Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
735 reviews
READ THIS REVEW don't pass this place up......

My husband and I went to the Excellence on our honeymoon October13-21 2014. I did sooooo much... See full review

  • xtine n todd
  • Oct 22, 2014
Best Vacation Ever!

From the moment we arrive and until we left we were pampered. The people and the Excellence were... See full review

  • saltcay01
  • Oct 12, 2014
Come see what it really means to get away from it all. At Excellence Punta Cana we surround you with luxury. We seclude you among palms on a perfect powdery -sand beach. We invite you to experience the natural friendliness of people who call the Caribbean home and to enjoy the ease of an all-adult resort. Here, everything is taken care of and nothing is left out. So you are free to create those moments you dream of and memories you'll have forever. At Excellence Punta Cana you are secluded but not isolated. Our all-adult, all suite world is situated on a beautiful beach in a palm grove on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, convenient to both Punta Cana International Airport and La Romana International Airport. Its architecture is in the classic colonial style, and two enormous pools wind through our grounds. We created The Excellence Club to provide an exclusive level of luxury and amenities at each of the Excellence Group Luxury Resorts. You are privately greeted and checked into your suite, which is adorned with welcoming flowers upon your arrival. Each morning, fresh fruit and newspapers are delivered to your suite. You can enjoy our private Excellence Club beach and lounge, complete with complimentary Internet access, buffet & bar service. At Excellence Punta Cana, dining is truly international, and you have a total of eight irresistible restaurant options. In addition to its evening fare, our Italian restaurant serves breakfast,lunch and a la carte Diner. For dinner, you may choose from our French, Mediterranean, Asian/Japanese & Mexican, as well as restaurants specializing in lobster steak and pizzeria. And best of all, reservations are never required. Ten different bars complete the experience. You can swim up to the pool bar or join fellow fans in the sports bar. Whatever your pleasure, there is a convivial watering hole for everyone. Or you can stay in and enjoy room service, which is available 24-hours a day. Our Spa is virtually a resort within a resort. It is tucked away in a beautiful colonial building facing the Dominican mountains. There, in a private relaxation garden surrounding a Zen fountain, you will discover a unique combination of hydrotherapy and indigenous treatments that allow you to create your own moments of wellness and renewal. You may choose from single and couple treatment cabins, or opt to enjoy your spa services outdoors, facing the sea. Our spa offers a complete array of personal pampering services, including expert skin care and hair styling. Separate facilities for men and women include authentic Swedish saunas, steam rooms and luxury locker rooms. Our spa also offers you an on-site gym and large whirlpool. Healthy refreshments are always close at hand. Visit the spa boutique for the finest skin-care products and other selections. Your stay at Excellence Punta Cana is peaceful but never boring. You can go scuba diving and deep-sea fishing or enjoy a friendly game of bocce, water polo, beach football, squash, tennis, archery or billiards. Or, wrap up a day of snorkeling and diving with a horseback ride along the beach. You can improve your fitness and personal wellness through classes in yoga, dancing or water aerobics, or go for a jog on our 607-meter track. All this is in addition to Excellence Punta Cana's fully equipped fitness and cardio-conditioning center. In between all these activities, you can even take Spanish or cooking classes. Above all, we want you to enjoy as much activity, or as little, as you wish.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (735)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
735 out of 735
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Experienced Luxury Traveller
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 14, 2009

Drinks were good...

If you go to this resort expecting 2 star quality you will be pleasantly surprised. If you expect a luxury resort with 4 or 5 star quality then you will be very disappointed. The food was not good. The rooms were not impressive (and we stayed in one of the largest and best locations on the resort), and the beach was average. We had bugs in our room, the shower hose broke, and there was the constant odor of sewage in the bathroom. The only positive thing I can be fair about is the quality of the drinks. For the money you can get better all around in every category staying at a different resort. My wife and i are very particular and like nice quality resorts. If you don't mind average quality then this resort will be for you. If you are expecting luxury I would pass on this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take enough cash with you before leaving. You will spend more if you need to take out Dominican Pesos and then change them back to US dollars.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Fani
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 13, 2009

excellente!

The place very private with an excellent all-inclusive program. The food was delicious. Staff was friendly and entertaining. Great place for couples. Bring plenty of One dollar bills to tip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to join hotel activities- Lots of nice prizes like Spa treatments!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shery
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent Stay!

