Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthia Newlywed
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Our Amazing Honeymoon!

This was our first time in the Dominican Republic and we had an amazing time. We arrived at the hotel at 3 in the afternoon. I was amazed by the tropical reception area. We were greeted with tropical drinks upon checking in. The lady checking us in was very nice ans courteous. The hotel looked amazing and I was impressed that they had security surrounding the entire hotel at all times. Staff took very good care of us by informing us on what to do and what not to do for our safety. Overall, I would definitely come back to this hotel. It was very relaxing and beautiful. Definitely got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are an adventurous person you have to check out the zipline tour. It was tons of fun!

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eduardmary
Business
Las Vegas,NV
Nov 13, 2012

everything was wanderfull execpt the representative

Everything was wanderfull execpt the representative who takes care of guests,we couldn't confirm our flight back home and the tranfer to the airport because he didn't provide any information and he didn't show up either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bijidem
Business
Hackensack, NJ
Oct 23, 2012

Destination Wedding

I had my wedding at Barcelo Dominican Beach and the experience was WOW... Wedding Coordinator was exellent, the location of the hotel is located in a great place by the beach. The pools are great, the people from the spa are very nice. The only bad thing about the hotel was the lock of communication with service, reception desk and ground transportation service. In the reception area there is 4 people at front but only one person doing everything... But we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
country girl on the go
Business
marion, nc
Oct 7, 2012

it's ok

the hotel was ok. Very clean, but they came by at supper time spraying bug spray and fogged up everything. The food was not very good and i,m not a picky eater but we didnt starve. The check in was fine but the front desk wanted to charge just to make a local call for us. It did not seem that there was any communication between our rep there. Overall the trip was good.right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right on the beach to go to the flea market they call walmart. We got a lot of great deals. Don't ever pay the price they ask. We got some great paintings, larimar jewelry, mahogany wood peices and a bull horn ship that we love. The sellers are very pushy but are willing to negoiate and most are nice one you get them talking.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gran Pingu
Business
Florida City
Sep 11, 2012

Not What I Expected !

My family a group of 23 stayed at this so called "resort". On the first night my parents door card reader did not work. After a few times of calling the front desk they finally sent some one to fix it. The next day it was not working again. Our freinds shower did not work so a plumber had to fix it. Also 2 weeks before the trip he had surgery to replace his defebrillator, we requested a room on the first floor so they gave him the third floor.Mind you that there is no elevator. They kept saying they were going to move him but it never happened. In fact a security guard had to help him up the stairs one night because of short breath. My aunts room air conditioner broke on our third day there so she had to pack her stuff and change rooms. On the website it states that wifi is included well that was bull. The cost was 3 dollars for every 15 minutes. I do not recommened any one to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mallory princess royal
Business
New York, NYC
Sep 10, 2012

Horrible getaway

The first day was OK. The next day the air condition was not working. I asked that I wanted my room changed OK. The new room the TV was not working and I didn't have a phone.Two days later they came to fix the TV and connect the phone. The Italian restaurant didn't know what were mozzarella stick. The grounds are will maintain. The buffet was good. The Brazilian restaurant the chicken was good but the beef was horrible. The beds were hard as a rock. The activities were good.This was the third time going to DR. The other two times were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask questions all the time.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miguel camarena
Business
miami, florida
Aug 24, 2012

great

from the driver, down to the house keeper. Everyone adress my conserns and adjusted the room staues of the room.,ex., the room had a ordor of smoke .The supervisor and the maid on a daily bases. Great job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

had shop within walkind distances.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy traveler1
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 31, 2012

Terrible Dump

This hotel is not worth your money. The rooms were plain, nothing fancy but it was fine. However we did not have hot water and the bathroom door would not shut without being slammed. Our slider door also did not lock. Upon returning from an all-day excursion, we found that there were no towels left in the room. We called and had to wait over 30 minutes for them to be delivered. The food was absolutely HORRIBLE. The buffets were constantly covered in flies. For breakfast, they barely served any breakfast foods. Instead it was salads, chicken, pasta, etc. Lunch was decent but pizza ran out quickly and burgers did not look appetizing. If you want to snack it is almost impossible as nothing stays open. The store sells some snacks, but it is very expensive. You have to make a reservation for the restaurants but they fill up too quickly. The Japanese place was amazing but impossible to reserve, you have to wait until 9:30p and hope you can eat. All of the other places have very limited menus and do not allow substitutions of any kind. The beach was okay. It gets really crowded and hard to get a chair. The chairs are old and the newer ones do not recline. You cannot lay on your stomach since none of them go all the way back. The beach is also covered in seaweed and the water is not clear at all. When you check in they give you a towel card which you bring to the ONE place to get a towel which is at the far end of the beach. They almost never have towels there and you can't get a new one between 9a-12p each day. We were left with soaked smelly towels and had to buy one in the shop for $20. The pool was decent, but packed. There is also no shade anywhere. The staff were okay, some very helpful people, especially at reception. The guest services were of no use and could not help. The entertainment was pretty good, if a little repetitive. There is also not much to do at night time. Overall you can find a MUCH better hotel than this. It is also a huge destination for European and Russian travelers so there were not a lot of fellow American travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Worst Was the Food
Business
New York, New York
Jul 23, 2012

Barcelo Dominican Beach Experience

I was very disappointed with my experience at the Barcelona Dominican Beach stay. I used to stay at Barcelo Playa Langosta in Costa Rica when I was younger with my family and remembered a very pleasant, clean, and fun environment. This lead me to suggest it to 7 of my colleagues and we took a 4 day quick trip to Punta Cana. As soon as we got there the problems started. The check in was unnecessarily complicated and difficult. Once we got to the room, the bathroom door would not close, the AC unit leaked water on you which was directly on top of the toilette which meant you couldn't use the toilette without getting a healthy dose of chemical water dripping on you. The comforters seemed to have been there since the 80s and the towels where all stained and not replaced regularly. Forget about getting towels for the beach, those were impossible to get. Service was inconsistent, some employees were very friendly, happy, and enjoyable, but on that same not, some were very rude, unprofessional, and told some of my colleagues they should speak Spanish because we were in Dominican Republic. But the worst thing I must say was the food. Uneatable! Very unfortunate to have to say all these negative comments on a hotel chain I believed to be of quality but will never recommend or stay in again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet N Sassy
Business
Denver, Co
Jul 21, 2012

back again

I stayed here last year . It was my Mother's day get a way with my son. I was so impressed I planned a family summer vacation. This time I was upgraded from a jr. suite to a deluxe suite. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top