Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Lover
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 1, 2009

Staff Wondeful

The location was very nice. The grounds were kept up and the staff were quick to ensure that all of your needs were met. Rooms all have a nice balconey to enjoy the sunshine. Rooms are equipped with a mini bar that allows you to partake of a refreshing beverage(different bottles of alcoholic liquors and non-alcoholic beverages)-Staff inquires in the morning, how many and how much? When we checked in the front staff alerted our group that we were the lucky group that was to receive an up-grade and would be moved to the Bachlata,of course we took them up on the offer. After being there a few days we were able to see a room in the Merengue, which I felt was supreme. Although our rooms at the Bachlata were nice, the rooms at Merengue were laid out better. Also the Merengue is centrally located which makes it convenient to enjoy all of the amenities of all of the resorts. Not all resorts offer the same ammenities(Water activity shop-Merengue...Swim up Bar-Bachlata...Dance Club-Merengue) Don't feel it was an up-grade. After meeting many other people, this is an common occurance-beware. Buffets offered were plentiful and the dining room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast selection was amazing, especially try the fruit smoothies-yum. Lunch and dinner had alot to offer, but was very disappointed with the Steakhouse/Italian Restaurant. For one thing, hard to get reservations, have to go to the main lobby each morning between 8:00 A.M.-10:00 A.M. The Italian and Steakhouse are held in the same restuarant and are only offered on alternative nights. Food was far inferior to the buffets. We had the lamb chops, my brother,the rib-eye(only offered med-well or well)-small portions over-cooked, speciality potatoes were french fries. Not worth the hassle. Staff were wonderful, they went out of there way to ensure that they kept a smile on your face. Notable mentions-Antonio,Pablo and Aehandra. Staff was amazing, they were able to remember your preferences after only meeting you once, great memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the staff at the resort, they have friends who can structure tours that cater to your exact needs and at a much better price than the advertised tour. We paid $20.00 a person, four in our group, for a private van with a driver and a guide who was very knowledgable. $80.00 total for a six-hour tour of the city, in which we stopped were we wanted and chose the locales. Beware the stops, street venders all over, extremely aggresive will follow you for blocks. Most persistent in all of the carribean countries I have visited.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mikes Mom
Business
Little Falls, NJ
May 8, 2009

Worst Trip EVER

My husband and I booked a 4 day, 3 night get away, to the ClubHotel Riu Merengue in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. Despite all the favorable reviews we found online, it was by far the worst vacation we have ever taken. It started when we were greeted by one of the front desk staff, who began with a ridiculous monologue consisting of one liners and bad jokes. He boasted about the superior level of service we could expect and then ended his speech by informing us that our room was not ready. He suggested we return in approximately twenty minutes, even though the front desk was filled with hundreds envelopes containing keys to clean and available rooms. Upon our return thirty minutes later, we were told the staff was busy with other guests and that we should come back in an hour. This was totally unacceptable and I refused to wait any longer. Each staff member I spoke to directed me to someone else. Finally, we found someone able to help us and learned that our room had been ready all along. Their website boasts of luxury, five star accommodations, which is why I was extremely disappointed when we were escorted to a tiny, dated guestroom. The bed was two doubles pushed together, there was not a blanket to be found and the toiletries were in paper packets. The mini bar contained a total of two beers and two sodas. In fact, it took an entire day, three phone calls and speaking to a manager before our request to fill the mini bar was addressed. Obtaining a reservation at one of the “a la carte” restaurants turned out to be impossible. Dinner reservations were taken between the hours of 7:00 and 10:00 am each day. Twice we arrived prior to 8:00 am, only to find out that all the reservations had been taken. I can not understand why a resort with 544 guestrooms, has forty dining tables and only two seatings per night. Basically, a very small percentage of the guests are able to enjoy a sit down meal, while the majority are left to a cafeteria style dinner of repetitive, mediocre food. The dining situation may have not been so bad, if the drinks had not been so watered down and served child size plastic cups. Perhaps worst of all was the discovery that our trip happened to coincide with a Dominican holiday. Not long after our arrival, hundreds of locals descended on the resort and literally took over everything. The sheer volume of people coupled with the rude and rowdy behavior made getting food or drinks into somewhat of a battle. The locals were catered to by the staff, leaving vacationers feeling like unwanted guests. We will never return to this hotel and will avoid all Riu properties in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you arrive close to 7:00am to make a dinner reservation. They were always booked before 8:00am.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TM Chris
Business
Glen Burnie, MD
May 8, 2009

Extraordinary Resort!!

