Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
52 reviews
Honeymoon

We had a wonderful stay at the Excellence, the staff was very accommodating and the food was... See full review

  • Kimberly C.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Awesome place I'll go back

Love this place. The staff makes you feel at home. They are there for you without being... See full review

  • Daniela
  • Jul 25, 2015

The Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults-Only All-Inclusive Resort in Punta Cana is one of the Dominican Republic's most comfortable tropical getaways. Guests are able to create a personalized visit as they enjoy the lapping ocean waves and the soothing beats of merengue that softly bathe the hotel. Eight romantic restaurants await the visitors, each with its own unique culinary specialties and ethnic styles. The resort also features a wide variety of leisure and light-adventure activities that are sure to ease visitors into a mindset of rest and relaxation under the warm Dominican sun.

Highlights

Visitors to the Excellence Punta Cana can line themselves across a 30-mile stretch of palm-lined coast or engage in the resort's numerous sports and adventure activities. Those looking to relax can try out yoga or Pilates, or they get in a good workout at the resort's state-of-the-art fitness center. Other light activities include water aerobics and aqua fitness, squash, bocce, basketball, beach volleyball and football. Guests also have their choice of Spanish dancing or cooking lessons or a 30-minute guided horseback riding session per visitor, per stay. For an extra fee, guests can visit the world-class Miilé Spa & beauty salon, go on helicopter rides to view a rich panorama of Punta Cana, go horseback riding or watch for humpback whales.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shawntem
Couples
Alexandria, VA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Good Time

We had a good time. The hotel staff is nice, friendly and accommodating. However, the food is not very good and the entertainment is lacking. It was a glorified cruise ship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Punta
Couples
New York
Jan 15, 2011

1st anniversary

Hotel itself was good overall but it would have been better if the hotel provided more activities. Hotel consigner should of been more active with the travelers to provide help. I was little bit disappointed with the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment is not first class nor 2nd.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Islanders
Friends
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 8, 2009

Excellente service, but bad food

It takes an hour from the airport to arrive to the hotel. We knew this, therefore, it did not bother us much. When we arrived, they received us with a champagne glass ang gave us an automatic upgrade. We paid the most affordable room, and they assigned us to a suite. The lobby is nice and the surroundings too. They upgraded us, but the room was not ready when we arrived, therefore , we went to the Italian restaurant. Do not be fool, they have eight restaurants, but all serve the same bad food. When the room was ready, two hours later, we noticed that it was very pretty. Also, I should say that Dominican people are amazing: friendly and they offer a great service. However, the food that they serve is terrible. This culinary disaster was shown over and over again: in the Pan Asian Restaurant (the sushi does not even look like one), the French and the Steak house. The shows at night are very, very low quality. The drinks are international. However, do not expect the most expensive ones, but you can find Chilean wines, and the Mojitos are great. For me, it was fine. The swimingpool is very nice too. The last day, we paid for a massage, and the experience was wonderful. They noy only gave us the massage, but also treated us like royalty. A good thing to do. In summary, I would not go back again, because the quality of the food is very important for me. and unfortunatedly it is very, very, very low... In addition, we found a big roach in the bedroom the last day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jens travel stay
Single
California
Jan 13, 2014

Jens travel stay with friends

This hotel is breathtaking. Nothing about it looks cheap. The staff is so nice. I liked how we see the same staff everyday, your able to build a bond. Also the food was pretty good as well. Considering we are in the DR, you can't expect them to have the best food but it was good enough. By far the Mexican and Asian resultant were the best. The spa was nice. A little bit pricy but was so nice. Oh! Everyone speaks English!! French!! Spanish!! The cons ... This resort is defiantly for older people and a couples resort. This isn't a place to go of you are young and single! Lesson learned haha. All the night shows and activities are based on having a love one with you. The drinks .. There is only so much you can choose from. Their alcohol choice is very Minimal. And only have three types of beer, their beer, corona and coolers. Coolers and corona is very hard to find!! Almost impossible! Yes the wifi is free!! Pool closes at 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ladies, you can just wear Your beach Sandals! No need to wear heels when going to dinner.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simba1906
Couples
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great place for honeymooners

