Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
728 reviews
Excellent!

The hotel and staff was amazing! I would definitely recommend to future visitors. See full review

  • Groot
  • Sep 26, 2014
Awesome getaway

Great resort! Great time! Will definitely go back! Food and drinks were great! Staff was even better! See full review

  • 40th bday girl
  • Sep 18, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (728)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
728 out of 728
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 7, 2009

Amazing Resort, Best I've been to

We celebrated our fifth anniversary there, and it was a great week. We chose to stay on the resort the whole time, and we loved it. Some people we know went on the excursions (island trip, safari, etc) and said they were great too, but we just wanted to relax and enjoy the ocean and pool. The service was excellent, with every person eager to help. The only small downside was the older man working at the sports desk (where you get snorkel, etc.). He seemed really annoyed every time we came for a snorkel or boogie board, but other than that one person, everyone on staff were great. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are very nice. I've got only good things to say about the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Funmaker
Fredonia, New York
Apr 23, 2014

Best Family Getaway

Was one of the nicest places we have been to. Beautiful beaches, wonderful food, and top notch service. We took our adult children here as part of a Christmas gift, and they all enjoyed everything, from the nightly shows, horseback riding (included), to the Casino. We were not able to partake in Water Sports unfortunately because of unsafe conditions, but that was not fault of hotel. The only thing needing updating was the sports equipment (darts, archery,shooting) but that doesn't keep me from rating this resort 5-star. We have stayed at Sandals Resorts on two different islands and Excellence was my favorite and cost almost 1/2 as much! Special thanks to Jonathon and the rest of the Excellence entertainment team for making our vacation one of the best. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North American living in Ecuador
Oct 14, 2009

Better than Hoped For

My husband and I had been dreaming of doing a get away to a beach resort for our 25th Anniversary for years! We didn't really have a honeymoon and had only stayed at a couple of different all-inclusives for a few days in the past. I did much research online and read countless reviews of other travelers before finally choosing the Excellence. Even though the pictures looked great and I'd read great things about it, I was still reserved in anticipation, not wanting to be disappointed if it wasn't as great as it looked online or sounded in reviews. I love detail and there were always beautiful details and little touches that made me feel like I was in a special place. Let me just say that when we arrived and entered the lobby, I was overwhelmed by its beauty, the service of the staff and the sheer elegance and class of the whole place. By the time we got to our room, I was in tears, knowing that we had picked just the right place to celebrate! We loved that it was adults only and mostly couples enjoying time together. We are so family friendly, but it really had a relaxing, dignified impact to not have children and teens around...everything is set up for adults and for couples. The beach is the most beautiful one I've seen and I've been on ocean beaches in California, Florida, Mexico, Ecuador, Costa Rica & San Andres/Colombia. The pool is designed beautifully. Although it is a big resort, it has a smaller feel, wherever you were on the resort, which we were looking for...smaller and more intimate. It was never crowded in the pool area or the beach. We wanted more quiet and privacy which we got on the end of the beach & pool where our room was. But when we wanted more of a party feel, that could be found on the end of the beach with the music, food, games and swimming or the area of the pool where more of this took place (close to the lobby). The disco was fun...it's far away from rooms and main lobby, which meant that those who want to sleep can! We loved the 70's/80's night! They have themed parties in there but you can go as you are. Loved the live piano at breakfast. Loved the choice of restaurants each night and not eating buffet every meal. There was an option to eat a la carte every meal if you wanted to! Or room service, although the room service menu was limited. The food was good and drinks were awesome. Enjoyed live sax/piano in the lobby lounge some evenings either before or after dinner. And we only waited one night to get seated in a restaurant...for 10 minutes. We went in October and it was HOT and HUMID...no need for anything but short sleeves. Wish they would turn up the air in the restaurants as they were borderline comfortable for us. We loved our room...an ocean view Excellence Suite...we could see the ocean from our bed and look out over the pool from the balcony. Loved the turn down service at night, although they did miss us a couple of nights. One thing...the DR is still a developing country and as elegant and beautiful and friendly and efficient as this place was...the power did go out intermittently most nights, the water in the in-room jaccuzi was very brown when we tried that, sometimes our room had a musty smell when we entered it...soon to be ignored or forgotten...and sometimes the staff are hard to understand because of their English pronunciation or lack of English, although that was not a problem for us personally as we speak spanish. That said, we'd go again in a heartbeat. It was the perfect spot for us and it exceeded our expectations in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are booking a romantic dinner for your Honeymoon or Anniversary with their complementary package, do it a few days in advance of the evening you want it (once there) to get the restaurant and time you want...there is limited availability, which we did not know.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lowlow
punta cana D.R
Jun 21, 2014

