Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
782 out of 782
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brox
Business
Austin, Tx
Dec 13, 2009

Excellent Getaway

Great place to relax. Excellent service, entertainment, food, and drinks. Place was clean and very pretty. Only down fall is Travel to/from airport is a 45min trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nancy's gift shop is located right off the resort on the beach & has the best value for shopping. [...] very Freindly people. Its the best place to shop and get great deals.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned Travel Chick
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 9, 2009

Great deal, nice resort

We are veterans of the Excellence group, and have always had good experiences with their resorts. The Punta Cana location is consistent, and the staff is exceedingly friendly and attentive. The economy in the DR is very poor, so tips are appreciated for good service. The main pool is fantastic, and you can find a quiet spot or be in the middle of the constant cocktail hour at the swim-up bar. There is simply something for everyone. There are activities happening constantly, and shopping on the grounds, so no need to leave the resort. Oh, remember that if the resort is crowded to get to the pool early to reserve your spot. They go FAST. By early, I mean like 7 AM. No need to do that for the beach. The food - well, it is an all-inclusive, though on the higher end. It was great in some places (Lobster House, Spice) and okay in others. You just have to remember that it is an all-inclusive. Upgrade to the Excellence club for great Bulgari toiletries and even more personal service, and definitely get an oceanview suite if you can, the view is well worth it. On the tours....remember that this is still a struggling country and people will beg and bother you for money or to buy goods. The tour operators aren't always great at monitoring this. Oh, and stay out of the "shacks" next to the resort. They will overwhelm you if you try and shop there. You are better off visiting the shops on the grounds at the front of the resort. There are guards all over the resort for a reason, just keep that in mind. We are seasoned travelers and I was suprised that it was THAT bad, but you just need to roll with it. Don't wander alone off the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 30, 2009

Fantastic Place

It was an unbelievable experience. The most gorgeous hotel I've ever seen. My boyfriend and I spent time on the beach, at the pool, at the bars, at all of the 10 restaurants, watched wonderful shows, rode horses, rode on a zipline, saw the country, shopped, had pedicures, etc. There was absolutely nothing else one could have yearned for. The BEST trip I have EVER taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Hotel prices were a tad higher, but worth staying away from the vendors who can drive you nuts. I bought two gorgeous rings at the jewelery store there - one for $77 and one for $52. Both sterling silver. One topaz and one a different stone.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Couple In Love
Business
Arvada, Colorado
Nov 21, 2009

Excellent!

It was a wonderful experience and we will be going back. The staff was amazing, the food was great and the setting was truly beautiful and peaceful. They have all top shelf liquor which was an added bonus! We look forward to our next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

[...] It was a 1 1/2 bus ride and you stop at 3 other hotels to pick up people and drop them off. That was the least fun part of the vacation.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steveracer
Business
Queens,New York
Nov 20, 2009

great couple getaway

Overall the resort was very nice, and we will probably revisit.The mosquitos(pitbulls with wings) were deadly.We couldn't understand why the pools closed at 6pm at an adult only resort.The staff was great and the food was very good.Very pleased with the sports and activities.Tennis & basketball courts as well as the instructors were great.The weight room was excellent.The fact that we did not have to make reservations to eat was a major plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

outside the hotel is cheaper,but they can be a little aggressive.Nancy seems to be Queenbee and has a more relaxed approach to doing business.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jills great find
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 20, 2009

Second time and still a charm!!!

I left my new, relatively expensive, suntan lotion on the beach and when I went back the next day, the towel runner remembered me and saved it. He was so thoughtful and even though we don't speak the same language, I hope he knew how appreciative I was!! The only thing I might add would be more shopping. Though the hotel has pretty much everything you might want...it doesn't have more. Since I don't like to leave the property, that might be my ONLY suggestion. Great food, great staff...I couldn't have been happier. We will be asking the whole family to go for a reunion there, I love it that much!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Coming from a place without humidity, I forgot what it's like to have mosquitos...my only hint is to take bug spray!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 20, 2009

Gorgeous Hotel

Very long bus ride to hotel. Usually a wait to eat dinner, but they don't take reservations. Food was o.k. Be sure to take off bug spray. Got eat up by mosquitos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tkdwm
Business
boston
Nov 19, 2009

Paradise

From the welcome champagne to the exquisite food and service our experience was fantastic. A variety of activities, shows and sports...a great activities team and if you want just the ocean and the sounds of the waves you can travel down the miles of beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer and Thomas ( couple number 3 )
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 17, 2009

excellllllente!!!!!!!! wow!

We are a couple, 25 and 29, just vacationing! We had a garden room, thought about upgrading before we even got there...NO NEED! Our room was awesome. King bed, hot tub, stocked mini bar and a hamock on our porch! we made friends with a couple that had a top notch room and that was AWESOME, but you would love either! Lets just say the first half hour we were there we walked around in shock at how beautiful this place was. we had a few drinks(mamajuana-yikes) and were pulled up on stage to be in a show! the staff become your family in minutes at excellence. they are truely amazing! Each morning you awake to a schedule of activities. You never have a reason to be bored, unless thats what you want! The bars are spread out all over the resort. AND the resturants are just excellent! NO we didnt get sick from anythinggggg, like some said on reviews. We enjoyed each meal of the day! Our prize for that contest i mentioned was a romantic dinner for two on the beach. Its a must do! We Loved Excellence. We will be back there next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2009

Great Beach / Great Staff......THAT'S IT

Just not my style. If you have traveled at all you would understand

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top