Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Revere,Massachusetts
Mar 30, 2010

Good, but...

Everything was good, but the room was not done when we got there, and we needed an extra mattress that we had to ask to be change because the one they intent to give us was just nasty. After that everything else was better. Food was great also service and the beach unforgettable. Besides the room issue everything was fine, even with that problem I will go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, RI
Mar 28, 2010

Good Bang for your Buck

The overall service was superior at Dominican Beach Resort. We definitely preferred the a la carte restaurants over the buffet food. There are 5 a la carte restaurants, which you have to make reservations for. In order to get the reservation you want for the night, we had to go down at 7 AM everyday to the reservation stand at the Palamsol Buffet. Reservations are limited! The good thing is you can make dinner reservations for that night and the next at the same time. The only restaurant where the service was absolutely horrible was Mezzaluna, the italian restaurant. The food was good, but the service was bad. The entertainment is beyond what I expected. The MC speaks 5 different languages: English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian. There are nightly shows with dancing and singing. The afternoon Beach games including volleyball, soccer, bocce, etc were most enjoyable, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for dinner as early as possible to get your preferred restaurant and time you want to eat. Dinner reservations are usually for either 6 PM, 8 PM, or 9:30 PM. It seems that the service is usually better at the 6 PM or 8 PM times.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 26, 2010

It's OK

This hotel was OK. Nothing too fancy but it was certainly great little spot on the beach. My biggest complaint was definitely the food. We were there for 7 days and pretty much every day I was sick and so was my girlfriend. The longer we were there though, the more things we found manageable to eat. The best food we had was on an excursion that had a BBQ but not part of our hotel. The bars were nice to get a drink in. The one complaint about the bars is a lack of seating. There really wasn't a spot to sit down and have a few drinks without a bunch of people constantly reaching over your shoulder trying to get theirs. A good tip if you're going to be drinking beer is to bring your own larger mug. I could only carry so many 10 oz plastic cups but they would fill a larger container if you had one. The room was pretty standard. On one occasion we our ceiling was leaking and we were on the top floor. I called the front desk since the flow of water was consuming the two garbage cans we had in the room fairly quickly. No one ever came which kind of bothered us and took away an hour of our prime beach time. The maid service came by every day and left new towels and restocked the fridge. They only left two beers so I asked for more (in spanish) and gave her a 5 dollar tip. I received 3 beers one time otherwise it was just 2 beers. When our last day came, we were happy to finally go home. Looking in retrospect, the location, water, service were more than adequate, but I wouldn't stay there again for the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you book your transfer from the airport to the hotel, then have to meet with their representative the next day. Keep in mind that only a few of the operators are in the front lobby. The rest a in a section off towards the beach. We wasted an hour before we found that lesson out.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Forge, PA
Mar 25, 2010

Great getaway for the price

Too many noisy "Spring Breakers"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 25, 2010

Great for the Price

The Hotel was perfect for the price. The staff was friendly, but many times it took asking for things twice before they actually bring them to you, specially in the buffet. The rooms were fine and they cleaned them everyday, and they refilled the mini bar everyday too. At night it would be better if the disco/ bars would be open after 2 am, since during spring break 85% of the guests were under 30. Everything else was fine. food could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to buy anything wether inside or outside of the hotel, always try to bargain with them, they will always ask for alot, then if you ask for a disount they will give it to you.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, NJ
Mar 23, 2010

Great Value, Great Property, Great Time!

We have been traveling to this property for the past 6 years. The things we enjoy most is the friendly staff, especially the way they interact with all the guest and getting people to join in with daily activities. This beachfront property is so nice and relaxing, with 3 pools, bright airy rooms, beautiful landscaping, clean grounds, and a wide variety of restaurants that offer entrees to satisfy almost everyone's taste. You can do just about anything, snorkeling, kayaking, swim in the ocean or pool (while having a drink), get a massage, facial, spa treatments. The kids will have a great time. In the main pool with shallow water and a mushroom shaped waterfall, by the beach there is a childrens play area with lots of activities to do. You can always find something to eat - While the buffets are fantastic, for a more intimate dinning experience, reservation are required for various On-property restaurants. One of our true favorites is WASABI - a japanese restaurant where the chef prepares your meals right in front of you (dinner & a show). There are also other international inspired restaurants - a Brazilian, Spanish, Italian (Mezza Luna), Mexican (Pepito's), and an all Seafood Dinner on the Beach (Buccaneer)(additional charge). All these are included in your all-inclusive, with the exception of the Seafood Dinner on the Beach. There are also three snack bars, one on the beach, one by the spa, and one by the far pool. Multiple places to get a drink, the beach has two bars, the lobby has one, there is a bar IN the main pool, there is Time-Out Sports Bar, a bar by the far pool and even in the Le Cafe, the coffee shop, you can get a little kick in your coffee. One of the best things is the nightly shows. They have an array of variety shows they preform. Each night they acknowledge the winners from the beach activities. Then most nights they have an interactive on-stage show where the audience gets to compete for a prize, these are usually hysterical. We will definitely be going back. ENJOY YOUR TRIP!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

