Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Great Experience

We experienced a great vacation. It was to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Management and... See full review

  • Warpco
  • Jun 18, 2012
Perfect Relaxation!

This was a second trip to Grand Paradise and was more impressed than the first. Smooth check-in.... See full review

  • Sit back and Relax
  • Jan 30, 2012
Family-friendly beachfront all-inclusive in Dominican Republic

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada offers all-inclusive beachfront comfort in 424 rooms and suites 25 minutes from the international airport and 15 minutes from Puerto Plata. As part of the Playa Dorada complex, Grand Paradise is set on Costa Dorada beach near shopping and a championship golf course.

Highlights
  • No worries about pricing with all-inclusive fare
  • Close to international airport
  • Location on attractive slice of beach
Rooms

All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, air conditioning, flat-screen television, safe deposit box, minibar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, and hairdryer. Suites include a separate living area, kitchenette, and balcony or terrace, with garden, pool, or ocean view.

Features

The all-inclusive package includes room, tips, and taxes, all meals (buffet style), snacks, alcoholic and nonalcoholic house drinks, daytime and nighttime entertainment, and nonmotorized watersports. Dining options include two full-service restaurants (reservation required) and a buffet, with midnight snack service available until 1 a.m. Four bars include a beach bar and a swim-up pool bar.

 

Daily daytime activities include aerobics, beach volleyball, dance classes, and contests. Non-motorized watersports such as kayaking, sunfish sailing, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and scuba diving (clinics at the pool) are also free of charge. Motorized sports (available for a surcharge) include Jet-Ski and waterskiing, and a ride on a banana boat. Other activities include ping pong, archery, mini golf, half-court basketball, and two tennis courts. Guests can also swim in the lagoon-style pool or relax in the Jacuzzi.  

 

The nighttime social scene includes nightly entertainment and the dance club Crazy Moon, open from 11 p.m. until 2 a.m., with free drinks.

 

A child's pool is available, and the Kids Club program offers supervised activities from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for children ages 5 to 12.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi service (fee applies)
Policies and fees
NOTICE: The casino will be closed from May to December.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
All suites are equipped a king bed, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Independent living area, kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Garden, pool or ocean view available. Iron and iron board
Superior Ocean View
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Full or partial ocean view. Iron upon request
Saver Room
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Garden or pool view. Iron upon request
Superior Garden View
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Garden or pool view. Iron upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7998 -70.6832
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Airport of Puerto Plata
Area description
25 minutes from the International Airport of Puerto Plata and 15 minutes from the Puerto Plata town.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.4 mi

Dining

Edens
Seaside restaurant opens for snacks from 12:00 to 16:00, no reservation required. Opens for dinner at 18:30, see information
Hibiscus
Seaside buffet restaurant, features a thatched cana roof. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 11:00) lunch (12:30 - 14:30) and dinner (18:30 - 22:00). Casual dress code. There are theme buffets for dinner.
Edens
Open-air, seaside BBQ & Grill a-la carte restaurant, features a thatched cana roof. Opens for dinner -reservation required- (18:30 - 22:00), casual dress code.
Michelangelo
A la carte Italian restaurant. It's air-conditioned and features a romantic atmosphere. Opens for dinner (18:30 - 22:00). Reservation is required. Business casual dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
May 1, 2011

Poor

Food was horrible. Over cooked dry stale salty rubbery. Nothing was considered hood-great. All good quality was at be mediocre. Same meals everyday. Fake juice (as in tang was the "orange juice") coffee sucked milk and dairy products watery and awful. Toilet clogged never fixed the problem. Luckily it was the last 2 days of trip that it was broken. Would not return to gran paradise ever again. Hotel was too far away from the city to walk and taxis are expensive. If ur hungry while food is not being served they charge you $6.00 for a can of pringles $5.00 for a single small redbull etc. Coco tours offered excursions and said to book with them incase rain or any problems arised. (that's why you pay more money cause it's safer and insured) It started raining and we tried rescheduling. They said either you go or you don't get you money back. Beware of promises of anyone trying to sell you anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut, USA
Apr 3, 2011

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

The location of this resort couldn't be more ideal. We ate most of our meals in Habiscus Buffet restaurant, overlooking the beach, palm trees, and mountains! The staff was most amazing, and the resort itself was clean, peaceful, and fun...all at the same time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Habiscus Buffet was spectacular. You couldn't get better food or a better view at any other restaurant!

