Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
1,231 reviews
Nice adult get away

It was very nice quite vacation . We had a good relaxing time. Clean pool and beach. Very friendly... See full review

  • Caring mom
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff,... See full review

  • The Bow
  • Jul 8, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1231)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
1231 out of 1231
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 19, 2010

Relaxing Visit

We got exactly what we wanted out of our vacation to the Excellence Punta Cana. The beach was beautiful and the pool was great too. We went on this trip wanting down time to relax. We did just that. The only activity we did was the 30 minute horseback riding, which was included. When you get there, there are several people trying to sell longer horseback riding packages and claim that the included 30-minute session is just instructive -- that's not the case. It was just what you would expect - a full 30 minutes of riding along the beach with a group of people. We weren't able to enjoy the ocean as much as we would have liked due to the strong under current and high waves, but that is typical for the Atlantic, so it is to be expected. Be sure to get your beach/pool towel early - they often run out and don't do a great job of keeping them available, but we rarely had a problem. They have great spots by the pool and ocean that provide shade, but these spots by the pool go quickly! Rafts/floats are also hard to come by at the pool. The food was mediocre. For me, it was the worst part of the trip (which still wasn't that bad). Some of the food we had was great and some of it just wasn't very good... almost nothing was really bad though. No reservations at the restaurants turned out great -- never really had to wait more than 5 minutes. Taking a cab to the resort from the airport and back was a breeze -- I would definitely recommend it ($70 posted rate)! The trip is about 45 minutes and you won't have to stop at every resort on the way (the Excellence is one of the furthest from the airport). Be prepared for the guys at the airport trying to carry your bags though. You really don't need it, as they will just be rolling them for you for a few yards. This was only the second visit we have made to an all-inclusive resort, the first being a Sandals, where they DO NOT accept gratuity at all. That was definitely not the case at the Excellence. I don't think you are expected to tip how you would if it were not "included" but they definitely expect & appreciate tips. The service was great all around and the room was beautiful and clean. Be sure to pack plenty of sunscreen (it's very expensive in the gift shop) and bug spray also. Most of the staff members speak enough English to perform their duties, but are not conversational. The front desk and concierge, however, were both very helpful and all staff members spoke plenty of English so you could communicate as needed. So, you may wish to brush up on your Spanish, but a real ability beyond the basics wasn't necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daun/Dick
Naples, Fl
Jul 13, 2010

Had a great time

The experience at the hotel was excellent, we purchased the club extra and had a garden veiw, excellent room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Some the best dining service we have ever had any where was in the Excellence's French Restraurant. Live in Naples Fl and the beach at the resort beats ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daun/Dick
Naples, Fl
Jul 13, 2010

Had a great time

The experience at the hotel was excellent, we purchased the club extra and had a garden veiw, excellent room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Some the best dining service we have ever had any where was in the Excellence's French Restraurant. Live in Naples Fl and the beach at the resort beats ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 12, 2010

Excellence is EXCELLENT!

Excellence was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. Service was unbelievable- anything we asked for was available; nothing was overlooked. Plenty of daily events & water sports, tons of beach & poolside lounge chairs, food & drinks galore, a casino, nightly shows, horseback riding on the beach...I can't name them all. We plan to go back & would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
[@] Employee
Middletown, DE
Jul 12, 2010

Everything a couple could want!

This location has everything! Horseback riding, a huge pool with many games, a sports bar, tennis, archery, shows every night, many places to eat, a casino, bars everywhere and much more. We only had a few minor issues: the AC in the room and restaraunts do not get cold, but the ceiling fans help a lot and men must wear full length pants to dinner and the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

They have jewelry vendors that come in with locally made jewelry. They ask for a lot, but they are easily talked down. They wanted $200 for a necklace, earings and a bracelet; after offering them $20, they ended up coming down to $30!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JL
Northern NJ
Jul 12, 2010

If only the [*] would stay home!

Staff was great, some [*] guests were less than flattering with their manners.Airport transfers were horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 12, 2010

Excellence is EXCELLENT!

Excellence was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. Service was unbelievable- anything we asked for was available; nothing was overlooked. Plenty of daily events & water sports, tons of beach & poolside lounge chairs, food & drinks galore, a casino, nightly shows, horseback riding on the beach...I can't name them all. We plan to go back & would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
[@] Employee
Middletown, DE
Jul 12, 2010

Everything a couple could want!

This location has everything! Horseback riding, a huge pool with many games, a sports bar, tennis, archery, shows every night, many places to eat, a casino, bars everywhere and much more. We only had a few minor issues: the AC in the room and restaraunts do not get cold, but the ceiling fans help a lot and men must wear full length pants to dinner and the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

They have jewelry vendors that come in with locally made jewelry. They ask for a lot, but they are easily talked down. They wanted $200 for a necklace, earings and a bracelet; after offering them $20, they ended up coming down to $30!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saxxman99
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 11, 2010

Our Honeymoon

This was our honeymoon. Room was nice, great service from the staff. We had a fridge/bar, fully stocked each day with top shelf beer/juice/alcohol. Air conditioning, can't say it enough, was weak at best. This was really the only knock on the resort, but it's big. The Carribean in June is hot and humid, when we go to a resturaunt or back to our room we want to be comfortable, this was not the case. Loved the resort as a whole, great for couples! Above average food for an all-inclusive. Also for the men, the restuarants do require long-pants, no exceptions which is nice, but c'mon crank up the air if you make me wear long pants. Asian restaurant had best air, and very good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Excellence Club - unless you need to work on your computer it's really not worth it. Prime season maybe you'll get extra service, but service is very good and there is no need in our opinion to join this, waste of money.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saxxman99
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 11, 2010

Our Honeymoon

This was our honeymoon. Room was nice, great service from the staff. We had a fridge/bar, fully stocked each day with top shelf beer/juice/alcohol. Air conditioning, can't say it enough, was weak at best. This was really the only knock on the resort, but it's big. The Carribean in June is hot and humid, when we go to a resturaunt or back to our room we want to be comfortable, this was not the case. Loved the resort as a whole, great for couples! Above average food for an all-inclusive. Also for the men, the restuarants do require long-pants, no exceptions which is nice, but c'mon crank up the air if you make me wear long pants. Asian restaurant had best air, and very good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Excellence Club - unless you need to work on your computer it's really not worth it. Prime season maybe you'll get extra service, but service is very good and there is no need in our opinion to join this, waste of money.

Back to menu Return to top