Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
92 reviews
Great Experience

We experienced a great vacation. It was to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Management and... See full review

  • Warpco
  • Jun 18, 2012
Perfect Relaxation!

This was a second trip to Grand Paradise and was more impressed than the first. Smooth check-in.... See full review

  • Sit back and Relax
  • Jan 30, 2012
Family-friendly beachfront all-inclusive in Dominican Republic

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada offers all-inclusive beachfront comfort in 424 rooms and suites 25 minutes from the international airport and 15 minutes from Puerto Plata. As part of the Playa Dorada complex, Grand Paradise is set on Costa Dorada beach near shopping and a championship golf course.

Highlights
  • No worries about pricing with all-inclusive fare
  • Close to international airport
  • Location on attractive slice of beach
Rooms

All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, air conditioning, flat-screen television, safe deposit box, minibar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, and hairdryer. Suites include a separate living area, kitchenette, and balcony or terrace, with garden, pool, or ocean view.

Features

The all-inclusive package includes room, tips, and taxes, all meals (buffet style), snacks, alcoholic and nonalcoholic house drinks, daytime and nighttime entertainment, and nonmotorized watersports. Dining options include two full-service restaurants (reservation required) and a buffet, with midnight snack service available until 1 a.m. Four bars include a beach bar and a swim-up pool bar.

 

Daily daytime activities include aerobics, beach volleyball, dance classes, and contests. Non-motorized watersports such as kayaking, sunfish sailing, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and scuba diving (clinics at the pool) are also free of charge. Motorized sports (available for a surcharge) include Jet-Ski and waterskiing, and a ride on a banana boat. Other activities include ping pong, archery, mini golf, half-court basketball, and two tennis courts. Guests can also swim in the lagoon-style pool or relax in the Jacuzzi.  

 

The nighttime social scene includes nightly entertainment and the dance club Crazy Moon, open from 11 p.m. until 2 a.m., with free drinks.

 

A child's pool is available, and the Kids Club program offers supervised activities from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for children ages 5 to 12.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi service (fee applies)
Policies and fees
NOTICE: The casino will be closed from May to December.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
All suites are equipped a king bed, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Independent living area, kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Garden, pool or ocean view available. Iron and iron board
Superior Ocean View
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Full or partial ocean view. Iron upon request
Saver Room
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Garden or pool view. Iron upon request
Superior Garden View
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Garden or pool view. Iron upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7998 -70.6832
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Airport of Puerto Plata
Area description
25 minutes from the International Airport of Puerto Plata and 15 minutes from the Puerto Plata town.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.4 mi

Dining

Edens
Seaside restaurant opens for snacks from 12:00 to 16:00, no reservation required. Opens for dinner at 18:30, see information
Hibiscus
Seaside buffet restaurant, features a thatched cana roof. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 11:00) lunch (12:30 - 14:30) and dinner (18:30 - 22:00). Casual dress code. There are theme buffets for dinner.
Edens
Open-air, seaside BBQ & Grill a-la carte restaurant, features a thatched cana roof. Opens for dinner -reservation required- (18:30 - 22:00), casual dress code.
Michelangelo
A la carte Italian restaurant. It's air-conditioned and features a romantic atmosphere. Opens for dinner (18:30 - 22:00). Reservation is required. Business casual dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
puerto plata
Jun 29, 2011

not happy at all

I was not happy with this hotel I happen to meet a nice girl There and tried to bring her back to my room but the hotel wanted to charge me 140 usd they said I'm not allowed to bring anyone back. I paid all that money to do what I want and they won't more money very very unhappy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

No nightlife what so ever

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 16, 2011

Overall good trip

The resort is beautiful. Checking in was a breeze. The staff at the check in were friendly and the bell boy was helpful with the suitcases. The room was beautiful, huge bed with a balcony. They stock the little fridge with a gallon of water and a 20ounce sprite or coke. They only gave us one key which was fine because it was just me and my boyfriend, but if you're traveling with more people, i can see that being potentially annoying. The buffet restaurant is right by the beach. It was a beautiful view of the beach. Okay, let's talk food; good but not great. The a la cartes were good but not great, to me it seem to have the same flavors at the buffet; a la cartes not worth it. the appetizers and desserts served were the same as the buffet. The orange juice has to be tang, not fresh. The servers, bartenders super friendly. The entertainers, blue, blacky, etc, were amazing. They made this place fun with games, preparing shows for us. They are the heart and soul of grand paradise. They presented us with a show on the beach with fireworks, AMAZING!! There were no lifeguards on the beach so it was a bit scary but the water is beautiful, barely any waves. There were no umbrella's set out on the beach so, wear sunscreen or you will get burn. You can sit under some trees to get some shade, but you don't get a good view of the beach even though you are on the beach. The pool closed at 7pm and both my boyfriend and I were a bit upset about this. We stayed 7 days. After the 5th day, we were sick and tired of the food. The casino is terrible, so itsy bitsy small. There's a movie theater at the plaza which is outside of the resort. Ohh, also there's the yellow shirt guys who try to get you to join their royal vacation club. We sat thru the presentation, told them we couldn't afford it. They can be a bit annoying. They activities they have are worth it. I loved kayaking. We did the dune buggy's-not worth it. They need to fix the dune buggy's, too many people's buggy's kept breaking down and we had to wait for sometimes 15 mins at a time. it was annoying. We both got traveler's diarrhea during the last two days there. Overall, good trip. Will not be returning anytime soon. This was my first vaca/resort trip. Now i know what i want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Los animales, the staff that were there to make sure you have fun were the best part of this trip.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 16, 2011