We stayed in a junior swim up suite and it was fantastic. At first we were on the opposite side of the resort than the other couple we went with, and the pool was beautiful with a waterfall. we requested to move closer to our friends, and the resort was extremely accommodating. we moved to a room that was 20 feet or so away from the swim up bar, which was fantastic. the beach was beautiful and we found out one night that the resort has employees with weapons patrolling the beach at night for all of the guests' safety. the restaurants were fantastic, although some (mexican, french) were without air conditioning. the sushi at the asian restaurant was the best i've had. we took an atv tour through a small town and countryside outside of the resort and had a really great time. the tour guide showed us around and told us about how real dominicans live. we also took a day trip to do the canopy adventure, which is a series of ziplines through the mountains about an hour away from the resort. it was absolutely beautiful and the staff were very friendly and safety-conscious. all of the resort staff were cheerful and extremely helpful, especially the entertainment staff who all made sure everyone was having a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just down the beach from the resort is a sort of camp set up called nancy's walmart. do not buy cigars from there. they will give you a good cigar to try, and then sell you a box filled with rolled banana leaves. the best place we found to buy cigars is the rancho de differente gift shop outside of the resort. we stopped there on the way back from the atv tour and picked up a box of 25 along with some mama juana for $60 cheaper than on the resort.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 7, 2009

Amazing Resort, Best I've been to

We celebrated our fifth anniversary there, and it was a great week. We chose to stay on the resort the whole time, and we loved it. Some people we know went on the excursions (island trip, safari, etc) and said they were great too, but we just wanted to relax and enjoy the ocean and pool. The service was excellent, with every person eager to help. The only small downside was the older man working at the sports desk (where you get snorkel, etc.). He seemed really annoyed every time we came for a snorkel or boogie board, but other than that one person, everyone on staff were great. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are very nice. I've got only good things to say about the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet Carolyn
Business
NYC
Aug 31, 2009

Great Trip!!!

We have stayed at a bunch of all-inclusive resorts over the past 5 years or so. This one was definitely one of the best. Excellent staff that went the extra mile. It is obvious the staff is concerned about your stay as they are always trying to improve on things as we had multiple inquries on how our stay was going. In regards to resort entertainment, it was great. Food was very good for resort food with a very wide selection of fine dining. Beach was beautiful. Pool very nice and clean. No kids as it is adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 29, 2009

Dominican Experience

The entertainment staff and Bar staff was great. The pool(s) were well maintained had a good swim up bar and easy access to chairs, both shaded and in the sun. Beach access and chairs again both in the sun and shade were excellent. Food was upscale for dinner, but had to were long pants which in the dominican heat was an issue. They put out a great spread on Friday and a dominican spread on Tuesday night on the beach, but was a little disrupted by mosquitos. Nightly entertainment at 10PM was great most nights. Access to shopping was limited, but to the resorts left there was a local market with reasonable shops within walking distance along the beach. Beach access was rougher waters than some other resorts in the area. Excursions were long rides to get to. A great relaxing resort if you tend not to leave the resort. Not recomended if you do excursions or swim in the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To the left of the resort facing the beach are a set of shops that offer cheaper prices. They also offer a 70 minute massage for $45 vs the 50 minute massage at the resort for $70. Although the resort spa was beautiful.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Super Honeymoon

This was an amazing trip. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with friendly staff as well as a glass of champagne. Throughout our stay we encountered friendly staff and an overall great experience. The only negative thing we encoutered were ants in our room. We called the front desk and they sent someone right up. However we still had ant problems during our stay. Overall, I would def recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Aug 26, 2009

Amazing!!!

If you are looking for a place to relax, drink, and enjoy awesome food...it doesn't get better than this. I have been to many all-inclusive resorts and Excellence has been the BEST. The service exceeded my expectations, you truly feel like a king/queen. The only negative aspect of the hotel (I heard this complaint from several people), the mattresses are extremely hard and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the nightly entertainment shows! You'll have a great laugh...

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Aug 26, 2009

Absolute Heaven

There is not one negative thing to say about this resort. I would not listen to any negative comments whatsoever. Everything is exactly as advertised. The food is better than most restaurants here in the States. Don't waste your time or money staying anywhere else. Definitely check out the spa. The Excellence Club added a nice touch with super service as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be wary of the excursions....can get a little shady. Proved that there is no reason to leave the resort.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 25, 2009

Excellente!!

My husband and I went to the Excellence after a reccommendation from our daughter. This was the best vacation of our lives! The service was perfection with the friendliest staff imaginable. We were in an economy room with a garden view. It was magnificent! The restaurants were wonderful with service you might expect in a 4 star restaurant in New York! The activities were fun although we mostly relaxed and played tennis. The pools were beautiful, the beach was gorgeous. We couldn't imagine anything better. Every detail was considered. We would love to return to this paradise next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Breakfast buffet at Toscana was amazing! Chez Isabelle was the best dinner experience - try the tasting menu.

Back to menu Return to top