Great place to getaway

It was a great place .The staff was so nice always in a happy and helpful. If u needed anything they always went out there way to get what u need. The rooms were nice to with all u need in them . I love the shower tube the mini bar .The excellece is my number one place. The beach was so nice with the way the got it layed out. I can go on on about this place . Just talking about it puts a smile on my face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
OHIO, United States of America
Aug 21, 2010

Excellente Review

Very enjoyable and restful. This was my wife and I's second trip to the resort. The ride to the resort is the scariest, but when you arrive you're greeted with a scented cold towel and a glass of champagne and the amazing service continues. Each staff member cherishes there job (this being a third world country) and truly treats you with respect and courtesy. Tipping is nice to do even though it is not required. A couple dollars can go a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to visit all 8 restaurants. Its hard to do when you go to one and like it so much that you keep going back to the same restaurant! GREAT VALUE for the money. [...]

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Feb 15, 2008

Great getaway!

I loved the Excellence. The only bad thing I can say is that the drive to and from the airport was long and bumpy. The bed was a little hard, but we got used to it. I liked the Asian and Mexican restaurants the best, although they were all good. Small casino, but a lot of fun. Casino is open from 7:00pm-3:00am. The pools are unbeleivable...they wind through most of the resort. Great show every night in the lobby area. The beach is beautiful, but the water is rough and the sand is thick...hard to walk in. The staff is friendly, but they don't speak much English...learn some Spanish basics before you go! Take lots of $1.00 bills with you...they come in handy! The more you hand out, the nicer they get. The weather was fabulous, sunny everyday and breezy! I am ready to go back already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some local vendors at the end of the resort, just a short walk down the beach or follow the pool to the end. You have to bargain with them, and they will come down on prices. Typically, you can get t-shirts for under $10.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Normal, Illinois
Apr 20, 2010

EXCELLENCE WAS EXCELLENT

We were immediately greeted outside of our vehicle with a glass of champagne!! We were guided through the hotel by very courteous staff, had a private check-in, they took our luggage, were prompt with it, offered everything with a smile and pleasantries!... all without asking for a tip, lingering for a tip, and in some cases, hesitant to take one if you offered it! The hotel is TRULY INCLUSIVE! It is the best resort in Punta Cana,and we would definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to shop, do not shop at the locations on the hotel property. They are pricey. A short walk up the beach (heading north!) you will find everything you need at excellent prices.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe and Sue
Franklinville NJ
Nov 2, 2013

Heaven on earth

We've been to several resorts in the Caribbean but this one tops them all. The friendly staff bent over backwards to please you. The food was first class in every restaurant we ate in. Thanks Roberto! The bars were great with a wide variety of drinks. The lobby and entertainment area was a tropical paradise. The beach was very relaxing and the pools were special. My wife became ill with bronchitis ( she brought it with her from NJ) and the medical help was convenient and helpful. One of our favorite times of the day was sitting by the martini bar and listening to Domingo play the sax. He is a wonderful musician and a good friend. I may never get to heaven but at least I've had a glimpse of what it looks like. See you next year!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you bring everything you need. The stores are expensive.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
near Chicago, Illinois
Feb 28, 2010

BD review

We have traveled extensively in Europe, the Caribbean, New Zealand, and throughout the U.S. Our time spent at Punta Cana was wonderful. It was the perfect getaway from our residence near Chicago. We were able to exercise, read, eat and enjoy all aspects of what the resort offered. As for how it rates with regard to other trips taken, it was relaxing and lovely, just as it should have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Apr 23, 2009

Awesome resort

Beautiful resort, great staff, good food. Well worth the scary ride to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top