Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gran Pingu
Business
Florida City
Sep 11, 2012

Not What I Expected !

My family a group of 23 stayed at this so called "resort". On the first night my parents door card reader did not work. After a few times of calling the front desk they finally sent some one to fix it. The next day it was not working again. Our freinds shower did not work so a plumber had to fix it. Also 2 weeks before the trip he had surgery to replace his defebrillator, we requested a room on the first floor so they gave him the third floor.Mind you that there is no elevator. They kept saying they were going to move him but it never happened. In fact a security guard had to help him up the stairs one night because of short breath. My aunts room air conditioner broke on our third day there so she had to pack her stuff and change rooms. On the website it states that wifi is included well that was bull. The cost was 3 dollars for every 15 minutes. I do not recommened any one to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mallory princess royal
Business
New York, NYC
Sep 10, 2012

Horrible getaway

The first day was OK. The next day the air condition was not working. I asked that I wanted my room changed OK. The new room the TV was not working and I didn't have a phone.Two days later they came to fix the TV and connect the phone. The Italian restaurant didn't know what were mozzarella stick. The grounds are will maintain. The buffet was good. The Brazilian restaurant the chicken was good but the beef was horrible. The beds were hard as a rock. The activities were good.This was the third time going to DR. The other two times were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask questions all the time.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miguel camarena
Business
miami, florida
Aug 24, 2012

great

from the driver, down to the house keeper. Everyone adress my conserns and adjusted the room staues of the room.,ex., the room had a ordor of smoke .The supervisor and the maid on a daily bases. Great job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

had shop within walkind distances.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy traveler1
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 31, 2012

Terrible Dump

This hotel is not worth your money. The rooms were plain, nothing fancy but it was fine. However we did not have hot water and the bathroom door would not shut without being slammed. Our slider door also did not lock. Upon returning from an all-day excursion, we found that there were no towels left in the room. We called and had to wait over 30 minutes for them to be delivered. The food was absolutely HORRIBLE. The buffets were constantly covered in flies. For breakfast, they barely served any breakfast foods. Instead it was salads, chicken, pasta, etc. Lunch was decent but pizza ran out quickly and burgers did not look appetizing. If you want to snack it is almost impossible as nothing stays open. The store sells some snacks, but it is very expensive. You have to make a reservation for the restaurants but they fill up too quickly. The Japanese place was amazing but impossible to reserve, you have to wait until 9:30p and hope you can eat. All of the other places have very limited menus and do not allow substitutions of any kind. The beach was okay. It gets really crowded and hard to get a chair. The chairs are old and the newer ones do not recline. You cannot lay on your stomach since none of them go all the way back. The beach is also covered in seaweed and the water is not clear at all. When you check in they give you a towel card which you bring to the ONE place to get a towel which is at the far end of the beach. They almost never have towels there and you can't get a new one between 9a-12p each day. We were left with soaked smelly towels and had to buy one in the shop for $20. The pool was decent, but packed. There is also no shade anywhere. The staff were okay, some very helpful people, especially at reception. The guest services were of no use and could not help. The entertainment was pretty good, if a little repetitive. There is also not much to do at night time. Overall you can find a MUCH better hotel than this. It is also a huge destination for European and Russian travelers so there were not a lot of fellow American travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Worst Was the Food
Business
New York, New York
Jul 23, 2012

Barcelo Dominican Beach Experience

I was very disappointed with my experience at the Barcelona Dominican Beach stay. I used to stay at Barcelo Playa Langosta in Costa Rica when I was younger with my family and remembered a very pleasant, clean, and fun environment. This lead me to suggest it to 7 of my colleagues and we took a 4 day quick trip to Punta Cana. As soon as we got there the problems started. The check in was unnecessarily complicated and difficult. Once we got to the room, the bathroom door would not close, the AC unit leaked water on you which was directly on top of the toilette which meant you couldn't use the toilette without getting a healthy dose of chemical water dripping on you. The comforters seemed to have been there since the 80s and the towels where all stained and not replaced regularly. Forget about getting towels for the beach, those were impossible to get. Service was inconsistent, some employees were very friendly, happy, and enjoyable, but on that same not, some were very rude, unprofessional, and told some of my colleagues they should speak Spanish because we were in Dominican Republic. But the worst thing I must say was the food. Uneatable! Very unfortunate to have to say all these negative comments on a hotel chain I believed to be of quality but will never recommend or stay in again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet N Sassy
Business
Denver, Co
Jul 21, 2012

back again

I stayed here last year . It was my Mother's day get a way with my son. I was so impressed I planned a family summer vacation. This time I was upgraded from a jr. suite to a deluxe suite. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 19, 2012

poor

staff are not friendly at all. food is horrible with a lot of flies and bees all over food. variety of food is terrible mostly hamburger and hot dog, chicken were bloody. The beach is very dirty. we have been in different resorts and this one is the worst of the worst. They claim the resort is all inclusive but they ask you to pay for a lot of things. the room's refrigerator have only one soda and one water, beer are not allowed.VIP transportation are not reliable. Never again, Horrible vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stevie boy
Business
massachusetts
Jul 15, 2012

dominican beach vacation

not very customer friendly at the front desk i think that barcelo properties are geared for spanish speaking only --no matter how much you tipped -not helpful resort property very nice except for fitness center --very rundown -need rehab property layout very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandonkim
Business
charlotte nc
Jul 12, 2012

Honeymoon

My finance and I went on our honeymoon here and loved it! We booked a junior suite room and it was great. The bed was comfortable, there was a jacuzzi, and a mini bar that was stocked everyday. There were 3 pools that were all good in size. The pool with the swim up bar was the biggest. You should bring a few dollars to give out in tips every day it will make your stay alot better. The staff was great, but you need to give them tips. Food was good but different from what we are used to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dont want to 75
Business
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jul 6, 2012

People Steal

Please watch your stuff at this hotel especially if where namebrand clothes. Me and my wife decided that this vacation would be a nice get away. Boy we were wrong. While me and my wife were sleeping for the night. Two guys were trying to break into our room. They thought we were out getting drunk at the bar but that was not the case. Someone in the hotel gave the thugz a copy of my hotel card. When I heard the commotion I thought it was the maid but it was the thugz. They ran off the back part of the resort of course onto the beach. I immediately reported to the front desk and they did nothing. Security never came by and checked on us. So please do not stay here because people steal. They were after my tennis shoes and jewlery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top