Overall good trip

The resort is beautiful. Checking in was a breeze. The staff at the check in were friendly and the bell boy was helpful with the suitcases. The room was beautiful, huge bed with a balcony. They stock the little fridge with a gallon of water and a 20ounce sprite or coke. They only gave us one key which was fine because it was just me and my boyfriend, but if you're traveling with more people, i can see that being potentially annoying. The buffet restaurant is right by the beach. It was a beautiful view of the beach. Okay, let's talk food; good but not great. The a la cartes were good but not great, to me it seem to have the same flavors at the buffet; a la cartes not worth it. the appetizers and desserts served were the same as the buffet. The orange juice has to be tang, not fresh. The servers, bartenders super friendly. The entertainers, blue, blacky, etc, were amazing. They made this place fun with games, preparing shows for us. They are the heart and soul of grand paradise. They presented us with a show on the beach with fireworks, AMAZING!! There were no lifeguards on the beach so it was a bit scary but the water is beautiful, barely any waves. There were no umbrella's set out on the beach so, wear sunscreen or you will get burn. You can sit under some trees to get some shade, but you don't get a good view of the beach even though you are on the beach. The pool closed at 7pm and both my boyfriend and I were a bit upset about this. We stayed 7 days. After the 5th day, we were sick and tired of the food. The casino is terrible, so itsy bitsy small. There's a movie theater at the plaza which is outside of the resort. Ohh, also there's the yellow shirt guys who try to get you to join their royal vacation club. We sat thru the presentation, told them we couldn't afford it. They can be a bit annoying. They activities they have are worth it. I loved kayaking. We did the dune buggy's-not worth it. They need to fix the dune buggy's, too many people's buggy's kept breaking down and we had to wait for sometimes 15 mins at a time. it was annoying. We both got traveler's diarrhea during the last two days there. Overall, good trip. Will not be returning anytime soon. This was my first vaca/resort trip. Now i know what i want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Los animales, the staff that were there to make sure you have fun were the best part of this trip.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jun 6, 2011

Great location for a good price

Everyone was friendly and entertaining!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo club

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jun 6, 2011

Great location for a good price

Everyone was friendly and entertaining!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo club

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DRVacationer
New York, NY
May 25, 2011

HORRIBLE! AVOID THIS PLACE

Checked in fine although they tried to upgrade my room for a CASH fee. NO ELEVATOR so you have to walk up the floors. FOOD = POISON. Everyone got food sick. Diarrhea. Avoid this place. This is a 2 star hotel at most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DRVacationer
New York, NY
May 25, 2011

HORRIBLE! AVOID THIS PLACE

Checked in fine although they tried to upgrade my room for a CASH fee. NO ELEVATOR so you have to walk up the floors. FOOD = POISON. Everyone got food sick. Diarrhea. Avoid this place. This is a 2 star hotel at most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
May 1, 2011

Poor

Food was horrible. Over cooked dry stale salty rubbery. Nothing was considered hood-great. All good quality was at be mediocre. Same meals everyday. Fake juice (as in tang was the "orange juice") coffee sucked milk and dairy products watery and awful. Toilet clogged never fixed the problem. Luckily it was the last 2 days of trip that it was broken. Would not return to gran paradise ever again. Hotel was too far away from the city to walk and taxis are expensive. If ur hungry while food is not being served they charge you $6.00 for a can of pringles $5.00 for a single small redbull etc. Coco tours offered excursions and said to book with them incase rain or any problems arised. (that's why you pay more money cause it's safer and insured) It started raining and we tried rescheduling. They said either you go or you don't get you money back. Beware of promises of anyone trying to sell you anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut, USA
Apr 3, 2011

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

The location of this resort couldn't be more ideal. We ate most of our meals in Habiscus Buffet restaurant, overlooking the beach, palm trees, and mountains! The staff was most amazing, and the resort itself was clean, peaceful, and fun...all at the same time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Habiscus Buffet was spectacular. You couldn't get better food or a better view at any other restaurant!

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut, USA
Apr 3, 2011

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

The location of this resort couldn't be more ideal. We ate most of our meals in Habiscus Buffet restaurant, overlooking the beach, palm trees, and mountains! The staff was most amazing, and the resort itself was clean, peaceful, and fun...all at the same time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Habiscus Buffet was spectacular. You couldn't get better food or a better view at any other restaurant!

Back to menu Return to top