Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
763 reviews
Excellence

I can't think of anything to complain about. All expectations were met or exceeded. See full review

  • Michael
  • Jan 28, 2015
Winter vacation

We stayed 5 nights and it was an amazing experience. The staff were absolutely the best we've... See full review

  • Cooke23
  • Jan 28, 2015
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Dining

Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (763)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
763 out of 763
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 30, 2009

The Excellence is Awesome!

I think this is one of the best resorts in the area. Service was great, the grounds crew is amazing, always sweeping and cleaning the pool, grounds are awesome and very clean. Everyone was so nice and friendly. They had tons of activities on the resort. They had Monday night football on the beach which was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Night time entertainment was ok. There were bands and singers which was good, they had them every night. I would have liked more shows like that. Stay on the resort though!!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 30, 2009

Memorable Honeymoon

The resort was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, tons of activities available at no extra cost. The food and drinks were very good, they had just about anything you would want available. The trip from the airport is about an hour, but it is well worth it. We wouyld definately return to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Canaan, CT
Oct 29, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana - Adults Only All

Really loved the hotel and the service was first class all the way. The food was excellent and the choice of restaurants great. The only thing that was not as enjoyable as all the rest was the beach had a very rough current and undertow so it was hard to enjoy the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't exchange USD for the local currency because they take USD so the charge for exchanging currency was a useless expense.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boo and Boo
Business
Cleveland, USA
Oct 26, 2009

paradise in Punta Cana

quick check in and check out, friendly stuff, quick service, great disco,karaoke, michael jackson show, french restaurant wasnt bad, but food was not so good...pool was amazing, beach was beautifull, but red flag was all the time and bugs would bite us every time we went to the beach. Guys who worked at the pool were awsome!!! so is other workers. No hard feeling about spending a couple hundreds on tips :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nancy store was right there on the beach and the prices was much much cheapper then anywhere else! [...] and [...] are super nice and friendly people!!! If they are reading this, I want to say thank you for everything!!! My camera was broken and they let me use they camera for 5 days for free... Hmmm, go figure, nice people are still there:) Without their help I would not take 345 pictures..

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 25, 2009

Great Hotel, Friendly Staff

Every thing went well, hotel was clean, Staff very friendly, food is great, entertainment is good. I just didin't like whem some tourist smoke inside the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Oct 22, 2009

Great Hotel

The people at the bazaar pressure you to buy. there is a toothbrush but no toothpaste. there is a blood stain on one pillow, a hint of bed bug. there ants on the counters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Oct 22, 2009

Great Resort, But Come Prepared

Excellence Punta Cana is billed as one of the top resorts in the Dominican Republic, particularly in the Punta Cana area. It (mostly) lives up to its reputation, but has a few concerns of which you should be aware. The resort is situated about an hour from the Punta Cana airport (PUJ), and is the last in the string of Punta Cana resorts along twisting country roads. You must sign up with a ground transport company to reach the resort, meaning that they will make many stops along the way prior to Excellence. Also, motion-sick travelers take note - these roads are bumpy and ill-maintained. By taking these country roads you will see the 'real' Dominican Republic long before you reach the resort - for some, this will be interesting, and for others will be jarring and disconcerting. However, the drive is safe save the needed road work. Keep the distances in mind, though, should you want to partake in any day trips or tours. Excellence is located on the Atlantic side of the island so no brilliant crystal waters are to be found at this resort. In fact, there is an underwater cave outside the beach that creates a mean undertow. Many days only a small section of beach is recommended for swimming. However, the beach itself is pristine and perfectly maintained. No rocks or blowing sand to be found here, and the view is still lovely. Food is a mixed bag at Excellence. On the one hand some restaurants such as The Grill have good selection with top-quality meats and fish such as filet mignon and lobster. On the other, morning and lunch buffets can be a bit lacking. For those with weak stomachs or who have not traveled abroad extensively, the food may taste a bit 'off' when it comes to the average meat and fish offerings. However, I assume this is the case at almost all resorts in the area. Vegetarians can get by but may not be pleased with the selection. The folks running the show at Excellence seem to understand its remote location and less-than-perfect beach and have made up for these shortcomings in other ways. The pools are amazing, for example. A large main pool runs an interconnected course along the majority of the resort with a swim-up bar. Friendly staff are always around to deliver drinks and surprises can be found such as a waiter making an unannounced and un-asked-for pizza delivery for vacationers by the poolside. There are shows every night and lively events taking place daily which fosters a friendly, party-oriented atmosphere amongst vacationers. Room service and cleaning are top-notch. Expect 24/7, fast room service and cleaning crews to arrive at least twice a day to spruce up the room. In all, Excellence is mainly that - an excellent experience. Its great service, events and views more than overcome any slight bumps in paradise such as the remote location, imperfect beach and food offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Oct 18, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana Oct 2009

