the system. This was our first experience with an "all-inclusive resort" and now we understand why we have never been in favor of such a trip. It is a real drag to be told you must exit the pools at 6pm and that you must eat the same food in every restaurant...and drink the same beer (Presidente with an occasional showing of Coors Light) and alcohol each day. The food quality in most restaurants was hit or miss but should be noted that the flavors seemed to blend no matter what you ate. The resort lost power and literally did nothing to assist their guests with lighting...it was a very dangerous situation because it occurred in the evening...no lighting in guest rooms...all restaurants except one that used an emergency generator were shut down...people wandering about in search of answers and got none. Back to the restaurants...the "house wines" served were so under quality that we had to buy off the wine list each night and even that was ridiculous as every wine we chose in the mid range was typically not available resulting in purchasing the next step up...ranging in the $40-$50 per bottle range! Btw...It is not very well documented that men are not allowed in most restaurants without long pants and dress shoes and women in elegant sandals! Also to make a reservation for a table of 10-12 guests was bazaar...I practically had to pay off the concierge. As guests of this resort we seriously felt like children being reprimanded by parents each and every time we asked a question. As for the guest rooms...mediocre at best...quite old and worn out...we took the advice of an online review and showed a $20 at check in for the 2nd floor room but truly...not necessary as our family had rooms all about the resort and all appeared the same...run down. Next comment is disturbing...we had frequent visits from cockroaches in our room...we did get immediate attention from the service people and had our room sprayed three times during our week long stay...the comment was that we are on an "Island" after all! Many people in our party became quite ill due to food/water quality...we later learned that this country has very poor water treatment plants so please be careful to all... since spoke to Infectious Disease MD who informed us that folks traveling to the Dominican should be immunized with Hep A (two doses..six months separated) and an a Typhoid Injection or pills. Also note that the Resort is quite spread out and that the restaurants are mainly only on one end so if you are rooming at the opposite end you will have a lot of exercise time walking back/forth...perhaps they should consider the golf cart method especially for their older guests. Ground transportation is a joke...you pay up front when making reservation and you get put in a van that hasn't ever been inspected...and little to no air-conditioning...and have to have an appointment the morning after you arrive to set up departure van only to find out that they are trying to sell you activities for your "all-inclusive" stay and "unsafe" activities at that. I went on to find out that these companies do not even work for the Excellence Corp...they sell space to them on premise so that they can harass their guests...go figure! Should be noted that the activities our family participated in were not safe...ie..sail boating and horseback riding. The tour that was taken for the horseback ride was off property on the crazy roads and ended up at their stable in lord only knows where...and a van ride back to the resort...So strange! I'm sorry about the negative comments but just being honest...We would never return...this was a very expensive trip and if it wasn't for spending good fun times with family I would demand a refund! Sincerely, A Few Disappointed Traveler"s!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do NOT drink the water...do not even brush teeth with the water!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 22, 2010

Excellence???????????

I was very unhappy with this hotel, the room smelled moldy, due to the jacuzzi in room.There were bugs in my room. My patio door was broken and had to carry my personal belongings with me for 2 1/2 days, and reported this to the front desk twice before something was done to rectify the problem, food orders were always coming out wrong or overcooked. I will never go back to this hotel and will not recomend others to go there.Pick up and drop off service was also horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Oct 18, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana Oct 2009

We plan an annual trip and this year we selected Punta Cana, Excellence Resort. What a mistake. Resort is over 1 hour from airport and road conditions were terrible - pot holes everywhere and the drivers swerve all over the road trying to avoid them, without regard to oncoming traffic. Resort is so far away that you really cannot leave the resort without paying a fortune in taxi fare! Resort has very limited air conditioning, which we found unacceptable with heat in the 90's and humidity levels at 100%. Rooms were hard to keep cool, few restaurants had a/c and theatre, casino, etc had no a/c and a very limited number of small ceiling fans. Restaurants had dress code for men of long pants - but no a/c in 90 weather! Bars were generous but limited on selections of beer - Presidente or Bud!! (We were able to scronge a few Coronas). Unless you requested top shelf or bottled sodas you got the poor man's rum and fountain soda which tasted horrible. Resort had limited activities and no activities for the Rainy day. Pretty much sat at restaurant, bar or in room! They did not open casino until 8pm and had no other indoor activities. (Oh, they did offer a deck of cards and a monopoly game!) Nice beach area but wait staff was hard to find. Seemed like the more we tipped the less service we recieved. Condition of room was another story in itself. Let me just say that we emptied our luggage in the driveway to make sure we didn't bring any Punta Cana bugs home! Would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Feb 21, 2011

Geriatric Palace

Don't even think about going to this hotel if you are younger than 50! This hotel should be called Excellence Punta Cana - "Senior citizens Only All Inclusive." This is NOT a 5 star hotel as it claims to be. The old people that visit complain about the music in the hotel and the activities within the hotel are for old people. It has nasty bathtubs in each bedroom that need to be desperately updated. The bedrooms are situated around areas with vegetation flooded with toads that will sing to you every night from 9pm to 7am, one toad almost went in our bedroom!! The nightly shows are not up to par with other 3 star hotels let alone 5 star hotels. The hotel is about an hour and a half from the airport and there is NOTHING outside of if for shopping or bargaining. The pool is pretty boring as well; its depth is about 3 feet and the only thing people do there is lay on floaters. While we were playing volleyball in the pool, a member from the entertainment team told us he was taking the net away because it was already 5pm!!! The water at the beach is very rough unlike the waters from the hotels in the bavaro area. Also, expect to wait long periods of time while attending the grill and the lobster house; we spent over an hour in each of these places, not good at all. The people of the dominican republic are very warm and always go the extra mile to please you but you will find that at any hotel in punta cana. DO NOT waste your money here and do yourself a favor stay somewhere else; i'd recommend the bavaro area. This is the third time we visit the DR and the worst experience we've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Nothing to do outside the hotel; too far from everything.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Dec 13, 2010

Very Disappointed

While the staff was friendly and helpful the management was uncooperative and uncaring. Hotel rooms were musty smelling and ants were found on multiple days. We would not recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top