Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northern Minnesota
Business
Minnesota
Apr 14, 2014

Couples Vacation

Staff were warm and friendly. Room was nice. Food choices were good, tried all the different resturaunts. Will go again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping at hotel price matched other places

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jrc0105
Business
Boston
Mar 24, 2014

NOT SAFE, DON'T GO

This resort is not safe, especially for females. The so-called "security" have no limits. I was only there for two nights and two people on my trip were assaulted by these "security" workers. Worst of all the resort feels they have no responsibility for this even though they are paying these people to work there. DO NOT GO. There are much nicer, safer resorts to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indiantiffy
Business
new York
Jan 14, 2014

perfect little getaway for couples

I had a good time learning a different language and the culture of a the natives. I would definitely do it again. The all inclusive bar was my favorite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations to the dine in restaurant's they were nice between the hours of 7-3pm

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marwanaz
Business
Punta Cana
Dec 24, 2013

Amazing

The best trip and vecation intel now, but the Dj is okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

A lot of dancing and activity

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisalfa
Business
Guatemala, Guatemala
Dec 24, 2013

Very good value for the price!

This hotel was very affordable. For what you pay, you get a lot of value! I recommend it if you´re not too demanding. Food is ok, entertainment is ok, staff is very friendly. I´d definitely go back. The beach was great, and the pools were very clean all the time. Rooms are a bit outdated. While beds are comfortable, the furniture looks quite old. I don´t mind this very much as what I like is to be out at the beach or at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cchrispin
Business
Randolph, MA
Oct 26, 2013

This is the WORSE HOTEL EVER!!!!!!!

I wanted to give myself a birthday present, so I decided to go to Punta Cana, DR. I read about Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel, and it seemed like a good hotel, for a good price ($289). I stayed there from June 26-30 of this year. During my stay, I was disappointed, but the worse is yet to come. Here it goes: 1. All the receptionists knew little to no English. The hotel website stated that the workers knew English, but when I went there, I had to do sign language for them to understand me. How is this tourist hotel, when no one understood English??? 2. My room was dirty. I opened up my curtains, and I turned around, and the white curtain that’s inside main curtain had a lot of medium size brown spots. GROSS 3. There room service was bad. From my room, I would call the front desk for different things like towels, and stuff. Like I said before in (#1) they couldn’t understand English. It was so terrible, that I had to leave my room, and go to the front desk myself and tell them what I need. Once they understood what I requested, they would tell me someone will come to my room in a few minutes. On 3 different occasions, they had me wait over an hr for an extra towel. Last, but not least…… 4. THEY ARE THIEVES!!!!!!!!!!! YES, THIEVES!!!!!!!! The date of check out, I still had a lot of money in my pocket, so I thought it would be a great idea to pay for everything in cash, so I wouldn’t have to see it on my credit card. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!! During my trip, I went on 3 Excursions: Manati Park, Santo Domingo, and Isla Saona and Altos de Chavón. I was given a receipt for each place (thank God I asked/kept for the receipt). On each receipt, it showed the total amount in US dollars. When I was checking out, I told the lady, I wanted to pay everything in cash. She agreed, and told me the WHOLE TOTAL (my room stay & excursions) was $300. I was like, “Are you sure??? It shouldn’t be that less.” As a reminder, they’re English was TERRIBLE. So I gave her $300 in US dollars, then I left, to take the shuttle bus, heading towards the airport. I looked at the receipt, and it didn’t add up, so I calculated the math, and she was TOTALLY WRONG!!!!!! I stopped the driver, and I had him drive me back to the hotel. I went back to the desk, and I explained to the lady that she was wrong. Once that was settled, she gave me back the extra money I gave her. By then, I knew she was up to something. Then I explained to her that I still needed to pay off my hotel. She was asking another lady for help. The lady asked me, “How much do I owe?” I don’t know why she was asking me, because I should have been in there system and the information should have been there. I told the lady $289. I gave that amount in US dollars. She gave me a receipt of the transaction, and had me sign. The receipt was in Spanish. I ask for an English version, and they said they don’t have that system. I looked at receipt and it seemed a little shady to me, so I asked the lady, “Does this mean everything is paid off.” She said, “Yes.” After couple weeks, I got a bill stating that I need to pay for the hotel. I called my credit card company and deputed the charges. I told them that I paid in cash, and the hotel shouldn’t have charge me. I faxed my receipt to my credit card company. After translating the receipt, the ACTUAL wording said it was a billing to my room, not a payment. And it also stated that they didn’t receive any type of cash payment. I signed the receipt under false pretense, and without a paper trail of my cash payment, there was nothing I can do. Inclusion, those 2 ladies at the front desk STOLE MY MONEY, and now I’m stuck paying the bill AGAIN!!!!!! I hope this hotel gets SHUT DOWN and ARREST THE THIEVES!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jamie G
Business
New york city
Jun 17, 2013

worst service ever

unfortunately staying at this resort ruined my vacation. the service was terrible. i left very unhappy. and never thought that my first time in punta cana would be like this. when i arrived i was told not all drinks where included so i purchased a gold bracelet for 30 dollars the recptionist said all bars will have both national and international drinks available. later i learned this was not true. only three locations had all drinks available. i also paid and extra 20 dollars for wifi service i was told this service would be available in all parts of the hotel and this was also false. only available in the lobby and internet cafe. the receptionist did not give us any guidance on where to find the map of the hotel what was included in our package where to dine where to make a reservation for certain restaurants ect. when i arrived at the room we did not have any towels and the cable was not working. the first night our bathtub was clogged. i called to get this fixed and help arrived 4 hours later. i would suggest doing your research before staying in this resort. good things where the hotel shows and the food options also the hotel is very nice. the service however was terrible. it seems they have many employees that have never worked in the industry before or were very poorly trained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatKurt
Business
San Pedro de Macoris
Jun 8, 2013

Fun in the Sun

We had a great time relaxing & getting our fill of sun last week at Barcelo. The staff was fun & entertaining, helpful & knowledgeable. The only thing that would have been better is the dinner reservations & the snack food options. The resort has over 5 restaurants to chose from, but you can only make reservations the night before. So, we missed out on 2 nights of delicious food & had to eat at the buffet because everything was already booked when we arrived. Also, the snack bar offered yummy hamburgers & fries, but nothing else. It would have been nice if they had some other snack items like fried plantains & chips & salsa. By the end of our trip, I got tired of snacking on only hamburgers & fries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jasmine14
Business
Boston
Apr 21, 2013

Alright Visit

The staff was friendly the food wasn't great and the hotel is alright. If you aren't looking for much luxury in your hotel room and need a place to rest your head if you've already been to Dominican Republic than this is the hotel for you I traveled with my fiance and we've stayed at nicer Dominican Republic Hotels that aren't even in Punta Cana the main DR hub for hotels all in all Not Bad but Not Amazing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Celangel84
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2013

They promise I will the something I never got

I did my reservation thru this website for 04/10/2013 - 04/15/2013 and i was suppose to get a free bottler of champagne and discount for the span and more but we didn't got nothing when i ask the hotel they told me that they don't know what we talking about. Im going again in 2 months but I think Im not doing it thru cheap-tickets. I hotel was good, the show it was nice but one night they where dancing on the pool the first night i got there and when they were done the girls of the show almost push us out of the chair because they need to close the chair, they wanted to go home, didn't like that. Love the Japanese restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese restaurant

Back to menu Return to top