Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
52 reviews
Honeymoon

We had a wonderful stay at the Excellence, the staff was very accommodating and the food was... See full review

  • Kimberly C.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Awesome place I'll go back

Love this place. The staff makes you feel at home. They are there for you without being... See full review

  • Daniela
  • Jul 25, 2015

The Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults-Only All-Inclusive Resort in Punta Cana is one of the Dominican Republic's most comfortable tropical getaways. Guests are able to create a personalized visit as they enjoy the lapping ocean waves and the soothing beats of merengue that softly bathe the hotel. Eight romantic restaurants await the visitors, each with its own unique culinary specialties and ethnic styles. The resort also features a wide variety of leisure and light-adventure activities that are sure to ease visitors into a mindset of rest and relaxation under the warm Dominican sun.

Highlights

Visitors to the Excellence Punta Cana can line themselves across a 30-mile stretch of palm-lined coast or engage in the resort's numerous sports and adventure activities. Those looking to relax can try out yoga or Pilates, or they get in a good workout at the resort's state-of-the-art fitness center. Other light activities include water aerobics and aqua fitness, squash, bocce, basketball, beach volleyball and football. Guests also have their choice of Spanish dancing or cooking lessons or a 30-minute guided horseback riding session per visitor, per stay. For an extra fee, guests can visit the world-class Miilé Spa & beauty salon, go on helicopter rides to view a rich panorama of Punta Cana, go horseback riding or watch for humpback whales.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All inclusive junkies
Couples
Winston-Salem, NC
Apr 29, 2012

Excellent!

We had stayed at the Excellence in Playa Mujeres and enjoyed our experience there so we gave the Excellence in Punta Cana a try. We were also highly impressed with our stay at the Excellence in Punta Cana. Not as updated as the resort in Playa Mujeres but still nice and had more amenities available on the grounds than in Playa Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimberly C.
Couples
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Honeymoon

We had a wonderful stay at the Excellence, the staff was very accommodating and the food was excellent. The only thing that can be better is to have more entertainment. It seemed after the 9:30 show that everything kind of died down except for the one night when there was dancing to the band outside, that was awesome!! Over all I loved my experience and would definetly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniela
Single
N/A
Jul 25, 2015

Awesome place I'll go back

Love this place. The staff makes you feel at home. They are there for you without being overbearing. The beach is second to none- amazing. The pool amazing. Rooms, everything. Just love it. This was my second time in 5 years here and it did not disappoint. If anything, it was even better which I didn't think was possible. If you are looking to party off of the resort this is not very conveniently located, so maybe it's not for you. But if u want to feel safe, surrounded by beauty, and in a tropical paradise that feels like your own. Go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heather A.
Couples
Cleveland
Jul 20, 2015

Everything we could want

We were in the garden view first floor room. There are no bad rooms. Food was fantastic. Pools are gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan B.
Couples
New York
Jul 8, 2015

Great Relaxing Stay

From arrival to departure an all around winner! Staff at checkin out, waiters, bartenders, chefs, activity guides and maids were all friendly and eager to please. The beach is beautiful. The food is delicious and there is plenty to do. My Wife and I had a wonderful trip, our 2nd!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KM
Friends
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Awesome girls vacation

This hotel is adults only and it was nice not having kids roaming around. There were great choices of restaurant and located right on the beach. The only downfall is that the pool & pool bars close at 6pm!! I am not sure why this is and thought was unnecessary. Other than that, it was such a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyler S.
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Simply the Best