The staff at Excellence Punta Cana were ALL very helpful and very accommodating. They were always willing to go out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay and didn't have any issues. The beach was beautiful! Awesome just listening to the waves crash. The stars at night at around 1:00am are an astronomers dream! The pool was very large, covering a large area of the resort. It was only waist deep, which allowed guests to wade from one part of the resort to another. Of course, there were other pools with far less people (more quiet) but we choose to hang out amongst the crowds. This is the main pool where all the activities during the day occur. There were 9 restaurants. The food was good, better in some restaurants. I didn't really enjoy the breakfast but my wife found things she liked. The entertainment was pretty decent. The shows we saw were consistent in keeping us engaged in the show. Tip, tip, tip! We are used to tipping but there are many people we saw who don't. The people working at the resort rely on tips (just as waiters/waitresses do in America) so it's good to make sure you bring enough cash to do. We generally gave $3-$5 for meals. $1 for drinks poured at the bar(s). If you plan on taking a tour into the city (extra cost) where you visit one of the village schools, perhaps bring some pencils, pens, erasers, (i.e. small school supplies). We didn't know we were going to the school and were told by our tour guide that we could give those items to the school children if we had them. We would have loved to go shopping at Walmart and load those kids with tons of supplies, but we didn't know. The village school we visited was a poor one, so they really need supplies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on spending a week or more here at the resort, DO plan on bringing more than one bottle of sun tan lotion! The resort gift shop charges $35 for one bottle! Also, bring some pain medication (for headaches or cramps for women) just in case. They also charge pretty hefty prices for this. There is Wifi available in the lobby. For people with Skype or other VOIP services enable on their PC or mobile phone, this is a great way to skirt around cellular charges and use the internet to your advantage. We were able to use Skype to call our parents when we arrived and let them know we were safe. No additional charges for using the Wifi in the lobby. There is apparently an internet cafe on the site but it was under construction (additional cost for using services in internet cafe).

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfe
Couples
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Mar 14, 2013

Great Vacation

All around the Excellence Hotel Punta Cana was quite superb! The only small complaint I would have is that the food could have been a little bit better but outside of that the resort exceeded all of my expectations. The staff was constantly at your beckon call and the resort had everything you could want from a beautiful beach to 10 different bars. I will be staying at an Excellence hotel in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away from the Lobster House. Everything else was good to great.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbboston
Family
boston ma
Mar 23, 2013

excellent family vacation

Beautiful beach ..great food fun time! Perfect getaway foe our family vacation !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HWKDOC
Couples
Groton CT
Jul 29, 2013

1st Vacation Bliss

This was my wife and I's first vacation in 13 years. Arriving at the airport was a little hectic since all the flights arrive around noon and customs gets overwhelmed. We spent around 2 hours just getting through the airport. The trip to the hotel is around an hour and fifteen minutes, but it is inside of an airconditioned minibus (we paid for the service along with the package#. So we started off a little rough to say the least. However, from the second we pulled in the gates we were amazed! The resort is beautiful, with its long, shop lined entryway to the stunning lobby we couldn't stop smiling! You are greeted with champagne and bellboys whisk your bags away for you. Checking in is a breeze, the staff will personally escort you to your room and assure you have no immediatte needs. Throughout the week the weather was great, the ocean is just rough enough to boogy board, but not dangerous. The staff is what makes the hotel stand out. They will fulfill any wish you have and all seemed fluent in English. The food #to me) was excellent! Some people we met said that the food at the Excellence in Cancun was better, but to me, I thought it was a great selection and something was always open for us. Room service is free and is available 24/7. However, the "after hours" menu is limited. We paid for the dune buggy excersion, which was a mistake. Not because it wasn't fun, but it is an hour and a half drive each way for the one Cheap Tickets booked for us and it really was kind of slow and boring. We both agreed that next year we will be staying at the hotel the whole time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse VDB
Couples
Newton
Feb 9, 2015

Great getaway

Hotel was great, staff not overly friendly. Food was awesome...lots of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KM
Friends
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Awesome girls vacation

This hotel is adults only and it was nice not having kids roaming around. There were great choices of restaurant and located right on the beach. The only downfall is that the pool & pool bars close at 6pm!! I am not sure why this is and thought was unnecessary. Other than that, it was such a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top