Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jamie G
Business
New york city
Jun 17, 2013

worst service ever

unfortunately staying at this resort ruined my vacation. the service was terrible. i left very unhappy. and never thought that my first time in punta cana would be like this. when i arrived i was told not all drinks where included so i purchased a gold bracelet for 30 dollars the recptionist said all bars will have both national and international drinks available. later i learned this was not true. only three locations had all drinks available. i also paid and extra 20 dollars for wifi service i was told this service would be available in all parts of the hotel and this was also false. only available in the lobby and internet cafe. the receptionist did not give us any guidance on where to find the map of the hotel what was included in our package where to dine where to make a reservation for certain restaurants ect. when i arrived at the room we did not have any towels and the cable was not working. the first night our bathtub was clogged. i called to get this fixed and help arrived 4 hours later. i would suggest doing your research before staying in this resort. good things where the hotel shows and the food options also the hotel is very nice. the service however was terrible. it seems they have many employees that have never worked in the industry before or were very poorly trained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatKurt
Business
San Pedro de Macoris
Jun 8, 2013

Fun in the Sun

We had a great time relaxing & getting our fill of sun last week at Barcelo. The staff was fun & entertaining, helpful & knowledgeable. The only thing that would have been better is the dinner reservations & the snack food options. The resort has over 5 restaurants to chose from, but you can only make reservations the night before. So, we missed out on 2 nights of delicious food & had to eat at the buffet because everything was already booked when we arrived. Also, the snack bar offered yummy hamburgers & fries, but nothing else. It would have been nice if they had some other snack items like fried plantains & chips & salsa. By the end of our trip, I got tired of snacking on only hamburgers & fries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jasmine14
Business
Boston
Apr 21, 2013

Alright Visit

The staff was friendly the food wasn't great and the hotel is alright. If you aren't looking for much luxury in your hotel room and need a place to rest your head if you've already been to Dominican Republic than this is the hotel for you I traveled with my fiance and we've stayed at nicer Dominican Republic Hotels that aren't even in Punta Cana the main DR hub for hotels all in all Not Bad but Not Amazing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Celangel84
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2013

They promise I will the something I never got

I did my reservation thru this website for 04/10/2013 - 04/15/2013 and i was suppose to get a free bottler of champagne and discount for the span and more but we didn't got nothing when i ask the hotel they told me that they don't know what we talking about. Im going again in 2 months but I think Im not doing it thru cheap-tickets. I hotel was good, the show it was nice but one night they where dancing on the pool the first night i got there and when they were done the girls of the show almost push us out of the chair because they need to close the chair, they wanted to go home, didn't like that. Love the Japanese restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese restaurant

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2013 honeymoon
Business
dr
Feb 25, 2013

2013 honeymoon

hotel staff was great,food was ok. beach was great.pools clean.best 10 days ever..can"t wait to go back...weather was owsome did"t rain once....great place to take a long vacation.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

wonderful

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthia Newlywed
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Our Amazing Honeymoon!

This was our first time in the Dominican Republic and we had an amazing time. We arrived at the hotel at 3 in the afternoon. I was amazed by the tropical reception area. We were greeted with tropical drinks upon checking in. The lady checking us in was very nice ans courteous. The hotel looked amazing and I was impressed that they had security surrounding the entire hotel at all times. Staff took very good care of us by informing us on what to do and what not to do for our safety. Overall, I would definitely come back to this hotel. It was very relaxing and beautiful. Definitely got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are an adventurous person you have to check out the zipline tour. It was tons of fun!

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eduardmary
Business
Las Vegas,NV
Nov 13, 2012

everything was wanderfull execpt the representative

Everything was wanderfull execpt the representative who takes care of guests,we couldn't confirm our flight back home and the tranfer to the airport because he didn't provide any information and he didn't show up either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bijidem
Business
Hackensack, NJ
Oct 23, 2012

Destination Wedding

I had my wedding at Barcelo Dominican Beach and the experience was WOW... Wedding Coordinator was exellent, the location of the hotel is located in a great place by the beach. The pools are great, the people from the spa are very nice. The only bad thing about the hotel was the lock of communication with service, reception desk and ground transportation service. In the reception area there is 4 people at front but only one person doing everything... But we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
country girl on the go
Business
marion, nc
Oct 7, 2012

it's ok

the hotel was ok. Very clean, but they came by at supper time spraying bug spray and fogged up everything. The food was not very good and i,m not a picky eater but we didnt starve. The check in was fine but the front desk wanted to charge just to make a local call for us. It did not seem that there was any communication between our rep there. Overall the trip was good.right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right on the beach to go to the flea market they call walmart. We got a lot of great deals. Don't ever pay the price they ask. We got some great paintings, larimar jewelry, mahogany wood peices and a bull horn ship that we love. The sellers are very pushy but are willing to negoiate and most are nice one you get them talking.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gran Pingu
Business
Florida City
Sep 11, 2012

Not What I Expected !

My family a group of 23 stayed at this so called "resort". On the first night my parents door card reader did not work. After a few times of calling the front desk they finally sent some one to fix it. The next day it was not working again. Our freinds shower did not work so a plumber had to fix it. Also 2 weeks before the trip he had surgery to replace his defebrillator, we requested a room on the first floor so they gave him the third floor.Mind you that there is no elevator. They kept saying they were going to move him but it never happened. In fact a security guard had to help him up the stairs one night because of short breath. My aunts room air conditioner broke on our third day there so she had to pack her stuff and change rooms. On the website it states that wifi is included well that was bull. The cost was 3 dollars for every 15 minutes. I do not recommened any one to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top