Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DRVacationer
Business
New York, NY
May 25, 2011

HORRIBLE! AVOID THIS PLACE

Checked in fine although they tried to upgrade my room for a CASH fee. NO ELEVATOR so you have to walk up the floors. FOOD = POISON. Everyone got food sick. Diarrhea. Avoid this place. This is a 2 star hotel at most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
May 1, 2011

Poor

Food was horrible. Over cooked dry stale salty rubbery. Nothing was considered hood-great. All good quality was at be mediocre. Same meals everyday. Fake juice (as in tang was the "orange juice") coffee sucked milk and dairy products watery and awful. Toilet clogged never fixed the problem. Luckily it was the last 2 days of trip that it was broken. Would not return to gran paradise ever again. Hotel was too far away from the city to walk and taxis are expensive. If ur hungry while food is not being served they charge you $6.00 for a can of pringles $5.00 for a single small redbull etc. Coco tours offered excursions and said to book with them incase rain or any problems arised. (that's why you pay more money cause it's safer and insured) It started raining and we tried rescheduling. They said either you go or you don't get you money back. Beware of promises of anyone trying to sell you anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut, USA
Apr 3, 2011

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

The location of this resort couldn't be more ideal. We ate most of our meals in Habiscus Buffet restaurant, overlooking the beach, palm trees, and mountains! The staff was most amazing, and the resort itself was clean, peaceful, and fun...all at the same time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Habiscus Buffet was spectacular. You couldn't get better food or a better view at any other restaurant!

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Mar 31, 2011

Expected better

Staff at front desk reception area were neither welcoming or friendly. They seem to be annoyed working there. Initially they gave us a room by the pool near the DJ. Why would anyone give a family (with 7 year old child) a room right in front of where the blasting music is playing until 11:00pm, people smoking and drinking and then music can still be heard from the disco until 3:00am. The hotel described itself as "family friendly. We had to change our room the first night. Family rooms are on the first floor near a few mosquitos and water bugs right outside door. Rooms were cleaned after 3:00pm if lucky; but linen was clean. Food was good but not kid friendly and usually the same; food service people were pleasant. The best of the trip was the entertainment staff...Blacky and his crew kept you smiling and clapping. May be good for a couple but not for family. Would find a different place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment staff made the trip pleasant. Entertainment staff really work hard on having fun. Shows were also good.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Mar 21, 2011

Fantastic Time

I have been going to this resort for over 15 years and have enjoyed every visit. The staff is incredible and very friendly. Over the years I have meet so many wonderful people and have keep in touch with them. They are my second family. I am planning to go back again within a month to cheer on the hotel softball team in the tournment. I will continue to go to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The steakhouse at the circle is fantastic. I make sure I go eat there when I am in town.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sufferer of Montezuma's Revenge
Business
New York, NY
Mar 16, 2011

Sleep-away camp for adults

To be honest, this hotel was much better than expected for the price. Cleaning staff and bartenders were friendly, although the wait staff could've been more attentive. Overall the staff didn't seem to anticipate tip, which was a nice change from the rest of the DR. Food was awful, and I must say I've never had so much respect for American beef as I do now. Avoid all meats except chicken - in all likelihood they've been reduced to carbon or are tough enough to use as a blunt weapon. If food is important to you, don't come here - the food is slightly below the quality of the worst airline food in existence. Alcohol is most definitely watered down, so just be prepared to drink more than usual. There are some nice parts to the resort, which include the beautiful beach (amazing at night), clear water and many beachfront activities available. What irked me the most were the many 'fees' associated with losing various items, which were at minimum $25 and for no apparent reason (losing a beach towel, or losing your wristband = $25). Overall the experience felt almost like a summer camp for adults - just bring as many friends as you can and you'll have a great time, even if you end up contracting Cholera (my friend and I did, and no we didn't drink the water). Instead of watered down sports drinks you get watered down liquors and poorly made drinks, but with good company you can have a good time. Remember to bring sunblock, many $1 bills and diarrhea medicine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always bargain in the DR, and don't settle for prices that match US prices. Everything can be haggled to at least 50% if not more. To get better prices leave the hotel and try going to the plaza or even into town, but be wary everyone is trying to get some of your hard earned cash.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 15, 2011

Just Right

The hotel was very accommodating. They have lots of activities so you will never get bored. You can go kayaking, boogie boarding, wind surfing, banana boating, and even more. They also have a wide variety of on-land activities which I cannot list because there are too many. Also, the service there was above par but not exceptional. The food was so/so but if you get reservations at the nicer restaurants, you don't have to keep eating buffet food. Generally, everyone was really nice so it was definitely a good experience. I would recommend staying at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Mar 3, 2011

Good stay

We pretty much went down to relax for few days with my frends and my mom. The staff is friendly. The food was not that good, but not the worst. We enjoyed our stay while we were there. People were friendly and lot's of canadians ;-). Pool was nice and beach was beautiful.We took the trip to Paradise Island and it was AWESOME!If you want to go there remember to take some candies-there is a lot of children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go to Sosua,take the taxi outside of the Playa Dorada its only 200 pesos each way.(From resort $20.00) There is casino in the hotel but its very small-there is bigger one in Alegro playa dorada few minutes walk from our hotel-I liked this one better.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Mar 1, 2011

My visit

Rest, relax, eat, watch entretairment and enjoy the beach. The timing for cleaning the rooms needs improvement. It takes them for ever to get to it. Customer Services needs improvements, there was a lady with a bad attitute at the desk and by phone your requests are not always addressed. They need to have funds available to provide change in different currencies. They need more restaurants. They should give guess the option of more than 1 room key and the safe should be included in the room price. I stayed at the same hotel 20 yrs ago. It was much better this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as soon as possible. The Eve restaurant was excellent, food, staff, service, etc!!!

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luza
Business
Germantonw, MD
Dec 16, 2010

Nice Place

no Local Food options in the menu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top