We plan an annual trip and this year we selected Punta Cana, Excellence Resort. What a mistake. Resort is over 1 hour from airport and road conditions were terrible - pot holes everywhere and the drivers swerve all over the road trying to avoid them, without regard to oncoming traffic. Resort is so far away that you really cannot leave the resort without paying a fortune in taxi fare! Resort has very limited air conditioning, which we found unacceptable with heat in the 90's and humidity levels at 100%. Rooms were hard to keep cool, few restaurants had a/c and theatre, casino, etc had no a/c and a very limited number of small ceiling fans. Restaurants had dress code for men of long pants - but no a/c in 90 weather! Bars were generous but limited on selections of beer - Presidente or Bud!! (We were able to scronge a few Coronas). Unless you requested top shelf or bottled sodas you got the poor man's rum and fountain soda which tasted horrible. Resort had limited activities and no activities for the Rainy day. Pretty much sat at restaurant, bar or in room! They did not open casino until 8pm and had no other indoor activities. (Oh, they did offer a deck of cards and a monopoly game!) Nice beach area but wait staff was hard to find. Seemed like the more we tipped the less service we recieved. Condition of room was another story in itself. Let me just say that we emptied our luggage in the driveway to make sure we didn't bring any Punta Cana bugs home! Would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North American living in Ecuador
Oct 14, 2009

Better than Hoped For

My husband and I had been dreaming of doing a get away to a beach resort for our 25th Anniversary for years! We didn't really have a honeymoon and had only stayed at a couple of different all-inclusives for a few days in the past. I did much research online and read countless reviews of other travelers before finally choosing the Excellence. Even though the pictures looked great and I'd read great things about it, I was still reserved in anticipation, not wanting to be disappointed if it wasn't as great as it looked online or sounded in reviews. I love detail and there were always beautiful details and little touches that made me feel like I was in a special place. Let me just say that when we arrived and entered the lobby, I was overwhelmed by its beauty, the service of the staff and the sheer elegance and class of the whole place. By the time we got to our room, I was in tears, knowing that we had picked just the right place to celebrate! We loved that it was adults only and mostly couples enjoying time together. We are so family friendly, but it really had a relaxing, dignified impact to not have children and teens around...everything is set up for adults and for couples. The beach is the most beautiful one I've seen and I've been on ocean beaches in California, Florida, Mexico, Ecuador, Costa Rica & San Andres/Colombia. The pool is designed beautifully. Although it is a big resort, it has a smaller feel, wherever you were on the resort, which we were looking for...smaller and more intimate. It was never crowded in the pool area or the beach. We wanted more quiet and privacy which we got on the end of the beach & pool where our room was. But when we wanted more of a party feel, that could be found on the end of the beach with the music, food, games and swimming or the area of the pool where more of this took place (close to the lobby). The disco was fun...it's far away from rooms and main lobby, which meant that those who want to sleep can! We loved the 70's/80's night! They have themed parties in there but you can go as you are. Loved the live piano at breakfast. Loved the choice of restaurants each night and not eating buffet every meal. There was an option to eat a la carte every meal if you wanted to! Or room service, although the room service menu was limited. The food was good and drinks were awesome. Enjoyed live sax/piano in the lobby lounge some evenings either before or after dinner. And we only waited one night to get seated in a restaurant...for 10 minutes. We went in October and it was HOT and HUMID...no need for anything but short sleeves. Wish they would turn up the air in the restaurants as they were borderline comfortable for us. We loved our room...an ocean view Excellence Suite...we could see the ocean from our bed and look out over the pool from the balcony. Loved the turn down service at night, although they did miss us a couple of nights. One thing...the DR is still a developing country and as elegant and beautiful and friendly and efficient as this place was...the power did go out intermittently most nights, the water in the in-room jaccuzi was very brown when we tried that, sometimes our room had a musty smell when we entered it...soon to be ignored or forgotten...and sometimes the staff are hard to understand because of their English pronunciation or lack of English, although that was not a problem for us personally as we speak spanish. That said, we'd go again in a heartbeat. It was the perfect spot for us and it exceeded our expectations in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are booking a romantic dinner for your Honeymoon or Anniversary with their complementary package, do it a few days in advance of the evening you want it (once there) to get the restaurant and time you want...there is limited availability, which we did not know.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
melbourne Florida
Oct 13, 2009

really nice for Anniversary

Breakfast and Lunch Buffet in Toscana rest. the best food. Buffett on the pool deck was great, but night dinning was not so great not many choices. The grill rest. not good for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top