Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
693 reviews
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only

The best place to go for adults only time. We will be going back. See full review

  • Rhonda1
  • Apr 7, 2014
It's what you make it...

This is a great resort to "choose" the kind of vacation you want to have. You can relax quietly on... See full review

  • Jen OC
  • Mar 31, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (693)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
693 out of 693
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Ohio
Jun 30, 2009

ok, but not great

our vacation was ok, but not great. Our issue is we have stayed at very lovely locations in the caribbean and this place was very average. The food was not very good. The service was adequate, but was not helpful if there was a problem or concern. They were somewhat dismissive. Don't venture off the resort property. The beach becomes very litered and we were told somewhat unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Ryan the Groom
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 30, 2009

Great Vacation

This was the best all inclusive I have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Try all the restaurants.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Auburn, AL
Jun 28, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana

Everything about the Excellence is excellente, except for the food. However, as long as you know this going in and don't expect to much from it, the resort is well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
G & D @ Twenty
Georgia
Jun 28, 2009

Our 20th Anniversary Paradise

First ever all inclusive experience and we enjoyed it. The choice of entertainment as well as dining experiences was unending. Friendly staff gave us a unique personal experience from the moment we left our room until we closed the club late every morning. We also meet some very nice couples and enjoyed the evening shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask Orbitz for airport transport voucher when booking this package so that you are not surprised by the $70 trip fee to and from the airport. Being in a foreign country, with a cell phone that suddenly picks up en espanol can be quite a challenge as you try to figure out if the $70 trip fee is legitimate.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Chicabanda
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 27, 2009

amazing service, beautiful beach

The hotel was very luxurious and very beautiful. Most of the resort (except for the rooms and a few of the restaurants) are open air. The main pool was HUGE and amazing. It has a swim up bar, and is just the right depth to stand in. It also has shallow sections you can lay in too. The staff was so helpful and was always ready to bring you whatever food or drinks you wanted. There are lots of shady cabanas all around the pool so that you can relax in the shade too. The beach was very clean and beautiful and the sand was pristine. The food selection was very good, and the quality of the food was okay. We got sick (not sure if it was the food or swallowed ocean water) and the medic was able to take care of us, and the concierge checked up on us and made sure we had everything we needed. The main drawback was being an hour from the airport. If you take a taxi like we did it is $70 USD one way. Overall I recommend this resort, especially if you like not having crying whiny children around =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel has some shops to buy souveniers and other things you might need, but it is pricey. If you walk just to the edge of the hotel's property along the beach there are several other shops that sell the same stuff for much less.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 24, 2009

Amazing

Me and my wife had a great time!!! very relaxing and the staff was great!!!! we loved and we hope we can go back very soon!!!! Bring bug spary, some people we met got bit up pretty bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

When they have the guys in te middle area dont be affraid to have a price and stick with it... we bought a bracelet and earrings for $50 and people we met got it for less... and the price started at $120

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Philadelphia Suburbs
Jun 14, 2009

Excellence was Excellent!!

I arrived with my new wife on our honeymoon to Excellence and was greeted immediately with champagne and friendly staff. Our first impression was the main lobby which was amazing to look at and was much larger then I expected. We were then escorted to our walk out pool room which was great. The king size bed was comfortable and the in-room jacuzzi was a nice touch. Out back, we had our own porch, hammock and were within walking distance to the pool. Along with the pool being there, we were lucky enough to be right next to the pool bar which we swam up to to get any drinks we wanted. Overall, the resort was in tip top shape. There were a few minor things that needed touch up but to be honest, that would be me just nitpicking an amazing place. Onto the food. The resort has about 7 or 8 five star restaurants and they definitely live up to the five stars. Each restaurant has its own unique flavor such as Italian, French Style, Japanese, Mexican, Mediterranean, Steak House, Lobster House and a couple others. Along with the restaurants, almost every night there was an outdoor buffet of cuisines which included a night with traditional Dominican food which was amazing. The lunch and breakfast buffets were also top notch with sooo many things to chose from you could never get bored. Along with the food, there were constant activities all day long and each day, a daily schedule was left in the room with the next days activities. Also shows at night kept you entertained with dances, music, circus acts and more. The staff too was top notch. Just about everyone was friendly 24-7 which was great. I know personally its not easy to be "on" every second and every day dealing with guests but they did a great job of giving out a positive vibe. All in all, I could go on for another 20 minutes of typing but I can sum it up with this. If you are looking for a five star resort, I can't imagine anything being better then this place. It truly was Excellente!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I'd recommend going to Toscana for lunch as they had just about everything there. The Grill is nice but we didn't go to Toscana until near the end of the trip and missed out on some great lunches.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
kjb
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana

Had a wonderful time. Celebrating our 20th anniversary and was looking for a quiet, relaxing place with great service. The Excellence Punta Cana was a perfect choice. Beautiful beach and one of the largest pool areas I've ever seen. Never had an issue finding the "perfect" spot. It was the perfect destination for our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit "Nancy's" just west of the resort for gifts and souvenirs at lower prices and more "negotiation" possibilities.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
group of ten
the excellence at Punta Cana, Dominican
Jun 13, 2009

Well worth the money we paid

I think that for the price we paid for this vacation we definitely got our monies worth. The staff at the hotel were wonderful, the pool and beach were great. Not a lot of inclusive amenities but we weren't looking to do too much. Just relaxed, ate and drank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Raquel R
Washington, DC
Jun 12, 2009

Great Service - Great Value

The hotel is top-notch and worth every penny! We wanted to relax and do nothing and it was the perfect place to do that. You can expect, comfy rooms, large pool area that never feels too crowded (and the hotel was very busy!), lots of palapas and chairs on the beach - we would show up at the beach around 9:30 - 10:30 am and there were always empty chairs. The staff is great, walk on the beach and they bring you drinks, pizza, great service. Great morning breakfast featuring smoothie bars, fresh fruit etc. You'll like most of the dinner options. For the beach area - the waves are not that bad as other reviews mention. My husband and I loved jumping the waves (small waves) nothing major. The ocean by the hotel is not tranquil as you imagine Turqs and Caicos, really not bad at all. The water is a great, refreshing, temp around 75-83 deg. Really, I recommend this hotel because of the superb service and wonderful ammenities beach. Worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top