One of our true favorites is WASABI - a japanese restaurant where the chef prepares your meals right in front of you (dinner & a show). There are also other international inspired restaurants - a Brazilian, Spanish, Italian (Mezza Luna), Mexican (Pepito's), and an all Seafood Dinner on the Beach (Buccaneer)(additional charge). All these are included in your all-inclusive, with the exception of the Seafood Dinner on the Beach.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upper Peninsula, MI
Mar 22, 2010

wonderful vacation!

Keep your expectations reasonable, this isn't a 5 star resort or you'd be paying alot more. Your trip will be what you make of it! This is a nice place with everything in walking distance. We had a great time, lots to keep you busy if you want or you can do nothing but lay at the beach which is so beautiful! The staff was friendly. Alot do not speak English, but you are in a Spanish speaking country so what do you expect! Know a little spanish and they know a little English and you get by just fine. Smile and say thank you and please and you will be treated excellent! The restaurants that you have to make a reservation for are ok, nothing to write home about. We preferred the buffets, which had alot of food to choose from and something different every day. The food tasted great I thought. Don't drink the water. Drink bottled water and you will be fine. If your not sure of something, dont eat it. I did not get sick, my husband had one day of a sick stomach but then was fine. They don't give more than one wash cloth in the bathrooms and sometimes none, so you might want to bring your own. On the first day, I asked the maid to please leave me 4 bottled waters daily, I left a small tip and some candies and she did every day. I used one for brushing teeth, one for coffee and the other two for drinking. The maids do not speak english. This is a poor country, but the people are beautiful and kind. They smile and wave on the excursions off the resort, [*] The best place for lunch is the Bahia Rest. on the beach, you can go in your bathing suit and it is a buffet. We ate there every day and loved it. Drinks were good and overall we had a great time. The Disco is fair. They didn't play alot of American Music so unless you know real dance steps you might have a hard time dancing to their music. It is the only place to go dancing at the resort and opens at 11:00 after the show is over. So if your looking for night life, this might not be the place for you. Our hotel room was a bit older, but clean and we found it to be comfortable, at first I was a bit disappointed but realized we had a decent room and it was clean. There were people from all over the world there and we met several really nice people. Unfortunately, we learned why the USA is getting a bad name. The second week we were there, a large group of Teenagers from the US arrived, they called their group the S-Trip (Senior Trip). 95% of the kids were out of control. We understand what it is like to be a teen with the freedom to do things you can not do in the US, but, aside from the drinking, smoking etc, etc. It was the rude, inconsiderate behavior we had a problem with. Having fun is one thing, but Stampeding the buffet lines, pushing and shoving your way in front of other guests and acting like you are the only ones at a resort is unacceptable behavior. Being rude to guest and staff also. So, any parents of these kids seeing this, you might want to talk to your kids about manners away from home, and that just because they are in another country doesnt mean to act like animals, you are representing your country the USA. The college kids on spring break, we met a few of them and they were great! Having a good time, but not mistreating others while doing it. This is a decent resort and I would return and recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

if your looking for an excellent excursion, I highly recommend the Funny Monster Safari. It gives you a look at real Dominican life. We loved it. Cocco Tours we found to be excellent- thanks Ambrioux Estevez

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwalk, ct
Mar 19, 2010

There was very nice.

There was really nice. I had very good time. Lots of young people. Food was ok. Beach not too crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 14, 2010

Perfect Spring Break

We came here for spring break and had an absolutely perfect time. Of course, we are used to cafeteria food and long hours in the library so any change is a good change, but our experience at Barcelo was wonderful. Gorgeous beach, perfectly kept grounds, enormous pool, pretty good food and drinks, superfriendly staff, cute activities- what more could you ask for? This hotel isn't the Ritz, so don't expect that, but I would definitely come back and recommend it in particular to college students.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
k,
Business
florida
Mar 4, 2010

fantastic single fetaway

best place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top