The RIU Merengue is an all-inclusive resort filled with warmth. As a woman traveling alone, my presence was closely monitored by the hotel staff. They made sure that I had a trustworthy tour guide for the City of Puerto Plata tour--which I embarked upon independently (not including the guide of course); the staff ensured that I did not miss my rural tour departure for a rural section outside of Puerto Plata; and the staff made sure that I was made aware of the many spectacular hotel events. They truly cared about me! All guests are their top priority. The lobby is clean, the bars are clean, the rooms are clean, and the beach is neat. This hotel is a "must see."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TM Chris
Business
Glen Burnie, MD
May 8, 2009

Extraordinary Resort!!

The RIU Merengue is an all-inclusive resort filled with warmth. As a woman traveling alone, my presence was closely monitored by the hotel staff. They made sure that I had a trustworthy tour guide for the City of Puerto Plata tour--which I embarked upon independently (not including the guide of course); the staff ensured that I did not miss my rural tour departure for a rural section outside of Puerto Plata; and the staff made sure that I was made aware of the many spectacular hotel events. They truly cared about me! All guests are their top priority. The lobby is clean, the bars are clean, the rooms are clean, and the beach is neat. This hotel is a "must see."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mikes Mom
Business
Little Falls, NJ
May 8, 2009

Worst Trip EVER

My husband and I booked a 4 day, 3 night get away, to the ClubHotel Riu Merengue in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. Despite all the favorable reviews we found online, it was by far the worst vacation we have ever taken. It started when we were greeted by one of the front desk staff, who began with a ridiculous monologue consisting of one liners and bad jokes. He boasted about the superior level of service we could expect and then ended his speech by informing us that our room was not ready. He suggested we return in approximately twenty minutes, even though the front desk was filled with hundreds envelopes containing keys to clean and available rooms. Upon our return thirty minutes later, we were told the staff was busy with other guests and that we should come back in an hour. This was totally unacceptable and I refused to wait any longer. Each staff member I spoke to directed me to someone else. Finally, we found someone able to help us and learned that our room had been ready all along. Their website boasts of luxury, five star accommodations, which is why I was extremely disappointed when we were escorted to a tiny, dated guestroom. The bed was two doubles pushed together, there was not a blanket to be found and the toiletries were in paper packets. The mini bar contained a total of two beers and two sodas. In fact, it took an entire day, three phone calls and speaking to a manager before our request to fill the mini bar was addressed. Obtaining a reservation at one of the “a la carte” restaurants turned out to be impossible. Dinner reservations were taken between the hours of 7:00 and 10:00 am each day. Twice we arrived prior to 8:00 am, only to find out that all the reservations had been taken. I can not understand why a resort with 544 guestrooms, has forty dining tables and only two seatings per night. Basically, a very small percentage of the guests are able to enjoy a sit down meal, while the majority are left to a cafeteria style dinner of repetitive, mediocre food. The dining situation may have not been so bad, if the drinks had not been so watered down and served child size plastic cups. Perhaps worst of all was the discovery that our trip happened to coincide with a Dominican holiday. Not long after our arrival, hundreds of locals descended on the resort and literally took over everything. The sheer volume of people coupled with the rude and rowdy behavior made getting food or drinks into somewhat of a battle. The locals were catered to by the staff, leaving vacationers feeling like unwanted guests. We will never return to this hotel and will avoid all Riu properties in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you arrive close to 7:00am to make a dinner reservation. They were always booked before 8:00am.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

Great Stay

The RIU chain was great, the staff was so helpful, the surroundings were beautiful and the food was fantasic. The only complant we had was the location it seemed every activity we planned ie paradise island and the catomarand tour required an extremley long bus ride, (1 to 2 hours) although I had friends staying in Punta Cana that had similar problems. The ATVS were a great time and its only a ten minute walk to the location. I hope this helps...enjoy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

Great Stay

The RIU chain was great, the staff was so helpful, the surroundings were beautiful and the food was fantasic. The only complant we had was the location it seemed every activity we planned ie paradise island and the catomarand tour required an extremley long bus ride, (1 to 2 hours) although I had friends staying in Punta Cana that had similar problems. The ATVS were a great time and its only a ten minute walk to the location. I hope this helps...enjoy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top