Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, NY
Nov 4, 2009

Barcelo Dominican Beach

The first night we didn't have hot water, that problem was fixed for the rest of our trip. At times it was difficult to get service at the swim up bar even though it wasn't very busy. The food was great, a few of the servers at the buffets, cafe, and the activities staff were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 30, 2009

Our bad experince !

Me and my boyfriend went on a vacation there at the end of September. At first everything seemed just fine, the staff was very friendly (even though a big part of them refused to speak English), the beach was big and clean, the complex itself was big and nice. Then on the third day the air conditioner suddenly stopped working, it was still cool in the room, but the floor and the walls were constantly covered with water. After we complained to the staff they simply told us that there is no more freon in the AC system...So we spent the rest of the holiday mopping the floor with the bathroom towels. Also, during the whole stay we had NO hot water in the shower, and sometimes we had to wait for like 30 min for water bearable enough so that a person could take a shower. When we called the reception and let them know that there's not hot water the answer we got was "don't worry it's the whole hotel, it's not just your room".The electicity stopped a few times. The food in the main restaurant was nothing special, so that we decided to make reservations for the other restaurants which offered international kitchen, and to be honest had a great service and looked great. Unfortunately the result from that was my boyfriend's food poisoning, which led him to 2 weeks of water and pretzels diet, and several doctor's appointments. Also there was nothing to do in the complex except from going to the beach and eat at the restaurants..... In general i can advice people to avoid this hotel !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renata89
Business
pa
Sep 12, 2009

barcelo dominican beach review

The best part of the hotel was the beach. The water was warm and clear. The beach was a little dirty but not terrible. There was lots of shady spots too. Some women were topless, even though that was not a topless beach. The hotel room was average. The beds were lumpy and not very comfortable. It had a moldy smell too. The food in the buffet was ok. The restaurants had better food than the buffet. They have to be reserved ahead of time, but that wasn't a problem. The best restaurant was the japanesse. The Italian and the spanish were also very good. The worst one was the brazilian. The food was overcooked and not good. They also don't provide you with stake knives (even when they serve steak). There were a lot of bars and the service at the bars was good. They also had a coffee bar which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some shops at the end of the beach run by locals. Better prices there than in the shops on the resort.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAPTAIN BLY
Business
CAPE CORAL FL.
Sep 12, 2009

BEAUTIFUL BEACHES

.SWIM UP BAR WAS GREAT AS WELL AS BEACH SIDE BAR. FREE SHOWS AT NIGHT WERE GREAT, AUDIENCE WAS GREATLY ENCOURAGED TO PARTICIPATE ON STAGE, LOTS OF FUN. DANCE INSTRUCTIONS ON BEACH AS WELL AS VOLLEYBALL, BASKETBALL, AND PLAY AREA FOR CHILDREN.MASSAGES WERE WELL WORTH $25 U.S. DOLLARS.CHECK OUT LITTLE FLEA MARKET AREAS ON OUTER EDGE OF RESORT AREA AND HONE YOUR BARGAINING SKLLS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C.B. world travler
Business
Lockport, Il.
Sep 8, 2009

Beautiful Beach vacation

Likes: Great beach, plenty to do at the resort during the day and friendly staff. Dislikes: No T.v. remote in the rooms, poor food selection, bar service and drinks and the staff was hard to communicate with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Great Vacation

My experience was great. We had an amazing time. We went in September so there was not too many people. The food was good but if you are not accustomed to it you may have a hard time with it. The staff was not always friendly but many of them were. I was part of the elite club and had the honeymoon suite so I would not really know how the experience would differe for someone who had the regular standard room. In all I do recommend the hotel, especially the honeymoon suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you make all reservations right at check-in so that you have no problem choosing where you want to eat. The Japanese restaurant was really good. Just make sure not to drink the water.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
borroto
Business
miami florida
Aug 25, 2009

fantastic family getaway

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2009

Its good to speak Spanish!

The beach and pools are very nice. The staff is unfriendly unless you speak Spanish. You have to make reservations to eat at the restaurants otherwise you're stuck with the buffet, even if they have 20 open tables in the restaurants. The buffet is open air and very humid during every meal, the restaurants have great food and are air conditioned. We stayed in the honeymoon suite even through it wasn't our honeymoon, I recommend the upgrade, the beachside room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cb Slider
Business
MI
Aug 17, 2009

Honeymooners

We went to the pools and we went parasailing. We also hung out in our honeymoon suite for a day. It would have been nice if there were more extra activities that the hotel offered that were complimentary. This was one of the best trips we have ever taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy gifts for others at the hotel gift shops. If you walk down the beach just a few short minutes you will find shops that have the same stuff a lot cheaper :)

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wondergrrl
Business
U.S.
Aug 16, 2009

What I expected...But....

We went to the Barcelo for a week long girls trip. We brought a million books to read, with primarily that goal in mind, and headed off to the beach each day. We loved that part. The part we didn't love - the massive amount of flirtatious/dirty comments from the waitstaff and groundskeepers (i.e. kissing our cheeks and drinking from our glasses), the same food every day, the overwhelming heat in most of the reservation restaurants (people were sweating buckets as we ate - not appetizing!), the TERRIBLE gym with only non-working, rusted-over equipment (2 of us are avid gym rats) that wasn't even suitable for a full workout (we didn't go to the gym after the first attempt). If you're going for the beach, it's absolutely beautiful. But as so many people mention about this hotel, do not go for the food, the shows, the drinks, etc. It's got to be solely for the view and the beauty of a great beach. We were pleased as punch to sit on the beach and read, but after about 3 days of that, we felt like we were in prison, eating the same food and doing the same routine. We didn't leave the property because we were traveling alone as women and didn't feel it safe. However, I'm sure if you did some excursions and changed things up that way, you may have a different experience. Overall, I wouldn't go again, but I do feel like I got my money's worth. If that makes sense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

While we were there, it stormed like crazy one night and we heard that the first floor of one of the buildings was flooded. There were tons of complaints from that, but we avoided that, as we were on the 2nd floor of another building. I would suggest you get the same setup!

Back to menu Return to top