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, New York
Mar 31, 2011

Expected better

Staff at front desk reception area were neither welcoming or friendly. They seem to be annoyed working there. Initially they gave us a room by the pool near the DJ. Why would anyone give a family (with 7 year old child) a room right in front of where the blasting music is playing until 11:00pm, people smoking and drinking and then music can still be heard from the disco until 3:00am. The hotel described itself as "family friendly. We had to change our room the first night. Family rooms are on the first floor near a few mosquitos and water bugs right outside door. Rooms were cleaned after 3:00pm if lucky; but linen was clean. Food was good but not kid friendly and usually the same; food service people were pleasant. The best of the trip was the entertainment staff...Blacky and his crew kept you smiling and clapping. May be good for a couple but not for family. Would find a different place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment staff made the trip pleasant. Entertainment staff really work hard on having fun. Shows were also good.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Mar 21, 2011

Fantastic Time

I have been going to this resort for over 15 years and have enjoyed every visit. The staff is incredible and very friendly. Over the years I have meet so many wonderful people and have keep in touch with them. They are my second family. I am planning to go back again within a month to cheer on the hotel softball team in the tournment. I will continue to go to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The steakhouse at the circle is fantastic. I make sure I go eat there when I am in town.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sufferer of Montezuma's Revenge
New York, NY
Mar 16, 2011

Sleep-away camp for adults

To be honest, this hotel was much better than expected for the price. Cleaning staff and bartenders were friendly, although the wait staff could've been more attentive. Overall the staff didn't seem to anticipate tip, which was a nice change from the rest of the DR. Food was awful, and I must say I've never had so much respect for American beef as I do now. Avoid all meats except chicken - in all likelihood they've been reduced to carbon or are tough enough to use as a blunt weapon. If food is important to you, don't come here - the food is slightly below the quality of the worst airline food in existence. Alcohol is most definitely watered down, so just be prepared to drink more than usual. There are some nice parts to the resort, which include the beautiful beach (amazing at night), clear water and many beachfront activities available. What irked me the most were the many 'fees' associated with losing various items, which were at minimum $25 and for no apparent reason (losing a beach towel, or losing your wristband = $25). Overall the experience felt almost like a summer camp for adults - just bring as many friends as you can and you'll have a great time, even if you end up contracting Cholera (my friend and I did, and no we didn't drink the water). Instead of watered down sports drinks you get watered down liquors and poorly made drinks, but with good company you can have a good time. Remember to bring sunblock, many $1 bills and diarrhea medicine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always bargain in the DR, and don't settle for prices that match US prices. Everything can be haggled to at least 50% if not more. To get better prices leave the hotel and try going to the plaza or even into town, but be wary everyone is trying to get some of your hard earned cash.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 15, 2011

Just Right

The hotel was very accommodating. They have lots of activities so you will never get bored. You can go kayaking, boogie boarding, wind surfing, banana boating, and even more. They also have a wide variety of on-land activities which I cannot list because there are too many. Also, the service there was above par but not exceptional. The food was so/so but if you get reservations at the nicer restaurants, you don't have to keep eating buffet food. Generally, everyone was really nice so it was definitely a good experience. I would recommend staying at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Mar 3, 2011

Good stay

We pretty much went down to relax for few days with my frends and my mom. The staff is friendly. The food was not that good, but not the worst. We enjoyed our stay while we were there. People were friendly and lot's of canadians ;-). Pool was nice and beach was beautiful.We took the trip to Paradise Island and it was AWESOME!If you want to go there remember to take some candies-there is a lot of children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go to Sosua,take the taxi outside of the Playa Dorada its only 200 pesos each way.(From resort $20.00) There is casino in the hotel but its very small-there is bigger one in Alegro playa dorada few minutes walk from our hotel-I liked this one better.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Mar 1, 2011

My visit

Rest, relax, eat, watch entretairment and enjoy the beach. The timing for cleaning the rooms needs improvement. It takes them for ever to get to it. Customer Services needs improvements, there was a lady with a bad attitute at the desk and by phone your requests are not always addressed. They need to have funds available to provide change in different currencies. They need more restaurants. They should give guess the option of more than 1 room key and the safe should be included in the room price. I stayed at the same hotel 20 yrs ago. It was much better this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as soon as possible. The Eve restaurant was excellent, food, staff, service, etc!!!

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luza
Germantonw, MD
Dec 16, 2010

Nice Place

no Local Food options in the menu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nelz
New York, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Great time

I went with my boyfriend and some of his family met us there. The pool wasn't that big and after a few days the water seemed a little dirty (got there on Thursday and on Sunday it could've used some cleaning). The liquor was definitely cheap but the food was good. The staff was extremely helpful and did everything they could to better your stay. They always had entertainment for their guests in the morning and evenings (with the exception of siesta time). Specialty restaurants required reservations before 11am which I found to be very early. The staff isn't used to tips and looked very shocked and extremely appreciative if you did. Overall, great time especialy for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top