We travel 2-3 times a year to beach destinations. We've been to Cabo, Cancun, Aruba, Curacao, Miami, the Keys, the Bahamas, Maui, Kauai and now the DR. The Dominican Republic was my favorite (and Kauai a close second). It may be solely because of our experience at Excellence. It is the best resort we've every stayed at. The grounds are beautiful and the staff really goes above and beyond. We loved hanging out at the pool during the day...it's huge and the floating mats are perfect to soak up the sun and enjoy some cold drinks. Don't feel like you have to wake up early to grab a chair...there are plenty of them. The beach is amazing too. There is a palm tree forest that frames both the left and right side of the long stretch of private beach that the resort is on. It's amazing. Stay at the Excellence resort...you will not be disappointed. I don't care if your a 4 seasons traveler or a first timer, this place will impress you with the service, the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food and drinks, the entertainment during the day and shows at night and the overall quality and beach/caribbean upscale feel of the resort design and rooms. We are in our early thirties and stayed in a 2nd floor standard room near the smaller pool. It was building 1 and the perfect spot. Close to restaurants and entertainment. A pool right outside our building to look at when relaxing at the room or to take a quick dip anytime the mood strikes you. To be honest, I don't think there would be a bad room or location. If you spring for the president's club, get a swim up room. They have big patios with beds, a table and chairs and a hammock. Fun to lounge by the pool and by your room. It makes it easy to order room service while still enjoying the pool and if you need something, it's right there in the room. We had some friends that had a president's club room so we would hang out on the patio a lot. It's not a make or break by any means though. If I were to go back, and we will, I would definitely stay in a standard room and save the money, but I'm a little thrifty. ) The food is good, not great...but good. If you love fresh fish, I would say the food is very good. They resort has 8 or 9 restaurants for dinner and all have different themes. The best part is every restaurant actually tastes different...you wouldn't know you are at the same resort. And my favorite part, the food preparation is worthy of any state side restaurant. All four of us are from the US and none of us felt sick or nauseous for even a minute. I would highly recommend Excellence. Go and have fun. If you want to go off the resort, take a taxi. Some of the local cities like Higuey are crazy. It's like driving in NYC or PHI with no traffic laws or light and instead of cars, everyone is on a motorcycle. There are no rules and if you are driving, it can be a little nuts. We did it and made it to Bayahibe in about 80 minutes, with a couple stops for directions which was hard to do, so it can be done...but don't take the added stress or risk. In terms of the staff at Excellence, there are some allstars that deserve a shout out. Carlos - aka - Toma Jay is the man. He was our server on the first night at Barcelona and from that night on, we must have seen him a dozen times around the resort. He always stopped whatever he was doing and came right over to us to say what's up and really make us feel like we were friends. Good luck Toma Jay on your hip hop career. All the best my friend. Also, Hendrux was incredible. He was in charge of stocking our friends room at the presidents club. He was very charismatic and made us feel like we were special. He hooked us up with bottles of Grey Goose and was always fun to be around. Wander boy at the Grill, and Robert and Omar at the bar are great too. Again, stay at Excellence. It's worth it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph R.
Couples
N/A
Mar 22, 2015

Best Trip Ever

The experience my wife and I had was fantastic, the scenery was amazing everything was so green. The employees that worked there are very respectful. They attend to every need. We went zip-lining, talk about an awesome adventure. We got to go up to the mountains and zip-line there. We all did a side by side excursion. It included taking a trail on doom buggie to the natural spring. Than take a boat ride with beverages included and lunch on the beach and snorkeling. I would recommend this to anyone. Well worth the money and the experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse VDB
Couples
Newton
Feb 9, 2015

Great getaway

Hotel was great, staff not overly friendly. Food was awesome...lots of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron C.
Couples
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Punta Cana Excellence

The trip was a very good one. Drinks were plentiful, staff was courteous, food was wonderful, rooms were nice enough with a wonderful view, mattresses were very hard, bring plenty of sunscreen, security kept an eye on us when we left the hotel, always felt very safe, sales staff for excursions could be a little pushy at times but tell them you don't want to do it and they will leave you alone. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the Dominican Republic. Also If you want calm seas, book on the Caribbean side of the Island. The waves on the Atlantic side could get a little rough at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie M.
Couples
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Wonderful honeymoon spot

The hotel, atmosphere, and area were absolutely beautiful!! Enjoyed our honeymoon very much and couldn't have asked for better weather and service. The spa was super relaxing and a definite must if you're planning to visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. I gave 4 stars for room comfort because although the bed was wonderfully spacious it was also a bit lumpy and too firm. However, if you ask the concierge they will provide you with a mattress topper. We didn't find this out until the end of our trip. Otherwise, our honeymoon was like a dream.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

At the Agave restaurant ask for Dolores to be your waitress. She will take excellent care of you!!

Back to menu Return to top